Diamondhead, MS 
Diamondhead DGC Share
Uploaded By: ncb1221 Hole #9 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 224ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Short and Semi-sweet

1    4/5/2014   4/6/2014
Review By: Qikly
Played: 70  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 2.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Diamondhead DGC's 9 holes are situated throughout a small but varied neighborhood park that offers a surprising array of obstacles and hazards: sidewalk OB, trees guarding tee, pin, and fairway, water, and sloped terrain. The layout brings each of these into play in turn, leading to a diversity of holes relative to the predominantly short distances and the park's overall limitations. There's some line shaping here, although most take the form of some kind of hyzer. Technical challenge is enhanced if you play the walking path as OB, which can lead to some narrow fairways bordered by sidewalk on one side and water on the other. I like how the designers incorporated the water as a border on both the left and the right sides of fairways, as well as a hazard behind a basket approached from uphill. The sequence of holes mixes things up, rather than focusing on a particular feature for an individual stretch.

Tees are natural, but level, well-groomed, and well-marked. Navigation is easy once you find hole 1 (at the far right end of the park if you're facing the water, at the top of the hill). Bathrooms on site are nice.
Cons: The short hole lengths and overall cramped setting keep the course from ever feeling like anything other than what it is: a quick 9 in a small neighborhood park. Besides limiting the golf itself, this fact also introduces numerous potential conflicts with the locals. Hole 1 runs along a residential fence and tempts fate by embedding the basket in a carved-out section in the woods just beyond. I started my round by promptly throwing my new Crave into a bordering yard on what was actually a decently accurate turnover shot. Luckily a kind, if slightly flummoxed, child was there to hand it back to me; otherwise, that disc would have been gone.

Additionally, a walking path runs throughout the park and routinely crosses fairways. There's no real way for the course to avoid it on such a small patch of land. I was forced to wait for pedestrians on several occassions even though there were less than half a dozen others in the park. It was hard not to feel like I was intruding.

Despite the intermittant trees and numerous hazards mentioned above, the short hole lengths really limit the challenge this course can provide.
Other Thoughts: Diamondhead is one of several courses in southwest Mississippi. If I were to only hit one, I'd choose Buccaneer State Park, personally. There's a full 18 there that offers a lot of variety, and a greater challenge than you'll find here or at McLeod. If for some reason you want to choose one between Diamondhead and McLeod, Diamondhead gets my vote. This is a nice small course that is fine for course bagging or if you're in the neighborhood, but doesn't have much draw beyond that.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Play it for kicks

1    7/29/2013   10/5/2013
Review By: JJack39501
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very clean fun and easy.I hear there are plans to add 9 more holes.
Cons: Short holes no real challenge but water can come into play.
Other Thoughts: we played this course after Buccaneer and Mccloud so to get in 3 courses in a few hours isnt bad.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    8/6/2013   8/17/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 127  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 2.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This nine hole course makes great use of the small plot of land given for the course with the course playing on an elevation. The majority of the holes play up and down the hill.

The course has good tee signs with distances marked. There is also a course map at the beginning of the course which is nice but not needed since everything is pretty straight forward. Navigation is a breeze, you can play this course in twenty minutes.

The best hole is the first hole with a basket that is tucked into the trees. A 3 would be a good score here, and a two would be quite the accomplishment.
Cons: There were no signs on which side of the tee sign I should stand and on some holes, being on one side or the other drastically changes the holes. Hole 7 is a good example of this.

And because I believe this course is so rarely played there will never be a worn in spot for the tees and concrete tees, even small ones, seems completely out of the question.

The course is short and straight forward. Besides a few holes there are not too many memorable holes in Diamondhead.

On a pitch and putt course like this that is supposed to help introduce players, it seems offputting that there is a chance to have a disc get wet, albeit a small one. The lake comes into play twice and there is not sign of getting your disc back
Other Thoughts: Honestly, this course will not attract the biggest tournaments and hold next year's world championships. Nor will it host a small C-Tier or even a weekly mini and that is okay.

