Biloxi, MS 
Hiller Park Share
Uploaded By: ecotrex   (Taken 8/2012)
Pavilion near hole #1



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
"I Need Two Weeks In Biloxi"

1    1/3/2014   1/6/2014
Review By: Qikly
Played: 65  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 2.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/13/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: With 21 holes, Hiller Park provides a variety of looks. Within these, there's pretty much something for everyone: 5 gives you a taste of out-and-out wooded golf, 19 and 20 are comparably tight, the copious water makes for several risk-versus-reward shots, and the numerous long open holes give you some opportunities to air it out. There are even some rolling hills, the kind of which are rarely found this far south. The range of distances - the intermediate tees have three holes under 200', three over 400', and pretty much everything in between - is especially nice here.

The water hazards at Hiller are well-integrated. They offer an increased risk while still providing ways to play it safe. I hate being forced to take an already-tough shot over a water hazard: it seems unnecessarily harsh. Hiller's water, however, adds a degree of difficulty while not locking you into approaching the water a certain way. I really liked that.

I appreciated how the white tees (the ams at Hiller) offered true beginner shots. This would be a great course to take newbies to, even with all the water present, as the whites mitigate that threat to a notable degree. Three sets of tees are uncommon in the south from what I've seen, and their presence here helps broaden Hiller's appeal.

Navigation is pleasantly transparent. The course loops around the park and takes you right back to where you started.

The convenient position off I-10 makes for an accessible, appealing stop when you're out on the road.

Bathrooms, playground, parking, and other amenities are readily available.
Cons: Despite occasional respites, especially at the course's beginning and end, there are a lot of very open holes here. This is more a product of geography than anything else, but the course suffers for it. It's doubly noticeable given that the most wooded holes lie at the course's beginning and end, meaning there's a big stretch in the middle of your round where your shots are given lots of leeway, often too much for my taste.

Given the variety of distances and hazards here, and the more occasionally-varied levels of woodedness, the shot variety could be better. I threw hyzers on the vast majority of my shots. The aforementioned openness is partly to blame, but it's not the only cause. More holes like 2, which forces a RH forehand, controlled turnover, or one hell of a thumber, are needed to mix things up. When-all-else-fails tools like mandos go largely un-utilized. A few make-life-easy hyzers could be prevented this way, such as on 6.

Pin placements could be similarly improved. Opportunities to spice up approaches are seemingly missed at times. For example, 7's basket sits wide open, with a group of nearby pines and some shule off to the right going unused. Not every obstacle can be integrated into a course, and not every hole can engage from drive to putt, but unseized opportunities like this stand out in Hiller's relative openness.

A couple of the holes play too close to the road for my tastes, although this would mostly be a concern for wild-armed beginners. More experienced players should have little problem steering clear.

When I played, concrete tees were installed on the intermediates. These were too short for my comfort - especially noticeable on the numerous longer holes - and they're raised several inches off the ground, which prevents a safe approach from behind. Concrete tees are great, of course, but these could have been better executed. The ams and pros still had natural tees when I visited.

A powerline comes into play in a slightly disconcerting way on hole 9. Be sure to aim low or throw high!
Other Thoughts: I always hate giving a lower rating to a course that seems well-liked by many. Hiller has some great endorsements on DGCR from some experienced and knowledgeable reviewers. I'm sorry to say I am less enthused than these fine folks: the openness and lack of shot variety detracted from my experience. Hiller still made for a fun stop along I-10, and I wouldn't talk anybody out of visiting. I just wished for more than Hiller seemed to provide. While there's a nice variety of distances and a decent mix of topographies, the challenge factor and shot variation were lacking for me. C'est la vie.

