Greenfield, IN 
Mohawk DGC Share
Uploaded By: burdphil Hole #9 (Taken 9/2013)
3 / 294ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Excellent Whimsy, but not ‘Gimmicky’

1    10/11/2015   10/12/2015
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 244  Reviewed: 228  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Finally got a chance to play Mohawk! It's a special 24-27 hole course experience you have to get in touch with Dave Uuk to play. Variety and joyful (sometimes whimsical) design make this a really fun experience for the Intermediate disc golfer who appreciates control over monster 'D'. The whimsy comes in with hole three (you can ring the tone pole by the tee before playing the creek-bordered lane to the suspended basket just in front of the bridge), and on the pyramidal mound hole on 17 (that tempted me to the ace run (and three putt), while my buddy smartly placed his tee shot halfway up the slope for the easy deuce).

Shot shaping and staying out of the water are the order of the day on 1 (pond, right), your approach and putt on 2 (creek, right), the aforementioned 3, 4 (creek, right), 8 (big creek JUST past the pin), 11 (creek left), 12 (creek just in front of the monster tree guarding the pin), 13 & 14 (creek left), 21 (plays to island in the pond), and 22 (longer carry across the pond). But even when you don't have water to concern you, there are trees or bends in the lane to confound the guys who just like to grip it & rip it. Oh! And hole 18 is a beast! Elevated tee (but not one for crushing a drive!), S-shaped lane, thick rough jail all off the fairway. Send out a spotter and have at it!

Pretty much all the tees are marked with stones indicating hole number and distance, and all were level and afforded decent footing in dry weather. Baskets ranged from 18 chain DGA's to older ones with chains added, to deep Spiderwebs. Even the crazy, ground level 13th, tucked as it is snugly in the thick foliage, has been done up with bright orange and green fluorescent paint.

Overall, I love this course design, not only did it feel like there were never two consecutive, similar holes (length, shape, challenge), but I think each of the holes felt pretty much unique for the entire 24.
Cons: If you must have large, level, concrete tees and identical baskets, this isn't gonna be your cup of tea. Some very small concrete pads are in place on the shorter holes, while some longer tee shots use about twice the length. But I also saw grippy rubber padding and natural turf out there.

As evidenced by the problems they had this June, the course lies in the creek flood plains and will be pretty much unplayable during the 'monsoon season'. Even when we played in the dry fall weather, though the creeks and ponds were low, there were places that stayed damp and a little buggy.

Folks complain about hole 7, but it's got an alley to get you at least 250' on a natural rhbh line before a makeable approach shot curving the other way. Might be nearly impossible to deuce, but control should get you a 3, while the more ambitious might take 4's or 5's. Play smart! Hole 13 is definitely not a simple left to right, sweeping 200 footer. That sweeping shot -might- line you up on the small gap going to the right into the thick zone that redefines what some consider to be a 'green'.
Other Thoughts: The challenge we encountered was that Dave's got a life, and gave us permission to play (required, folks) on a beautiful fall Sunday afternoon, but he wasn't home, so we didn't know where to begin, and didn't have access to the map. If you wind up in the same boat, his driveway is at 1131. The shack by the first tee is about 1000' feet back from the road. Go around between the two houses and walk straight back toward the pond, where you'll see the #1 basket up on the knoll. Angle toward the right, & the 'course central' area will come into view. We left $5 each there at the little cabin (it is pay to play). The first tee is just to the right, and the 24th basket finishes to the left. There are not many indications for 'next tee', but typically, if there were two paths, the one to the left got us where we needed to go. We wandered around a bit looking for holes 25-27, but I later read on here that they're not always set up.

I'd suggest first timers hook up with a local with course experience and a connection to Dave. Then, if you're local, join in whenever they have a work day or an event. You'll want to get in on playing this course when you can!

Reviewer Background as of this writing: age 54 w/ 4 yr experience, rated 900+/-, played 238+ courses in 23 states, 80% w/in 3hr drive of Cincinnati. Thrown with folks rated 600's to 1000's, ages 9 to 85 in events and leagues at all tiers. Seldom drive beyond 300-330, but have a solid up-shot and putting game. I haven't designed any courses, but try to lend a hand (with my severely desk-job limited skill set) when I can.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

