Hinsdale, IL 
Katherine Legge Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #16 (Taken 8/2012)
4 / 280ft.   3 / 360ft.   3 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 White Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Come on baby, get in the road. Come on now, in the middle of the road, yeah.

1    8/31/2013   9/5/2013
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 137  Reviewed: 80  Exp: 19.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2013
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When I was planning to get to the new Oak Book I was excited to see a new course in the area (Pros: I wouldn't have to stop at Madison Meadows.) I was a bit confused; I wondered why I had never heard of this new, highly-rated course.

KLM is a cool park. It's a really well maintained park with a cool old lodge on site and a long walking path that winds through the park. The park has a nice rolling topography with a creek cutting through the low spot. It really is a very, very nice park.

The course itself works its way back and forth along the contours of the park, using the elevation changes well. The site is lightly wooded so there are some trees in your way as you wind your way around. A few holes seemed memorable: One hole shot downhill toward a pin by the creek, # 9 was a pretty shot that went over a hedgerow, #17 shot downhill at a protected pin past the creek. There are good tees signs and the course flows well. There isn't a ton of distance shots, but the course ends on a nice 400'+ uphill shot that you need to bring your big boy pants for.
Cons: The course isn't wooded enough to force you to do anything in particular off the tee and doesn't really punish bad shots. It's an "equalizer" design in that you can get outdriven by a large margin, but unless the long drivers convert their birdie putts the shorter throwers can easily catch back up on the approach shots. It helps keep players with a wide variety of skill levels all close and can lead to some fun rounds, but in the end it's so-so golf. I threw RHBH hyzers all day; there never was a reason to throw anything else.

The holes shoot back and forth and get pretty close together. Given the popularity of the course, it gets to be a shooting gallery. Add in how close some shots get to the walking path and it adds up to not the safest design I've ever seen. There is also what looks like lacrosse fields on the back; #12/13/14/15 could all be unplayable if those fields are in use (hole #13 shoots directly across one of them.) It seems like the course might not fit in with all the other park uses very well.

The tees are dirt and well worn. With the type of traffic the course is getting, it needs a solid tee off area. ***UPDATE-Word is that concrete tees have been installed as of 9/27/13***

#15 is a pinball shot, but there is an open field to the left so I don't know why anybody would try to pinball it through there. Just throw it out to the left and take the open approach.
Other Thoughts: History: Katherine Legge Memorial Park originally was a weekend getaway for the President of International Harvester. When his wife Katherine died, he built a lodge specifically for retreats for the women who worked at IH. The land was donated to the Village of Hinsdale in the 70's. The lodge is still there, available for rentals. Oddity: The park seems to be home to the laziest squirrels on the planet; they just sack out and sun themselves on the picnic tables and don't really seem to care if you are there or not.

KLM is a decent course in a really nice park, but after a few holes I realized why I had never heard of it before. It's a very average, middle-of-the-road course design. There are some nice holes but no standout holes. It's the type of place recreational players love because they can hang in with the big boys and good players hate because there are no risk/reward shots to give them any separation from the pack.

The rating is a crapshoot. It depends on what you value as a player. If you value the shots over everything else, this course really doesn't deliver. If you value the "fun factor" this course has plenty to offer. I ended up just rating it in the middle; if there were better tees I'd probably bump it up to a 3. I will go back; I love Oak Brook and KLM is definitely an improvement over Madison Meadows for a course to play on those trips.

***UPDATE-I will possibly bump up my rating a bit when I get a chance to play the new concrete tees***

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Decent park course

1    8/25/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2013
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a nicely kept grassy park. There is some elevation change throughout the park, especially on the front 9. Several of the holes take advantage of the hills to add some challenge and variety. There are mature trees in play on the majority of the course. Most holes have multiple lines to the pin, offering different challenges depending on which way you go.

There are a couple longer holes mixed in to add some variety, with some shorter ace run chances as well. A few holes have the creek in play as OB around the green, it adds some risk without too much chance of lost discs. There are posts for tee signs, so I assume signage will be added in the near future, even without it the course is not terribly difficult to follow.
Cons: The holes get a little repetitive at times, with lots of holes in the 225-275' range that have a couple obstacles to avoid. A little more length variety and a little more care taken to use the trees in ways that defined different lines would go a long way. There isn't any rough and most holes don't have all that dense of trees, so you don't really get into much trouble if you miss your line.

The natural tees are ok, a few aren't quite flat but they're not terrible. That said, they are already showing signs of wear. The grass is dead or dying on all of them and they will quickly turn into mud pits with a good amount of traffic and a little rain.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this a very approachable course, the lengths are reasonable and there is little punishment for errant shots. More experienced players can have a nice relaxed round, this isn't a course that will test all your disc golf skills but there are a few fun shots.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.