Felton, DE 
Killens Pond State Park Share
Uploaded By: Radarx Hole #13 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 198ft.   3 / 248ft.   3 / 281ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Approach



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
  SKillens Pond

1    9/15/2009   10/9/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Triple tees and alternating basket positions that seem to be utilized as the undergrowth for both locations was non-existant. 18 holes of some of the most technical holes you can fathom. Everything from the open placement drive into the woods, out of the woods drive drive to the open, s-turns, doglegs, straight hallways, up and overhand off the tee, elevated basket, windows, and downright tight gaps to teasingly more open but not so open fairways. #17 messes your mind up as you exit those tight woods you see a seemingly wide open fairway...but is it really? A long evergreen lined fairway that will gobble up your reckless drive everytime. Check your ego at the gate and play within yourself and you will do well here...try to conquer this course and she will put a KILLEN on you! Plenty of length for a woods course. these holes can all enable birdies but can equally disable with bogeys. Try the long tees for an often tighter and demanding and not just longer look. As it is primarily pines the underbrush is pretty tame here. bathrooms, info kiosk and big lot in primarily disc golf territory.
Cons: Elevation is minimal here and barely noticeable outside of a couple 5 foot rises or descents. No water despite the "Pond" title. Often the long tees are so tight off the tees it almost seems unfair and silly....even to a technical fan like myself. As you drive in theres a huge open field that sadly does not come into play at all.....would have been a nice counter to all that tight wooded madness. Tees were gravel and at times smallish or poorly maintained.
Other Thoughts: Of the 3 tees per hole, the beginners were often just a slab to mark. I ended up playing a lot of the Int tees as the pro tees seemed almost impossible on some holes to me and I had to concede I'm no Pro....Basically theres a huge discrepancy in skill sets to play here and the challenge here is not about power it's more about increasingly more difficult technicality as the tees progress from red to white to blue. Unique to play a course where the pro tees are just maddeningly more technical as opposed to just an increase of distance. Explains my title for this review..you need to be Skilling to master Killens!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 one of my favorites in DE

5+    8/18/2006   2/18/2009
Review By: craigg
Played: 183  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 33 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really like the layout of this course. There are several unique obstacles on this course, you just don't see very often. There are these groves of sumac trees (They aren't poison sumac - and don't get more than about an inch in diameter) that grow in groves that have been used as "up and over" type obstacles that force you to throw a tight controlled spike, or an upside down shot.
There are several low ceiling early, and low ceiling late type shots that are combined with big open areas, that force you to exhibit both power and control. And then there are the pure woods holes, that combine the tight control type shot you might expect - with some sort of sharp turn (sometimes early, sometimes late). All in all - a nice set and nice mix of skill challenges.
Cons: Being near the shore - it's flat - no elevation at all. Teepads aren't the greatest (some are a little small - or a little cramped), but overall they are ok because they are at grade.
The course is a little remote / out of the way - not a whole lot around it commercially, so stop for your supplies on the way in.
Other Thoughts: The course (like some others in DE) is a bit blind, but flows well, and is fairly intuitive. So even without next tee signs - its pretty easy to follow.
Within about 45 minutes of the ocean, Killens often plays with a constant breeze - which can sometimes add a nice dimension to the course challenge.
The park staff in this State Park is like night and day with those at Lums or Brandywine, and seem to appreciate the volunteer efforts of the local DG community. Perhaps that led to the newer Trap Pond course (which I haven't played as of this writing) - that I have heard nothing but good things about.
Killens is one of my favorites in Delaware.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Into the Pines

5+    12/3/2008   12/9/2008
Review By: Tolbert
Played: 245  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/7/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun to play wooded course, with a few open holes. The wooded fairways for the most part aren't too tight, allowing for decent drives. I enjoyed that the course demanded every throw in my bag. Hole length varied nicely and each hole had 3 tees for players of different skill level. Most holes had 2 pin placements. Pine trees are abundant on the course and providing foliage year round.
Cons: Course could definitely use some signs to help with navigation for newcomers. First time there I was wandering around on a few holes and checking the numbers on baskets. Occasionally a running path comes through the course.
Other Thoughts: Wish I lived a bit closer, I really liked the challenge here.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Very well groomed

5+    10/11/2008   10/19/2008
Review By: apimarty
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a nice mix of tight wooded holes and not so tight wooded holes. The signage is excellent and all holes have Pro, Am and Jr. tees. Although there are only 18 baskets, the local pro uses the alternate pin placements to change the course on a regular basis (twice a month?) The last time I played, I noticed the fairways had been mowed and the rough had been trimmed.
Cons: There is no practice basket, so players tend to use #18. There are two holes (8 & 9) where you have to drive over bushes that are 8'+. This is not a throw that most people have. For the Pro player, the course will be a little short.
Other Thoughts: I play Killens once or twice a year. This last time, I was very impressed with how the course had changed with grooming and new pin placements. A note for you Out of Staters. The park fee is per car, not per person, so bring a friend or two and cut that cost down. If you play more than 10 rounds a year in DE, get a yearly pass good for ALL parks in DE (there are courses in every one). This is truely worth the $$ as there are great courses throughout the state.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.