Diamondhead, MS seems like a very nice, wealthy town. This course will help introduce new players to the sport, and since this course has no other courses within 50 miles it COULD be used a lot but I am not sure that many people know it exists or what the random yellow baskets are even about. I could see this sport being a great place to take your kids for an afternoon activity, there just needs to be knowledge about the course and frankly I do not believe people know this is here.

If you are on a road trip down I-10 like I was and are thinking about stopping here, unless you are a course bagger there is nothing here that you would not see elsewhere. And, the course is a bit of a drive from the interstate and it does not seem worth the drive out here for nine average holes.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Decent Pitch and Putt

2-4    9/9/2012   9/9/2012
Review By: ncb1221
Played: 32  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Atmosphere: This course is in a nice quiet neighborhood alongside a small lake. It is very quiet and although I was there on a beautiful Sunday afternoon, there were only a few other people using the land (no others playing DG).

User of the land: There really isn't much room to work with here, but they've done a good job mixing up the holes. 6 of the 9 holes have elevation changes and two of the three that don't have water to contend with (the baskets on 2 and 8 are within 15 feet of the lake).

Ease of navigation: I had never played this course before, but I had no trouble at all finding my way. The only blind hole is #1, but it's very easy to find the basket. Even if you do have a little trouble, the whole course is walkable in a few minutes and you can see most of the baskets from anywhere on the course.

Baskets: Brand new DISCatcher baskets

Amenities: There are several benches throughout the course and I know I saw a garbage can by at least one of the benches. There is a pavilion by the parking lot with restrooms, but they were locked when I was there.
Cons: Tees: There are no tee boxes/pads. There is only a tee sign on each hole with no direction as to what side of the sign you should play from. On hole 7 there is practically no room to stand behind the tee sign (maybe 4 feet at the most) and it is not on level ground. Most of the other "tees" give you enough room and are relatively level, but this could could change as the natural "tees" are worn in.

Tee Signs: Other than having the distance (which seemed pretty accurate) on them, they aren't very useful. You can't see the number on them from the previous basket or really until you get right next to them. There is also no indication of the hole layout, but this is really only a small problem on hole #1.

Variety: With the exception of hole #1 and #6, every hole is straight ahead with very little obstacles to content with. Also, the majority of the holes are very short between 180 and 240 feet with 3 holes over 250, but none over 300.

Safety: Almost every hole plays near or over the jogging path. While I was out there, there was no one running (middle of the day on a beautiful Sunday), but I can imagine it may get crowded after school days. There are also quite a few holes that play dangerously close to other baskets and tees.

People: On my third round of the day, a few people started coming onto the course. There were two kids throwing a football trying to make it into the basket on hole #5. I noticed some kids walk by the basket on hole #7 on my second playthrough and when i got to the basket there was a zip tie tied around 5-6 chains that I had to cut off. Hopefully these incidents are few and far between and doesn't end up damaging these new baskets
Other Thoughts: Overall I had a good time playing this course. It's very quick to play through. I played three times the first time I went.

Hole #1: This hole plays along a fence with someone's back yard on the other side of it, so if you grip lock it, you might be hopping the fence or knocking on the person's door.

Hole #2: Longest hole on the course. There is water on the right side all the way along the hole. I didn't notice much wind on the course except on this hole blowing in off the water.

Hole #3: Plays uphill with the basket behind a few trees.

Hole #4: This was my favorite hole. It plays downhill towards the water with the basket sitting under a big tree. Unless you really overshoot the hole, the water doesn't come into play (60+ feet past the basket).

Hole #5: Pretty much a shorter repeat of hole #3

Hole #6: This one plays around the corner of the pavilion. You can barely see the top of the basket through the fence from the tee sign.

Hole #7: This is really the only hole that you have to deal with any trees on. This hole also has the worst tee I've ever seen. The ground is cracked and uneven and there is no room to throw from. I had to do a 2 step approach for this hole.

Hole #8: The second water hole. This one is very short with water on the left. The basket is very close to the water, but at 180 feet or so, even that isn't much to deal with.

Hole #9: Another short uphill hole like #3 and #5

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.