Mesa, AZ 
Emerald Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 276ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Beautiful Park-Decent Course

2-4    7/6/2015   7/6/2015
Review By: JNichols
Played: 36  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice 18 hole course on GRASS. Some holes with a bit of elevation, a couple water holes, and a good use of available space. Swirly wind keeps intermediate players like me on their toes a bit with shot selection. Nice Concrete tee pads and MOST holes have Alternate Baskets. Not a very long course, but a couple holes out to 400ft and others over 300ft. At least a few trees and obstacles come into play. All in all, a good use of the Available space in the park.
Cons: As mentioned before, you play the course Backwards for the back 9 holes off of Different tee pads, but using the same baskets as the front 9. The One Blind Basket where you could encounter someone you may not see before you throw would be Holes 7 and 11. They play to the same basket from opposite directions with a Hill between limiting line of Sight. Please throw Carefully!
Other Thoughts: A decent course for recreational/intermediate players, I would say. Folks looking for more of a Challenge may want to hit one of the other Local Courses. For what it is, it is a Nice course to play.

**** With some of the Alternate Baskets missing on some of the holes, the DGCR Scoring App will be OFF a bit if you are using it to try and get your DGCR Rating. As in, hole 18 shows 320ft from the Red position, but the ONLY basket in the ground on that hole right now is at 210ft. Other holes DO have the Alternate baskets IN PLACE.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice Design-Especially When There Aren't Many Players On The Course!

1    3/17/2015   3/17/2015
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 767  Reviewed: 718  Exp: 37.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In Mid-March Emerald Park was a lovely shade of Emerald Green. Reminded me of me days as a wee lad growing up in Ireland....only I grew up in Washington! Still, it's a very pretty park with lake in the center of the bowl. The course designers used the bowl quite effectively in their hole design giving players at least 6-7 fun downhill tosses. The tee pads, baskets and signage are all fine. There isn't much in the way of natural obstacles in this park but the ones they have are used to the utmost effieciency. On a number of tee offs, I had to reconsider as lightpoles/trees were directly where I wanted to place my drive.
I was guided by a local, Colby, who showed me the course layout. I don't think if would have difficult even without him. Having only 9 baskets and playing the front nine in counter clockwise fashion and then playing the back nine clockwise seems to work work here. At least, I liked the layout.
Cons: I could see some problems with this layout during heavy use periods with groups approaching the same basket from opposite directions. There's only one blind thrown on the entire course so I would hope players would use extra caution there.

The pond comes into play on only about three holes. I did have one bad rollaway that ended up in the drink.
Other Thoughts: Emerald Park plays just a bit above a recreational level. A decent intermediate player should shoot 6-9 strokes under. But pro golfers often shoot way under par. If you can shoot 9 under, then try and score -10 or whatever. I can see Emerald Park being a popular choice here in the Phoenix area and it would be for me too.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ups and Downs

5+    2/21/2014   2/21/2014
Review By: Disc Golf Chuck
Played: 42  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/25/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has good tee pads with signs at each hole so you can determine which position the basket is in. These pin positions are moved from time to time which adds variety to the course if you play it regularly.

There is grass which is nice as many courses in Arizona are desert/rock courses. The pond in the middle comes into play on up to three holes depending on the pin placements.

The baskets are in good condition and all but hole 7 are visible from the tee pad. The flow of the course makes sense and is intuitive.

There is a pavilion that provides much-needed shade in the summertime.

There is a practice basket near the first hole.

The course utilizes the terrain and landscape it has to work with well. The holes are placed between, or behind trees, when possible. Some holes are on hillsides and the few obstacles that are available are incorporated into the course to add as much difficulty as possible even though it isn't feasible on every hole.

The parking area is sufficient unless it is on a league night.

The course is easy to get to as it is situated just north of a major freeway.

There are a few signs that direct disc golfers where to find lost discs.

There is a well-run league on Monday nights as well as a doubles league on Wednesdays.
Cons: With the course being set up with 9 baskets played from 2 directions in order to complete 18 holes, you tend to overlap with other disc golfers if it is busy.

There is very little line shaping needed on this course as the layout is very wide open which allows for long, hard drives and there is little punishment for errant throws.

The course is not very difficult for an intermediate or advanced player, but is excellent for newer, or less-experienced, players.

