Conroe, TX 
Little Egypt DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #8 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 201ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
The Narrow Path

1    6/25/2014   7/8/2014
Review By: ianryn
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Concrete tee boxes
- Hole location map at tee boxes
- Lets you know the direction of the next hole location on the map
- Clean fairways
- Some trees but makes it challenging
- Benches on some hole locations
- Brush cleared away on pathways
- Wooded areas not overgrown so makes it easy to locate disc
- Well shaded
Cons: - No holes are to wide open
- No area to practice driving
- Cages could stand out more with better markings (bright colored tape/paint)
- No easy way out if it starts to rain (from experience)
- Lots of small tree stumps that are easy to trip over
Other Thoughts: - Course makes you pay for inaccurate throws
- Park is in a great location away from the rest of park traffic

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Little Red Riding Hood

1    10/8/2013   10/29/2013
Review By: uwdiscgolf
Played: 66  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 10/31/2013
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Pros:

1. Huge tee pads. Ample room to get a really nice run up in the woods.

2. Course map in parking lot. I would take a look before beginning.

3. Tee signs with pretty accurate display.

4. Tight wooded course. Too many course in Houston lack tight wooded holes.

5. Hole 1 starts in the woods, but there is a short drive tucked back by the tee pad so you dont have to walk from the main parking lot.

6. Elevation. The first few holes basically play in alternating sequence of downhill to uphill to downhill... etc. Some holes play flat with elevation surrounding the pin.

7. Course begins and ends in the same area.

8. New DGA Mach 5 baskets with number plates.

9. Restrooms on site.

10. Practice basket near parking back by tee 1.
Cons: The Cons:

1. New course with lots of debris in the fairways. A good raking would help clear up most of the debris.

2. Mid way through the course it can get a tiny bit confusing as to where the next tee pad is. That's why i recommend checking out the course map in the main parking lot.

3. This a a piggy back of #2, but course needs a few more trees trimmed out to give a more realistic line from tee to basket.

Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed the challenge of Little Egypt. Every hole is tightly wooded. You will need a controlled drive with an equally controlled upshot. With the tight fairways offering little forgiveness, your upshots and putts will likely be from the brush or behind tress. Dont be to cocky and think that laying up is bad. You have 18 holes of frustration ahead if you dont keep your cool. Lastly, I think that Little Egypt is a great addition to the north Houston area. Bring bug spray and wear long shorts or pants for the brushy fairways.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


1    5/22/2013   5/22/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 124  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 2.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When coming out to Little Egypt my expectations were low. But I left having a fun time at a tight course in a scenic forest near Lake Conroe.

First of all the tee pads are monsters. Easily the biggest pads in the greater-Houston area. The signs of each hole were pristine and were very informative and they jumped out at you.

One problem that comes with heavy wooded courses is navigation. There are usually turn arounds or holes that do not connect to each other. This course was super easy to follow and the next tee pad could usually be seen from the previous hole. With the big bright course map at the beginning, the course was that much easier to follow.

The course itself is a different feel then most Houston courses. 100% of the holes need a controlled drive to make sure you can get through the narrow fairways. The basket placements are challenging but fair.

Even after a rain this course does not seem to hold water and can be played all the time. There was elevation change on a few holes which probably drains the water into the ditches that go through the course.

The course is still new and it is quite empty it seems throughout the day.
Cons: They say it is better to be lucky than good. And unless you are a 1000+ rater player you may need a few lucky shots to get through VERY small gaps in the fairways. I thought a few holes were quite unfair with just a few two many trees clustered together on a few holes. I guess that was the point of this course so it is sort of nitpicking from a guy who likes to throw his discs far and without care.

Repetition will get you out here. Playing here once it is hard to pick a favorite hole because there is not a hole that sticks out in my mind as THE hole. Everything was tight and 250-300~ ft so it made the course seem repetitive.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course and should not be overlooked or turned away from because of it's difficulty. The Woodlands/Conroe area already has great courses and Little Egypt is a great addition and adds what this area has been lacking, a heavily wooded finesse course.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Quality Course without the "Wow Factor"

1    9/1/2012   1/24/2013
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is nothing better than a new professionally installed course to give you a great first impression. As with many of the DG consultant courses, the concrete pads a huge and the signage is great. Plus, the Mach V baskets are some of the best pins to play on, so you're not worried about spit outs. Other amenities include plenty of parking, a playground for the kids, and bathrooms.

Design aspect pros include a stronger middle portion of the course with tighter and more technical lines. Many of the holes will make you work to stay on the fairway and punish you for wayward drives into the rough. The overall length is good considering the majority of the course course is carved out of thick trees. And though many of the holes are straightforward - there are just enough blind shots that force you to throw anhyzers and hyzers to keep you entertained.

BEST HOLE/S: #10; & #12
Cons: Repetition is the greatest enemy of Little Egypt. You essentially start the course by playing the same uphill hole (#2, #3, #5) and the same downhill hole (#1, #4) the exact same. Even though the holes are challenging with the foliage and minor elevation change, the lack of variation is a big negative.

Moving beyond the first six holes, truly the course as a whole suffers from this problem. Basically, you have a great looking course that is enjoyable, but nothing ever really stands out. I finished thinking I couldn't really decide if I even had a favorite hole, or something that made me want to come back and play again.

WORST HOLE/S: #1; #6
Other Thoughts: It may be a bit unfair to downgrade a course solely on it's lack of variation or creativity, but it seems to be a theme that echoes many of the greater Houston courses designed by DG Consultants. It's ironic too because overall I typically like their product, and think others could take note to how they do their finishing touches around the box. I even enjoy the technical courses over the huge open courses, but I just didn't love this course like the others in the area.

Players uninitiated to the Houston DG scene may not realize this, but if you've played the majority of the greater Houston courses - I believe you'll agree. You'll notice the same design themes at courses like Oak Meadows Park, Timber Lane Park, or Spring Valley DGC finesse 18.

However, I believe the differences between a course like Oak Meadows and Little Egypt is that it may look bright and tight at first glance, but just misses the mark on incorporating other features that capture your attention and make it truly memorable.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/17/2012   10/17/2012
Review By: Mason65
Played: 27  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Concrete Teepads
- Benches and trash cans near many teepads.
- Course is mostly independent from the rest of the park, interference from pedestrian foot traffic is minimal.
- Every hole is tightly wooded and many require unique and creative shot selection.
- Most of course is well shaded.
Cons: - Holes 1-6 will feel a bit repetitive (straight downhill, straight uphill, rinse, repeat,) but the course does grow in its variety.
- No "Wide open" holes.
- No good fields in park for driving practice
- There is one confusing transition between holes 12 and 13, its over the bridge and to the right. Signage could be better at this juncture.
Other Thoughts: Leave the distance drivers at home! Little Egypt offers a technical challenge I've not seen in the north Houston area. The course offers many challenging angles for the experienced player without being too long and narrow for the beginner. While not a terribly "pretty" course right now with all the downed brush, there is a feeling of tranquility as you walk through the dense forest.

If you want to become a better player with your control drivers and mids off the tee I suggest a frequent dose of this course.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  New Course

2-4    8/11/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: BirdMane
Played: 103  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.3 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course rewards you for good shots and punishes you for bad shots. The fairways are wide enough to be fair but if you are off prepare to take another stroke. Good variety of shots for both right and left hand players and side arm. Great pavilion and restrooms and easy access of I-45.
Cons: Lots of brush all around because it is a new course. This will be cleaned up over the next few months I am sure. Could use a few more benches to be really critical and a bridge over the creek.
Other Thoughts: Do not cut down too many more trees. It is open enough as is and will get broken in over time

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.