Pine Grove, PA 
Twin Grove Share
Uploaded By: jcs259 Hole #5 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 263ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Can't Wait to Go Back!

5+    9/28/2014   9/29/2014
Review By: K. Butter
Played: 42  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.7 Years
Pros: Went for the Sly Fox Open this weekend. Played a singles tourney on Saturday and doubles tourney on Sunday. Onsite camping (stayed in a cabin) was a great time. Holes are unique, you need almost every shot in your arsenal. Big elevation changes and water in play made for some great rounds. Tight fairways, open bomb holes, you name it they had it. Fast greens made it extra challenging. Mach V's were awesome. Grass was mowed and looked great, the checkerboard field hole was very cool.
Cons: Not much here about the course itself. Gnats were a huge nuisance. The water OB on hole 2 was kinda sketchy, seems like the hole could do without it. In between 7 and 8 was torn up due to construction but didn't affect play very much.
Other Thoughts: All in all, a great course. I was throwing almost every disc in my bag to tackle this course, which doesn't happen often. Kudos to those who take care of this course, and I can't wait to go back. Glad I got to bag this one.

Great Course

1    9/19/2014   9/20/2014
Review By: TylerBrown2
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.6 Years
Pros: - Great Location
- Well maintained
- Pro shop (although i didnt go into it)
- Decent signage and most holes were easy to find.
- Great place to practice wooded shots in the 200-300' range
- Nice baskets
- Good elevation changes on many of the holes
- Not too busy even with a good amount of campers.
- Nice practice hole to warm up
Cons: - Not many distance holes. A few in the field
- Thorns, and bugs. If you miss the very narrow lanes you will pay and so will your legs
- The map is now incorrect.. Hole #8 was moved recently for construction. Walk down the hill from #7 to find it.
Other Thoughts: Course is on a campground that seems to have everything. I was down in the area for work and decided to play this course. It lived up to the reviews. I highly recommend.

Not bad at all

1    10/3/2013   10/4/2013
Review By: MQTdiscgolfer
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Good variance of shots for the most part. From the tight wooded shots to the wide open field holes I was constantly being challenged. They used the terrain very well.
-Although there are a couple places where flow could be an issue, there is a course map available at the camp store.
Cons: -As other reviewers have said, the rough is real rough. I ended up with many cuts on my legs trying to get through some berry bushes to a disc. Also the long grass on the field holes (7-11) took one of my discs and tried to take a couple more.
-The field holes got a little tedious after a while.
-Although it was fairly dead when I went, I have the feeling that if the campground was busy it would hinder play. There are a couple holes that go right past cabins or RV's.

Other Thoughts: A nice drive through a state park to get there. The camp store has innova discs for sale and water/other things. You have to park and walk to the first hole, but there are signs leading you there. Holes #8, #16, and #17 were personal favorites.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Makes you work at it...

1    9/28/2013   9/30/2013
Review By: Junkman510
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well thought out course so far... (only got to play the first 9) Makes you work at it with the hills and tricky shots... a workout. It was very nice to eat dinner at the on-site restaurant after the short game. they even sell discs in the camp store.
Cons: A beeper would be an asset on this course. Had to be standing on top of my disc to find it in the tall grass... Had to brave the stickers a few times in the woods.
Other Thoughts: It is great to have a good course close to home... finally!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good Mix

1    6/15/2013   7/1/2013
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Good usage of the various elevation changes available.

On-site restaurant and shop.
Cons:
Single tee/basket location.

A few holes where the main goal is not to lose your disc in knee-high grass.
Other Thoughts:
Course is set in the open fields (holes 7-11) and woods (holes 3-6, 12-18) which border RV sites and gravel access roads of the camp. Holes 1 and 2 are mixed, with tight exit (#1) / entry (#2) points. Baskets are new, signs are sufficient, and tees (concretex13, gravel for open holes 7-11) are good. Benches, too.

