Huntley, IL 
Warrington Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #7 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 265ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 a way to know ur skills

5+    8/31/2013   9/1/2013
Review By: opiepierce
Played: 43  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: new tees as of July are great for footing. great course for defining your style of play and skill set. all hole's are a makeable 3.

HOLE 1/ 311ft/ par 3. long straight shot to basket under large tree. stay right side for easy putts

HOLE 2/ 402ft/ par 4. good hole to work on your long bomber with placement.

HOLE 3/ 215ft/ par 3. the ACE PLACE.

HOLE 4/ 400ft/ par 4. the other long bomber with no chance of getting in deep rough. maintenance piles on left, road on right and far right to a parking lot.

HOLE 5/ 220ft/ par 3. nice small hole with up then down hill and large tree left of basket. stay right side for easier putts.

HOLE 6/ 355ft/ par 4. start of risk / reward shots. many small low hanging trees left front of tee for the long trip around center pond. or bomb a straight shot thru tight window over pond.

HOLE 7/ 265ft/ par 3. great hole for added pressure. short and you land in deep rough, hang it to right and your in the willow tree, to much left puts hard line for basket. the straighter the better for this line.

HOLE 8/ 196ft/ par 3. ACE PLACE #2

HOLE 9/ 325ft/ par3. this hole will keep you and your nerves on edge. long S turn between two large willows with basket behind second. tall grass on left and right of fairway.

HOLE 10/ 253ft/ par 3. beware the wind. only thing in your way is a lot of tall thick grass on left and right.
Cons: 1) a bit of a walk back to parking lot after 10.
2) people thinking this is a long out of there way walk back.
3) not having anymore cons
Other Thoughts: 08/31/13 was a 2 round, 19 hole, 114 par tournament that was a great day spent at the park. I finished with 122 tied for 3rd. best course in the area.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Now pitching for the Cubs...Carlos Mármol

2-4    7/6/2013   7/9/2013
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 137  Reviewed: 80  Exp: 19.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/24/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was having a nice recreational round in Huntly, imagining the nice review I was going to write. Then I got to hole #7. Suddenly I realized how sportswriters felt when the Cubs were cruzing along with the lead and then brought in Carlos Mármol; you have to tear up the story you wrote and start over.

Warrington Park is one of those really nicely developed parks that were paid for with developer's money in the '00's housing boom. The course is an afterthought retrofit into open space/picnic areas that butts up to a row of McMansions; you are right there looking into their backyards for most of the course. Getting to #1 is not great (#6 is the first tee you see from the parking lot) and you can see two baskets from the first tee. The sign isn't great so you have to guess (I guessed wrong) but once you are off the course flows well for the first six holes. Hole #2 has a tall grass shortcut route that can cut down the distance to the pin if you can clear it. Hole #4 throws over (maybe it was supposed to be around) the maintenance dump of landscaping materials for the park AND it is the overflow parking area for the water park, so it is ugly and unplayable on hot summer weekend days. Not a huge deal. Hole # 5 is a short shot with some tricky elevation. Hole #6 can get you close to some backyards, but it's an OK park-style shot. The course has the Midwest Disc Golf functional tee signage and paver stone tees. The baskets are nice Chainstars. Right up through hole # 6 I thought I was playing a nice recreational course and was going to rate the course around a 2.5.
Cons: Hole #7 is dumb. It shoots over a swamp with tall grass and weeds, probably a 200'+ish carry over the weeds. New players/young players/recreational players could easily throw into the swamp/tall grass, and there is no safe route around. There is no way to skip the risk, and that is bad course design. There is also (and here is the dumb part I'm shocked no one else has mentioned) NO WAY TO GET TO THE # 7 BASKET WITHOUT WALKING BACK UP THE FAIRWAY FOR EITHER #6 OR #8. The flow here is terrible, and the design is unsafe. Hole #8 is a classic Jericho Lake "throw down the side of the entry road" hole. Hole # 9 is a tall grass nightmare. The hole is an optical illusion with the tall grass pulling in to the left up the hillside. There is tall grass in front of you, so it's hard to see the boundary to know if you are safe or not. Once you throw, you have to walk around a big section of tall grass to get to your disc so if you do throw in the tall grass you lose your frame of reference and just have to tromp around looking for it. It's not a hard hole, but frustrating. Hole #10 is an unremarkable tall grass shot that leaves you far away from where you parked.

