Hinsdale, IL 
Katherine Legge Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #10 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 230ft.   3 / 230ft.   3 / 230ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 White Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Fun course

2-4    4/4/2013   4/11/2013
Review By: River_love
Played: 34  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course had a great atmosphere, very clean nice park. Most of the holes were fairly open, but there are nice big trees to break things up a little. The average distances were in the 260-350ft range which is a pretty comfortable length for almost anyone. A few holes play around a small creek, so that comes into play on a few approaches. The course actually uses some elevation change well too.
Cons: I played on a weekday in the spring, so it wasn't terribly busy... but I get the feeling that in the summer all of the park traffic/activities could make this course a long, frustrating 18 holes. It skirts past a soccer field on one hole, and weaves around a walking path. But there is an unpaved jogging circuit that actually goes right through several of the fairways! I had to stop my drive mid step because people went running down the full length of my fairway! Also there is no real need for shaping any shots here, just avoiding the occasional obstacle. To be fair, the course is laid out pretty well all things considered. Some sloppy tees too.
Other Thoughts: This course is in an interesting area for a disc golf course, Hinsdale seems like a very upscale neighborhood. This is certainly not a bad thing, as there are a few cool old buildings situated on the park, it was just unexpected.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Some real fat squirrels

1    3/30/2013   3/30/2013
Review By: Noill Golf
Played: 114  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2013
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: You like squirrels? Come to KLM cause there are some fattie squirrels there. You can tell these guys are used to people as they let me get within a few feet of them as I walked on by. ;)
The park is well manicured and has a small creek meandering through the front 9 holes and then again on hole 18. Pockets of old growth trees here and there are in play on several holes forcing you to choose a lane...a big plus at an otherwise wide open course. Gentle elevation shifts add to the enjoyment of the game and help to add to the beauty of this public park.
Multiple tee positions on many holes with the tee sign at the white (or middle) position. Look in the ground for the tee markers if you want to tee from the red or blue positions if available on the hole.
Generally easy to navigate. I spotted blue tape on some of the pins to indicate the direction to the next tee...but really you can just look around and you'll see the next pad.
The design is really tight IMHO...I was impressed overall and would say that this is a beginner friendly course that appeals to the experienced player as well.
Cons: On fair weather days this park will explode with activity. This is a multi-use park and you will see people hangin' about doing one thing or another. While I was there, I spotted an ultimate game in full swing near holes 9 and 10. Families were playing disc golf (great for them but can slow down the flow a lot) and a couple of girls were hunting around for something at hole 17...they didn't seem to know that I was waiting for them to move on. Basically, if you want to hit this course either be prepared for the slowness or go on a bad weather day...honestly.
Teepads are natural and after rain or snow thaw these are going to be very muddy...on dry days, as the pads are pretty flat and level, I don't see this as an issue for me and I won't be dinging the rating based on that.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful buildings, a lovely little creek, old growth manicured trees, solid design that fits with the land, bridges, tee signs, multiple tee positions... I walked away knowing that I will return...
The only notable issues are muddy teepads (rain or snow thaw) and of course the slowness of play on fair weather days.
Note: "Legge" is pronounced just like "leg"... FYI




7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Hello Spring!

5+    3/29/2013   3/29/2013
Review By: alexjensen
Played: 42  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is close to Chicago and located in a very nice dog park in a very rich suburg. The course offers a lot of different shots and about 4 pretty challenging holes to even a good disc golfer. The rest of the holes are fun, but fairly easy and short. This is a great course to take beginning disc golfers because there is almost zero chance of loosing a disc (though you may have to go fishing in the shallow creek that runs through the middle), and in addition the course is primarily under 300ft/ hole. Few trees, but the ones that are there are very old and established and provide decent challenge in the summer when the leaves have come in full. Hole 15 I believe is a very challenging shot through thick trees, but is the only hole of its kind on the course.
Cons: The course is pretty short, and pretty easy. For an experienced disc golfer you can drive just about every pin, and the trees don't offer too much of a challenge. Also the tee pads are natural so during the spring and after it rains they get pretty muddy. Though the dog park is nice, watch where you step because the invetible excriment is scattered throughout the course.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite course this close to Chicago. Living in the city if you want to disc in the western suburbs your best options this far away are either this course, or Madison Meadows in Lombard. This course offers more shot varieties, and greater elevation changes, however, because of the distance of the couse I find Madison Meadows more of a challenge. Also I have found that Katherine Legge gets quite crowded during the summer with kids and families that play fairly slow, so be prepared to wait.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 KLM: Park Style Goodness

1    10/27/2012   11/3/2012
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 200  Reviewed: 160  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - KLM's located in a spacious park in the 'burbs. Lovely trees, rolling hills, grassy fields, and a small creek comprise the course. Most holes have enough trees to force players to hit specific lines, but with the exception of #15, nothing gets too tight. The course is nicely balanced, with plenty of variety between hole styles. There's downhill shots over creeks (#17), tight hallway style wooded holes (#15), uphill bombs (#'s 2, 12, 18), and a downhill shot with a fast green and the creek behind the basket (#8).
- Outstanding use of both elevation and water. The best parts of the property were definitely utilized to their full potential. Nowhere is this more obvious than the holes with both water and elevation in play. The small creek creates a nice water hazard without really any risk of losing a disc.
- Distances are well-balanced. Red, white, and blue tees offer options for players of varying skill. From 180 ft. on #17 red to 515 ft. on #9 blue, noodle arms and big gun players alike will find plenty to challenge them.
- The course has adequate tee signs and good "next tee" signage.
- The course is pretty. Beautiful trees, well-manicured lawn, and a nice surrounding neighborhood all add to the attraction of this course. While definitely not the deep woods natural beauty I prefer, KLM is plenty easy on the eyes for a city/suburban course.
Cons: - Right now the tees are finely crushed gravel from the whites and natural at both red and blue tees. While not a major issue at the moment (due to the relative newness of the course), these will eventually become rutted messes. Anything less than concrete tees are always a minor drawback to a course in my eyes.
- I can see this course having crowding issues in the summer with the surrounding neighborhoods, the banquet/reception building(s?), and the dog-walkers.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, KLM is a very nice addition to this area of Chicagoland disc golf. Eighteen solid holes of fun if not necessarily outta-this-world-spectacular disc golf. Not a destination course but certainly a very solid option if you're in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.