Disc Golf Store
Greenfield, IN 
Mohawk DGC Share
Uploaded By: burdphil Hole #3 (Taken 9/2013)
3 / 234ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
backyard fun to a new level

1    6/2/2013   6/4/2013
Review By: spcrosbie
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of great things to say about this course! I had been hearing so much about it and I finally got the chance to play... worth the wait. With 27 challenging and unique holes its a course that will not disappoint.

*Great variation of holes and many different shots required throughout the round.
*High risk/ reward play, the course will challenge your thinking and test your discipline, and certainly test your execution as well
* very unique basket placement on many holes. Some placements include: high on a mound, hanging over a creek, sitting ground level, and stuck in between large trees, etc....
* great design and use of land which includes deep forest, elevation on a few holes, small pond and creeks
* Lots of signature holes! Its not surprising for 10 different players to have 10 different favorite holes.
*private course, quiet and concentrated on disc golf
* lots of very tights shots, but ace opportunities if you can hit the holes

Cons: This is a tricky course to review because many of the key points can be seen as a Pro or a Con.

* there is a mix of basket types, and some don't seem consistent when putting
* mix of tee types as well, although most are level and usually wont effect the round unless conditions were wet
* there is one hole (13 I believe) where it seems the trees have out grown the original design of the hole. On a few shots it seemed the best option was to thrown into trees to stop your disc near the basket
* back to that high risk/ high reward.. its very easy to lose a disc in water or deep woods.
*a few of the unique baskets (hanging, sitting ground level with the pole cut off, etc..) are really fun to see and play, but in some respect take away from the expectations of a top level disc golf course. I like the placements and challenges involved, but inserting consistent looking baskets would be a plus in my opinion
* private course so could be difficult to find a time to play
Other Thoughts: As I mentioned some of the key points were listed under both Pro and Con categories, but I must say the Pros heavily outweigh the Cons!

Definitely one of the best disc golf courses in the area and i highly recommend playing it. Check the Indy disc golf club website for times and events.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    5/6/2013   5/7/2013
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 10.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mohawk is an excellent, 27 hole private course with lots of unique holes and tons of risk/reward. The tone is set right from the start, hole 1 is a 300ft hole with the basket on a hill and the pond immediately to the right of it. Over the 27 holes you'll encounter water…a lot of it in the form of a pond, small shallow streams and a large creek. Water comes into play on many of the holes; sometimes it's a major factor, other times it only comes into play on very bad shots and on a number of occasions it's very close to the putting green. The beauty of the design here is there's a way to play it safe on almost every hole, but if you go for it and execute poorly the strokes will add up. In fact, almost all the holes will punish you (even the ones without water) for poorly executed shots. There are also lots of cool and unique holes here. There's a basket hanging over a creek, one on a tree stump on top of a hill, one is sitting at ground level and one is in the middle of a large tree with 3 trunks. You'll go into your bag for a wide variety of shots and you'll need them all to get through the round here.

The tees are mixed but I didn't have any problem with footing on any of them. Some were a little short but they were flush with the ground so I had no problem starting from behind the pad. The baskets are mixed also but catch just fine. Most appear to be Spiderweb basket, but the last couple holes on the course only had a single row of chains.

The owner was very friendly and provided us with a map when we arrived. He talked about needing directional signs to the next tee, and they would be nice, but the map is sufficient to get you around the course with little if any problems. There are small stones at each tee the list the hole number and distance and the hole number is on on every basket but the last couple I believe.
Cons: My only major con is a few of the holes seemed a little lucky in my opinion, most notably hole 7 and 13. Hole 7 is not a bad hole, but I feel it has just a couple too many trees in the fairway to say that it's well defined. Hole 13 is also a little lucky but it's got an intentional quirky charm to it. The number sign is upside down, there's a mando (the only one on the course) that forces a sharp right turn, the basket is in a grove of small trees and the basket is sitting on the ground.

The course is a little on the short side with 9 holes under 200 feet.

