Pine Grove, PA 
Twin Grove Share
Uploaded By: jcs259 Hole #5 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 263ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Stay a while!

5+    4/3/2016   8/22/2016
Review By: iHitTree
Played: 59  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 14.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Twin Grove is a ton of fun. The disc golf course itself is very well-designed and really well balanced. The owners really have a great piece of property for a disc golf course as you have a mix of woods and open, some water, and major elevation change. There are really nice bathrooms at the top of the hill behind the basket of hole 18 (not too far from hole 1). Outside of being a great disc golf destination, this place is a camping and glamping haven as well. People tent camp, come in RV's, and best for last--really nice cabins. The cabins are affordable to stay in, have kitchenettes, full bath/shower, electricity, temperature control, a common room with TV, bedrooms, porches, fire pits, etc. You can make for a great mini disc golf vacation. The place is definitely family friendly, too.
Cons: The course par is listed at 60. For the competitive players out there, it's a 56. Hole 1 is a par 3. Hole 2 is a par 4. hole 8 is a par 4. Hole 11 is a par 3 (although, the long position at the top right of the hill makes it a tweener and calling it a 4 would be fair, but a relatively easy birdie, wind allowing). If you aren't camping, and you're just there to play, you have to park in the lower lot and walk a decent trek to Hole 1, and an even longer trek back to the car from 18. Not the biggest deal, and I understand why it has to be so, but that's all I really have to criticize. Well, one other thing...I really miss old hole 8. That was a great signature hole, which unfortunately had to be redesigned as a new section of camping was added. You used to throw from the top of the hill near 7's basket down to where 8's basket still resides--an epic downhill smash and a great par 4. The current hole 8 features 2 big drive that are slightly uphill--still a nice par 4, but not quite the same as the old one.
Other Thoughts: Some hole details. Hole 1 is a signature drive. You are throwing a big turnover or forehand (RH players) through gap in the trees way downhill and if you hit it just right, you can get a monster drive setting you up for a putt on this difficult dogleg right hole (pro par 3). Hole 2, yet another signature hole (pro par 4). This hole features a big open drive across a hill that slopes downward right to left. Halfway up the fairway, everything tightens up, so unless you have 450 ft. in you, most play a placement drive. Watch out for the "pool" guarding the front side of the green, along with a barrage of small trees. Very tough hole. Hole 3 is a nice downhill hyzer shot, shortie, one of the easier birdies on the course but not a sure bet. Hole 4 requires some shot shaping. It's slightly uphill which makes it play longer than posted, and there are a lot of small trees in the way. A really tough 2, but you should get your 3. Hole 5 is a big uphill dogleg left. You are throwing up a semi-wide woods tunnel really uphill to place your shot on the hillside for a 100 ft. putter approach. If you play it smart, easy par. If you saw your drive off going for too much, big score. Hole 6 may be the toughest hole on the course. It's a par 3, and I just don't see how you can get a 2 by putting, but rather you'd need to throw it in. It's a tight, snaking woods tunnel, and the best play is usually throwing a mid-range or putter hyzer flip to cut the hole in half, taking your par. Hole 7 is on the edge of the woods and open field. If you are going straight at it (very reachable), it's a low ceiling shot from the branches of the woods line hanging over the line. Lots of people play a big anhyzer, or big flick hyzer, and some play a roller. This looks like an easy, tasty birdie, but it's actually kind of tough, as the hill slopes steep right to left, so getting your throw to sit and reading the wind can be tricky. Hole 8 is the other sure bet pro par 4. See my description in the cons. Hole 9 is a nice relatively short open uphill hole. This is a must birdie if you're competing. Hole 10 is a blind open shot over a short hill with the basket downhill out of sight. The trick is knowing what the treetops look like above the hole to calibrate your aim on the tee. Simple big smash on a hyzer wide. Good birdie to get, but not one of the tougher ones. Hole 11 is the final open hole. It's a long drive, slightly downhill over a checkered mowed grass pattern, met by a big uphill change after about 400 ft. If the pin is in long position, a semi-tricky uphill approach will be necessary, so get as much off the tee as you can. Hole 12 is a big tight hyzer. If you stay clean, it can be one of the easier birdies, but there are plenty of trees to hit if you don't get your gap right. This is a much tougher forehand or lefty hole. Hole 13 is another simple hole that can be frustrating. It is short and straight and should be an easy birdie, but you have to get through a narrow 8-10 ft. gap about 100 ft. in front of the tee. Mid-range or putter all the way. Hole 14 is another blind shot. It's a downhill right turning shot that most throw putter or mid-range turnover, but many play the righty forehand as well. Kicking left can be bad, as its dense and jaily over there. Hole 15 is a cool uphill dogleg right. The line lends more toward an anhyzer shot as opposed to a forehand. A really nice 2 and a must-par. Hole 16 is another signature hole. You're playing across a valley about 3-4 stories above the bottom road. It's not a long shot, but your line is high above the ground mid-way through flight, so you need good spin otherwise gravity will do its thing. Usually a mid-range or fairway driver right at it and hope it sticks on the hill near the basket. Big scoring spread on this hole, as 2's, 3's and 4+'s are common. Hole 17 is a gentle hyzer, simple mid-range shot, can be a tricky 2, but a must-par. Hole 18 is another blind shot playing over and down a hill through the woods. Most people play either a gentle mid-range or putter turnover backhand and some players throw overhand. It isn't long, and it's another you want to birdie if you're competing.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Place For Golf