The fix for this is obvious. It's a 10 hole course. Pull out #7, make hole # 9 hole #7, make hole #10 hole #8 and then rework hole #8 so it shoots the other direction and make it #9. That would eliminate the stupid #7 shot AND get you back to your car to end the course, making it a perfectly decent 2.5 9-hole course. Why they are trying to cram in an extra hole, using a stupid shot to do it and ending at the far end of the park is a complete mystery.
Other Thoughts: If the last four holes were not terrible, this would be a very nice recreational course. However, the last four holes are terrible. That part of the course badly needs to be redesigned. Until it is, I have to ding the rating of this course significantly.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

My Backyard Course

5+    4/22/2013   4/24/2013
Review By: Slow_Disc
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/11/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is in my backyard. I enjoy playing this course as much any other course in the area. Playing it probably more than any one else, I think Mike did brilliant job of course layout and basket locations given the limited property to work with.
Pavilion, Water Spigot, and Porta potty are nice amenities. The Disc Golf area of park isn't overly used, thus no crowd issues. The course handled the April 2013 flooding well, when other course might not been as playable.
Overall Challenging Course for Beginner/Intermediate.
Cons: Tee Pads are IN!! (Jul 2013)
No "thickly" wooded holes to bring the challenge of variety of small window technical shots.
Other Thoughts: I get to play this course often, it is literally in my backyard. I have played over a dozen of other courses, with Marengo being my local favorite. (over Leopold)
#1 (311') Big arms will find the Basket protected under large beautiful oak tree that is on the edge of 10 foot steep hill that will punish missed go for shot.
#2 (402') Open shot that needs to clear a nature area, with preferred landing area on a narrow elevated ridge area. Basket is also top of an elevated hill that can also punish miss go for shots.
#3(215') - Short Ace Run. Easiest Hole.
#4(400') - Distance is the only challenge, along side of town Pool area.
#5(220') - Basket underneath and protected by another large oak, requires a R to L meat hook skip to get it close.
#6(355') - Toughest Hole, need to find a path between the trees. Water could comes into play, but manageable.
#7(265') - Favorite Hole, Ace Run, over water (170' to carry), Brilliant basket placement between two large oak trees with 5' diameter trunks.
#8 (196')- Ace Run, Enough Trees and foliage, to punish throws that aren't on line.
#9 (325')- Need a Helix Shot to get to the right of a "Mando" Willow Tree and land on grass fair way.
#10 (253')- Ace Run over Nature area.
- Rob D.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Beginner/Intermediate

1    9/21/2012   12/12/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11 Years
Pros: - Course is set in a decent sized city park, that has the various activities pretty well separated. Aside from a pavilion, which isn't really in play, there should not be any interference.
- A decent mix of rough, trees, and some tall grass provide hazards to avoid on most of the holes. There is a big depression full of nasty rough that is in play on #6 and #7. Going way left on #6 is a good option instead of trying to clear a pretty small gap, but #7 pretty much forces a shot over the schule. #8 is also bordered by this rough on the left side. #9 and #10 have mowed fairways in tall grass to force some shot placement.
- Holes with trees include #1, with the basket under low branches, #5's pin is also underneath a big tree, and #6 has trees to avoid off the tee as well as before the gap. Even more if going around the rough on the left side. Also some very large willows to shot around/between on #9.
- Some little elevation changes here and there, like the aforementioned depression, a slight uphill slope on #1, a valley shot on #2, a small hump to go over or around on #5, and a downslope on #8. Nothing major, but noticeable.
- Pretty good mix of hole length for a smaller course, there are three shorties under 220', but also four holes over 300'; two of those over 400'. Many chances for some full power shots for most players.
- Nice signs and baskets, natural tees are still new and in good shape. Navigation can be a little tricky; the course starts by the pavilion and isn't marked very well. Not terrible, map isn't necessary.
Cons: - A lot of pretty open shots here, with only a tree or two to worry about. #1, #4, and #10 especially, and #2, #3, and #8 to a lesser degree. Staying out of the rough/grass off the very generous fairways is the only challenge.
- Hole #10 ends at the end of the park, so you have to hoof it back to the parking area. Not a long haul, just annoying.
- Layout is a little cramped in a few spots, like #7's basket, which is close to #6's fairway.
Other Thoughts: - Not a shabby course, pretty good variety in terms of open and lightly wooded holes, with #6 being the tightest and toughest. #2 is a cool valley hyzer shot over some rough as well. A few tricky approach shots, and some longer drives as well. Should be perfect for beginners, and even intermediate players. Advanced players will be able to cruise through.

