Felton, DE 
Killens Pond State Park Share
Uploaded By: Radarx Hole #14 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 262ft.   3 / 318ft.   3 / 315ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 White Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Killen it!

1    7/18/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 baskets with dual pin positions and 3 sets of tees providing a good mix of difficulty for each hole. The longer 2 tees are boxed gravel and the short is natural, with a tee sign and basket position indication on the middle tees. Excellent use of the available land. Good variety of shots required and unique holes through mostly woods. Well defined fairways and protected greens place a premium on accuracy here. Course flows well and navigation is ok. Two nine hole loops back to the parking lot and bathrooms.
Cons: Nothing major here. Some poison ivy in the rough, not too terrible. The boxed gravel tees are a little small, but you really shouldn't need much runup here. Next tee markers would help in a few places. I think it was hole 12's tee sign was washed out, and another hole was missing the basket indicator hose clamp. $6 out-of-state fee to enter park.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed my play at Killens Pond even though I never saw a pond. The course is mostly wooded and pretty flat and compact but the available elevation and space are used well. The course seemed to favor LHBH or RHFH when I played. Hole 3 was a complete u-turn to the right with a narrow fairway, which was the most memorable hole. From the long tees the key to the course is accuracy so stay in the fairway and let any birdies comes as they may. The rough will often punish you, but it plays fair. It seems to rain every time I visit any of the delmarva courses, and I've noticed that these courses also seem to handle rain really well with the pine needles on the ground. If you are in the area it's worth a play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pine Carpet

1    11/28/2009   12/1/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 347  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Two pin/three tee positions per hole. Signs at middle (white) tees listing the distances for all the tee-basket combinations, also an indication of the current basket location and other tee locations. Two nine-hole loops. Thick layer of pine needles to keep much of the undergrowth at bay.
Cons:
Given the lack of variety of terrain (flat), you get a deja vu feeling on some holes. Need to back-track to some tee locations on the back nine.
Other Thoughts:
Plays in-to/out-from (about 1/3rd) or completely within (about 2/3rds) a section of mostly pine trees in a very large and well-maintained state park. A very nice, even distribution of required turns: right/left/S-shape, sharp/intermediate/gentle, early/mid/end-of-flight, long/middle/short duration. Good variety of length - after (mostly decent) initial drives, I found myself with approach shots of wildly-varying length. Throwing paths vary from fairly broad to on the tight side, but nothing too extreme. Low ceiling here, clumps of bushes to throw over there, "hallway" of trees to throw through, long branches to skirt - makes the most of the resources available!

Costs $6 to enter a Delaware state park, but that fee will permit you to enter any other Delaware state park that day. Also, it appears there is no entry fee December through February inclusive.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  SKillens Pond

1    9/15/2009   10/9/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Triple tees and alternating basket positions that seem to be utilized as the undergrowth for both locations was non-existant. 18 holes of some of the most technical holes you can fathom. Everything from the open placement drive into the woods, out of the woods drive drive to the open, s-turns, doglegs, straight hallways, up and overhand off the tee, elevated basket, windows, and downright tight gaps to teasingly more open but not so open fairways. #17 messes your mind up as you exit those tight woods you see a seemingly wide open fairway...but is it really? A long evergreen lined fairway that will gobble up your reckless drive everytime. Check your ego at the gate and play within yourself and you will do well here...try to conquer this course and she will put a KILLEN on you! Plenty of length for a woods course. these holes can all enable birdies but can equally disable with bogeys. Try the long tees for an often tighter and demanding and not just longer look. As it is primarily pines the underbrush is pretty tame here. bathrooms, info kiosk and big lot in primarily disc golf territory.
Cons: Elevation is minimal here and barely noticeable outside of a couple 5 foot rises or descents. No water despite the "Pond" title. Often the long tees are so tight off the tees it almost seems unfair and silly....even to a technical fan like myself. As you drive in theres a huge open field that sadly does not come into play at all.....would have been a nice counter to all that tight wooded madness. Tees were gravel and at times smallish or poorly maintained.
Other Thoughts: Of the 3 tees per hole, the beginners were often just a slab to mark. I ended up playing a lot of the Int tees as the pro tees seemed almost impossible on some holes to me and I had to concede I'm no Pro....Basically theres a huge discrepancy in skill sets to play here and the challenge here is not about power it's more about increasingly more difficult technicality as the tees progress from red to white to blue. Unique to play a course where the pro tees are just maddeningly more technical as opposed to just an increase of distance. Explains my title for this review..you need to be Skilling to master Killens!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 one of my favorites in DE

5+    8/18/2006   2/18/2009
Review By: craigg
Played: 183  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 32.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really like the layout of this course. There are several unique obstacles on this course, you just don't see very often. There are these groves of sumac trees (They aren't poison sumac - and don't get more than about an inch in diameter) that grow in groves that have been used as "up and over" type obstacles that force you to throw a tight controlled spike, or an upside down shot.
There are several low ceiling early, and low ceiling late type shots that are combined with big open areas, that force you to exhibit both power and control. And then there are the pure woods holes, that combine the tight control type shot you might expect - with some sort of sharp turn (sometimes early, sometimes late). All in all - a nice set and nice mix of skill challenges.
Cons: Being near the shore - it's flat - no elevation at all. Teepads aren't the greatest (some are a little small - or a little cramped), but overall they are ok because they are at grade.
The course is a little remote / out of the way - not a whole lot around it commercially, so stop for your supplies on the way in.
Other Thoughts: The course (like some others in DE) is a bit blind, but flows well, and is fairly intuitive. So even without next tee signs - its pretty easy to follow.
Within about 45 minutes of the ocean, Killens often plays with a constant breeze - which can sometimes add a nice dimension to the course challenge.
The park staff in this State Park is like night and day with those at Lums or Brandywine, and seem to appreciate the volunteer efforts of the local DG community. Perhaps that led to the newer Trap Pond course (which I haven't played as of this writing) - that I have heard nothing but good things about.
Killens is one of my favorites in Delaware.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.