2-4    9/14/2015   9/15/2015
Review By: MGreenawalt
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very Clean! There are trash cans on select holes. So if playing please hold on to your trash till you find one!- This course has plenty of different holes! Wooded, fields, open drives. It also mixes them all together by making you shoot from a field into the woods, and vise versa-There are some Great elevation changes at this course- Most tee pads are concrete. I noticed that the field pads are gravel. (I am assuming so they can easily be changed if needed due to the campground)- Course is very well maintained! The field holes have a mowed fairway, with designs made by the mower. (example... a checkered fairway with a huge arrow pointing at the pin.) Which shows me the person in charge loves the course and wants others to love it too!- A course you most play!!
Cons: Bugs seem to be a growing factor (wear bug spray)-
Thorns over populate every rough brush at every hole, so stay on the fairway- Some poison but easy to spot- A few areas that get very muddy around hole 1 and 2
Other Thoughts: This course has great location off Rt 443 with easy access from I-81 and Rt 209.- This course is only a few minutes from Sweet Arrow Lake County Park which also has a course! So its a great chance to plan a full day of golfing! (Sweet Arrow has a public pavilion and coal grills to use.) So I usually Start at Twin Grove and end at Sweet Arrow with a small cook out! If you drive a distance and shoot both these courses or even just one! You will NOT be disappointed!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Twin/Pine Grove

1    5/23/2015   5/26/2015
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 166  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 10.4 Years
Pros: Mostly concrete intermediate level tees with a couple gravel tees, and a single Discatcher basket position for each hole. Decent tee signs and navigation. Nice use of the elevation creating some fast greens and mixing up mostly par 3 holes, you play uphill, downhill, across a valley and slope, straight shots, and a couple turning shots. You will play the full gambit of hole types from woods into the open, or open into the woods or wide open with tall grass/rough to the side or through some heavy woods. Grass fairways were mowed.

Amenities include camping, pool, amusement park, restaurant, restrooms and small pro shop.
Cons: On the course map, hole 8 is oriented almost 90 degrees the wrong direction. The gravel tees were rutted and hard to tee from. A couple holes play a little close together and close to other park users. The rough can be rough and there is some poison ivy in there. Hole 1 basket position is on a small ridge with the water overrun collection behind just behind it, so it was a bit muddy and the other side of the basket is a steep slope prime for rollaways. Hole 2 has a fairly narrow gap to the basket.
Other Thoughts: Overall Twin Grove is a solid intermediate level course, but there is nothing that will blow you away here other than some of the views of the mountains. There is very little seclusion on the course, there are RV's, cabins and tents throughout much of the course, so you kind of feel like you are invading someone else's territory when playing.

If you are coming here to just play the course, you park in the main lot toward the right side where the main office is, then walk through the gate. There is no fee to play. To hole 1 tee keep walking straight uphill behind the gate and you will find the tee by the wood line. I took a right after the gate to hole 2 by accident because I saw a basket and tee over there. So I started on hole 2 and then I misplayed the hole to the tee of hole 1 and looked around for 2's basket all confused. I'd recommend playing here if you in the immediate area and looking for a good intermediate level course to play.

 Can't Wait to Go Back!

5+    9/28/2014   9/29/2014
Review By: K. Butter
Played: 71  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.6 Years
Pros: Went for the Sly Fox Open this weekend. Played a singles tourney on Saturday and doubles tourney on Sunday. Onsite camping (stayed in a cabin) was a great time. Holes are unique, you need almost every shot in your arsenal. Big elevation changes and water in play made for some great rounds. Tight fairways, open bomb holes, you name it they had it. Fast greens made it extra challenging. Mach V's were awesome. Grass was mowed and looked great, the checkerboard field hole was very cool.
Cons: Not much here about the course itself. Gnats were a huge nuisance. The water OB on hole 2 was kinda sketchy, seems like the hole could do without it. In between 7 and 8 was torn up due to construction but didn't affect play very much.
Other Thoughts: All in all, a great course. I was throwing almost every disc in my bag to tackle this course, which doesn't happen often. Kudos to those who take care of this course, and I can't wait to go back. Glad I got to bag this one.

