Rockville, IN 
Rockville Lake Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: kingjames1014 Hole #18 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 162ft.   3 / 256ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 White Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Good Hilly Hoosier Course

1    6/21/2016   6/23/2016
Review By: TheThoughtNinja
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.4 Years
Pros: Many people never get beyond the stereotypical belief that Indiana is flat and boring. This course does a good job conquering that erroneous belief. Hole one starts you out on the edge of a deep valley through which you throw. Hole two brings you out of that valley. Many other holes, especially five, six, and fifteen, are similarly hilly. On many of the flat holes, like twelve, the terrain sharply drops behind the basket, discouraging go-for putts.

Every hole has two tees and two pins. Almost every pro tee is concrete with a wooden sign, indicating all four distances and the current pin position. The amateur pads have a printed sign with the amateur distances, and do a much better job of showing the hole layout. You'll probably want to confer with both signs as they each provide helpful information.

Navigating the course is fairly easy, and maps are provided free at the gatehouse. The park itself is nice, and the artificial lake is beautiful, but very few people were there the Tuesday I went. The course traffic was small; approximately eight others in three groups were on the course while I played.

The course plays very short; most people will prefer the pro tees regardless of skill. My group had already chosen the amateur tees, but they provided a good short game as well. The course makes up for its length by requiring good shots to avoid the dense woods. Using sidearm drives on five holes really gave me an edge.

My favorite hole was #16. Fifteen through eighteen travel down a lush valley, and sixteen is longer than most holes on the course.
Cons: The biggest con is the upkeep. The woods have grown up with 2-foot tall green stem plants all over the place. Fairways are still present, but they're a third as wide as the pictures show. Don't get me wrong; the course is still easily usable. The only issue is that the course photos on this website are deceptive. If someone just push-mowed the whole course it could look worlds better.

The course is very forgiving. Even with a sloppy drive on a hole you can probably save par. Some might see this as a good thing, and it's okay if you do.

A few tees are not yet concrete, and #17 has a pebble amateur tee, which was absolutely awful to drive from. It seems like the park is working on all-concrete tees.

The course has very little grass. This is okay until it rains.
Other Thoughts: This course makes a great end to a day at Turkey Run State Park, only a short drive away.

Despite the dense woods, the underbrush is minimal and generally thornless, so losing a disc is highly impropable (provided you stay out of the lake on six and seven).

If all tees were concrete and the course was mowed, it would deserve 3.5 or even 4 stars.

All these factors combined make this course a great one for amateurs to increase their short-game skill. Better players can relax here, and hopefully won't get bored. If you're nearby, bring your favorite newbie here for a round.

I played this course before. It's Hueston Woods!

1    12/24/2015   12/24/2015
Review By: GMcAtee
Played: 322  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Totally in the woods. Excellent shade for a hot summer day.
Plenty of camping on site.
Yellow Innova baskets are easy to see in the woods.
Tons of elevation for Indiana.
Meandering creek that comes into play on a few holes.
Most holes have two brand new tee pads.
Great signage and I really like the natural wood signs that fit the park atmosphere.
Hole 17!!!!!!!
Cons: Not many chances to air out a disc.

Too many hope and poke holes on the long pads. I found myself just chucking on several holes hoping if I hit a tree it's closer to the basket and just saving par. Have to get lucky on many holes to get a birdie.

The lake never comes into play!

After playing 18, the only walking path seemed to double back up the hole 1 trail up hill with the railing requiring me to cross hole 1's fairway.
Other Thoughts: This course reminded me so much of Distractions DGC at Hueston Woods in Ohio. Tight, wooded, lots of hope and poke holes (Hueston Woods wasn't allowed to remove any trees), and the lake never comes into play.

With a rating of 3.91, I was expecting this course to be the gem of my road trip. Instead, I became disappointed just chucking my disc hoping I miss a tree. Then I walked up to Hole 17 and was blown away! Hole 17 was what I was expecting. Simply amazing dg hole.

