Elko, NV 
Humboldt River DGC Share
Uploaded By: lion Hole #7 (Taken 1/2013)
3 / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Approach

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Strange Little Course Along The Humboldt!

1    10/16/2015   10/25/2015
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 831  Reviewed: 782  Exp: 37.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays along a narrow strip of land between Front Street and the railroad tracks. It starts where Front Street dead ends near the Hispanic grocery store and the bridge. The park has kind of a run down vibe to it, not in a dangerous sense, more in a neglected sense. There is no signage or tee pads. You're on your own to figure things out here. The baskets are double chain models with lots of stickers affixed to them. There is a walking path that follows along above the course near the street. Upon closer examination, I discovered that all/or most of the tee pads at one time had been painted on the asphalt sidewalk. They're difficult to make out. So on each hole, you're teeing off from up not he path to the basket down in the park below. It gives you a different look on the holes playing back.

The course plays holes 1 to 4 out, then 5 to 8 come back to the starting point. Then you walk under the bridge and find two more baskets on that side. I found a painted mark for # 9??? And then down the park about a half mile (exaggeration) is another basket. The two baskets over here on this side are brand new and I would assume have recently been added to the course.

I think # 1 should tee off right directly by the bench.

Some piles of debris could be removed by the # 8 basket.
Cons: interesting layout but it seems to work.

I'm not sure what's going on with 9 & 10 on the other side of the bridge.

Someone could repaint the tee areas. I think # 1 should tee off right directly by the bench.

Some piles of debris could be removed by the # 8 basket.
Other Thoughts: Since this is the only course for over a 100 miles, I guess that makes it the only game in town. It's not horrible, just a little neglected. It could use just a little bit of work, some clean up and would then be a little bit more appealing. If I lived in Elko, I'd play here. I would also step up and take some steps to improve this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

1    10/2/2015   10/3/2015
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 89  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - the only course in northeast Nevada
- there's baskets
- just off I 80
Cons: - no signage at all
- no real tee pads, wasn't sure if people usually just throw from basket to basket or use the nearby walking path
- the course is on a narrow peice of land set between a road and a river with over growth all around, not really ideal for disc golf
Other Thoughts: I'm sure the locals enjoy having a course, but as far as passing through its really not worth your time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Humboldt River DGC

5+    9/6/2015   9/6/2015
Review By: Markles3175
Played: 28  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a course in town so that is good. Course is short so it allows you to work on your putter/mid-range/upshot/putting game. There is never anybody there. If you get creative, you can come up with at least three shots to execute from each tee-pad. There are multiple pin positions.
Cons: Sometimes it is windy. Some of the rough is really rough. Some of the shots are redundant (but again, if you get creative, you can relieve this). Most of the tee-pads are on the path and this creates the shot redundancy. If some of the tee-pads were on the river terrace like hole 3's, then the course could be a lot different.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course because; you can get a round in really fast, you can play it entirely with a putter and a mid-range, and there is never anybody there (although it would be nice to play with some locals from time to time).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Much Improved

5+    3/25/2014   3/26/2014
Review By: Buddrinker
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Having a local course is great. The transient population has mostly moved across the river. A ton of landscape work has been done and makes it a lot easier to find your disc. Enjoy having the extra holes. Course is getting better all the time. Good mix of holes.
Cons: No course map on site, can be confusing if you've never played. Didn't realize there was a new "9" until I ran into someone playing it. Businesses on the back half make for interesting bad throws. Tees on the bike/walking path make for a lot of non players in the way at times.
Other Thoughts: This course has come a long way. The people who have put in their time and work on this have really done a great job considering the location and resources they were given.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Getting better

5+    1/21/2014   1/24/2014
Review By: landonc
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun local course! recent improvements from the locals have made this a decent place to play. The fairways have been cleared and new basket positions are available. Friendly people and easy to navigate.
Cons: The course is along a walking path, sometimes it is busy. Shared baskets make for some coordination with other players. The sport is new to town so some people don't quite "get it". Dont loose your disc in the willows!
Other Thoughts: A lot of hard work has gone into this course. If you are in the area, stop by and play it.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Straight and narrow.

5+    10/21/2012   11/1/2012
Review By: Hammer26
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Its a course. 9 baskets and 15 holes. You play to the baskets from 2 approaches which changes the shots up a bit. Trees are a plus and are utilized as some basket locales are tucked into the trees. Most teepads are off the walking path so footing is not an issue.
Cons: Lots of OB with businesses past the walking path, rough towards the water makes it difficult to find discs. Small homeless problem as there are tents in the rough. No course map as of yet, makes determining where to start a little difficult.
Other Thoughts: The sport is new to the Elko area in before the closest course to them was in Ely. This course only has been in since May so its really in its infancy. There is a local club already and doubles on sundays at noon that is casual and could help bring more to the game, some brush has been cut out since the first time I played it . They have utilized the land they were given. Maybe if the sport takes off more maybe another in a better local can be built.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Needs Work

2-4    8/6/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: JoseP
Played: 34  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: new baskets (simple DGA baskets)
easy to find location
friendly locals
Cons: so much overgrowth on the entire course
no actual tee pads, you mostly tee off from a running path
no signs anywhere, no map on site. they do provide one online but even that one was not very accurate
one hole 5 i believe is in a horrible spot where if you misthrow it will end up in some ones very sketchy back yard. its all RHBH throws going one direction and you turn around and its all flick or turnover shots the other way.
Other Thoughts: did really the best they could with what land was given to them to use. lots of ways to improve and hopefully the sport takes off in Elko and the city will allow the use of one of its many parks fire a real course to be put in. overall a pretty boring experience but at least its a start for the Northeastern Nevada region. if you are in the area stop by but i wouldn't recommend a special trip that way just yet if you have no other business in the area. also one more thing, i did notice some homeless people use this area as a home complete with tents, not sure if the city is aware of that but its something the course can't have if its to attract families into the sport.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.