 Great Course

1    9/19/2014   9/20/2014
Review By: TylerBrown2
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great Location
- Well maintained
- Pro shop (although i didnt go into it)
- Decent signage and most holes were easy to find.
- Great place to practice wooded shots in the 200-300' range
- Nice baskets
- Good elevation changes on many of the holes
- Not too busy even with a good amount of campers.
- Nice practice hole to warm up
Cons: - Not many distance holes. A few in the field
- Thorns, and bugs. If you miss the very narrow lanes you will pay and so will your legs
- The map is now incorrect.. Hole #8 was moved recently for construction. Walk down the hill from #7 to find it.
Other Thoughts: Course is on a campground that seems to have everything. I was down in the area for work and decided to play this course. It lived up to the reviews. I highly recommend.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad at all

1    10/3/2013   10/4/2013
Review By: MQTdiscgolfer
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Good variance of shots for the most part. From the tight wooded shots to the wide open field holes I was constantly being challenged. They used the terrain very well.
-Although there are a couple places where flow could be an issue, there is a course map available at the camp store.
Cons: -As other reviewers have said, the rough is real rough. I ended up with many cuts on my legs trying to get through some berry bushes to a disc. Also the long grass on the field holes (7-11) took one of my discs and tried to take a couple more.
-The field holes got a little tedious after a while.
-Although it was fairly dead when I went, I have the feeling that if the campground was busy it would hinder play. There are a couple holes that go right past cabins or RV's.

Other Thoughts: A nice drive through a state park to get there. The camp store has innova discs for sale and water/other things. You have to park and walk to the first hole, but there are signs leading you there. Holes #8, #16, and #17 were personal favorites.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Makes you work at it...

1    9/28/2013   9/30/2013
Review By: Junkman510
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well thought out course so far... (only got to play the first 9) Makes you work at it with the hills and tricky shots... a workout. It was very nice to eat dinner at the on-site restaurant after the short game. they even sell discs in the camp store.
Cons: A beeper would be an asset on this course. Had to be standing on top of my disc to find it in the tall grass... Had to brave the stickers a few times in the woods.
Other Thoughts: It is great to have a good course close to home... finally!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Mix

1    6/15/2013   7/1/2013
Review By: swatso
Played: 448  Reviewed: 360  Exp: 8.4 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Good usage of the various elevation changes available.

On-site restaurant and shop.
Cons:
Single tee/basket location.

A few holes where the main goal is not to lose your disc in knee-high grass.
Other Thoughts:
Course is set in the open fields (holes 7-11) and woods (holes 3-6, 12-18) which border RV sites and gravel access roads of the camp. Holes 1 and 2 are mixed, with tight exit (#1) / entry (#2) points. Baskets are new, signs are sufficient, and tees (concretex13, gravel for open holes 7-11) are good. Benches, too.

The course offers a decent mixture of challenges:
While straight off the tee will serve you well ~1/3rd of the time, you will need some turns - lefts a bit more than rights. Some turns are quite sharp, usually mid-fairway, but most are subtle/late
While there certainly are some flat holes, you will have a few downhills, uphills, cross valleys, over ridges, and cross-slopes, but nothing overly extreme - a nice blend.
As stated before, ~2/3rds of the holes are wooded, large to mid-sized hardwoods, so trunks, vice branches, will be the objects to miss. Throwing lanes ranged from fair-to-tight, challenging, but not grotesquely so. The grass was high in the open, but the fairways were decent-sized, and the views were nice, especially looking down from #8.
Distance had the least variation, as the wooded holes almost all fell into the 260' +/- 30' range.

Favourite hole: #2. The longest hole at 525', it is open the first ~2/3rds, with a right-to-left slope. You then enter a treeline to find a small open space just before a tiny stream. The basket sits on the other side, with a few large hardwoods protecting it.

A solid course worth visiting if passing through the area.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Destination Course for AMS!

5+    4/21/2013   4/29/2013
Review By: Theli420
Played: 70  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.7 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: To start, I stayed in the cabin off of hole 7's basket for the weekend. The amenities here are absolutely fantastic, both on and off the disc golf course. Now, to the course (and the review)...

- 9 really good wooded holes, 2 semi-open, and 5 super open holes (the other 2 holes I'll address in the next section). I like the mix. They did well here.