9 Holes of Disc Golf

1    11/22/2012   12/3/2012
Review By: jasonc
Played: 125  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 11.3 Years
Pros: New, nice Chainstar baskets.

Good tee signs with hole distances.

#2 is a fun hole, with some good rough/long grass to punish bad/short drives.

#9 is also a fun hole that takes away the hyzer route for most RHBH players.
Cons: Natural, undefined and sometimes uneven teepads.

This course does not seem to flow well because you walk by the parking lot twice during your round, but then you have a long walk back to the lot after you finish on #10.

While this course seems like it was designed for beginners and recreational level players, #2, #3, #4, #5, #7, #9 and #10 have the potential to be very frustrating to players at that level.

Nagivation is not extremely difficult, but "Next Tee" signs would be very helpful here.
Other Thoughts: When you enter the park, use the very first parking lot on the right. Hole #1 is not very easy to find. It's just south of the pavillion.

Beginners and recreational level players will find a good (and frustrating) test here. Advanced and open players may want to create some safari holes along the way in order to create some challenge.

It seems like this course is still rough around the edges. These is enough room to make this at least a 3.0 level course if the Park District is looking to make some improvements.

Meh

1    10/20/2012   10/30/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a corner of a small mostly flat park. A couple holes have some nice length, others are fun shorter ace runs. Several of the holes have some mature trees in play, offering a couple line shaping challenges and a couple low ceiling shots. There is enough rough in a few spots to really punish you for missing your line. With the sports fields right across the street, this is a nice exposure for the sport in an area where there aren't a ton of courses.
Cons: There are some strange holes, and the course doesn't really have a strong identity. There are some wide open ace runs that cater only to beginners or people who want to up their ace count, and a couple holes that are long enough to frustrate new players. The long grass is my least favorite disc golf obstacle, it adds frustration and time without changing the way you have to throw your next shot when you go in the rough.

The natural tees are not well defined, and are already showing some wear. They will likely turn into mud pits without improvement or maintenance. The walk after the last hole is pretty long. There isn't a lot of variety in lines you have to shape, you can get away with hyzer or straight shots pretty much everywhere here.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course reasonably approachable, even with the couple longer holes, though the prairie areas could get frustrating. More experienced players won't find a ton of challenge or variety here, it's not worth going out of your way to play here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Rookie review

2-4    10/21/2012   10/22/2012
Review By: SocialD
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 12/16/2013
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I'm new to the sport and this is the first course that I have ever played. This is a nice open course and is certainly friendly for rookies. It is pretty open and difficult to lose discs; however, there are some technical shots to keep it interesting.
Added:
New brick tee pads have been installed! I like that many of the holes have a couple of different lines.

