Biloxi, MS 
Hiller Park Share
Uploaded By: Cgkortz Hole #8 (Taken 2/2013)
3 / 402ft.   3 / 439ft.   3 / 324ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Red Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Ready to go back

1    2/8/2015   2/17/2015
Review By: AUfantastic
Played: 117  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 16.4 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great all around course. Some ups, some downs, lefties, righties, long, short, wooded and open. Tests all aspects of your game.
Cons: Nothing significant that I can think of.
Other Thoughts: I played just before leaving town. The course was a bit crowded and play was slow. But, I loved it and am ready to go back now....AND I WILL.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Best on the Mississippi Coast

5+    9/28/2014   11/4/2014
Review By: MikeK
Played: 246  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 21.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hiller Park definitely qualifies as a tournament-ready course. It's a solid challenge with two good sets of tees. The long tees will definitely separate the pretenders from the contenders.

There's a handful of memorable holes, most of which are between hole 9 and hole 15. If you only have time to play a few holes, play these. Hole 15 and hole 12 are legitimate par fours, and the rest are all birdieable but risky with pesky OB. There's even some elevation through this part of the course.

There's nice views of coastal marsh on hole 1, 10 and 21.

Hiller Park is relatively open and long for big arms, but does have a few tighter woods holes. It's also well-balanced with lefty and righty holes. I appreciate the mix of straight and curvy.
Cons: There's really no big cons. A few whines are heard about hole 6, which has a "U" or actually a "V" shaped fairway, which can be an unlucky bogey or worse. However there's a huge bomb thumber over the top off the tee...although I've only seen that route executed by one player who was rated about 1031 at that time.
Other Thoughts: This course continues to improve and it is hands down the best on the Casino Coast of Mississippi.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/12/2014   8/14/2014
Review By: Proskater15
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was my first course after the Keesler warm up course when I learned to play 2 yrs ago. I loved hiller park then and I love it even more now.

I would never go for it on any of the water holes and had no idea how to make a RHBH throw turn to the right. I am stationed in Guam and would always think of the water holes and why didn't I just go for it. ( there are no courses on Guam)

I got 3 week training orders back and was so excited to play the course again. Now I can make all the holes from the red tees.

Since I have been gone new pros include

New bridges

New concrete tees

New holes

Pro tees

What the course has always had

Great terrain
Great obstacles
Great people
Great variety
All around fun

You get a great mix of technical holes
Wide open holes
Overhanging tree limbs that force control drives
Dog leg rights and lefts.
A couple of good ace able holes
There are some signatures out there

Cons: Some concrete tees feel too short

I would love to help build more bridges ( I wish I was stationed here)

The pro tee on 6 seems like you do not have a shot

People do tend to park in bad spots, I almost hit a Cadillac
Other Thoughts: This course will always have a special spot in my heart and I will always look forward to coming back to Biloxi so I can play it. Thank you so much.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