Disagree with me? Feel free to start a conversation about it! I always enjoy a reasoned dialogue about course opinions.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

The Feature from the Back Bay Lagoon

5+    2/16/2013   8/16/2013
Review By: ohtobediscing
Played: 153  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 34.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/27/2014
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I first threw at real (temp)baskets in Hiller Park in '83, at a multi-event tourney that included DG---all of it done with lids or Wham-O! Fastbacks.
So it was with high expectations that I made my annual winter jaunt home to visit the folks and play the new [mostly] permanent course there. Quite a # of holes are where I would sometimes come play safari/object DG.
Because its been a park for so long, there's mature pines, oaks, cypress, and sweetbay, with lots of grassy/sandy expanses and only several holes[most of this in the first 9] having enough surrounding vegetation to possibly necessitate disc-hunting.
There's lots of water, with the pond and bays providing great risk, as you really don't want to wade in the soup of salt and fresh water, duck poop, storm runoff and residential and manufacturing effluvia. Only 2, 5, 9, and 16-20 are clear of the water.
An anomaly here is all the gradual elevation changes in the utterly flat topography of the coastal South.
3 tees on every hole, with the long/short tees natural and sandy and the mids cement; the signs are substandard.
The flow of the course is fairly decent, but stay alert the first time for the 4 through 7 transitions, #14 across the street from #s 13 and 15, #17 north of the playground and street, and #18 north of the community garden.
#1 is right outta "Swamp Thing": a 225' throw with an arm of the bay crossing 150'-200' in front of the pin, which sits in an open, sandy wash with 2-3 tall thin pines obstructing. Drive left and the hanging vegetation eats you alive; fade right and you're dragged to your doom in the deep.
#2 is a long open flat right turn, with vegetable matter attacking from the right and behind the basket.
#3 flirts with an arm of the bay just like #1, with denser vegetation though a bit less water, so the discs may be recoverable.
#4 crosses a narrow dry creek, then under scraggly low oaks to a sandy wash in the sun--a favorite layabout of snakes.
#5 is the first tunnel shot, bending slightly right under mature oaks with grabby rough everywhere but the fairway.
#6 is similar, but twice as long and bending sharply, endlessly left.
#7 is back into the grassy part of the park, hyzering in left or right to a basket mothered by scrub oak.
#8 is completely in the open after some gateway oaks, with a mostly dry creek crossing about 275' from the tee.
#9 bends slightly right through mature pines, with nasty rough to the right, and a cable delineating the parking lot just behind the basket that is out of bounds.
#10 is an open throw from the west edge of the parking lot, across an arm of the bay that gets hungrier closer to the basket.
#11 uses it all: OB in tennis courts[right] and road[left],lake outflow running diagonal from 250' left to 300+' on right, elevation drops 10' to lake and 6' back up to basket, oaks front and center.
#12 is long, with the lagoon completely along the left fairway, and about 25' left of the pin. 50' tall oaks block the center, requiring long drives left or right with a strong fade.
#13 is a pleasant open toss across a wide arm of the lake to a peninsula with the basket guarded by two trees.
#14 scoots along sandy washes a few feet uphill through mature pines and oaks, near the park's southern entrance.
#15 is a 12' elevation drop over the creek that feeds the lake, with more tennis courts and mature pines on the distant right, the lake and cypress on the distant left, and the basket a looong ways away.
#16 quickly crosses another creek and climbs to a surprisingly hard-to-reach basket among tall, thin pines.
#17 drives across an open expanse to a basket near the road to the right, defended by a droopy old oak.
#s 18-20 are all similar---275+', with lots of twisty oak trunks blocking almost any route you'd choose.
#21 is so short and unoccluded after the last three that most discers swoon, and plow an easy birdie into a 3. Or throw over the shrubbery and into the bay.
Cons: Bathrooms and water are nearest #s 8, 15 & 16.
No annoucement board or displayed course map.
The water. Living in the NW, and being used to pristine mountain runoff, I can only describe the water as grotesque.
Hot, humid and buggy May-Sept. unless the winds blowing, and then just hot & humid. Best to play Oct.-April.
A few of the foot-tall tee signs have already been run over by the drunken locals.
Spiders and snakes. On a bad day, poisonous snakes.
On major summer holidays, cars will be parked all over the course. Best choice on these days is to play somewhere else.
Other Thoughts: Out the southern entrance to Pass Road are any # of quickie marts, restaurants, liquor stores and strip joints[remember, an AFB is nearby] within a mile or less.
I fully expect this course to rise a half point once tee signs, message board and the layout are permanently set.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Hiller Park

