Felton, DE 
Killens Pond State Park Share
Uploaded By: Radarx Hole #14 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 262ft.   3 / 318ft.   3 / 315ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 White Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Hey this course was Fun!

2-4    10/20/2012   10/22/2012
Review By: Radarx
Played: 38  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A little tight but very fair, mostly wooded course with a variety of shots. The course forces you to work on your control here more than just pure distance which results in a course that just has a fun factor to it. What impressed me most were the up shots, they were challenging and required accurate shots to get to the tree guarded baskets. Good signage, defines fairways, baskets in good shape, really nice park setting
Cons: Tee pads need some work (Blue-White). Many of the blue tees had trip weeds in them. Pro tees little short, some of them only 10-15 feet back from white. I would remove the back board on the tees, they are a little cramped. Needs just a couple next hole signs at certain places where you traverse back for the next hole.
Other Thoughts: I have to agree with a previous review in that all that open land around the course and not one hole. One of the holes is like 121 ft (white) and that is kind of useless hole when the field could have been utilized. Overall I really enjoyed my time here and the course was worth the out of state drive.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Killens Pond DG

5+    11/11/2012   9/8/2012
Review By: jchoate7
Played: 41  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/22/2012
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is heavily wooded which makes you have to use every shot in your inventory from you forehand to your backhand and your hyzers to your anhyzers. Three course layouts with three tee positions on most holes, two tee postions on some of the shorter holes. There are also two pin locations for almost every hole, one for the shorter holes. Because the course weeves its way through the woods it makes for even the most windy days to not have an effect on your discs. Course is always maintained very well. Great place to learn how to play disc golf.
Cons: During the summer the growth from the trees can prove to be tough. OB arrows on holes 3 and 12 are broken. The course could use a couple helping arrows to the next tee pads. Poison ivy in some parts of the rough and ticks can also be a problem (wear bugspray!). Park fee to get into the park is $3 in-state plates and $6 out-of-state plates.
Other Thoughts: Great local course. You do have to pay the state park fee to get into the park but if you planning on going a lot it is a good idea to invest in a Delaware park pass for the year which will also get you into other Delaware disc golf courses. The park also offers more than just disc golf. Some of the other activities the park has to offer are; picnic areas, walking trails, bike trails, boat/canoe/kayak rentals, fishing, nature center, water park, camping, and more!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/11/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: JediEthan1
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice Wooded holes require a variety of shot selection, fairly clear, flowing course design, creative teepad amd pin placement on many holes. It isn't out of the way too much, easy to get to for passerby.
Cons: Sometimes can be overgrown, two holes teepads are somewhat vague, but neither is enough to keep this course down!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Home Sweet Home

5+    11/7/2009   12/31/2009
Review By: jimimc
Played: 35  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has three sets of tees and 2 pin placements on every hole. You will need every shot in your bag to play well here. Accuracy is rewarded here while arrent shots are punished. Two plus stroke swings can happen on almost evey hole. The park has many other things to do from boating to a Water Park. Bathrooms right off the parking lot.
Cons: In the middle of the summer poison ivy can be bad. The tees are stone dust and have to be maintained to be at there best.
Other Thoughts: This is the course I learned how to play disc golf on. Most players that play here regularly come away with a well rounded game. From tunnel shots to high hyzer shots to high anhyzer shots to rollers, you'll need them all here. The only real draw back of the course is the restriction of the land the course is on. It is flat and on about 15 acres of land, but it's definetly worth the trip.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Into the Pines

5+    12/3/2008   12/9/2008
Review By: Tolbert
Played: 245  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/7/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun to play wooded course, with a few open holes. The wooded fairways for the most part aren't too tight, allowing for decent drives. I enjoyed that the course demanded every throw in my bag. Hole length varied nicely and each hole had 3 tees for players of different skill level. Most holes had 2 pin placements. Pine trees are abundant on the course and providing foliage year round.
Cons: Course could definitely use some signs to help with navigation for newcomers. First time there I was wandering around on a few holes and checking the numbers on baskets. Occasionally a running path comes through the course.
Other Thoughts: Wish I lived a bit closer, I really liked the challenge here.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Very well groomed

5+    10/11/2008   10/19/2008
Review By: apimarty
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a nice mix of tight wooded holes and not so tight wooded holes. The signage is excellent and all holes have Pro, Am and Jr. tees. Although there are only 18 baskets, the local pro uses the alternate pin placements to change the course on a regular basis (twice a month?) The last time I played, I noticed the fairways had been mowed and the rough had been trimmed.
Cons: There is no practice basket, so players tend to use #18. There are two holes (8 & 9) where you have to drive over bushes that are 8'+. This is not a throw that most people have. For the Pro player, the course will be a little short.
Other Thoughts: I play Killens once or twice a year. This last time, I was very impressed with how the course had changed with grooming and new pin placements. A note for you Out of Staters. The park fee is per car, not per person, so bring a friend or two and cut that cost down. If you play more than 10 rounds a year in DE, get a yearly pass good for ALL parks in DE (there are courses in every one). This is truely worth the $$ as there are great courses throughout the state.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.