Roanoke, WV 
Stonewall Jackson Resort Share
Uploaded By: knettles Hole #2 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 189ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Beautiful resort that offers a quick rec round

1    9/14/2015   9/29/2015
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 114  Reviewed: 105  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Stonewall Jackson is a huge resort located right off I-79 and offers a ton of different outdoor activities. The course starts in front of the Roanoke building and it loops its way around a small section of the resort back to the building. There is plenty of parking space and restrooms and a snack bar can be found inside. It's nice to see such a well-kept resort in the rugged state of WV; here you can experience the beautiful WV scenery and really nice facilities.

Considering the context and setting of the course, it offers a quality round for beginners. I say this because I imagine most people coming here aren't here for the disc golf; therefore, it serves as a good introduction to the sport. It plays mostly open on shorter holes and provides some shot-shaping through trees and on gently rolling hills on a few holes.

The stretch from 5-7 is the best and most technical section of the course, utilizing rolling hills and numerous trees that allow you to choose your line. 6 and 7 also have water in play in different ways. 6's pin is about 20 feet in front of the water, so you have to be careful with your drive on this shorter, downhill hole. 7 has water running through the fairway and is the longest hole on the course.

There are tee poles with numbers and hole distances on them and the baskets are in good shape.
Navigation is very simple and all walks between holes are short, making this a very quick round.
Cons: While the course is great for beginners, it doesn't do much for players that have some experience. Holes 1-3 and 9 have a combined one tree and that doesn't really come into play. Most of the course is dead flat and it has an average hole distance of 200'. Hole 7 is the only one that had much of a challenge.

The tees are natural and don't give a clear spot to throw from.

If the resort is ever crowded, there would be some interference with other activities. Wasn't the case for me though on a Monday afternoon.
Other Thoughts: A nice quick pit stop off the highway, just keep in mind that you have to pay $3 to enter the park. Though, upon entering, you get a $3 voucher for snacks. Not a course that I feel is worth continually paying to play, but one worth hitting up at least once to get a few quick rounds in and to check out the lake.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    4/4/2015   4/7/2015
Review By: Boyce
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Numbered posts for the tees that also display the distances to the baskets. Mostly open course. Nice baskets.
Cons: There's a $3 fee to get into the resort (state park). The course alone does not warrant this fee. I can imagine that it would be easy to hit people when the park is crowded. 9-hole course.
Other Thoughts: I played this to knock another off my list of WV courses played. I'd never go out of my way to play the course again, unless I was at the park for some reason and bored.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful place!

1    6/21/2013   6/22/2013
Review By: Ceej1978
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The resort itself is a beautiful place. There are LOTS of things to do. It's not too far off of I-79. Stonewall Jackson Resort is a great place for a quick weekend trip. We plan on doing it soon for some fishing and disc golf.

The course is a nice little 9 hole that starts from the recreation building. The holes are marked with white sign posts with the number and distance. The first 3 holes are in the open field beside the rec building, as is the last hole. All the holes are fairly short except for #7. There aren't any major hazards except for on #6 where you are driving straight toward the lake and #7 where at about 275 - 300 feet there is the lake hazard and tall weeds on the left side. I actually lost an Elite Z Avenger there even with RHFH. I think it rolled into the lake.
Cons: The only thing I don't like about it is there should be more holes. They did good with what room they had though. We played it twice for a quick 18.
Other Thoughts: All in all I think it's a great course for beginners and a nice break from hiking around in the woods for seasoned players. Play it as par 3 and you'll probably be under a few strokes. I'm far from playing like I used to and I birdied several holes. I did enjoy it very much and can't wait to play it again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short Love

5+    7/28/2012   7/28/2012
Review By: knettles
Played: 77  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 5.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Newish course with fresh Innova baskets.
-Some interesting hole placements with trees and lake in play.
-Beautiful park setting.
-Lots of amenities, including camping, a lodge, fishing, segways, mini golf, picnic pavilions, and a ball golf course.
Cons: -Very short course.
-Picnickers might get in the way on weekends.
-Pay to get into the park.
Other Thoughts: For the size, I think this is a rather fun course. My short game has improved immensely from playing here so often. They don't have any really long holes, but there is a field which works for getting some practice in (unless you can drive over 350'). There's a really great layout for long tees, unfortunately it's not marked or permanent. So until then, I'll let you figure that out for yourself. Have fun.

Also, don't pay any attention to the scorecard if you pick one up. Someone who obviously doesn't play disc golf made it. It has par 4's and 5's on it, but this is just a par 3 course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.