Felton, DE 
Killens Pond State Park Share
Uploaded By: Radarx Hole #5 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 281ft.   3 / 371ft.   3 / 380ft.   5 / 371ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 White Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2

2-4    3/20/2016   3/21/2016
Review By: Zunz
Played: 80  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great tee signs (except 13, it's missing)
3 tee positions per hole (2 gravel boxes and pavers marking the short tees)
Next Tee arrows on all of the baskets
Very beginner friendly from the short tees. My girlfriend played her first full round here and she had a good time. There were a couple of times I was on my third shot throwing from where she was teeing off.
Really well designed course. The variety of wooded fairway shapes and sizes takes full advantage of the available property. 15, 16 and 17, for example. 15 and 16 play through crazy straight rows of huge pine trees with a wide open understory, each basically giving you two clear, 6' wide hallway options for your 300' throw. Hole 17 then opens up quite a bit wider with no ceiling but isn't really all that wide and is bordered on both sides by shorter, disc eating pines. Oh, and is about 150' longer than the previous two. The course forced me to throw every shot I know how to, thumbers, hammers, rollers, forehands and backhands, even a scoobie or two. Killens made me realize that I really need to work on my rollers.
Cons: It seemed like too many straight throws through the woods. After looking at the curvy lines on the tee signs I found myself struggling to pinpoint several of the baskets, almost every time that happened, the basket ended up being dead straight off the tee. Might just be how they had the course set up for the winter or snow melt conditions, there were other pin positions that seemed like they would be shapelier shots.
Some of the flow is a little wonky. There are a couple of places where there are parallel fairways and you'll find yourself basically walking back up the fairway you just played (or the one you're about to play) to get to the next tee and then you're throwing back close to the previous basket.
A couple of the holes are really short, like 9, at 121' it seems out of place on a course like this. 18, which is a fun throw (hyzer bomb ace run), but short (it seemed a lot shorter than 239'!). From the white tees almost half the course is under 250'., next time maybe I'll try the blue tees.
Other Thoughts: The park has a campground and there are cabins and boats for rent on the lake and there's a even a water park. There are bathrooms by the course parking lot. The first hole has scorecards with a map.
Big arm players probably aren't going to like it here. Nor are people who aren't interested in throwing tightly wooded fairways. But if threading the needle is your game, Killens Pond might end up being one of your most favorite courses. Most of the holes have a fairly high ceiling for a course this heavily wooded. Not much chance for disc loss here other than getting one stuck up in a tree, unless you throw brown pine needle colored discs, in which case every throw could end up being an adventure.
They have discs for sale in the park office but they are wicked expensive and they only had about 8 when I was there, just regular ones, no souvenir stamps.

Overall I had a lot of fun playing this course. Played a couple of rounds the weekend I stayed at the park and I wouldn't mind coming back for more. I think this would make a great home course if I was a local based on the variety of shots it forces you to make or work on. I'd be willing to bet that people who play here a lot are roller artists.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 great course

5+    7/19/2014   7/19/2014
Review By: t55dude
Played: 18  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/11/2014
Pros: Very clean park. Course is completely separate from all other park activities.the course allows you lots of different shots. From big haters and anhydrous, to long and strait. You have mid range with trees in just the right spot that require precise aim. Even a couple short holes that an errant first shot could turn a 121 foot hole into a tough three. Multiple pin positions with 3 tee pads to choose from for skills of all level. Billboard at first hole always has score sheets with a map on back to help navigate. Very good signage at all the white pads.
Cons: While the front nine is very easy to navigate, the back nine can get a little tough. Nine to ten, and fourteen to fifteen are the two that comes to mind. The white pads are a little worn down, and the blue are not used a lot and have some weeds on them.
Other Thoughts: The course plays completely through the woods. There is brush however it is kept well maintained. I have seen very little poison ivy, and there is little risk of losing discs except on holes 10 and 18. The fairways are tight and pine trees add some difficulty in just the right spots.
Overall, this is my favorite course to play so far. I am glad to have it just 20 minutes from my house and highly recommend it to players of all levels.

 Fun Course

1    9/1/2013   11/1/2013
Review By: Ufcfan
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Different landscape. some cool holes. Easy to find next holes.
Cons: Lost two discs from high grass but if I would of threw it a little better guess that wouldn't of been an issue
Other Thoughts: This course is an hour and a half from me and I will be back for sure. Reminds me of Lums Pond a little

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun pine wooded course

5+    6/21/2013   6/21/2013
Review By: Jblevins
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good wooded course among a pine tree forest. Pin positions vary from right and left fade positions. Require a variety of shots and varying length.
Cons: Some holes are repetitive, and two holes have extremely tight "fairways".

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hey this course was Fun!