The Feature from the Back Bay Lagoon

5+    1/16/2012   8/16/2013
Review By: ohtobediscing
Played: 247  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 37.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/31/2016
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I first threw at real (temp)baskets in Hiller Park in '83, at a multi-event tourney that included DG---all of it done with Wham-O! lids or Fastbacks.
So with high expectations I made my annual winter jaunt home to visit the folks and play the new course there.
Because its been a park for so long, there's mature pines, oaks, cypress, and sweetbay, with lots of grassy/sandy expanses and only several holes[mostly the first 9] having enough surrounding vegetation to possibly necessitate disc-hunting.
There's lots of water, with the pond and bays providing great risk, as you really don't want to wade in the stinking soup of salt and fresh water, duck poop, storm runoff and residential and manufacturing effluvia. #s 1, 3, and 10-15 all fly over water.
An anomaly here is almost constant gradual elevation change in the utterly flat topography of the coastal South, a result of heavy equipment landscaping by the Army Corp and Seabees back in the '30s.
3 tees on every hole, with the long/short tees natural and sandy and the mids cement; the signs are substandard.
The flow of the course is fairly decent, but stay alert the first time for the 4 through 7 transitions, #14 across the street from #s 13 and 15, #17 north of the playground and street, and #18 north of the community garden.
#1 is "Swamp Thing": a 225' throw with an arm of the bay crossing just in front of the pin, with 2-3 tall thin pines obstructing. Drive left and the hanging vegetation eats you alive; fade right and you're dragged to your doom in the deep.
#2 is a long open flat right turn, with vegetable matter attacking from the right and behind the basket. Or a long straight shot into the pine and sweet bay forest.
#3 flirts with an arm of the bay like #1, with denser vegetation though a bit less water.
#4 drives under scraggly low oaks past a sandy wash in the sun [a favorite layabout of snakes] to a basket surrounded by low mounds of dirt.
#5 is the first tunnel shot, bending slightly right under mature oaks with grabby rough everywhere but the narrow fairway.
#6 is similar, but twice as long and bending sharply, endlessly left.
#7 is back into the grassy part of the park, hyzering past a left mando to a basket mothered by scrub oak.
#8 drives past some gateway oaks into the open, with the alternate pin over a mostly dry creek and into a pocket in the shrubbery behind the bridge.
#9 bends slightly right through mature pines, with nasty rough to the right, and a cable delineating the parking lot behind the basket as OB.
#10 is an open throw from the west edge of the parking lot, across an arm of the bay that gets hungrier closer to the basket.
#11 uses it all: OB in softball fields[right] and road[left],lake outflow running diagonal from 250' left to 300+' on right, elevation drops 10' to lake and 6' back up to basket, oaks front and center. there is a new pin position close to both the canal and road.
#12 is long, with the lagoon left the entire fairway, and about 25' left of the pin. 50' tall oaks block the center, requiring long drives left or right with a strong fade.
#13 is a pleasant open toss across a wide arm of the lake to a peninsula with the basket guarded by two short, full hardwoods..
#14 scoots along sandy washes a few feet uphill through mature pines and oaks, near the park's southern entrance.
#15 is a 12' elevation drop over the creek that feeds the lake, with tennis courts and mature pines on the distant right, the lake and cypress on the distant left, and the basket a looong ways away.
#16 quickly crosses another creek and climbs to a surprisingly hard-to-reach basket among tall, thin pines.
#17 drives across an open expanse to a basket near the road to the right, defended by a droopy old oak.
#s 18-20 are all similar---275+', with lots of twisty oak trunks blocking almost any route you'd choose.
#21 is a short, arrow-shaped island hole, with the pin at the far narrow end of the island.
#22 throws down an alley of vegetation to a pin open to stiff onshore breezes and a chance to drive into the bay.
Cons: Bathrooms and water only near #s 8, 15 & 16. No seating except at nearby picnic tables on 12 & 17.
The water. Living in the NW, and being used to pristine mountain runoff, I can only describe the water as grotesque.
Hot, humid and buggy March-Sept. unless the wind's blowing, and then just hot & humid. Best to play Oct.-April.
On a bad day, poisonous snakes.
The contractor painted the tees, which can be slick with rain or heavy dew.
Major summer holidays, cars will be parked all over the course. Best choice on these days is to play somewhere else.
Other Thoughts: Practice tee/Game of 9s just east of the playground.
Out the southern entrance to Pass Road are any # of quickie marts, restaurants, liquor stores and strip joints[remember, an AFB is nearby] within a mile or less.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Best course on the MS coast

5+    12/28/2013   11/15/2012
Review By: eday1022
Played: 53  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 24.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/4/2014
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Update*
.Concrete tee's have been added to the AM tee pads.
.Pro tees are currently Natural tees
.Multiple pins placements have been added on several holes.