Being a lefty, I find that this course is a good balance of lefty and righty holes.
Cons: It is difficult to find the first hole and the hole markers are 90° to the baskets. The course is easy enough to follow once you figure out that the basket is to the right when facing the hole markers.
Added:
The addition of tee pads make this course really easy to follow.
Other Thoughts: This course is a lot of fun for a newer player. The course is well taken care of and everyone that we have run into while playing this course has been very friendly.
Added: I have been playing this course for over a year now. It is one of my favorites now that I have developed my skills to the point where I can appreciate the nuances of the course.
From a lefty point of view:
Hole 1 is 311' that is slightly up hill and the basket is protected by a big tree.
hole 2 is 411'. This is a tough throw for me because my hyser line is protected by a bunch of trees.
hole 3 is short and again my hyser line is protected by a bunch of pine trees. A straight shot is my best option, but it is easy to over throw the basket on a go for shot and land OB.
hole 4 is 402' and your first shot and really make or break this hole.
hole 5 is another shorter hole. I can throw a hyser around a hill, but then the basket is protected by another big tree.
hole 6 has two lines to it. One can throw through a small gap in the trees about 200' feet away and land in the sometimes swamp area or go to the left and contend with a bunch on smaller trees.
hole 7 is over the same sometimes swamp area and through another gap in the trees. The basket is protected by a couple of large trees in front and in back of it.
hole 8 is another ace run hole. It is a short and straight forward hole.
hole 9 is a big middle finger to the lefties of the world! There is a mando that is between two large willow trees that really favors righties. If not for the mando, this would be an easy lefty hole.
hole 10 is 266' and is my only ace at Warrington to date. it is a wide open hole with a smallish landing area in front of and to the left side of the basket. The back and right side are pretty open.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not worth your time

1    8/9/2012   9/11/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 170  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The signs are decent although they face 90 degrees left of the direction of the hole. There are a couple nice longer par 3s here. The baskets are decent.
Cons: Hole 6 is really weird. It is 380 and you can see the basket straight ahead but the only good line to it is a roller and there is barely any room to set one down because of the small trees that are all over the fairway. Holes 1,3,5,7,8, and 10 are all boring and rather open and short. The tees are hard to see as they are just marked with paint in the grass.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Hunting for Birdies in SpazLand

1    8/8/2012   8/8/2012
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the home of Mike "Spaz" Kutella. It's located in a very well kept public park and plays on a long strip of land on the West side. There is a huge sign at the entrance that says Stingray Bay. The land is mostly open with a little sloping terrain in a couple of places. There are a few holes that play in a prairie area. You want to park in the first very small parking lot on the right. Hole #1 not very easy to find. It's just south of the pavillion past the port o potty. Once we found #1 we had no problem with navigation.

Brand new Discraft Chainstars with DGA # plates.

Solid tee signs.

Variety of distances from 196 to 402 feet. I threw putter, mid, fairway, and distance driver. I was able to unleash a few full power drives.

Hole #2 is a crusher hole that plays slightly downhill and has a sloped green.

Hole #5 is an interesting shorter par 4? I just don't see anyone 2ing this hole unless there is a throw in or some awesome roller. I don't think the best players in the world could get a lazer beam shot down the middle to the basket.
Cons: Natural grass tee pads.

The tee signs are not facing the hole so you are looking at a description of the hole from the side.

Hole #7 has no option for players who cannot clear the tall rough area to play around. They have to throw in the tall grass.

I thought on hole #5 & #9 if the tees were moved back they would have forced a different line. On #5 you can throw a slight hyzer to straight shot. Moving it back would have forced a turnover shot which this course lacks. On #9 I like the idea of an S curve between the trees. Any player with an arm is going to throw around the big willow to the right which myself and another play did. Had the tee been moved back there is a smaller tree that would have blocked that route off. I threw a RHBH hyzer on 8 of the 10 holes.

After you finish hole #10 you have to walk down the road 150 yards or so past #8 to the parking lot. It's a frustrating finish to the course.
Other Thoughts: This has been an extremely dry summer. I'm not sure how much water sits in the tall grass run off areas. Hole 6, 7, 9, 10, & 11 play near them. I have a feeling those areas are going to hold water.

Concrete tees and a couple of tweaks and I'd give this course a 2.5.

The pool on the property is very impressive. Bring your swim suit!
http://www.huntleyparks.org/stingray-bay/

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.