1    7/14/2013   7/14/2013
Review By: Scott Allen Miller
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice challenge on hole 1 throwing immediately over water. Good variety of shorter and longer holes. Grass kept short.
Cons: Finding the next tee was sometimes tricky. Would be nice if there was a sign with an arrow showing next. Tee boxes were muddy and slippery.
Other Thoughts: Overall I will be back to play again.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

SoMi needs help

1    5/5/2013   5/8/2013
Review By: NickRappazini
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.3 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Tee pads/Baskets - tee pad fail, standard basket +.5
Cons: Signage - No complete course map. No Scorecards. Missing tee signs, and no distance on the tee. - 1

Tee pads - I love natural tees, but not ones that don't allow for movement. They are not marked and only have a stake in the ground to signify where there are, not which side. -.5

Course Design - If I could rearrange my point system I'd give more negative for this.
First no OUT and IN!!!
Second, no clue as to where to go to the next hole.
Third (which is deplorable), creating the tee shot without thinking of the approach or putt. It seems as the designers only thought about the tee shot and nothing else. A perfect example is hole ten. Along a baseball field, but instead of placing the basket in a challenging green, they decided to move it across a water retention so you have to walk an extra 1,000' around the road, to putt a normal putt, instead of keeping it a bit shorter, placement drive. It's obvious the designers are playing merely off the drive and anticipated no creativity in approaches or putts. -1

Restrooms, Waster, Trash and Benches... For such a big multi-use park I can't believe how rare it is to see any of these. I got to walk 5 holes before finding a place for my dog's business. Didn't see water or benches either. -1
Other Thoughts: I can't see anything on this course that could gain it another point. Hole one is a nice shot, but the only one I can remember, and for Hole 1 to not have a sign of where to start, will never gain a point..,

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Very Soggy

1    2/27/2013   3/1/2013
Review By: Cgkortz
Played: 46  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.6 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The variability of play was great. The park was clean and well kept. Baskets all in good order. Friendly people
Cons: Park was very soggy every time I picked up my disc it was covered in mud, not sure it had rained I flew in the day before and it did not rain while I was in MS.
Other Thoughts: For my first out of my area disc golf experience it was great.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Solid course in Biloxi

1    2/13/2013   2/13/2013
Review By: jfurr
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/24/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Mississippi Gulf Coast needs more disc golf courses and this one is a solid addition. The designers have put effort and thought into the layout of the holes, and have made the most of the available terrain. The park is mostly flat with some lightly wooded borders, and is also bordered by the Back Bay of Biloxi. Several holes play around a lake in the park. Quite a few holes on this course have water in play, so it's not a bad idea to bring at least one disc where you won't be upset if you lose it. The tees are well-marked, and long and short tees are available on each hole. It is also relatively easy to navigate, even without a map (although one would be helpful). This is a relatively new course, so I have hopes that over time improvements will be made. The fundamentals of the course are solid, though, which makes this a very enjoyable day at the park.
Cons: Natural tees, which seemed to be fairly well maintained, although a couple were muddy. No course map, and no indication on the tee markers as to how long the hole is or what the par is.
Other Thoughts: A challenging course with a nice variety of hole lengths and obstacles. Definitely one of the better courses in the area, and it has the potential to be the best with some minor improvements.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Sans Hill

1    12/17/2012   12/27/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 347  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Variety, making the most of the available terrain features
Cons:
Natural tees (although sandy/well-drained and sans roots)

No map, but navigation was fairly easy (see below)

Signs warning of alligators and snakes, which is particularly terrifying for a northern urbanite!
Other Thoughts:
Course plays across the open spaces, through scattered, large trees, across water, and through thick water-bordering brush of a large public park, located between a lake and a VA campus. There are two tees per hole, red shorter than blue, and for this review I played the course from the red tees.

While only a few holes are open or tight in their entirety, the bulk of the holes fall into two generic categories: open until near the end, when a window must be cleanly hit to continue towards the basket, or open, with some type of problem mid-fairway, including: mid-sized trees creating windows, large trees and their branches, or a significant amount of water. Only once (#10) did I decide the water-carry, of the ~1/3rd holes that have it, to be too much for my ~275'-with-any-accuracy arm - your mileage may vary.