This 21 hole course is a great course for upper level am to professional players, even from the am (red) tees. Great location, everyone I have met, including non disc golfers, have been very nice. A good mix of long and short holes and lots of OB around to keep you on your game. Also maybe one of the best thing about this course is that there is a guy out there that canoes around and grabs disc, and he calls the owners! There is also bathrooms at the park near hole 15, so if any ladies reading this, I know you will be glad to hear that. Ducks, if you like ducks, they got ducks. I know that has nothing to do with disc golf, but you never know if there is a duck lover out there. Another big plus is the police frequent the area, they have never stopped me or anything. Just good to know that I don't have to deal with any unwanted people at the park. Elevation change on a few holes, this is not frequent at other courses around area. The park also has other activities for those on a family trip, Volley ball, I think I saw a horse shoe pit or two, basketball, tennis, and open fields for other activities. Park is kept very clean, and grass has always been cut. On the wooded holes they have added trails to get back to where you shouldn't have thrown. Good flow from hole to hole. Great baskets that will catch even the not so great putts. If you like throwing floating disc, you will love this course. Low chance of twisting ankle, this is something I do often and I'm very happy I don't have to watch my every step here.
Cons: First hole is a water hole, easy hole but scary without a few warm ups.
Hole 5, Really a needless filler hole that could be changed into a real nice hole.
Bugs, anything south of I10 is buggy so bring lots of bug spray.
Pro tee box, do to being natural they have a few holes that are sandy and are becoming big holes and not nice flat tee's.
Deep mud, noting they can help but be careful as you can go hip deep in some areas.
Tee signs, the biggest issue I have with the course, they only say hole number.
Non disc golfers are frequent, all have been friendly but they tend to park in fairways at times.
Hole transition on two holes are really annoying as you have to walk a good bit out of your way, bridges would be helpful.
Score cards, I wish they had some available...
Other Thoughts: Don't let my cons keep you from playing this course, I drive an extra 35 minutes to play this course over my home course. I only got nit picky with the cons, so they have something to go on. They got a great group of local that are always improving the course, and the park seems to be very helpful in keeping the course at its best also.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant Surprise

2-4    9/23/2012   9/30/2012
Review By: The Drake
Played: 104  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 13.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fairly easy to navigate course with pretty obvious transitions between holes. Has both blue and red tees though like many "pro/am" tee box setups they really only differ by about 50 feet or so which in my opinion doesn't necessarily make a big difference, especially on some of the longer holes. Since its in a public park the grass is well maintained. Great use of the park land. You literally walk the entire park during a round. Incorporates multiple water holes including on the very first tee which provides for a true sphincter tightening experience as soon as you get out of the car.
Cons: The course has natural tee pads which I've referenced in multiple other of my reviews is not personally a con for me but for many players I can understand why. The good news is they're all natural meaning you at least get 18 holes of consistency. The other tee pad issue, however, is that there are minimalist tee signs. While you can clearly see the blue and red markers all they provide is the hole number. There are no distances and no "suggested routes". Being primarily an open course the later isn't that big of a deal but having distances would be nice.

The course is in a public park so as usual there are many other non-disc golfers using the multitude of other areas of the park. For the most part the course actually manages to stay out of the main areas of the park but you will encounter some non-golf traffic during your round.
Other Thoughts: I'm currently working at the VA for a next 2 months and was excited that I would have a course I could literally walk to but definitely was not expecting what I found when I played this course the first time. I was honestly surprised at how good of a course it really is. The water holes are designed in such a way as to actually be technically demanding as well as aesthetically appealing. If you don't like risk reward and get nervous on the tee pad there are multiple water holes where you can easily lose plastic if you don't commit. There's a nice mix of shots and shot requirements. If you have a multitude of shots in your bag then you'll shoot well, if you don't you may find this course pretty tough. Overall a great course in south Mississippi and will definitely make my 10 weeks away from home much better.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course to distract from a family visit

1    9/14/2012   9/21/2012
Review By: larryth
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -interesting terrain
-maintained (they were mowing that morning)
-mix of open and techincal shots
Cons: -course layout (too many water shots and discs floating in the water)
-no signage warning other park patricians (dog walkers and walkers wondering all over the course)
-irritating back bay/water winds
-hardest shots are in the beginning
Other Thoughts: The park is rather nice. Think the tees should be around to where the access points are to cross the water in most cases.
The park would also be more fun in reverse order and fewer holes.
I would definitely play again when visiting family.
Also, no practice tee and hole 5 was under construction.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.