Plymouth, MI 
NorthRidge Church Share
Uploaded By: Jiggy202 Hole #13 (Taken 10/2013)
3 / 184ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Basket



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Simple as can be

2-4    6/12/2014   6/15/2014
Review By: Crazydiscraft
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: As the title says, this course(at least the front nine) is about as simple as a DG course gets. However, that's not necessarily a bad thing. I for one am rather new to the sport and find this to be an AMAZING course for beginners. The front nine is nice and open and with the exception of minor water hazards, it's quite tough to lose a disc. The course is very well maintained and traffic has never been bad. If you are or know any beginners who are new to DG, bring them here.
Cons: On almost EVERY hole, if you throw a Hyzer shot, you will most likely lose your disc. Rather it's into a swamp, The main road, A pond, THE HIGHWAY, or just Into some "Disc-stealing" rough. The Back Nine is not exactly great. With the exception of #10, each hole has narrow fairways and very thick rough, it's easy to lose discs and it's really hard to find them. Along with this, bugs are 2x as bad on the back nine, so make sure you load up on bug spray. Unless you're up for losing discs, when you come here, stick to the front nine.
Other Thoughts: Overall, it's a good course, I just think that adding the back nine was Unecessary.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun little course!

1    4/30/2014   4/30/2014
Review By: mball1684
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/10/2014
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of scoring opportunities. Very accessible and a very good course for beginners to learn on. The holes are very well kept and looked after. Probably the cleanest course I have ever been on.
Cons: More than a handful of holes are too short with easy basket placements. Basic baskets make putting a little difficult at times.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Back 9 actually HURT the score here

1    11/5/2013   11/5/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 243  Reviewed: 236  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays around the perimeter and back lot of a HUGE church in the rich suburbs.

Teesigns-- very very basic, shows hole number and distance. no map or "next tee" on the signs.

Baskets-- DN freedom baskets in great repair. back 9 seem to have anodized chains and they appear gold.

Routing and nav-- easy. a couple longer walks but nothing crazy

Variety-- there's a little bit of everything here but a little heavy on the little pitch and putt holes.

Cons:
Challenge-- not overly challenging course. a lot of pitch and putt holes. #5 seems to be the biggest challenge with the pond at the bottom of the big big hill with huge rollaway potential.

back 9-- the back 9 seem like a LOT of filler holes. playing through light scrub trees with easy lines and then through a field with no obstacles. there is a long hole 500+ along the highway where wind could be a big issue.

#1 and #18-- these two fairways are VERY close to each other and could present a potential danger.

Other Thoughts:
I dunno, It's a nice course but I felt the back 9 detracted some from the overall aesthetic of the course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Eh

2-4    10/16/2013   10/24/2013
Review By: jswoods1984
Played: 39  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not a lot of people there, can cruise through a round in no time. Great course for glow golf.
Cons: A lot of very bland holes, nothing with any real character. Could have probably made it a little better, but they did what they could with what they had. Just not a fun course during the day

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Go to Church, and play Disc Golf :)

1    5/13/2013   5/14/2013
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1146  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 26.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Disc Golf course is situated on a very large piece of Church property. To most observers, they might not think that this course has any water, but to the contrary, this course has water holes # 4, # 5 and # 6.

Most of the holes has well placed trees or shrubbery that is currently very colorful <middle of May> (like hole # 6, appears to be pink flowering crab apple trees lining the right side of the fairway with a large lake to the left.

Good flow, even without a kiosk one can navigate this course without much of a problem.

I like how the grass was finely manicured. One could play this course barefooted if they chose to play that way :)

No trash present @ this course, even without any trash receptacles. I realize I was playing in Michigan and not Ohio, but this course was so beautiful. I really felt blessed to have played this course.

Mega parking available at this Church.

Easy to follow directions listed on www.dgcoursereview.com (a lot of people take this for granted, but if your a visitor to the area, precise directions are greatly appreciated :)

Ample room to expand to 18 holes :)
Cons: no cement tees, but then does a course really need cement tees? Not really so this isn't much of a con, but might be a con to some.

The t- signs are adjacent to the foot boards or foul line. Not a big deal to me, since I'm a LHBH player. But I could see a "Righty" getting their feathers ruffled with the t-sign's location (But then again I can see another perspective that it's easier to maintain since it's even with the foot board/ foul line)

# 9 hole could present a safety issue as the teeing area is pretty close to the playground area. I would suggest modifying this hole a little to solve this potential problem. Either by moving the teeing area forward and the basket further out or moving the whole hole a little.

