Felton, DE 
Killens Pond State Park Share
Uploaded By: Radarx Hole #5 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 281ft.   3 / 371ft.   3 / 380ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Approach



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
great course

5+    7/19/2014   7/19/2014
Review By: t55dude
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 0.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/11/2014
Pros: Very clean park. Course is completely separate from all other park activities.the course allows you lots of different shots. From big haters and anhydrous, to long and strait. You have mid range with trees in just the right spot that require precise aim. Even a couple short holes that an errant first shot could turn a 121 foot hole into a tough three. Multiple pin positions with 3 tee pads to choose from for skills of all level. Billboard at first hole always has score sheets with a map on back to help navigate. Very good signage at all the white pads.
Cons: While the front nine is very easy to navigate, the back nine can get a little tough. Nine to ten, and fourteen to fifteen are the two that comes to mind. The white pads are a little worn down, and the blue are not used a lot and have some weeds on them.
Other Thoughts: The course plays completely through the woods. There is brush however it is kept well maintained. I have seen very little poison ivy, and there is little risk of losing discs except on holes 10 and 18. The fairways are tight and pine trees add some difficulty in just the right spots.
Overall, this is my favorite course to play so far. I am glad to have it just 20 minutes from my house and highly recommend it to players of all levels.

Fun Course

1    9/1/2013   11/1/2013
Review By: Ufcfan
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Different landscape. some cool holes. Easy to find next holes.
Cons: Lost two discs from high grass but if I would of threw it a little better guess that wouldn't of been an issue
Other Thoughts: This course is an hour and a half from me and I will be back for sure. Reminds me of Lums Pond a little

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun pine wooded course

5+    6/21/2013   6/21/2013
Review By: Jblevins
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good wooded course among a pine tree forest. Pin positions vary from right and left fade positions. Require a variety of shots and varying length.
Cons: Some holes are repetitive, and two holes have extremely tight "fairways".

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hey this course was Fun!

2-4    10/20/2012   10/22/2012
Review By: Radarx
Played: 38  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A little tight but very fair, mostly wooded course with a variety of shots. The course forces you to work on your control here more than just pure distance which results in a course that just has a fun factor to it. What impressed me most were the up shots, they were challenging and required accurate shots to get to the tree guarded baskets. Good signage, defines fairways, baskets in good shape, really nice park setting
Cons: Tee pads need some work (Blue-White). Many of the blue tees had trip weeds in them. Pro tees little short, some of them only 10-15 feet back from white. I would remove the back board on the tees, they are a little cramped. Needs just a couple next hole signs at certain places where you traverse back for the next hole.
Other Thoughts: I have to agree with a previous review in that all that open land around the course and not one hole. One of the holes is like 121 ft (white) and that is kind of useless hole when the field could have been utilized. Overall I really enjoyed my time here and the course was worth the out of state drive.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Killens Pond DG

5+    11/11/2012   9/8/2012
Review By: jchoate7
Played: 41  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/22/2012
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is heavily wooded which makes you have to use every shot in your inventory from you forehand to your backhand and your hyzers to your anhyzers. Three course layouts with three tee positions on most holes, two tee postions on some of the shorter holes. There are also two pin locations for almost every hole, one for the shorter holes. Because the course weeves its way through the woods it makes for even the most windy days to not have an effect on your discs. Course is always maintained very well. Great place to learn how to play disc golf.
Cons: During the summer the growth from the trees can prove to be tough. OB arrows on holes 3 and 12 are broken. The course could use a couple helping arrows to the next tee pads. Poison ivy in some parts of the rough and ticks can also be a problem (wear bugspray!). Park fee to get into the park is $3 in-state plates and $6 out-of-state plates.
Other Thoughts: Great local course. You do have to pay the state park fee to get into the park but if you planning on going a lot it is a good idea to invest in a Delaware park pass for the year which will also get you into other Delaware disc golf courses. The park also offers more than just disc golf. Some of the other activities the park has to offer are; picnic areas, walking trails, bike trails, boat/canoe/kayak rentals, fishing, nature center, water park, camping, and more!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Killen it!