The course offers a decent mixture of challenges:
While straight off the tee will serve you well ~1/3rd of the time, you will need some turns - lefts a bit more than rights. Some turns are quite sharp, usually mid-fairway, but most are subtle/late
While there certainly are some flat holes, you will have a few downhills, uphills, cross valleys, over ridges, and cross-slopes, but nothing overly extreme - a nice blend.
As stated before, ~2/3rds of the holes are wooded, large to mid-sized hardwoods, so trunks, vice branches, will be the objects to miss. Throwing lanes ranged from fair-to-tight, challenging, but not grotesquely so. The grass was high in the open, but the fairways were decent-sized, and the views were nice, especially looking down from #8.
Distance had the least variation, as the wooded holes almost all fell into the 260' +/- 30' range.

Favourite hole: #2. The longest hole at 525', it is open the first ~2/3rds, with a right-to-left slope. You then enter a treeline to find a small open space just before a tiny stream. The basket sits on the other side, with a few large hardwoods protecting it.

A solid course worth visiting if passing through the area.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Destination Course for AMS!

5+    4/21/2013   4/29/2013
Review By: Theli420
Played: 58  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.7 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: To start, I stayed in the cabin off of hole 7's basket for the weekend. The amenities here are absolutely fantastic, both on and off the disc golf course. Now, to the course (and the review)...

- 9 really good wooded holes, 2 semi-open, and 5 super open holes (the other 2 holes I'll address in the next section). I like the mix. They did well here.

- Elevation - There are many significant elevation changes on holes. #1 you tee off the top of a hill, into a somewhat valley. The basket itself is situated on a hill, which drops off fairly significantly on both sides. It's one of the more interesting approach shots I've ever thrown on a course. #18 starts going uphill, then drops down into a valley. Very quirky, but very fun. The highlight elevation shot in my opinion is #16 where you throw over a valley. It would make for a great cover picture for a disc golf magazine.

- Tee Pads and Baskets - The orange Mach V baskets catch very well. And, they are very visible. The tee pads are all in great shape, even the crushed ones on the open holes. Also, benches at every hole.

Deception - A lot of the holes I found myself between shots, or fooled by elevation changes. #11 is the one that sticks out the most. It's a 431 foot wide open, what looks like a downhill hole. Looks like easy drive/easy approach/putt for 3, right? Wrong.. I haven't gotten the elevation change right on my second shot, yet. Thankfully, I made some putts. #9, while only around 260 feet, is longer than you think. Most of my group ended up short on their drives, when they thought they were nearly parked. On the other side of things, watch that you don't overthrow 14 and 18 off the tee, as the baskets are in a valley. Oh, and #8? Good luck getting it to the hole off the tee. It looks quite "doable". It is not, unless you have a laser rocket arm.

- Fun factor: The course has 16 fun holes on it, nearly all of which are birdieable with some experience. The holes are just fun to throw, overall. The course doesn't favor a lefty or righty, in my opinion. You have some holes that go right to left, others left to right, some dead straight. #13 is a dead straight hole that I still need to exact revenge on.

- No real long walks between holes. From 6 to 7, go to the path after 6's basket that leads out into open field by making a right after the basket. The 7 tee will be on your right after you go through a gate. From 11 to 12, go back up the same path you went down from 6 to 7, and 12 tee will be on your right. And, most walks from basket to next tee pad are spelled out for you.

- NIGHT GOLF IN THE FIELD! A friend had lights to light up holes 7-11. As long as you observe the quiet hours rules, you can have yourself a darn good time when darkness falls. I had no issue locating any discs with LEDs attached. Just make sure you use your "inside voices" when it's quiet hours. Sound travels quite a bit in the open field, as I could hear some people out on #10 near the basket from my cabin.
Cons: - Holes 4 and 6. Hole 4 I feel there is too much luck involved when you get close to the basket. There are many assorted trees, not a real visible path to the basket unless you get lucky. Hole 6 is tough to get off the tee. You either need to work a LHBH S-curve shot or a RHFH and get lucky. I don't like luck dictating score. Those two holes are questionable, in that regard.

- Safety issues if you aren't on your toes. Hole 17 if you hyzer out as a RHBH or LHFH will fade right into 4's fairway if it doesn't catch a tree first. Holes 13 and 16 could potentially injure a walker if you throw too low. I didn't run into any as the hole is not really near any campsites. But, in the summer time, this could change with more people at the campground.

