Bakersfield, CA
Kern River DGC Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #1 (Taken 1/2013)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    3/18/2014   3/21/2014
Review By: motomeadows
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: New layout is fun. Parking is close to hole number 1. light elevation and lightly wooded. baskets are nice and concrete tee pads are nice grass and scenery is green.
Cons: thousands of squirrels & holes, conjested areas of people exercising and relaxing. tee pads too short to throw on. 12th hole is not near the parking area. had to create my own holes on the way back. Update the maps if there is a new 18 hole layout.
Other Thoughts: overall not bad course. convienently located and creative shots make you use your imagination to use skill shots. oh yea and make sure to print out the map or you will get lost!!!!!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice Variety in Shots!

2-4    11/9/2013   11/11/2013
Review By: khyzer
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great variety in different shots
-Not every shot requires a back-hand
-you're able to skip off the grass easily
-the O.B. keeps the course challenging
-there are two shots where you get to skip off a long paved road
-baskets aren't messed with nor bent
-locals are friendly and will help you
-couple of hyzer shots
Cons: -there are only a couple of tee signs and can be confusing for new players to the course
-have to use a cross-walk to cross a street
-have to use a couple of baskets twice
Other Thoughts: It's a pretty good course and is centrally located in Bakersfield. I enjoy playing it, being around the locals, and the different types of shots. Go and play it! You won't regret it!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


2-4    10/25/2013   10/31/2013
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 54  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 10.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very centrally located in Bakersfield which is very convenient. It has newer baskets and some shot variety with a couple of anhyzer holes for RHBH that you don't always find on shorter courses. The people there were very friendly and helpful, which is always a big plus. If you play pavement as OB it ups the challenge of the course significantly. Lots of birdie opportunities.
Cons: Navigation is a problem. They put in signs but they don't tell you much. I hate to say that because I think this was part of a recent re-design so I want to be respectful of people's time and energy they have put into this course while still being honest about the shortcomings. The tees are short and easy to slip off the end. There are a couple of oil pumps with fences around them on the course that would be pretty easy for your disc to land in and hard to get back out. A busy street splits the course and you have to walk way around either way to avoid jaywalking (big sign saying to not do that). The course wasn't very busy when I was there but if too many park users got in there several holes would be unplayable.
Other Thoughts: Looks like the locals play a few "bonus" holes including playing 12's tee toward 11's basket (right after you hole out on 6) and tee on the grass near the back corner of the park to 7's basket. I am moving to Bakersfield in January and will probably play this course a lot due to its convenient location and friendly locals.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun Course

5+    8/12/2012   8/15/2012
Review By: Blake1844
Played: 64  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of different shot types. Well maintained, grass, shade and challenging.
Cons: Since the city put a road through the park you have to cross the steet a couple of times. Mixed baskets due to theft.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. I play it a lot. Great layout, fun to play. There are some optional hole to play. First timers might have a little bit of a tuff time following the course. Feel free to message me or call me if you need help. You should be able to find my number on my profile. I run a singles turney there every orther Sunday morning at 9am.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.