Biloxi, MS 
Hiller Park Share
Uploaded By: Cgkortz Hole #6 (Taken 2/2013)
3 / 282ft.   3 / 306ft.   3 / 176ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Red Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Long and challenging

1    3/4/2015   3/7/2015
Review By: KINGDUCK
Played: 28  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.6 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Long and challenging. You can really let your discs fly and have different options upon which way you want to go to the basket. Three different tees for all levels of players. Nice scenery and wild life to enjoy.
Cons: Bathroom not very nice with no TP. What the heck is the practice basket doing between hole 16 and 17. Need to dig it up and put it where it belongs...there is plenty of room before hole 1. No bridges to walk across the water...have to walk out of the way to get to where you need to go. Hard to find hole five....walked from 4 to 6 and was lost.
Other Thoughts: First hole made it challenging right away. 10 was another big challenge for if you went right you might as well have kissed that disc bye bye into the water. Some holes should be more than a par 3. Nice to have the extra holes for practice. I enjoyed the course. Shot a 61 the first time with heavy winds and on a rainy day.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Very cool coastal course

1    11/12/2014   11/12/2014
Review By: Moose33
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 4.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hiller park is a large multi use park that neighbors a large block of military housing. There are baseball fields, basketball courts, tennis courts, walking paths and a very nice disc golf course.

The start of the course is a bit challenging as its at the back end of the park, but there is a large gazebo by hole number one and a huge map with a slot at the bottom with scorecard/map combos. These are very helpful and well printed.

This course is all about using what they have to make every hole as interesting as possible, and one of the main features is the lagoon that you play over and around on many holes. It's a beautiful saltwater expanse with diverse wildlife and an added challenge.

It hits you in the face on number one, a short tee shot going over some shallow water with the basket up a hill.

Again on three, ten and eleven you throw over some water and it makes for an interesting mental game.

There are three sets of tees for most of the layout, a few markings are shared, but only the red(medium) layout has concrete teepads, the other blue(long) and white(short) are natural, but certainly adequately marked.

Each marker is a small mile marker type sign near the ground with the distances marked on them,

Baskets are nice and well balanced and it looked as if there were pockets for a couple of pin placements on many holes.

One thing I loved was the risk/reward on so many holes. One hole, 6 I think plays around a long U curve, but you can also bomb a tomahawk over the trees and hit close, whih is what I opted to do to great effect.

The use of tree cover and strategically places copes and Mandos were nice as well.

I had a great time overall really pretty park, tons of wildlife near the lagoon(coots, herons, geese, turtles) and very diverse holes.

The short ones(and some are under 200) are largely technical, but there are some great challenging longer holes as well, several over 400 whoch I enjoyed. Especially as they didn't sacrifice the most interesting golf lines for the sale of a long hole.

Cool thing I hadn't seen before, all te baskets had a small pvc pipe with the direction of the next hold on it, interesting and helpful.
Cons: Some parts of the park were not in great repair, including the restrooms(no closeable stall door and no TP).

You may have trouble navigating without the map.

Tee signs are functional but not the best available.

Weirdest thing to me; the practice basket is in between 16 and 17. Why there? What's the point? Especially when there is a very nice area to put one just to the right of the pavilion at the parking lot.

Leads me to thing the holes may have recently been renumbered or the layout altered I. The recent past.

Not much in the way of elevation changes, but it's southern MS, so that's not much of a con.

Other Thoughts: I had a great time at Hiller park the natural beauty of the area paired with the well thought out layout made for a great time. I would play there often if I lived close, I would play often, and in fact met a guy who drove from mobile for a round at Hiller.

If your in the area, come play this park, you won't regret it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Very Soggy

1    2/27/2013   3/1/2013
Review By: Cgkortz
Played: 184  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.6 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The variability of play was great. The park was clean and well kept. Baskets all in good order. Friendly people
Cons: Park was very soggy every time I picked up my disc it was covered in mud, not sure it had rained I flew in the day before and it did not rain while I was in MS.
Other Thoughts: For my first out of my area disc golf experience it was great.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Solid course in Biloxi

1    2/13/2013   2/13/2013
Review By: jfurr
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 16.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/24/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Mississippi Gulf Coast needs more disc golf courses and this one is a solid addition. The designers have put effort and thought into the layout of the holes, and have made the most of the available terrain. The park is mostly flat with some lightly wooded borders, and is also bordered by the Back Bay of Biloxi. Several holes play around a lake in the park. Quite a few holes on this course have water in play, so it's not a bad idea to bring at least one disc where you won't be upset if you lose it. The tees are well-marked, and long and short tees are available on each hole. It is also relatively easy to navigate, even without a map (although one would be helpful). This is a relatively new course, so I have hopes that over time improvements will be made. The fundamentals of the course are solid, though, which makes this a very enjoyable day at the park.
Cons: Natural tees, which seemed to be fairly well maintained, although a couple were muddy. No course map, and no indication on the tee markers as to how long the hole is or what the par is.
Other Thoughts: A challenging course with a nice variety of hole lengths and obstacles. Definitely one of the better courses in the area, and it has the potential to be the best with some minor improvements.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.