-No true par 5s and only one par 4, if you go by PDGA standards for holes. If you play the course the way the designers intended, their par system is a little flawed, in my opinion (holes 1, 2, 8, and 11, but hey I'll take it as an AM).
Other Thoughts: Combined with the amazing amenities (the cabins are the best cabins I have ever stayed in), this disc golf course is a hidden gem in the middle of a disc golf dead zone. If I lived closer, I'd play this course every weekend. I am an intermediate player, and enjoy the challenge it presents me. There are many of birdie opportunities here. But, if you go off the intended fairway, good luck recovering!! While pros will enjoy the course, most will only be challenged by a few holes, I think. I'm not a pro, so wouldn't know for sure. Just an educated guess. I highly recommend going for a weekend, and getting one of the 4 cabins out by holes 7-11. You will NOT regret it! The facilities, the people, and the course are top notch. I was happy to see the owners driving around in a golf cart seeing how we liked the place, the course, and how we were doing. There is a lot of love and care put into this place!! And, for that, along with the condition and fun factor of the course, I give it a 4. The only things missing are some more par 4's/5's (though not sure there is land available to make it happen), bag holders at tees as some of the tee areas get murky after a lot of rain (mainly #3).

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

good first (and 2nd) impression

2-4    1/5/2013   3/6/2013
Review By: Gerry
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Navigation is easy for the most part. Not limited to one type of hole, there are both open and closed. Challenging, but fair. Elevation changes make for some fun shots. Flow was good, got around quickly. Enjoyable. Easy to get to, just down the road from the 81 exit.
Cons: Thorn bushes need to be cleared, fairways and rough need some care.
Other Thoughts: The course plays to a par 59, which is fine for someone of my skill, but better players will likely think that 57 is a more accurate number. Will visit here again for certain.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fine Addition to PA Disc Golf

1    2/24/2013   2/24/2013
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/29/2013
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Outstanding, new (less than a year old) course located on a KOA site in Pine Grove. 18 DGA orange coated baskets were installed, plus a practice basket. All holes are varied in both distance and design with multiple lines to choose from on numerous holes. Good balance, with field holes, wooded holes and a combination of both throughout the course. Good cement tee pads exist at all but the field holes where adequately sized stone dust pads are present. Signage is satisfactory. Great use of elevation on much of the course, with holes 1, 2, 8, 15 and 16 really standing out. A small creek comes into play on the beginning part of the course, and wooden bridges allow you to cross. Navigation is easy with distinct paths leading you to the next hole. Benches are present by each tee pad. A very fair layout that nonetheless challenges you and never gives the feeling of boredom or repetition.
Cons: Most cons are correctable and will be addressed as the course grows. Several holes present the possibility of errant throws landing near the next hole. Hole 17's fairway- an access road- could present problems with foot/camper travel. Players coming off hole 5 blindly walk onto the fairway of hole 16. More "next tee" directional arrows around the course would be helpful. Very muddy in spots during travel.
Other Thoughts: Just when you think you've played a real good course in PA, a gem like this pops up. Twin Grove rivals Camp Sankanac, Roland Park, Little Lehigh and a number of other Eastern PA courses in terms of quality. The thought and care that has gone into this course is impressive and has only scratched the surface.This is a thoroughly enjoyable play, but make no mistake: this is not your casual round of golf and the elevation on this course will wear you out.

There is only one tee pad and basket at each hole- not really a con in my book, but it will prevent the course from being rated objectively above comparable courses that have them.

This KOA facility features outstanding amenities ranging from swimming pools to a miniature golf course to volleyball to a ferris wheel on site! A restaurant/lodge sits at the front of the property and features a small pro shop. Twin Grove is a fine addition to the disc golf scene and is highly recommended.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

A real disc golf destination

5+    1/20/2013   1/21/2013
Review By: paulw
Played: 102  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Twin Grove disc golf course has been created as additional recreation activities for the KOA campground location. The course has been created with the avid disc golfer in mind and is not an afterthought.

The baskets are DGA mach 5's with an orange powder coating -- brand new, very nice -- including the practice basket.

