Mesa, AZ 
Emerald Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 375ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Better than nothing

5+    1/3/2014   2/3/2014
Review By: adamwad
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6
Pros: Considering it is a small park in the middle of a city, the holes are not as short as you might expect. A few of the baskets are on the side of small hills, which creates a challenge. Nice tee pads, nice signs. Good area for practicing your throws. A few trees to navigate. GREAT local disc golf crowd.
Cons: Mostly flat and repetitive. Lots of traffic and people. 18 holes use 9 baskets, so you are running into each other a lot. Generally unimpressive.
Other Thoughts: It is a pretty convenient location, so that is nice. Easy to stop by and play few holes on your way home from work. There is a great local crew here that are fun to play with. Good course to try out lots of discs to watch flight pattern.

 Nice but simple course

1    10/26/2011   10/31/2011
Review By: BeauRoch
Played: 48  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Clean park setting. Easy layout and has a practice basket.
Cons: Multiple tees use the same baskets. Needs a map that is printable. Must be aware of other park users when throwing.
Other Thoughts: Good layout for practice and new players.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 If your in town

5+    5/18/2003   5/18/2010
Review By: Chuck Cagle
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.8 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: It was close by my house.
Nice Baskets
Trees protected the baskets and forced different shot making
Cons: park is an open park and oaften there were people camped out on blankets in the middle of the fairways ect.

Basically an good neighborhood course for locals

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 easy beginner course

1    7/6/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/16/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice open course. Not many trees to get in the way and hole are fairly short. The course uses what it has available to it in reagrds to the trees and small hills found throughout. 9 holes, but can be played in reverse for 18. Clean, easy to get to and not too busy when I played. A good course to work on your drives as a few of the holes are open and a little long. The grass throughout is something not seen to much in the desert area.
Cons: Teepads are grass and certainly not easy to find. Maybe 5 signs for the holes were remaining. Obvious navigation issues, but easy enough to figure out. Not much of a challenge here for more experienced players. The Mach 2's were well worn and didn't catch very well. I have seen a lot of putts bounce out on them.
Other Thoughts: A nice change of pace from other courses in the area in that fact that there is actually grass everywhere! Just enough challenge to get an enjoyable quick round in and tempt you into coming back again. Definately a beginner course, but still has a little to offer everyone else.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Neighborhood Course

2-4    4/28/2008   1/28/2009
Review By: Texconsinite
Played: 127  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/5/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Considering the limited size of this park, it's genuinely amazing that they managed to put a decent DG course in. The sloping hillside ads a little spice, and comes into play on several holes. Also, the electric green pond comes into play on one or more holes, for a little twist. One of the most interesting hole involves shooting over the hill and to the right to a blind pin on the opposite slope. Even after playing it before, and scouting it out to remind yourself, its always hard to judge where the basket is from the tee. I like that.

Alternate Tees allow you to play the course sortof backwards for 18 holes. Alt tees are even a little more challenging than the regular ones. Nice because they allow you to flow around the opposite direction and reverse everything: The lake is on the other side, the hill slopes to the right instead of to the left. Evens it out a bit.
Cons: This course is in a mostly open area around the sides of the park, with only scattered trees. While some baskets are reasonably well protected, most are pretty wide open.

The marking on this course is halfway between bad and nonexistent. Natural tees are mostly marked by two little flags jammed into the ground. Look like mini koosh balls. Very hard to see. Only some have signs. I understand why they did it, since concrete or stones might be a bad idea in a multi-use park, but most holes play around the edges of the park, and would benefit from a simple numbered pole.

The alt tees are even harder to find, since they are all koosh balls of a different color (green vs pink i think) than the main ones. Since they are less often used than the main ones, they are even harder to locate.

The baskets are also not numbered, which makes it difficult at times to know which one you are shooting at. The few times I played there, I had to redirect groups to the right basket on more than one occasion.

One of the (alt?) holes seems very poorly planned. It is a shot across the parking lot, that just asks for broken windows and dented panels. Most play from next to the parking lot for this reason, but to avoid confusion and angry motorists, the tee should be officially moved.

Also, on the last few holes, and the first few alt holes, watch out for the cinder block wall that separates the park from the residential neighborhood. Many of the houses there have big dogs roaming the back yards, so if your disc goes over the wall its toast.

Though it throws a little variety at you, this park is mostly plain vanilla. Its a good place to take beginners or to practice your drives, but nothing to write home about.

Mouer Park and Vista Del Camino are both more challenging and fun.

This park would benefit from better tee signs, though the time and money would be better spent installing signs on the back nine of Mouer than fixing the ones here.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad park, but very basic. However, if you want to go throw discs in a field, it is preferable to have baskets to aim at. This is a good place for that, provided you don't toss one over the fence or the wall, or into the stagnant duck pond.

I'm glad there is a DG course here, but its an instance of making the best course possible within a very limited space. This course succeeds in that sense, but its still very plain. Its enjoyable to play, and the hill putts do spice things up a bit, but its nothing to write home about.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A neighborhood course.

5+    12/25/2005   10/25/2008
Review By: domromer
Played: 31  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 11.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Not busy, lots of grass, some water hazards.
Cons: Not a real challenging or interesting course.
Other Thoughts: This course is nothing special. But it shows how every neighborhood in America could squeeze a course into a public park. It doesn't matter than it's not the world greatest course. What matters is that it's right in the middle of a residential neighborhood and lots of people have a course within a short walk of their front door. We need more courses like this that are central and get more people playing.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Works in a pinch

4/12/2007   5/23/2008
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A place to play in a pinch
Good use of the few obstacles (some trees, a little elevation and water) available
Cons: I feel for the folks who have to design the courses in the PHX metro area...there are not many options
This course was a little redundant for me, but not at all the fault of the designers...
Other Thoughts: The bottom line for me (especially when I'm traveling on business--which is the situation when I play in the Phx area) is that I would rather be out tossing my discs in a park like this than not playing at all...there have been some courses that are so poorly designed I would never play them again...this one is not in that category, I've played it a number of times

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.