Biloxi, MS 
Hiller Park Share
Uploaded By: Cgkortz Hole #12 (Taken 2/2013)
3 / 444ft.   3 / 514ft.   3 / 372ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Red Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Hiller Chiller

1    10/26/2016   10/29/2016
Review By: enragedmullet
Played: 41  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - baskets in decent shape, trash cans on some holes, concrete pads at red tees.

- course makes a full loop

- well maintained park, some areas quite scenic w/ small wildlife and waterfowl galore.

- Variety of shots needed, with water and trees/foliage creating loads of different obstacles and flight paths
Cons: - no benches, no obvious restroom

- some long walks between holes, especially 11-12 which backtracks and 17-18. Wouldn't be bad if the signage was better but the map at the pavilion is out of date, the one on this site is not to scale, and the tee signs simply state hole # and distance, so it can get a little hairy navigating on your own for the first time.

- Some areas of the course bring you close to park facilities or areas where people might get in the way.

- Holes 18-22 can get a little confusing, they're a little cramped so make sure you're headed for the right basket especially on 19 - the basket for 21 is in view as well. I couldn't find a pro tee for 22 and the signage gets a little weird in this area as well.
Other Thoughts: I'd been meaning to hit Biloxi up for a couple years now and finally got around to it. Glad I did. I played on a Wednesday, late morning, and there were a few people scattered here and there, but nothing that interfered w/ play too badly.

Hole 1 starts you off w/ a short RHBH through some small trees and over water. It'll wake you up to start the round. 2 is a nice RHFH blind shot around bushes to a tucked-away basket. 3 shoots again through some small trees and over a small bit of water - nothing too crazy but a fun looking hole requiring precision. Holes 4-7 get into the woods a little where it can get a little hairy w/ blind shots and tees that either have lacking signage or none at all. 8 is a nice long bomber that'll let you stretch your arms - 9 plays along the road and is a bit forgettable. After 9 you walk over a bridge to 10 that plays from a parking lot across more water to a basket tucked away in the foliage - visible from the tee, it's still a little daunting. Across the road you'll find 1 of 2 signature holes (to me). From the blue or red tee you can see the basket for 11 nice and far away, playing the opposite direction as 10. There are ballfields on your right and a potential throw-ruining tree further up on the left. What you may not remember is that there's a small waterway just down the fill from the tee. It's not visible from the tee and if you forgot (like I did) you'll be surprised when you rediscover it. Luckily I didn't lose a disc. 12 plays near some facilities where people can get in the way w/ water on your left. 13 plays along the water as well to a basket under the trees. 14 goes back toward the road, then a little more backtracking to 15 which for me is signature hole #2. a nice long bomber w/ 2 big cedar trees guarding the fairway. Very scenic hole. 16 & 17 are also nice long shots, 17 being a little one-dimensional. After 17 there's a small walk to 18-22 which are all a little on the shorter side when compared to the rest of the course, and a little crammed together. See my comments about them in the cons above.

Overall I enjoyed myself here- it's a long course and can be punishing but if you can only play one course between Mobile and New Orleans, make it Hiller (with Shepard Park close behind).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun with room for improvement

1    12/11/2015   4/27/2016
Review By: AdubSLO
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Decent course with a good mix of technical hole layouts.
Full course offers treed alleys, open fields, water hazards, and slight elevation changes.
2-3 pad locations per hole.
Starts and Ends at same location.
Cons: Course set in a park that is heavily used.
Near standing water - BRING BUG SPRAY!
Pad construction - sub par.
Other Thoughts: This course will have you walking the entire park so get ready for some exercise! The park is large and heavily used, but there wasn't to many times where park users were in the way of the course. All and all a fun course but not the most technical or imaginative.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Sans Hill

1    12/17/2012   12/27/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 448  Reviewed: 360  Exp: 8.4 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Variety, making the most of the available terrain features
Cons:
Natural tees (although sandy/well-drained and sans roots)

No map, but navigation was fairly easy (see below)

Signs warning of alligators and snakes, which is particularly terrifying for a northern urbanite!
Other Thoughts:
Course plays across the open spaces, through scattered, large trees, across water, and through thick water-bordering brush of a large public park, located between a lake and a VA campus. There are two tees per hole, red shorter than blue, and for this review I played the course from the red tees.

While only a few holes are open or tight in their entirety, the bulk of the holes fall into two generic categories: open until near the end, when a window must be cleanly hit to continue towards the basket, or open, with some type of problem mid-fairway, including: mid-sized trees creating windows, large trees and their branches, or a significant amount of water. Only once (#10) did I decide the water-carry, of the ~1/3rd holes that have it, to be too much for my ~275'-with-any-accuracy arm - your mileage may vary.

From the tee, straight-and-true will serve you well on most holes, with only a few requiring continuous rights or sharp lefts. While most holes are quite flat, there are a few with some elevation changes. Nearly a 300'-delta between the shortest and longest holes, with a good smattering of distances in-between the extremes.

Despite not having a map, I, as a first-time visitor, found the course fairly easy to navigate. Some tips include:
- basket-6 is near basket-4; hole-5, a left-turning semi-circle, is to the right of basket-4, in a patch high brush/small trees
- from basket-10, you'll re-cross the water you just threw over to find tee-11
- from tee-12, the basket is slightly right (the basket to the far left is #14)
- from basket-15, pass the playground and cross the road to find tee-16
- from basket-16, walk down the road to find tee-17 on the left, just as the patch of woods turns away from the road
- from basket-19, you'll practically double-back to find tee-20

Favourite hole: #14. Water potentially comes into play twice on this long (495'/549') hole as, from a somewhat elevated position, you must initially throw over broad expanse of water, trying to avoid not fading (left) back into it. From the fairway, it is a wide open approach to the basket, but with water behind and left to catch any disc that has too much on it.

Good course, with plenty of opportunities to let loose, but enough dangers to punish wild throws.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/19/2012   10/22/2012
Review By: loraski
Played: 85  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Very nice setting in a beautiful park by the river. We liked the open long holes and it was well marked.
Cons: We found the water obstacles very difficult. My husband lost 3 discs in one day! Swampy places to loose your disc if you are a novice like us.There was no basket on #5 when we were there. The wind also hindered us quite a bit.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.