Hinsdale, IL 
Katherine Legge Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #9 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 190ft.   4 / 385ft.   4 / 515ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee

Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Great Diverse Course

1    9/13/2015   9/22/2015
Review By: mierze
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Based in a beautiful park, this course sports some solid elevation changes and is trickled with some large trees that make for some nice lines to the basket.
Cons: Besides being a little on the open side I truly loved the course.
Other Thoughts: Definitely check this course out if you are in the area!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good for a fun, hassle-free round

5+    9/10/2015   9/14/2015
Review By: DrewbieDoobieDoo
Played: 32  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -well maintained, clean park in a very wealthy area of Chicagoland
-open design allows for variety in tee shots. no holes have "must hit" lines. You can get creative and throw the whole bag, or stay simple and throw only your best shots from the tee
-most holes have elevation change. good mix of uphill and downhill holes
-several ace runs always add to the excitement of a round here
-well marked maps at each white tee box. Every hole has red, white, blue tees, although many are combined into one. easy layout to follow with good flow. very hard to get turned around.
- small creek comes into play on many holes (i think about 8 or 9 use this water). This creek is small and very easy to get a disc from. Almost zero chance of losing a disc here
Cons: -busy, busy, busy. Being a multi use park, expect to see non-discers in your way sometimes. joggers, dog walkers, photographers, and picnicers usually have no clue they are in the middle of a course so keep an eye out. One day there was even a cross-country race in the park that shut down about 9 holes.
-although there is variety in hole layout, there is no variety in throws required. (pretty much don't hit the first tree next to the tee and you are good for the hole). can get to easy/ repetitious for better players
-bad shots are too easy to recovery from (could be a plus for some, but imo bad shots should negatively influence your score). You can throw two fairways over and still have a good look at par
Other Thoughts: Overall Katherine Legge Memorial Park is an amazing park that contains a fairly average disc golf course. The designer did a great job with the land given and the fact that it is multi use to the max, but the holes lack any "wow factor" for me to give it a higher rating.
I recommend anyone who is in the western suburbs go play this course, but to me it isn't worth a long drive

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Suburban discing

5+    7/28/2015   7/28/2015
Review By: Groan
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well maintained and easy to navigate.
-Good signs and concrete teepads at the white tees.
-Decent shot variety for the rec or intermediate player. Better players lament the shortage of technical shots. It can be stretched to a fairly challenging length from the blue tees.
-Big mature trees allow forgiving ceiling and generally avoidable but still cause probs if you miss your line.
- Beautiful well maintained park with more elevation change than most west suburbs courses.
Cons: -Can get busy, and (as others have noted) tons of dogs at certain times of day.
-blues and reds are a bit tricky to find but the signs narrow down area to look
Other Thoughts: the emerald ash borer has taken its toll on the ash trees in the park and many of them have already been removed this year with more marked to be removed. this opens up things a bit more on a few of the holes. the day they take the marked ones out on hole #9 will be a bad day :(
Conversely, they had some storm damage on #15 and removed a couple trees so there is a legit line there now albeit narrow
This is my home course and i play it a lot, its enjoyable disc golf with a solid if not wicked dose of challenge for an intermediate old guy like me - if i want to throw down some tunnels ill go to central park in Oak Brook or if i want a "tourney" course ill drive down to the highlands in Joliet.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun, easy to navigate, busy!

1    10/25/2014   11/10/2014
Review By: BuzzzChief
Played: 73  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
- Extremely easy to navigate for a first timer. Very clear tee signs, always easy to find the next hole, no long walks between holes.

- Great variety of shots. Left, right, straight. Uses the elevation and natural terrain very well. Lots of risk/reward with the creek that runs through the park. Some of the pin placements make it very tough to make a real run!

- Extremely clean! It's a big, multi-use park. Meaning, it's cut grass everywhere and you're not out in the wilderness too much. Even if you go in the creek, it's easy to find and retrieve your disc. Tough to lose a disc here!

- Nice teepads, nice baskets. Everything in great shape.
- Busy, busy, busy. Played late on a Saturday and it was very crowded with non-discers. Had to wait on every front-9 hole for kids or dog walkers. Had to skip a hole because someone was having a picnic right in the middle of the fairway. Play early, or play during the week.

- Hard to find the back tees, but with a few more times playing (or the help of a local) I'm sure it would be no problem.
Other Thoughts: Great addition to the DG scene in this area. Don't think I will be playing Madison Meadows much with this gem in the area. If you can get here when it's not busy, it's tough to beat without an hour+ drive.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Chicago Has Hills?