As I mentioned earlier, the tees could be longer and all concrete but this is a private course and most importantly, they all serve their purpose just fine and I didn't have a problem with them. Next tee signs would be helpful but the map will get you around well enough.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a great private course, my favorite course in the Indy area and definitely worth going out of your way to play. Be sure to contact the owner and get permission before you go unless you're attending an organized event there like leagues.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very Nice

1    9/30/2012   10/1/2012
Review By: wake911
Played: 44  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 13.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots. everything from turnovers to hyzers, island greens, hill shots. Blind corners, uphill, short holes, long wholes.

Many putts and approaches will have you making the putt, or missing to possible OB/Water/ roll down hill. Make the right shot, no pain...punishing if you miss....risk/reward was big mental decision on each hole.

Makes you use your whole bag. Can't just rely on putters and mid ranges, despite it being a shorter course overall.

No Random Park patrons. Anyone you see here, is playing disc golf since its a private course. I don't mind paying a few bucks to play a great course like this.
Cons: hole 7 and 13 aren't fun and barely seem fair at all. I easily deuced hole 13 the first time, but i feel it was pure luck (and got a 4 the second time) I don't feel the better player scores better on this hole.

Hole 7 is just trees. Though I got less upset the 2nd round (despite scored the same) because i almost started seeing a path to try next time. I don't like having to play multiple times just to find the 1 path to the basket.
Other Thoughts: Very fun course. Played in a 24 hole tourney, 2 rounds each. It was 1-24 on the hole listing.
Learned there is doubles here too, definitely joining in.

I felt that aside from hole 7 and 13 this was a VERY fair course. Tougher than nails, but fair. My great shots were rewarded with easy 2's. My bad shots were severely punished. The people who shoot low here deserve it, very little "Getting lucky"

I think this is a course that will make me better the more I play. It is an accuracy first course, with only 1 hole making me use my distance driver. I used a couple of fairway drivers just due to low ceiling tunnel shots.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Just Great Fun!

5+    9/4/2012   9/7/2012
Review By: Pat.C
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mohawk is a truly one of the real gems in Indiana and the surrounding area. There are a wide variety of unique holes but this is not a "novelty" course. Unlike some of the other very highly rated courses, Mohawk is the kind of course you would play every day if you could.

Some of the unique holes include: a basket that hangs over a small creek (you likely won't lose your disc here but you may get stroked if you miss your putt); a 240' shot to clear a pond; a basket on a small island; 6 or 7 other holes that require shots close to water; a basket on top of a stump on top of a large mound about 8-10 feet high; a hole buried in the thick of a woods with a basket on the ground and several shots down narrow lanes. Most of the baskets are strategically placed near a creek, protected by large trees or have some other risk reward or limited access.

It has shots that favor right and left handed players equally and definitely will use all the shots you have in your bag and maybe more.

There is a larger premium on accuracy rather than distance that will reward skilled players. The course is difficult but fair with good opportunities to score if you stay out of trouble.

There are 24 permanent baskets and 3 optional holes that are sometimes available and true to the course' hallmark difficulty.
Cons: About half of the tee pads are paved and the rest are not but all are level and so it is not a huge issue.
The hole with the basket on the ground is really the only hole that gets any grumbling about fairness. This usually comes from players that try to go up over the top of the woods and drop in next to the basket rather than take the fairway turnover shot to the narrow opening to the basket. The over the top reward is a possible 2 but a bad drive can easily result in a 4.

If you like to air it out a lot with overstable discs you may be a little disappointed. You will need to be able to throw a turnover shot. Most holes are under 300 feet but there are 2 over 400 (one over 500 on the 27 hole layout). For me 240 foot shot through a very narrow opening is more rewarding that a long blast in the open.

All of the baskets are not the same but all are good quality.
Other Thoughts: This is a private course located a few miles east of Indianapolis behind the houses of the two owners. You need to get permission before playing and this would likely best be done through contacts with the Indianapolis disc golf club at www.indydiscgolf.com . The Indy club does host weekly doubles here and a couple tournaments throughout the year.


5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.