2-4    10/20/2012   10/22/2012
Review By: Radarx
Played: 51  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A little tight but very fair, mostly wooded course with a variety of shots. The course forces you to work on your control here more than just pure distance which results in a course that just has a fun factor to it. What impressed me most were the up shots, they were challenging and required accurate shots to get to the tree guarded baskets. Good signage, defines fairways, baskets in good shape, really nice park setting
Cons: Tee pads need some work (Blue-White). Many of the blue tees had trip weeds in them. Pro tees little short, some of them only 10-15 feet back from white. I would remove the back board on the tees, they are a little cramped. Needs just a couple next hole signs at certain places where you traverse back for the next hole.
Other Thoughts: I have to agree with a previous review in that all that open land around the course and not one hole. One of the holes is like 121 ft (white) and that is kind of useless hole when the field could have been utilized. Overall I really enjoyed my time here and the course was worth the out of state drive.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Killens Pond DG

5+    11/11/2012   9/8/2012
Review By: jchoate7
Played: 45  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/22/2012
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is heavily wooded which makes you have to use every shot in your inventory from you forehand to your backhand and your hyzers to your anhyzers. Three course layouts with three tee positions on most holes, two tee postions on some of the shorter holes. There are also two pin locations for almost every hole, one for the shorter holes. Because the course weeves its way through the woods it makes for even the most windy days to not have an effect on your discs. Course is always maintained very well. Great place to learn how to play disc golf.
Cons: During the summer the growth from the trees can prove to be tough. OB arrows on holes 3 and 12 are broken. The course could use a couple helping arrows to the next tee pads. Poison ivy in some parts of the rough and ticks can also be a problem (wear bugspray!). Park fee to get into the park is $3 in-state plates and $6 out-of-state plates.
Other Thoughts: Great local course. You do have to pay the state park fee to get into the park but if you planning on going a lot it is a good idea to invest in a Delaware park pass for the year which will also get you into other Delaware disc golf courses. The park also offers more than just disc golf. Some of the other activities the park has to offer are; picnic areas, walking trails, bike trails, boat/canoe/kayak rentals, fishing, nature center, water park, camping, and more!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Killen it!

1    7/18/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 166  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 10.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 baskets with dual pin positions and 3 sets of tees providing a good mix of difficulty for each hole. The longer 2 tees are boxed gravel and the short is natural, with a tee sign and basket position indication on the middle tees. Excellent use of the available land. Good variety of shots required and unique holes through mostly woods. Well defined fairways and protected greens place a premium on accuracy here. Course flows well and navigation is ok. Two nine hole loops back to the parking lot and bathrooms.
Cons: Nothing major here. Some poison ivy in the rough, not too terrible. The boxed gravel tees are a little small, but you really shouldn't need much runup here. Next tee markers would help in a few places. I think it was hole 12's tee sign was washed out, and another hole was missing the basket indicator hose clamp. $6 out-of-state fee to enter park.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed my play at Killens Pond even though I never saw a pond. The course is mostly wooded and pretty flat and compact but the available elevation and space are used well. The course seemed to favor LHBH or RHFH when I played. Hole 3 was a complete u-turn to the right with a narrow fairway, which was the most memorable hole. From the long tees the key to the course is accuracy so stay in the fairway and let any birdies comes as they may. The rough will often punish you, but it plays fair. It seems to rain every time I visit any of the delmarva courses, and I've noticed that these courses also seem to handle rain really well with the pine needles on the ground. If you are in the area it's worth a play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 another decent fun time

5+    8/13/2011   8/13/2011
Review By: beaverdisc
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 46.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a course that I try to get to. even if I am not playing any other course in Delaware. I love the landscape and hole challenges. You have to use several skill shots from your bag of tricks.
Cons: I do not get there often enough.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    8/11/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: JediEthan1
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice Wooded holes require a variety of shot selection, fairly clear, flowing course design, creative teepad amd pin placement on many holes. It isn't out of the way too much, easy to get to for passerby.
Cons: Sometimes can be overgrown, two holes teepads are somewhat vague, but neither is enough to keep this course down!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Home Sweet Home

5+    11/7/2009   12/31/2009
Review By: jimimc
Played: 35  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 19.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has three sets of tees and 2 pin placements on every hole. You will need every shot in your bag to play well here. Accuracy is rewarded here while arrent shots are punished. Two plus stroke swings can happen on almost evey hole. The park has many other things to do from boating to a Water Park. Bathrooms right off the parking lot.
Cons: In the middle of the summer poison ivy can be bad. The tees are stone dust and have to be maintained to be at there best.
Other Thoughts: This is the course I learned how to play disc golf on. Most players that play here regularly come away with a well rounded game. From tunnel shots to high hyzer shots to high anhyzer shots to rollers, you'll need them all here. The only real draw back of the course is the restriction of the land the course is on. It is flat and on about 15 acres of land, but it's definetly worth the trip.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.