No restrooms, water fountains, or facilities.
Other Thoughts: The park had its drainage re-engineered in the summer of 2013. During the renovation, a few trees were lost or removed. The grass was also adversely affected, but has recently begun to come in more fully. The course is well taken care of by the Emerald Disc Golf Club and the city of Mesa. On a side note, the course does experience vandalism from time to time. There is a bit of graffiti on the brick walls, ripped out or bent baskets, and signs that have been tampered with. The graffiti and/or damage is usually dealt with rather quickly, but it can take away a bit from the ambiance when playing a round. All in all, the course is enjoyable and can be played in a little over an hour on most days.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Better than nothing

5+    1/3/2014   2/3/2014
Review By: adamwad
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Considering it is a small park in the middle of a city, the holes are not as short as you might expect. A few of the baskets are on the side of small hills, which creates a challenge. Nice tee pads, nice signs. Good area for practicing your throws. A few trees to navigate. GREAT local disc golf crowd.
Cons: Mostly flat and repetitive. Lots of traffic and people. 18 holes use 9 baskets, so you are running into each other a lot. Generally unimpressive.
Other Thoughts: It is a pretty convenient location, so that is nice. Easy to stop by and play few holes on your way home from work. There is a great local crew here that are fun to play with. Good course to try out lots of discs to watch flight pattern.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/1/2013   2/4/2013
Review By: Treedestroyer9
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.3 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Its a good course to try out new discs and testing their flight. good if you are limited on time after work and wanna get a few holes in.
Cons: Boring and dirty...Not worth the time
Other Thoughts: People in they way make it not very fun.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great beginner course

1    1/25/2013   1/30/2013
Review By: Lackychams
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Short 18 hole course over 9 baskets
-Has some difficulties to it with out alot of trees
-bright baskets
- Great signage for the holes.
Cons: - Very Dry
- course does overlap but not that bad when i went
- small parking lot so if its busy parking is in the neighborhood around the park.
-
Other Thoughts: great starter course to get your distance down, when i went in the afternoon time it wasnt busy a few DGers but was no problem with throwing.

wish they would have more the 1 tee box for the holes the 9th and the 12 i believe have 2 different tee boxes. which is good for advance and beginners.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/8/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: Psicko
Played: 24  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/27/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: different tee locations- basket moved on a regular basis.
Good for a variety of people.
good variety.
on the shorter side- a pro for newer people, better ace chances for better players
Practive basket for warming up
Cons: on the shorter side- may be boring for better players.
Other Thoughts: Since the renovation, this place is much better taken care of. The layout is also better, with multiple pin layouts available. There are also a few holes with different tee pads, to make it a bit easier. One hole goes right over the lake. The alternate pad only goes partially over the water, so newer players can play it safe, This place is more open than others, which is a andvantage for newer players. Probably the easiest course in the valley for beginners.

For more information on leagues, as well as printable maps, lost and found, used discs for sale, and score cards go to emeraldparkdgc.com

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun-damentals

1    7/6/2012   7/19/2012
Review By: CaliZac89
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Variety of shots.
Some elevation changes.
Nice baskets.
Trees and small water hazard make play interesting.
Cons: Not the best neighborhood.
Muddy during monsoon season (especially when city of mesa forgets to turn off sprinklers)
No parking lot, just side streets.
Other Thoughts: Easy to play.
Course designed great to fit the park.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/30/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: crystal haze
Played: 24  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 21.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played a glow round here on a Friday night. The group was a good size - about a dozen players.

For night time disc it is open enough to be doable, and still be fun in the dark. A variety of shots and tree placement to keep it interesting.
Cons: The decent locals during the glow round seemed to be able to almost deuce half the holes. I imagine during the day this would not be a particularly interesting course to play since it is so open and not particularly long.
Other Thoughts: It seemed like everyone playing the glow round was a regular there and so I felt a little disoriented between playing my first glow round ever and at that course for the first time too. Nonetheless it was fun.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 nice easy course

2-4    2/6/2012   2/8/2012
Review By: Natedoog
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: great course to teach people on. I came to to Arizona from Kansas and this course reminded me of home with less trees. Playing the long tees adds some challenge.
Cons: A little to easy/short to be an everyday course unless you're looking to warm up your arm.
Other Thoughts: Great place to learn a new disc. Not Much water and easy to retrieve a grip lock

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.