Course Extinct
Ithaca, NY 
Belle Sherman Share
Uploaded By: timg   (Taken 7/2011)



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
I am not aware if this course is still mantained

1    8/27/2013   8/28/2013
Review By: lcra0825
Played: 79  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.9 Years
Pros: - there are baskets to throw to
- it is located at an elementary school, so it hopefully might get young kids interested in disc golf
Cons: - the first basket was knocked over. I couldn't find the second or third basket
- I think I found one tee on the whole course. It was two blue flags in the ground, I am assuming it was a tee. I just kind of picked my teeing off area for the rest of the course
Other Thoughts: I don't know if the Ithaca area still maintains this course. It is probably still used by the locals for practice because there are open fields with baskets located on them. This course could not really be used for a normal disc golf round due to the fact and that some of the baskets are missing and that there are no tees. Dotson park located nearby is probably the best nine hole course I have ever played and would probably be the better choice.

 Short but fun

5+    8/20/2011   8/22/2011
Review By: the_donkey
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The wooded holes are short but fun. Hole 2 involves a bit of luck but overall they're tight and technical. The ones out in the field are obviously wide open and there's room for a relatively long drive on a couple of them. (Well, long for me anyway.) Having both wooded and open is nice. Good for beginners.
Cons: The tees are not marked at all! I used to play it frequently so I was able to go on memory, but someone new would be hopelessly lost. The numbers on the baskets are wrong so there's no way you could possibly figure it out. Even the map on discithaca.com is out of date. (2 and 3 go around the opposite side of the big gray thing.) Doesn't anyone play here anymore? It deserves to be marked when the college kids return.
Other Thoughts: This course has sentimental value for me because it's the one I cut my teeth on several years ago. It's great for beginners and short enough that you can play a whole round without sinking a lot of time into it. It's within walking distance of the Hoy Road entrance to Cornell. My home used to be Rhodes Hall/Upson Hall so I would walk to the course all the time. The course is in desperate need of tee markers and correct hole numbers on the baskets.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good Practice Course

2-4    3/8/2008   9/24/2009
Review By: PsyStal
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is great for practicing a variety of shots. If you ignore the standard tee boxes, you can artificially lengthen the holes and create more of challenge for the shots in your arsenal.

It's also on school property, so the area is well kept. Families will enjoy the length of the course (9 holes) and the setting, while better players will appreciate the opportunity to work on a few shots absent the crowding and pressures of a full course.
Cons: Not a lot of room to work with. That, and the fact that the course was designed for school students makes Belle Sherman fairly limited in scope. Holes are very short, and there's only 9 to work with rather than the full 18.

Veterans won't likely enjoy Belle Sherman for anything other than the occasional warm-up or practice round.
Other Thoughts: Chances are, you're coming here to practice, not to play. For that purpose, the variety of holes is fairly ideal, although a most are a bit short for bigger and better players. This is easily remedied if you're willing to move around a bit and get creative.

Because I don't really view this as a "course" per se, the rating is low. It's not likely you'll want to make a trip here from out of town, but if your living in Ithaca it's a convenient place to work on your game.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 good for beginners

5+    7/4/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: 80playedin10states
Played: 84  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 20.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/14/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: good mix of woodsy and open holes...also a good mix of shortish/longish holes...multiple tees for each hole make at least 30-40 holes to play...
Cons: no tee markers(this course was built for kids of the school and we just kept making up longer tees) "only" 9 baskets..ithaca didn't have any golf not long ago, so anything is welcome
Other Thoughts: really fun and quick to play...lotsa variety(shotwise and at least 3-4 tees for every hole) ...best to have a guide your first time thru..post on discithaca.com or cnydga.com

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 It has promise...

2-4    10/15/2008   10/16/2008
Review By: metis314159
Played: 26  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good hole variety with 4 wooded holes and several mid-range to long holes (at least how we played them).
Cons: Tees, if you can find them, are just flat ground. Their are virtually no markings to indicate where the proper tees are located. Several of the disc baskets are wobbly.
Other Thoughts: If you are willing to search and/or make up some of your own tees, this course is fun.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best played twice

7/5/2008   7/6/2008
Review By: Anderson
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Quick, fun, and challenging. Woods holes along small gorges make for a fun twist with an Ithaca flair. Best played twice
Cons: A lack of signage or markings can leave you wandering in the woods.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good fun

6/8/2007   6/8/2007
Review By: innovaetor
Played: 45  Reviewed: 22
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great hole varitey, good challenge. Well maitained.
Cons: Not clearly marked, just lines in the grass for most holes. Map at www.discithaca.com

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.