The tee signs weren't very descriptive of the layout of the hole itself. Very generic.

Some long walks between holes, but when one is Disc Golfing one is walking, so I don't see an issue with this at this course as another might, since this courses is so beautiful to walk through anyways :)

Only one set of tees (since this course doesn't have cement tee's, I don't see any reason why they can't have multiple tees per hole and for that matter multiple basket positions per hole), but then again it isn't really an issue because of the people this course plays to. But this Church has ample room to expand to 18 holes, if they chose to do so.
Other Thoughts: I've played a few different "CHURCH" Disc Golf courses over the years and on a couple of them they have t- signs that had a Biblical messages stated on the t- sign. I think it would be cool if more "CHURCH" curses did this with their t- signs (After all the courses are on their respective "private property").

I pray that there is some kind of "Church activity program in which Disc Golf is taught for all the youth/ adults to enjoy at this Church.

Thank you North Ridge Church for having Disc Golf for your parishioner and guests. I was very blessed to have played this course and will use this course as a good model when I try to promote and install courses in my area where there's a Church with potential for a Disc Golf course on their respective property.



2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Hole-y Hole-y Hole-y DG Gods Almighty

2-4    5/2/2013   5/3/2013
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 81  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.3 Years
Pros: A disc golf course!
Ten minutes from my house!
WAY BETTER THAN FREEDOM PARK!

A decent nine holes play counter-clockwise around a truly massive spiritual complex. Course has natural tees, and a few have wooden stoppers marking the edge. Every tee has a bright blue sign, and navigation is easy enough, although there seems an unnecessary walk betwixt two and three.

Most of the holes are the standard wide open/straight ahead type I've come to expect on courses like these, but there is a nice string in the middle:

#4 is almost 400 feet (the longest of the course) and is a gem. A decent sized pond is to the right, the fairway sloping down towards it from the hillside on the left. A few smallish trees dot the landscape, but the wind is your biggest enemy, forever blowing your drive towards the water. Two drives are needed here to set up an easy par.

#5 is near 300 ft, shooting over a smaller pond and into a clearing. The risk of losing a disk in the drink here is minimal, but its a scenic hole.

#6 ends the trio with its basket on a thin strip of fairway; the biggest pond yet stationed to its left, and a thick line of tall pines on the right.

These holes were very well thought out and surprised me after the first three. I would consider them "legitimate holes" that one would find on a 3+ star course.
Cons: Tee sign placement is absolutely unforgivable. You are not able to throw at the edge of the tee because these tees are jammed right next to the stopper! Throwing RHBH, I recommend standing well behind so you don't slice your hand/arm open on your follow through.

While the baskets are nice and nearly new, I did not like the chain spacing or thickness. I had a few easy putts clang the main post and bounce back out. Way too much give on these babies.

I found it odd that there was not one trash can anywhere. Not even by the playground where the course begins and ends. Still, the grounds were immaculate (pun intended).
Other Thoughts: There is so much space here, it would be a sin not to expand this course! I would easily rate this another full star if it was 18. Honestly, they might be able to put 24 in; there is that much land to work with. The huge field between #1's fairway and M14 could fit 4-5 holes alone. And there is some elevation there, something this course could definitely use. I also think another 4-5 could be put in the wooded area by #7 & #8, between the church and the subdivision, adding a wooded element that would complement the openness found currently. And you can't tell me these people don't have money - the church building alone had to cost around $50 million! Bottom line, this place is ripe for expansion.

As it stands now, this place is a huge upgrade over Freedom Park's 9, but not the best alternative to an always-packed Cass Benton. At least, not yet (fingers crossed).

