Valentine, NE 
Valentine DGC Share



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Good when maintained

2-4    7/24/2015   8/3/2015
Review By: jschreier18
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1
Pros: When this course is kept up, it's a hidden gem. Though it's short, there's a wide variety of terrain and shots. Uphill, downhill. Hyzer, anhyzer. Trees, water. Clear, tight. I'd recommend it for anyone looking to play a different course far off the beaten path.
Cons: Not always maintained well. The first time I played last summer, the course was very overgrown, and we all were covered in burrs by Hole 6. Even when it's mowed, you're likely to have to chase at least one errant disc into tall grass.
Other Thoughts: Not a lot of distance, but it's not as easy as you'd think for 12 holes at par-36. I'd recommend it, though you'd better hope it's been mowed recently.

fun but way over grown

1    7/11/2015   7/16/2015
Review By: Sithas
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice hole set up and elevation. Could be a nice course if some up keep was done.
Cons: Way overgrown, bad. Holes 1-4 way thick. Tree down on hole 7.
Other Thoughts: Needs maintenance. Fallen tree on hole 7. Hole 8 could use a spotter. This would be a fun place to hold a small tourney if the upkeep was done.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed in maintenance

1    6/20/2015   6/21/2015
Review By: hollman
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Could be a good, fun, and challenging course with some maintenance. If you like water hazards, trees, and heavy vegetation, then this might be your course.
Cons: Overgrown. Bring discs you don't care about. Most holes are not really maintained. Bring long pants and lots of deet.
Other Thoughts: Might be a course that is good to play in the winter, or non-growing season when the vegetation is flat. It might even be worth 3 stars during that period. The park isn't that bad and if you like exploring small towns, then it might be an interesting trip for you. About 20 minutes away or so is Smith Falls along the Niobrara, which is worth the visit.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Better Than Expected

1    9/8/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 357  Reviewed: 355  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of elevation. Hole 6 was a fun down hill, 7 a fun valley and 8 was slight uphill followed by a huge downhill. Spotters wouldn't be a bad idea on some of these.
-Some water play, hole 10 shoots towards the creek, 11 along the creek and 12 over the creek.
-Lots of wooded holes. 1-4 are all pretty wooded and all holes have some trees to add challenge.
-Overall the design was great. A great mix of holes of all kinds.
-Multiple pin locations. Not sure how often they are moved but they are there.
-They had a nice little kiosk at the start which included color maps and scorecards on high quality paper. The maps will come in handy later so grab one.
-This course had some hiking and longer walks involved. Often this will be a con but they were enjoyable to me at this course.
-I liked the atmosphere of the park with the bridges, trees, and creek.
-This course has the ability to challenge good players and still be fun for beginners. I think that is important for courses in smaller towns.
Cons: -Lots of ivy, nettle, etc. That is one of my biggest cons of disc golf even though it is one of the hardest to control. It ruins my round even if the course is awesome. It wasn't unbearable here but was present and I think that's important.
-They can't really mow most of the course so the grasses could get a little high in places.
-It can be kind of hard to follow here and there. I don't think this course is played too often so there aren't defined paths worn into the grass. Again, grab the map at the start.
- You could lose a disc in the grass here. I found one and left it in the 4th basket because my phone was dead and I didn't have time to locate an owner.
Other Thoughts: When I read the only review here, I assumed it was a local who hasn't played a ton of courses and it was a bit high. I was wrong! This course is pretty legit.

If this course was played a little more making navigation easier and if there were less bad weeds on the course I would have given it a 4 for sure. This is on one of my routes back to my inlaws so I will probably stop again. It was enjoyable to me and I highly recommend stopping if you ever find yourself in Valentine. This is a gem amongst the sandhills of north central Nebraska.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Sweet!

2-4    5/3/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: jongolf07
Played: 30  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I played this course when it was first opened. It's a pretty cool area. You'll take a neat foot bridge across the creek (which flows pretty well and is about waist deep). You'll see Hole 4 right as you cross over the foot bridge.
Holes 1-3 are just down the path to the east. The first three holes are relatively flat with plenty of trees to get in the way. There are hyzer and anhyzer shots on all three of these holes. They rotate and hole 3 finished near the tee of hole 1.
Take the path back the way you came to get to the next hole.
Holes 4-5 are both up hill and play longer then they look.
Hole 6 is a fairly open shot back down the hill. Don't over shoot this one as it may end up 40'- 50' below the hole or even in the creek.
Number 7 is a nice shot across a ravine. Don't clip a tree as one could end up facing an tough uphill second. Could be a birdie or bogey hole.
Number 8 is a blind downhill shot. You can go left or right on this one.
Hole 9 is the longest at 450' and is a downhill blind shot but a lay up to the left will give you the best chance of a open second shot.
10 - 12 are back in the groomed area of the park and offer many mature trees to avoid. Number 10 is straight shot between some large trees. Again, don't over shoot this one as the creek is 20' feet behind the basket.
Hole 11 has the creek all along the left side and has plenty of trees to avoid.
Hole 12 is a wonderful finishing hole that crosses over the creek with trees off the tee. Either layup, or clear 250' to get over the creek.
I about had a heat attack as a I disturbed a mule deer grazing on hole 8. Good place to observe wildlife as Turkeys can be heard too.

Parking is good as this course doesn't get much play and one can park right on the road by the finishing hole.
Cons: Short Distance on a few holes but it makes up for it with the trees. Was a good workout with the elevation change.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this 12 hole course has a great mix of hyzer and anhyzer holes with elevation changes and plenty of obstacles to challenge the best golfers. Would be a great place for a tournament as the flow looks to be smooth and the last few hole can make or break the round.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.