The course layout can be broken into 3 parts -- the 1st 6 baskets, the open part and the "you-really-want-to-two-as-many-of-these-as-you-can" part.

The 1st 6 baskets start with a left-to-right throw through a stand of trees into a drainage catch area with the basket on the berm of the basin. Crossing up out of the basin to an elevated tee the 2nd basket parallels the 1st fairway with a great landing area/green protecting the basket. Brings Idlewild(KY) to mind if you've played it -- an extremely well done layout. 3's a r-l shorter basket that's the only "must-get" 2 in the 1st 6. 4 is a tough two for non-mutants as the ceiling/trees/elevation (it's uphill) make getting to the circle tough. 5's somewhat quirky as you drive up a severe slope to a 90dg left turn to the basket. I'm guessing from tee to basket is 280' as the crow flies but aside from a field ace it's not two-able. 6 somewhat mimics 4 since it's 300'-ish feet with narrow lanes as this review was written -- over time all of the woods baskets here will "soften" since play will prune out the small stuff making more "fair"ways. The course is less than 6mos old.

Now the field baskets: 7 parallels the woods -- 400ish throws will putt for 2's. 8's kind of cool as the 550'ish basket has loads of elevation crossing a swale that has one little scrubby tree/bush in the circle. 9-10 give most a chance at 2 while 11 will take mutant ability to even putt at. 11's almost an optical illusion as the basket sits on a slope and for whatever reason it's common for players not to give their approach enough air/distance.

As for the "you-really-want-to-two-as-many-of-these-as-you-can" section of wooded baskets that loop you back to the beginning there are some fun throws and lots of choices off the tees. 12 is a r-l throw it hard and hit the "gate" as the gap about 1/2 way there is tight. There's a barbwire fence on the right we assumed was OB since it seems like the neighboring land. 13's a tunnel-ish downhill midrange that finishes a little left, although if you hit the lane you're putting. 14's the first of 2 "knob" throws with several lanes to choose from that can get you to a reachable basket on the other side of the "knob". It's like 270 or so but plays shorter due to the hill. 15's a good basket that will soon have 2 distinct fairways -- the current l-r one and the r-l that the righty bh throwers will beat out of the woods. There's a lane there and unless someone makes them(us) not go that way we'll bash our way through! 16's a tight throw from an elevated tee across the gravel road to a basket about at the same elevation. 17's a r-l down the gravel path, with 18 being the second "knob" shot -- over a little hill to the basket on the other side. Of this last section -- "birdie row", you'll want every one you can get and they're all "getable" but aside from 18 not a panic if you don't -- lot's of trees along the way.
Cons: 18 should be a par 4 or 5. Don't know how or where to put it as it ends at the campsites/yurts . . .but it's kind of disappointing to end on a little shortie -- basket #2 should be #18, but that would mess up the flow completely.

The gravel/sand tees in the field aren't as good as concrete -- nothing is.

Out of bounds on some of the field throws would add to the challenge -- make the tall grass on the left of 7 OB and/or the circle on #9 OB and it could create some more risk reward.
Other Thoughts: Can't beat cabins/etc. right on the course. The campgrounds as of this review are one of the highest rated in the country. Clean bathrooms, lots of cabins/campsites/rv sites/etc. I've only been in the winter when the restaurant is closed, but if that's as good as the rest of the amenities it will be an easy stay with everything needed for disc golf on site. Tournament spots (Mrdiscgolf.com is one of the designers of the course and is beginning to hold several tournaments there a year) should become desirable as you can walk out the door of the cabin/tent right to your 1st tee.

Is the course as good as a Nockamixon or Jordan Creek, no, but it's certainly worth the time and effort to get to, especially if you're into staying on site!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


2-4    1/5/2013   1/5/2013
Review By: Improbably
Played: 28  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good concrete tees on most of the holes, passable stone tees on some. No long walks between holes. Excellent signage.
Cons: Lots of thorn bushes, and dead fall very close to fairways. Rough is rough but the dead stuff could have been carried a few more yards away.
Other Thoughts: I liked it. Course will wear in well.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.