The course appears to have an active disc golf community installing really nice tee pads, and possibly removing some trees to create actual fairways from the long pads. But, I know how tough that is to get approval to cut down trees!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    9/6/2014   9/11/2014
Review By: blazdndazd
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple tees and pin locations, great variety, mixed terrain, great scenery, friendly staff, challenging course for all skill levels.
Cons: There really aren't any cons considering the course is still fairly new and still being completed. The only cons I can think of would be that the tee pads aren't finished on a few holes and steps could be added to the hills on holes 1 & 2, but as I mentioned, the course is still growing and it takes a lot of time and money to complete, but the course is still playable.
Other Thoughts: I love playing this course and consider it my home course even though I have 1 or 2 that are closer to my home. The landscape and atmosphere is like no course I've played before and that makes it much more fun for me, personally. This course has made my game progress so quickly from playing it so much. It forces you to be more accurate on not only your drives, but even your mid game and putting as well. On most holes if you throw just a little off the fairway, your disc will end up in tall weeds or even worse, hit a tree and deflect off into the woods. It also forces you to keep your composure more than on more open courses because you can get into trouble fairly easily. I've played this course close to 50+ times since I started a year ago, and it's hands down my favorite course. I strongly encourage anyone looking to hone their accuracy and technical shots to go out and play this course a few times, you won't be disappointed. The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars is simply because the course isn't complete yet, but even now has the potential to be one of the best courses in the area and will be even better once complete.

A few things that I think would make the course a little easier for new players to navigate the course would be to have bricks with arrows or signs added by the baskets to help direct unfamiliar players to the next tee pads.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    8/17/2014   9/10/2014
Review By: Joel138
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: A variety of shots required
Doesn't require a long arm to do well.
Mostly in the shade.
Very well maintained.
Two tee boxes really change up the course and make it a lot of fun to play.
Cons: Playing it for the first time can be difficult to find the pin locations.
Extremely new and more tee pads are poured everytime I have played it.
Other Thoughts: I love this course, wish it was a little closer to me and I would play it more. Very well maintained. If you are going through this area, def. a must play course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Has the potential

1    9/1/2014   9/1/2014
Review By: smitdavi
Played: 37  Reviewed: 7
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee Pads - For the ones that are done they are great. Would love to see all concrete pads on the blues and the whites. From what I understand they are all going to be concrete pads at some point.

Elevation Changes - LOVE the elevation changes. This course utilized them to perfection.

Signage - Awesome tee pad signs on the short tees. Wish they were like this of the longs.

Hand Rails/Bridges - You can tell a lot of thought went in to the safety of traversing the land. Lots of sturdy bridges over creeks and large gaps. Hand rails down steep inclines. This is overlooked a lot on some courses.

Staff - Very friendly staff to greet you at the gate. If you lucky, like us, you will get to talk to the designer himself. Great guy, you can tell this is his passion. Take a minute to talk with him!
Cons: Distance - Short tees are SHORT. Some of them felt like they were under a 100' or so.

Long Tees - I know this is temporary but the long tees need permanent concrete pads and better signage. If they end up being anything like the shorts it will end up being very nice.

Long Tee's Cont - Again I think this will be temporary but some of the lines from the long position need a little bit more work and development. #2 is coming to mind, which there was no line whatsoever. There were a few more but that is the one I can specifically remember.

Other Thoughts: This was a fun course. Something different than what you'd normally see in the area. I understand what they are trying to do. You can definitely bring a new player and have some fun from the short tees. An experienced player will easily shoot -5/-10 on their first time through. It's very helpful to play the shorts your first time through to get the lay of the land. Go back for round 2 to be challenged from the longs. Leave your drivers at home though. You can easily play with a couple mids and your putter. There are some very technical shots, be prepared to think a little. I understand this course is still very young but it could blossom into a very, very nice course. It has the feel of Honeybear, but shorter. If you are in the area, stop by.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Finesse at it's best

5+    5/11/2014   7/11/2014
Review By: aldixon32
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Hiking while playing
Challenging
Park staff are super nice
Park supervisor rocks and is a fellow disc golfer
Have a mini shop in the entrance gate building
Tees for women and men
Cons: Not much to say about the cons...there is water on one of the holes so you risk losing a disc but if you don't go for power, you got this!
It's not a course for the weak of heart but it is a course for Pro's looking to hone in on their finesse shots. Women/juniors may get discouraged due to the trees however the shorter tees and the ability to finesse really makes this course a must play for me!!!
Other Thoughts: I love the park. I love the course. It is very challenging which makes it a must to check out on your disc golf road trips. Have fun and play on!!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Great course!!!