Updated with addition of the Back Nine

5+    9/13/2012   8/11/2012
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 163  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/14/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well groomed course makes good use of trees, water, wind, and a bit of elevation. Forces players to make sound decisions off the tee and execute solid shot making to score well. Most holes feature some sort of obstacles to keep you honest.
The back nine (added in 2013) supplements the front with some short finesse shots, a 484' bomber and an interesting 17th that forces you to choose between throwing over a marshy area to reach the green some 300' from the tee, or play it safe by staying in the nicely mowed fairway which takes a longer route around the marsh.
Reasonable variety with a pretty good mix of distances and some holes with elevation. The mostly open nature of this course means pretty much every hole offers several different routes (hyzer/annie) to the basket, and therefore decent shot variety - choose your route and execute.
Water figures prominently on holes (4-6). Seems innocent enough, but they play a lot trickier due to the prevailing winds. Hole 4's runs parallel to a pond with a fairway that slopes downward toward the pond much of its length to make you think twice about your disc choice and shot execution off the tee... especially in the wind.
Elevation figures most prominently on the longest hole of the course: a 484' bomber with a fairway running down the spine of a long berm, ending with down- hill approach to the basket. Newb- hyzers will fade off the berm leaving a nasty lie in the rough with no line of sight to the pin. Tee shots that turn over may be unable to see the pin as well, making it tough to save par. Even if you manage to keep your tee shot on the fairway, overzealous upshots from atop the berm can sail long, landing in the rough behind green.
Tees: Toe board/natural tees were in good shape and while not optimal, were quite sufficient.
Baskets: Disc Nation Freedoms (16 chains, single tier): could be better but if you can putt, they can catch.
Cons: Hole 2: not a bad disc golf hole but ill-conceived because of where it's positioned relative to a parking lot. There's a nice RHBH hyzer line which may not be playable when cars are parked there. Moving cars can also be a problem when playing holes 7 and 8
No indication of where next tee is made getting from 2 to 3, and from 8 to 9 a bit harder than it needs to be. Back nine flows more intuitively.
Tee markers themselves are fine, but located terribly relative to the tees - RHBH follow through could be painful.
A few places on the front 9 where asphalt can come into play - admittedly a pet peeve of mine, but, c'mon; who thinks it's a good thing?
Goose crap was insane on parts of holes 5-7, tough to find a place to put your bag/ disc down. Not fun cleaning it off your disc.
Challenge: Definitely present on some holes, but not very challenging on the whole.
Other Thoughts: Windy conditions can make this course much tougher than it looks for the inexperienced - there's not much in the area to impede the wind from making your round more interesting /frustrating.

Already a "reasonable" course as a niner, the addition of the back nine has me upgrading my rating to "typical." Not a bad course by any means, but with poorly positioned tee signs, too much asphalt that can come into play, and too many deuce or die holes, I just can't call this a "good" course, so despite doubling the number of holes, and having some really neat/unique ones (4, 5, 14 and 17), my rating only moves a disc because of the flaws holding this back from being a 3.0 That said, there's still a lot to like, and the wind and water combine to provide some good risk/reward situations on several holes.

Worth playing if you're in the area, but I wouldn't recommend going out of your way for it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun times at NorthRidge High

2-4    8/4/2012   8/4/2012
Review By: fenixtxfan11
Played: 56  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great use of land, nice variety in hole length.
Water in play but not impossible to overcome (quite shallow too)
Limited trees but they're in perfect locations.
It's convenient and uncrowded, perfect course to play when Cass is packed full of idiots.
Cons: Its on church property which conflicts with most disc golfer's lifestyle.
Tons of goose turds on the holes that feature water (these teepads are "natural" all right)
Other Thoughts: Throw your trash in the garbage. I've played there twice the past 2 days and found empty Gatorade bottles and candy boxes on some of the tee pads. There are limited trash cans here so put your trash in your bag or pockets until you finish the round, it's not that hard. This church was kind enough to put the course on their land, let's try and keep it that way.
Also, looks like there is room for 18, any hopes of adding another 9 baskets?
There are white dome shaped things staked into the ground, use these to navigate the course. After 8, you cut across lot to 9's teepad by the jungle gym. After 9, I hiked back up the hill and threw down to 1's basket, a nice unofficial 10th hole.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

I don't know who put this in but I listed it..

1    8/2/2012   8/2/2012
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 225  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 16.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good design for a beginner easy and fair not very technical but long enough and short enough for fun. Good small hills, nice lush grass!
- Some water hazards but they're fair and easy enough to avoid.
- Tee signs.
Cons: * Tee Signs: if you throw from the tee "pad" and are right- handed back hand you WILL hit the sign and injure yourself these were not installed by a disc golfer! Needs fixes A.S.A.P.
* Some avoidable long walks- #9 is by #1 not past #8 as you'd expect.
* It's at a church.
Other Thoughts: Free, nice to see a large useless space otherwise put to use!
#1 is around back of the church by the playground.

~ Just 20 minutes from the largest disc golf shop in Michigan, The Throw Shop, at The Ponds at Lakeshore DGC.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.