2-4    8/28/2014   8/28/2014
Review By: nivek1385
Played: 29  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 25.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautifully manicured, 18-hole course with gentle, rolling hills located in and around multiple lacrosse fields and park buildings. The white tees are large, high quality teepads with quality, sponsored signs. Each hole has 3 "tees" though a good portion are shared tees. There's a good mixture of leftrightstraight, updownflat, and opentight holes. Excellent use of the available land. Well-marked OB areas. Water comes into play on quite a few holes, but isn't overdone. Pars seem right or close to right, unlike other Chicagoland courses that seem too easy (I might even venture to say that some are too hard here...might).
Cons: The red and blue tees (when separate from the white) are not well marked, especially for people who haven't been to the park before. I didn't find my first one until hole 11 during my first round. The tees are only marked by ~4 inch diameter circles at ground level with the appropriate color (two circles about 4-5 feet apart). This would be fine, but they're not always very easy to see, especially if the grass is long or is freshly cut (I dealt with both today as they were cutting the grass while I was throwing).

There seems to be a significant amount of people and dogs walking in the middle of holes without paying attention around them. That's not a big deal, but I could see it being a problem if the park gets busy.
Other Thoughts: I really liked this course and it is one of my favorite country-wide. With a little more work with the extra teesor teesigns for each tee (not just white tees) would easily push this to a 4.5, and both would push it to a 5.

I definitely recommend this course for players of all levels, though with the caveat that beginners should really try to find the red tees and pros find the blue tees, or find a local to guide through the course once or twice.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Addition to Chi-town DG

5+    5/1/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 128  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 9.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers an element lacking in most area courses: elevation. The Chicago suburbs are packed with flat, mostly open courses. KLM adds some elevation change to the mix.

-Good variety of uphill/downhill/flat shots.
-Nice baskets and one set of concrete tees (white). Blue and Red are natural tees when they are not shared with white.
-Good signage at the white tees.
-Enough mature trees to force some shot shaping combined with little or no schule to lose a disc in.
-Decent distance variety for the area.
-High fun factor on the downhills, combined with a few difficult drives that are tough to reach for most players, but rewarding when you do.
-Park style DG: No underbrush, well maintained, short grass with large, mature trees.
-Minimal safety issues.
Cons: -Part time off-leash, dog park: You do not want to try to play the course when the entire park is taken over by the dogs.
-No true multi-throw holes. (9 and 18 are unreachable for most, but not long enough to be real par 4s, NAGS is the likely result of most drives)
-Hole 15 is a little screwy. There are a few pure luck based routes through the trees, or a sweeping RHBH anny or RHFH hyzer line to the left through a wide open field. I still haven't found a line that I like on this hole after repeated play.
Other Thoughts: Great spot for a course. I used to bring my practice basket out here and create my own holes. Too bad the course didn't go in until after we moved.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Lots of fun

1    5/7/2014   5/7/2014
Review By: ScottC
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A great mix of technical shots, wide open/long shots, and short and ace-able, but really fun shots. I really enjoyed playing this course. There are a number of really great challenges that keep you thinking of the best flight path. Many of the long holes are in wide open fields which lend themselves to great long bombs. And every now and then you have a hole that you could ace, but you still have to have the chops to do it.
The park is beautiful. Very well kept, and the creek going through it is low and very neat. It adds a great non-threatening water hazard to the mix.
Cons: There are some holes that are right along the fence to private property. You definitely have to re-think the shots you want or you risk losing it somewhere you're really not going to get into.
Other Thoughts: A lot of fun overall. A really great course, well thought out and planned. Kudos to the designers.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1    10/28/2013   10/28/2013
Review By: Bombsaway21
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Really nice course with a lot of hills and a creek running through the course. Well kept course.
Cons: Lacrosse fields around so it might be congested in the summer time with games going on.
Other Thoughts: One of the better courses around. I will definitely be telling all my friends about this course and I recommend you try it out.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Come on baby, get in the road. Come on now, in the middle of the road, yeah.

1    8/31/2013   9/5/2013
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 131  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 20.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2013
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When I was planning to get to the new Oak Book I was excited to see a new course in the area (Pros: I wouldn't have to stop at Madison Meadows.) I was a bit confused; I wondered why I had never heard of this new, highly-rated course.

