Twain Harte, CA 
Sierra Pines DGC Share
Uploaded By: jhunt410 Hole #4 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 195ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun local built course

2-4    7/15/2013   7/15/2013
Review By: KingGeorgeC
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is a mix of uphill and downhill shots.
The tressle and flume/ditch come into play nicely.
Plenty of signs make the course pretty easy to follow.
Many holes have alternate tee boxes to make it worthwhile to go around twice.
Lots of benches and shady spots to relax if course is busy.

Cons: The tee boxes are dirt and I slipped during my drive a few times.
Some holes are single chain baskets... No biggie.
Other Thoughts: I like what the local disc golf community has created. I wish I had a group like this where I live that could build a course with this kind of teamwork.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A well kept secret!

2-4    4/20/2013   4/22/2013
Review By: Leeb
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent use of terrain, uphill shots, downhill shots, in and out of the woods.
Opportunities to use a number of different throws.
Beautiful scenery, lots of space, rarely/if ever crowded.
Tee signs are very informative.
Water hazards on three holes, some mandos, just to keep you on your toes!!
Cons: Minor cons. 1. Several tone poles still in use, these will soon be replaced. 2. Dirt tee pads, these are good tee pads, but may be an issue when wet. 3. ?
Other Thoughts: Overall, one of my favorite courses! This is a well cared for course tended to by DNM (Discs n motion), this is a great group doing a fantastic job. Great use of the creed on #16 and #17. Loved the pond to shoot over on #18, heck, even the local yacht club will help retrieve a disc:)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hidden Gem in Mountains

5+    3/6/2013   3/7/2013
Review By: ChainSlapper209
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/22/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is located in a stunningly serene and beautiful setting in the woods. Great mountain scenery and views. Rarely, if ever, crowded. Very friendly and helpful locals play here. Good vibes everywhere. Extremely fun course with tons of elevation change, cool water hazards and great mix of hyzer/anhyzer throws. Super chill and peaceful location. Nice flow, easy to follow. Good signage. Distances marked.
Cons: Somewhat of a "secret" course. No signs near roadway to indicate course exists. Could be tricky to find for first timers unfamiliar with area. Dirt tee pads. As of now, half the targets are tone poles. No restrooms or running water. Limited trash cans.
Other Thoughts: UPDATE!!: This course now has 18 baskets, thanks to the hard work and generous donations of local discers! I strongly recommend playing this course. You'd be hard pressed to find a course in a more amazing setting. The course was designed and is maintained by local volunteers. Improvements are constantly being made. Locals have tournaments to raise money for more baskets. The lack of concrete tee pads and a few baskets is made up for by the awesome setting. Water comes into play on 3 or 4 holes and makes things interesting. There is a net along the ditch to fish out errant discs. Never crowded. I go up there and make a day of it. Fish the creek. Bike or hike the trails. Take the dog for a walk. Go check it out, you will not be disappointed. Totally chill place.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Nice Setting

1    1/20/2013   1/22/2013
Review By: bobchuck
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: They have made a great use of a old abandoned stick golf course, and made it a nice Disc golf course. Lots of Elevation changes and trees. Good use of an aqueduct support as a unique oppsticle. Also a small pond to throw over, in addition to a flowing creek that you dont want youre disk to end up in. Nice setting with large sierra trees and awsome views.
Cons: Not much distance. Its in the proccess of slowly being converted from a target course to a basket course so only about half the holes have regular baskets. There are only dirt tee pads, with branches as boarders. It was hard to find hole one, had to walk around a bit to get started.
Other Thoughts: All in all well worth playing if youre in the area. I will repeat when Im up there again. If they contine to improve the course i would give it a 3.5

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Another fun mountain course.

1    1/20/2013   1/20/2013
Review By: beereakfast
Played: 18  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/10/2014
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good, acurate tee signs with distances shown. The tees are dirt, but nicely framed with logs.
A good variety of holes. From short to long, uphill, downhill, and requiring good shot placement. I didn't notice any particular bias as to forehand or backhand.
The course has an easy to follow flow from hole to hole. the signage is pretty good for finding the next hole. No crossing fairways. I played on a Sunday morning and there was no one else playing. Only a few dog walkers who were never an issue.
Cons: Some dirt tees were muddy, but that was due to the remnants of melting snow.
Some pins are only 2" poles and are rusty, they hide well. Scouting was frequently required. This would really only apply to the first round played as the flow of the course is pretty easy to follow.
Other Thoughts: This course is set on an old defunct ball golf course. It plays in the forest along the edges of fairways and across them. The trees are large and well spaced to shape your lines.
It took a while to find hole 1 as the area is a lot larger than what is shown on the map. Someone has obviously put a lot of work and thought into the course. Once we found hole 1 the flow was nice and easy to follow. The pins are a mixture of poles, tone poles (some marked with bright orange paint, some are not and rusty) and standard-ish baskets which range from home made with single chains to standard double chain rigs. There is a creek that holes 16 and 17 play across. The creek has a bit of current in a narrow culvert and would be hard to get a disc out of without jumping in. Hole 17 had a fishing net handy, the 'basket' pole is just across the creek and has a slope that will put roll aways in the water. Hole 18 plays across a pond that looks really stagnant. I dont have the arm to carry it but it but enjoyed playing it. The water holes add a little pucker factor that added a good bit to the enjoyment. Holes 1 and 8 play through a raised, wooden, water pipe tressle that makes for some really cool looking shots.
It took us under two hours to play on our one and only round. While looking for the course we found a few more tone poles that didnt seem to have tee pads. Looked like there are a few more holes that arent labled.
This course was a lot of fun to play. With standard baskets put in it would be a really nice course but the pole targets didn't detract from play. This was my first object/tone pole course and was far nicer than I expected. Props to the local club!

Update, 1 year later.
As has been said, there are now 18 baskets that are a mix of single and double chains. Also around 1/3 of the holes have trash cans. This place is very clean. The upgrades really improved the course. Even with the dirt tee's, only hole 18 was muddy and unusable. There were other groups playing but it was never even close to crowded. I did pick up a tick while playing so watch out. Also the water hazards are far more forgiving than I previously thought. The pond on 18 is mostly shallow and not nearly as bad to retrieve from as I previously thought. Children were doing it... The culvert off the flume was not flowing so swift as to make discs even difficult to recover. 16 and 17 are fun holes if slightly punishing. Many holes have alternate pin positions now. The signage is accurate enough to make no difference other than the distances. All the changes forced me to update the ranking. It's hard to be objective when you love the course, the setting, and the area. Anyone who ranks it higher really isn't wrong. This place is worth the trip!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.