1    7/18/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 8.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 baskets with dual pin positions and 3 sets of tees providing a good mix of difficulty for each hole. The longer 2 tees are boxed gravel and the short is natural, with a tee sign and basket position indication on the middle tees. Excellent use of the available land. Good variety of shots required and unique holes through mostly woods. Well defined fairways and protected greens place a premium on accuracy here. Course flows well and navigation is ok. Two nine hole loops back to the parking lot and bathrooms.
Cons: Nothing major here. Some poison ivy in the rough, not too terrible. The boxed gravel tees are a little small, but you really shouldn't need much runup here. Next tee markers would help in a few places. I think it was hole 12's tee sign was washed out, and another hole was missing the basket indicator hose clamp. $6 out-of-state fee to enter park.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed my play at Killens Pond even though I never saw a pond. The course is mostly wooded and pretty flat and compact but the available elevation and space are used well. The course seemed to favor LHBH or RHFH when I played. Hole 3 was a complete u-turn to the right with a narrow fairway, which was the most memorable hole. From the long tees the key to the course is accuracy so stay in the fairway and let any birdies comes as they may. The rough will often punish you, but it plays fair. It seems to rain every time I visit any of the delmarva courses, and I've noticed that these courses also seem to handle rain really well with the pine needles on the ground. If you are in the area it's worth a play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 another decent fun time

5+    8/13/2011   8/13/2011
Review By: beaverdisc
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 44.8 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a course that I try to get to. even if I am not playing any other course in Delaware. I love the landscape and hole challenges. You have to use several skill shots from your bag of tricks.
Cons: I do not get there often enough.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/11/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: JediEthan1
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice Wooded holes require a variety of shot selection, fairly clear, flowing course design, creative teepad amd pin placement on many holes. It isn't out of the way too much, easy to get to for passerby.
Cons: Sometimes can be overgrown, two holes teepads are somewhat vague, but neither is enough to keep this course down!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Home Sweet Home

5+    11/7/2009   12/31/2009
Review By: jimimc
Played: 35  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has three sets of tees and 2 pin placements on every hole. You will need every shot in your bag to play well here. Accuracy is rewarded here while arrent shots are punished. Two plus stroke swings can happen on almost evey hole. The park has many other things to do from boating to a Water Park. Bathrooms right off the parking lot.
Cons: In the middle of the summer poison ivy can be bad. The tees are stone dust and have to be maintained to be at there best.
Other Thoughts: This is the course I learned how to play disc golf on. Most players that play here regularly come away with a well rounded game. From tunnel shots to high hyzer shots to high anhyzer shots to rollers, you'll need them all here. The only real draw back of the course is the restriction of the land the course is on. It is flat and on about 15 acres of land, but it's definetly worth the trip.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pine Carpet

1    11/28/2009   12/1/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Two pin/three tee positions per hole. Signs at middle (white) tees listing the distances for all the tee-basket combinations, also an indication of the current basket location and other tee locations. Two nine-hole loops. Thick layer of pine needles to keep much of the undergrowth at bay.
Cons:
Given the lack of variety of terrain (flat), you get a deja vu feeling on some holes. Need to back-track to some tee locations on the back nine.
Other Thoughts:
Plays in-to/out-from (about 1/3rd) or completely within (about 2/3rds) a section of mostly pine trees in a very large and well-maintained state park. A very nice, even distribution of required turns: right/left/S-shape, sharp/intermediate/gentle, early/mid/end-of-flight, long/middle/short duration. Good variety of length - after (mostly decent) initial drives, I found myself with approach shots of wildly-varying length. Throwing paths vary from fairly broad to on the tight side, but nothing too extreme. Low ceiling here, clumps of bushes to throw over there, "hallway" of trees to throw through, long branches to skirt - makes the most of the resources available!

Costs $6 to enter a Delaware state park, but that fee will permit you to enter any other Delaware state park that day. Also, it appears there is no entry fee December through February inclusive.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.