KLM is a cool park. It's a really well maintained park with a cool old lodge on site and a long walking path that winds through the park. The park has a nice rolling topography with a creek cutting through the low spot. It really is a very, very nice park.

The course itself works its way back and forth along the contours of the park, using the elevation changes well. The site is lightly wooded so there are some trees in your way as you wind your way around. A few holes seemed memorable: One hole shot downhill toward a pin by the creek, # 9 was a pretty shot that went over a hedgerow, #17 shot downhill at a protected pin past the creek. There are good tees signs and the course flows well. There isn't a ton of distance shots, but the course ends on a nice 400'+ uphill shot that you need to bring your big boy pants for.
Cons: The course isn't wooded enough to force you to do anything in particular off the tee and doesn't really punish bad shots. It's an "equalizer" design in that you can get outdriven by a large margin, but unless the long drivers convert their birdie putts the shorter throwers can easily catch back up on the approach shots. It helps keep players with a wide variety of skill levels all close and can lead to some fun rounds, but in the end it's so-so golf. I threw RHBH hyzers all day; there never was a reason to throw anything else.

The holes shoot back and forth and get pretty close together. Given the popularity of the course, it gets to be a shooting gallery. Add in how close some shots get to the walking path and it adds up to not the safest design I've ever seen. There is also what looks like lacrosse fields on the back; #12/13/14/15 could all be unplayable if those fields are in use (hole #13 shoots directly across one of them.) It seems like the course might not fit in with all the other park uses very well.

The tees are dirt and well worn. With the type of traffic the course is getting, it needs a solid tee off area. ***UPDATE-Word is that concrete tees have been installed as of 9/27/13***

#15 is a pinball shot, but there is an open field to the left so I don't know why anybody would try to pinball it through there. Just throw it out to the left and take the open approach.
Other Thoughts: History: Katherine Legge Memorial Park originally was a weekend getaway for the President of International Harvester. When his wife Katherine died, he built a lodge specifically for retreats for the women who worked at IH. The land was donated to the Village of Hinsdale in the 70's. The lodge is still there, available for rentals. Oddity: The park seems to be home to the laziest squirrels on the planet; they just sack out and sun themselves on the picnic tables and don't really seem to care if you are there or not.

KLM is a decent course in a really nice park, but after a few holes I realized why I had never heard of it before. It's a very average, middle-of-the-road course design. There are some nice holes but no standout holes. It's the type of place recreational players love because they can hang in with the big boys and good players hate because there are no risk/reward shots to give them any separation from the pack.

The rating is a crapshoot. It depends on what you value as a player. If you value the shots over everything else, this course really doesn't deliver. If you value the "fun factor" this course has plenty to offer. I ended up just rating it in the middle; if there were better tees I'd probably bump it up to a 3. I will go back; I love Oak Brook and KLM is definitely an improvement over Madison Meadows for a course to play on those trips.

***UPDATE-I will possibly bump up my rating a bit when I get a chance to play the new concrete tees***

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.


1    8/9/2013   8/9/2013
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 126  Reviewed: 119  Exp: 6.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I had a blast playing here! I think the pros are best listed as concisely as possible.

+ Awesome flow. I've never played here before or even looked at the map and the flow was excellent. There are no long walks between holes which is awesome. The design of this course really took advantage of the park's landscape e.i. elevation, trees, and creek.

+ Very clean. This park is located in a seemingly really rich area of Hinsdale and is very well taken care of. No trash, grass is mowed, etc... On top of that, the houses you'll pass on the drive here are jaw-dropping.

+ Excellent equipment. The baskets are great and the tee signs are easy to find and very informative. The only slight con is that the tees are dirt, which isn't a problem at all when the park is dry.
Cons: I don't think there were too many cons, in all honesty.

- From my understanding, this course can get outrageously full to the point of being unplayable. I played at 9:45 am after the dog party ended and before the other park goers were awake. When I was here, it was very empty.

- While there were some cool holes, there were no spectacular holes. The course really utilizes the land to make some good holes like 3, 8, 9, and 17.
Other Thoughts: I was up in the air between and 3.5 and 4 and I went to a 4 for these reasons.

My experience was awesome. It's directly off the highway and is one of my favorite courses in the Chicago area. If I get the chance, I'll definitely swing by again. Maybe my second time visiting here will be more humbling and I'll downgrade to a 3.5, but I'm sticking with 4.0 as it is now.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.