- Elevation - There are many significant elevation changes on holes. #1 you tee off the top of a hill, into a somewhat valley. The basket itself is situated on a hill, which drops off fairly significantly on both sides. It's one of the more interesting approach shots I've ever thrown on a course. #18 starts going uphill, then drops down into a valley. Very quirky, but very fun. The highlight elevation shot in my opinion is #16 where you throw over a valley. It would make for a great cover picture for a disc golf magazine.

- Tee Pads and Baskets - The orange Mach V baskets catch very well. And, they are very visible. The tee pads are all in great shape, even the crushed ones on the open holes. Also, benches at every hole.

Deception - A lot of the holes I found myself between shots, or fooled by elevation changes. #11 is the one that sticks out the most. It's a 431 foot wide open, what looks like a downhill hole. Looks like easy drive/easy approach/putt for 3, right? Wrong.. I haven't gotten the elevation change right on my second shot, yet. Thankfully, I made some putts. #9, while only around 260 feet, is longer than you think. Most of my group ended up short on their drives, when they thought they were nearly parked. On the other side of things, watch that you don't overthrow 14 and 18 off the tee, as the baskets are in a valley. Oh, and #8? Good luck getting it to the hole off the tee. It looks quite "doable". It is not, unless you have a laser rocket arm.

- Fun factor: The course has 16 fun holes on it, nearly all of which are birdieable with some experience. The holes are just fun to throw, overall. The course doesn't favor a lefty or righty, in my opinion. You have some holes that go right to left, others left to right, some dead straight. #13 is a dead straight hole that I still need to exact revenge on.

- No real long walks between holes. From 6 to 7, go to the path after 6's basket that leads out into open field by making a right after the basket. The 7 tee will be on your right after you go through a gate. From 11 to 12, go back up the same path you went down from 6 to 7, and 12 tee will be on your right. And, most walks from basket to next tee pad are spelled out for you.

- NIGHT GOLF IN THE FIELD! A friend had lights to light up holes 7-11. As long as you observe the quiet hours rules, you can have yourself a darn good time when darkness falls. I had no issue locating any discs with LEDs attached. Just make sure you use your "inside voices" when it's quiet hours. Sound travels quite a bit in the open field, as I could hear some people out on #10 near the basket from my cabin.
Cons: - Holes 4 and 6. Hole 4 I feel there is too much luck involved when you get close to the basket. There are many assorted trees, not a real visible path to the basket unless you get lucky. Hole 6 is tough to get off the tee. You either need to work a LHBH S-curve shot or a RHFH and get lucky. I don't like luck dictating score. Those two holes are questionable, in that regard.

- Safety issues if you aren't on your toes. Hole 17 if you hyzer out as a RHBH or LHFH will fade right into 4's fairway if it doesn't catch a tree first. Holes 13 and 16 could potentially injure a walker if you throw too low. I didn't run into any as the hole is not really near any campsites. But, in the summer time, this could change with more people at the campground.

-No true par 5s and only one par 4, if you go by PDGA standards for holes. If you play the course the way the designers intended, their par system is a little flawed, in my opinion (holes 1, 2, 8, and 11, but hey I'll take it as an AM).
Other Thoughts: Combined with the amazing amenities (the cabins are the best cabins I have ever stayed in), this disc golf course is a hidden gem in the middle of a disc golf dead zone. If I lived closer, I'd play this course every weekend. I am an intermediate player, and enjoy the challenge it presents me. There are many of birdie opportunities here. But, if you go off the intended fairway, good luck recovering!! While pros will enjoy the course, most will only be challenged by a few holes, I think. I'm not a pro, so wouldn't know for sure. Just an educated guess. I highly recommend going for a weekend, and getting one of the 4 cabins out by holes 7-11. You will NOT regret it! The facilities, the people, and the course are top notch. I was happy to see the owners driving around in a golf cart seeing how we liked the place, the course, and how we were doing. There is a lot of love and care put into this place!! And, for that, along with the condition and fun factor of the course, I give it a 4. The only things missing are some more par 4's/5's (though not sure there is land available to make it happen), bag holders at tees as some of the tee areas get murky after a lot of rain (mainly #3).

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 good first (and 2nd) impression

2-4    1/5/2013   3/6/2013
Review By: Gerry
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Navigation is easy for the most part. Not limited to one type of hole, there are both open and closed. Challenging, but fair. Elevation changes make for some fun shots. Flow was good, got around quickly. Enjoyable. Easy to get to, just down the road from the 81 exit.
Cons: Thorn bushes need to be cleared, fairways and rough need some care.
Other Thoughts: The course plays to a par 59, which is fine for someone of my skill, but better players will likely think that 57 is a more accurate number. Will visit here again for certain.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.