So many innovative holes

1    9/26/2015   9/27/2015
Review By: Tony Koch
Played: 26  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -27 holes. Each with its on challenge.
-Water holes including an island hole (21) and an over the water hole (22).
-A few holes are up high on hills, hero putt or cautious layup...your choice!
-One bucket is smack dab in the middle of two big trees...literally. Looks sick.
-Actual hanging basket over a small stream! (hole 3)
-Very odd but innovative bucket on the ground and in the middle of the woods (literally in thorn bushes, etc). Never have seen that before, a fun challenge! (hole 13).
-Good mixture of longer holes as well as shorter technical holes.
-Very well manicured. I came here with a friend of mine and his family and we met one of the owners, Dave, and he was working on the course and stopped to chat with us all numerous times. Seemed like a nice guy and took pride in his course.
-On hole one nearby the shed there is a shelf full of discs that the owners have found at the course. You can try out any of them and offer whatever you feel is a "fair" price in order to buy it from them. I got myself an MVP Amp that was in solid condition. There are plenty of decent discs in there so check it out.
Cons: -Not open 24/7 as it is private. But if you get an okay from the owner(s) like we did you are golden.
-No tee signs. Just rocks with the distances and the hole #.
-Many chances to lose discs: water and challenging woods. But that's just part of discing.
-Tee pads aren't present on every hole and the ones that are present are concrete but very small.
-There are long holes but if you love to toss high speed drivers with big hyzer or straight bombs, you won't have many chances to do so here.
Other Thoughts: -Other than some obvious cons that are tough to fix at this point, this course rocks. I have played nearly 30 courses and this one is the best as well as most fun. Would love to come back and try it again another time. It was the first private course I had ever played and it was a terrific experience!
-TOUGH holes but at the same time they are all pretty much fun. Had some lucky throws through tons of trees and shanked trees right in front of me. This course will test your consistency for sure.
-The amount of innovative pin placements (hanging basket, island hole, over the water, on the ground bucket, etc) make this worth checking out. But the other holes will also impress you. If I could recommend only one disc golf course in Indiana, it would be this. A must hit on any serious player's list if you can manage to get permission to play here!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 backyard fun to a new level

1    6/2/2013   6/4/2013
Review By: spcrosbie
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of great things to say about this course! I had been hearing so much about it and I finally got the chance to play... worth the wait. With 27 challenging and unique holes its a course that will not disappoint.

*Great variation of holes and many different shots required throughout the round.
*High risk/ reward play, the course will challenge your thinking and test your discipline, and certainly test your execution as well
* very unique basket placement on many holes. Some placements include: high on a mound, hanging over a creek, sitting ground level, and stuck in between large trees, etc....
* great design and use of land which includes deep forest, elevation on a few holes, small pond and creeks
* Lots of signature holes! Its not surprising for 10 different players to have 10 different favorite holes.
*private course, quiet and concentrated on disc golf
* lots of very tights shots, but ace opportunities if you can hit the holes

Cons: This is a tricky course to review because many of the key points can be seen as a Pro or a Con.

* there is a mix of basket types, and some don't seem consistent when putting
* mix of tee types as well, although most are level and usually wont effect the round unless conditions were wet
* there is one hole (13 I believe) where it seems the trees have out grown the original design of the hole. On a few shots it seemed the best option was to thrown into trees to stop your disc near the basket
* back to that high risk/ high reward.. its very easy to lose a disc in water or deep woods.
*a few of the unique baskets (hanging, sitting ground level with the pole cut off, etc..) are really fun to see and play, but in some respect take away from the expectations of a top level disc golf course. I like the placements and challenges involved, but inserting consistent looking baskets would be a plus in my opinion
* private course so could be difficult to find a time to play
Other Thoughts: As I mentioned some of the key points were listed under both Pro and Con categories, but I must say the Pros heavily outweigh the Cons!

Definitely one of the best disc golf courses in the area and i highly recommend playing it. Check the Indy disc golf club website for times and events.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


1    5/6/2013   5/7/2013
Review By: AdamE
Played: 249  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 12.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mohawk is an excellent, 27 hole private course with lots of unique holes and tons of risk/reward. The tone is set right from the start, hole 1 is a 300ft hole with the basket on a hill and the pond immediately to the right of it. Over the 27 holes you'll encounter water...a lot of it in the form of a pond, small shallow streams and a large creek. Water comes into play on many of the holes; sometimes it's a major factor, other times it only comes into play on very bad shots and on a number of occasions it's very close to the putting green. The beauty of the design here is there's a way to play it safe on almost every hole, but if you go for it and execute poorly the strokes will add up. In fact, almost all the holes will punish you (even the ones without water) for poorly executed shots. There are also lots of cool and unique holes here. There's a basket hanging over a creek, one on a tree stump on top of a hill, one is sitting at ground level and one is in the middle of a large tree with 3 trunks. You'll go into your bag for a wide variety of shots and you'll need them all to get through the round here.

The tees are mixed but I didn't have any problem with footing on any of them. Some were a little short but they were flush with the ground so I had no problem starting from behind the pad. The baskets are mixed also but catch just fine. Most appear to be Spiderweb basket, but the last couple holes on the course only had a single row of chains.