From the tee, straight-and-true will serve you well on most holes, with only a few requiring continuous rights or sharp lefts. While most holes are quite flat, there are a few with some elevation changes. Nearly a 300'-delta between the shortest and longest holes, with a good smattering of distances in-between the extremes.

Despite not having a map, I, as a first-time visitor, found the course fairly easy to navigate. Some tips include:
- basket-6 is near basket-4; hole-5, a left-turning semi-circle, is to the right of basket-4, in a patch high brush/small trees
- from basket-10, you'll re-cross the water you just threw over to find tee-11
- from tee-12, the basket is slightly right (the basket to the far left is #14)
- from basket-15, pass the playground and cross the road to find tee-16
- from basket-16, walk down the road to find tee-17 on the left, just as the patch of woods turns away from the road
- from basket-19, you'll practically double-back to find tee-20

Favourite hole: #14. Water potentially comes into play twice on this long (495'/549') hole as, from a somewhat elevated position, you must initially throw over broad expanse of water, trying to avoid not fading (left) back into it. From the fairway, it is a wide open approach to the basket, but with water behind and left to catch any disc that has too much on it.

Good course, with plenty of opportunities to let loose, but enough dangers to punish wild throws.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Best course on the MS coast

5+    12/28/2013   11/15/2012
Review By: eday1022
Played: 52  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 22.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/4/2014
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Update*
.Concrete tee's have been added to the AM tee pads.
.Pro tees are currently Natural tees
.Multiple pins placements have been added on several holes.


This 21 hole course is a great course for upper level am to professional players, even from the am (red) tees. Great location, everyone I have met, including non disc golfers, have been very nice. A good mix of long and short holes and lots of OB around to keep you on your game. Also maybe one of the best thing about this course is that there is a guy out there that canoes around and grabs disc, and he calls the owners! There is also bathrooms at the park near hole 15, so if any ladies reading this, I know you will be glad to hear that. Ducks, if you like ducks, they got ducks. I know that has nothing to do with disc golf, but you never know if there is a duck lover out there. Another big plus is the police frequent the area, they have never stopped me or anything. Just good to know that I don't have to deal with any unwanted people at the park. Elevation change on a few holes, this is not frequent at other courses around area. The park also has other activities for those on a family trip, Volley ball, I think I saw a horse shoe pit or two, basketball, tennis, and open fields for other activities. Park is kept very clean, and grass has always been cut. On the wooded holes they have added trails to get back to where you shouldn't have thrown. Good flow from hole to hole. Great baskets that will catch even the not so great putts. If you like throwing floating disc, you will love this course. Low chance of twisting ankle, this is something I do often and I'm very happy I don't have to watch my every step here.
Cons: First hole is a water hole, easy hole but scary without a few warm ups.
Hole 5, Really a needless filler hole that could be changed into a real nice hole.
Bugs, anything south of I10 is buggy so bring lots of bug spray.
Pro tee box, do to being natural they have a few holes that are sandy and are becoming big holes and not nice flat tee's.
Deep mud, noting they can help but be careful as you can go hip deep in some areas.
Tee signs, the biggest issue I have with the course, they only say hole number.
Non disc golfers are frequent, all have been friendly but they tend to park in fairways at times.
Hole transition on two holes are really annoying as you have to walk a good bit out of your way, bridges would be helpful.
Score cards, I wish they had some available...
Other Thoughts: Don't let my cons keep you from playing this course, I drive an extra 35 minutes to play this course over my home course. I only got nit picky with the cons, so they have something to go on. They got a great group of local that are always improving the course, and the park seems to be very helpful in keeping the course at its best also.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/9/2012   11/9/2012
Review By: BigSig
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Everytime I go to the park I meet someone new. The people that I see out there are nice and encourging. Very technical and will bring your skill level up for sure.
Cons: Needs to have junior/novice pads for the first timers.
Other Thoughts: Well maintained great holes mixed with real long holes to really see what you have arm wise.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.


1    10/19/2012   10/22/2012
Review By: loraski
Played: 44  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Very nice setting in a beautiful park by the river. We liked the open long holes and it was well marked.
Cons: We found the water obstacles very difficult. My husband lost 3 discs in one day! Swampy places to loose your disc if you are a novice like us.There was no basket on #5 when we were there. The wind also hindered us quite a bit.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.