5+    6/13/2014   6/20/2014
Review By: 10shooter
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 2 sets of tees make it great to play with a bunch of friends with varying skill levels. Has some longer, challenging holes mixed in with some neat shorter shots.
Cons: This course was carved out of the forest, so the fairways a still a little tight in some areas. Not all the tees are concrete, but they're getting there.
Other Thoughts: Awesome course, wish I lived closer to it!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Progress

5+    6/5/2014   6/12/2014
Review By: RecMan
Played: 35  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is coming along nicely. There are still 15 pads to pour but that also means that 21 have concrete tees!!

This will only be the second full summer of play so the course is beginning to take shape from use. Having two pin positions has been very beneficial to change the look of the course. Mulch is being distributed by the tee pads to decrease erosion and mud. Hostas have been planted on a couple of holes to increase the visual perception of the course.

Signage is out on every tee pad! Directional signs are located throughout the course. The main course sign with park and DG information is located by hole 1!

Numerous people have come from far and wide to play and many say this is an excellent wooded course which challenges their finesse skills. Several people have commented on the improvement in their game by playing this course semi regularly. I have seen vast improvement in short game and putting due to this course. Being able to pinpoint my drives and approach shots is critical and playing here has certainly improved both. Due to the trees, my straddle putt is shaping up nicely!!
Cons: I don't say it's a con b/c I manage the facility. However, please be careful of the many other facility users. The course is played behind numerous campsites. Adults and kids often walk the course so please use caution when playing. Always check out the fairway prior to throwing and please be courteous to anyone in the fairway. Ask them nicely to either hide behind a tree or invite them to come back and watch you drive. Most of the people are quite intrigued by disc golf and if you invite them to watch you play a couple of holes, well you might have just brought a new player to the game!!
Other Thoughts: Innova discs are available in the park gatehouse.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Ain't No A.D.A. Course

2-4    10/28/2012   10/28/2012
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 200  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 22.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/30/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tees & Tees Signs. Up & down Hills, in thick Woods, putt & drive by the Lake, Drive over the Creek-multiple times, Ridge & Valley "Open" wooded holes.
Very good mix of shots; both short & long, uphill & downhill & Anhyzer & Hyzer.
The green on #14 is pretty sweet.
Good directional signs on holes #1-#10, for now.
Cons: Overall distance of the course is a little short, for now? 3rd pin or tee placement would make this a VERY tough Advanced course.
As far as "Perm. Cons" a long walk between a few holes...#9? to #10? It was the DAT I played due to a Haunted Halloween Event between them.
Other Thoughts: A GREAT course in this area of the state that NEEDS more courses. Well designed for its intended use.
White tees for beginners, thats never played before. Great for showing beginners the possibilities of hole design.
Blue tees a challenge for Intermediate players.
My first round I played from the white tees, just to get to know the layout.
My second round was from the Blue tees, only from the tees I can find (covered in leaves and/or missing stakes or blind shots)
Plan on a round taking 90 minutes....1st time and with the thick leaves. About 40 minutes from I-70. If you are a traveling DG, IMHO its well worth your time to not only play but camp.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 It's gonna be great!

1    10/13/2012   10/16/2012
Review By: kingjames1014
Played: 84  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 11/3/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 2 sets of tees and 2 pin placements.
- Variety of shot selections from tee and approach.
- Great topography! Hills and valleys not common in central Indiana.
- Pathways are mulched and directional signs point the way to the next tee.
- Trees help block the wind on most of the holes.
-Camping and fishing on site. childrens playground also.
Cons: This is a course still in development so these are temporary cons:
-All the concrete pads are not installed yet.
-- lots and lots of trees will irritate beginners.
- No really open Bomb holes.
Other Thoughts: Dennis and Jameson have done a wonderful job so far. This course reminds me of Camp Cullom with more trees.

UPDATE- All tee signs are up along with "next tee" signs. Concrete pads are all nearly done for both sets.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.