The owner was very friendly and provided us with a map when we arrived. He talked about needing directional signs to the next tee, and they would be nice, but the map is sufficient to get you around the course with little if any problems. There are small stones at each tee the list the hole number and distance and the hole number is on on every basket but the last couple I believe.
Cons: My only major con is a few of the holes seemed a little lucky in my opinion, most notably hole 7 and 13. Hole 7 is not a bad hole, but I feel it has just a couple too many trees in the fairway to say that it's well defined. Hole 13 is also a little lucky but it's got an intentional quirky charm to it. The number sign is upside down, there's a mando (the only one on the course) that forces a sharp right turn, the basket is in a grove of small trees and the basket is sitting on the ground.

The course is a little on the short side with 9 holes under 200 feet.

As I mentioned earlier, the tees could be longer and all concrete but this is a private course and most importantly, they all serve their purpose just fine and I didn't have a problem with them. Next tee signs would be helpful but the map will get you around well enough.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a great private course, my favorite course in the Indy area and definitely worth going out of your way to play. Be sure to contact the owner and get permission before you go unless you're attending an organized event there like leagues.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice

1    9/30/2012   10/1/2012
Review By: wake911
Played: 52  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 14.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots. everything from turnovers to hyzers, island greens, hill shots. Blind corners, uphill, short holes, long wholes.

Many putts and approaches will have you making the putt, or missing to possible OB/Water/ roll down hill. Make the right shot, no pain...punishing if you miss....risk/reward was big mental decision on each hole.

Makes you use your whole bag. Can't just rely on putters and mid ranges, despite it being a shorter course overall.

No Random Park patrons. Anyone you see here, is playing disc golf since its a private course. I don't mind paying a few bucks to play a great course like this.
Cons: hole 7 and 13 aren't fun and barely seem fair at all. I easily deuced hole 13 the first time, but i feel it was pure luck (and got a 4 the second time) I don't feel the better player scores better on this hole.

Hole 7 is just trees. Though I got less upset the 2nd round (despite scored the same) because i almost started seeing a path to try next time. I don't like having to play multiple times just to find the 1 path to the basket.
Other Thoughts: Very fun course. Played in a 24 hole tourney, 2 rounds each. It was 1-24 on the hole listing.
Learned there is doubles here too, definitely joining in.

I felt that aside from hole 7 and 13 this was a VERY fair course. Tougher than nails, but fair. My great shots were rewarded with easy 2's. My bad shots were severely punished. The people who shoot low here deserve it, very little "Getting lucky"

I think this is a course that will make me better the more I play. It is an accuracy first course, with only 1 hole making me use my distance driver. I used a couple of fairway drivers just due to low ceiling tunnel shots.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Just Great Fun!

5+    9/4/2012   9/7/2012
Review By: Pat.C
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mohawk is a truly one of the real gems in Indiana and the surrounding area. There are a wide variety of unique holes but this is not a "novelty" course. Unlike some of the other very highly rated courses, Mohawk is the kind of course you would play every day if you could.

Some of the unique holes include: a basket that hangs over a small creek (you likely won't lose your disc here but you may get stroked if you miss your putt); a 240' shot to clear a pond; a basket on a small island; 6 or 7 other holes that require shots close to water; a basket on top of a stump on top of a large mound about 8-10 feet high; a hole buried in the thick of a woods with a basket on the ground and several shots down narrow lanes. Most of the baskets are strategically placed near a creek, protected by large trees or have some other risk reward or limited access.

It has shots that favor right and left handed players equally and definitely will use all the shots you have in your bag and maybe more.

There is a larger premium on accuracy rather than distance that will reward skilled players. The course is difficult but fair with good opportunities to score if you stay out of trouble.

There are 24 permanent baskets and 3 optional holes that are sometimes available and true to the course' hallmark difficulty.
Cons: About half of the tee pads are paved and the rest are not but all are level and so it is not a huge issue.
The hole with the basket on the ground is really the only hole that gets any grumbling about fairness. This usually comes from players that try to go up over the top of the woods and drop in next to the basket rather than take the fairway turnover shot to the narrow opening to the basket. The over the top reward is a possible 2 but a bad drive can easily result in a 4.

If you like to air it out a lot with overstable discs you may be a little disappointed. You will need to be able to throw a turnover shot. Most holes are under 300 feet but there are 2 over 400 (one over 500 on the 27 hole layout). For me 240 foot shot through a very narrow opening is more rewarding that a long blast in the open.

All of the baskets are not the same but all are good quality.
Other Thoughts: This is a private course located a few miles east of Indianapolis behind the houses of the two owners. You need to get permission before playing and this would likely best be done through contacts with the Indianapolis disc golf club at . The Indy club does host weekly doubles here and a couple tournaments throughout the year.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.