Hinsdale, IL 
Katherine Legge Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #10 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 230ft.   3 / 230ft.   3 / 230ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 White Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Addition to Chi-town DG

5+    5/1/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 119  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 8.1 Years
Pros: This course offers an element lacking in most area courses: elevation. The Chicago suburbs are packed with flat, mostly open courses. KLM adds some elevation change to the mix.

-Good variety of uphill/downhill/flat shots.
-Nice baskets and one set of concrete tees (white). Blue and Red are natural tees when they are not shared with white.
-Good signage at the white tees.
-Enough mature trees to force some shot shaping combined with little or no schule to lose a disc in.
-Decent distance variety for the area.
-High fun factor on the downhills, combined with a few difficult drives that are tough to reach for most players, but rewarding when you do.
-Park style DG: No underbrush, well maintained, short grass with large, mature trees.
-Minimal safety issues.
Cons: -Part time off-leash, dog park: You do not want to try to play the course when the entire park is taken over by the dogs.
-No true multi-throw holes. (9 and 18 are unreachable for most, but not long enough to be real par 4s, NAGS is the likely result of most drives)
-Hole 15 is a little screwy. There are a few pure luck based routes through the trees, or a sweeping RHBH anny or RHFH hyzer line to the left through a wide open field. I still haven't found a line that I like on this hole after repeated play.
Other Thoughts: Great spot for a course. I used to bring my practice basket out here and create my own holes. Too bad the course didn't go in until after we moved.

allways a good time

5+    7/27/2013   7/27/2013
Review By: booradly
Played: 75  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -one of the best maintained parks i have ever seen
-good signs
-almost no chance of losing a disc
-a good challenge for beginners but still a lot of fun for advanced players
-the land in this park is used very well. the course has 3 holes that make good use of a hill that is in the course(3,7,8). the course also makes good use of large trees that are in the park.
- the park district here did an awesome job making bridges over the small creek that runs through the park with 2 wooden bridges and several places that have flag stones for you to step on to cross the creek along holes 4,5,6,
-this course has a ton of chances to ace with out having the course be too easy.
-has 3 or 4 holes that let you test your arm
Cons: - some shots can get a little repetitive
- the park gets a lot of use and a path runs next to several fairways
- the course is a little short
-can get very busy
-can really use some better pads several of the pads on the hills are starting to angle down the hill and the pad at hole one has 2 metal spikes sticking up out of the ground
Other Thoughts: -this is a very solid course and have never had a bad time playing it. i had only been playing for about a month the first time i played this course and it was nice that i could make it to a lot of the pins in 2/3 holes and now that i i actually know what i am doing i have a lot of fun just going for aces and trying to find hard lines to hit.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Solid course close to Chicago

5+    6/21/2013   6/21/2013
Review By: Badger Dan
Played: 47  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a beautiful old park with mature oak trees and a gentle stream running through the center of it, you couldn't ask for a much better spot for a close-to-the-city Chicago course. Located right off I-55, Katherine Legge is very accessible from LSD or 90/94. There is a gas station blocks away, on E 55th near 294 that sells discs and anything else you could need for a successful round.

The course flows nicely from hole to hole and offers a wide variety of shots from a distance and direction standpoint. While there are no massive, 500+ ft holes, there also aren't any dinky 180 footers to out drive with your putter. The elevation change is nice although I wouldn't call it hilly. It seems there is a natural slope down to the stream that comes into play nicely on many holes. I especially enjoy the downhill shot on #8 with the drop to the stream behind the basket and down again at #17 crossing the stream one last time. Also really like going along the stream for a long winding shot on #4 and the bomb over the aqueduct into the trees on what is perhaps the signature hole, #9. While the trees are not dense or crowded anywhere, they do come into play on a number of holes adding difficulty and character. A good variety of pins to the left and right making for an interesting round for both backhand and forehand players (righty/lefty).

Baskets are in good condition. Nice practice pin with markers for measuring putt distance. The park is well groomed, no dense rough requiring an expedition for errant throws. The only real OB obstacles come on 14 and 15 with a fence that borders private property. The course is clean offering a number of obvious garbage bins and porta johns to encourage responsible park use. Never had an issue with dogs or their excrement. Owners seem to be attentive.
Cons: The obvious one here is the dirt tees. They are well defined and large enough but with some rain, they inevitably become slick or muddy. Katherine Legge is a multi use park where pedestrians could come into play on certain holes but it never seems to be a huge problem. Has yet to be really crowded when I've played and pedestrians are always courteous as long as they're not completely oblivious to the disc golf course. Those people deserve to get hit... While the terrain is well used, there could be clearer marked "pro" tees for those looking for more of a challenge. I have seen some blue markers but the park really does have enough space for dual (am/pro) concrete tees. That would put this course at a 4/5 for sure. The only hole that I really dislike is 15 because it is a little too much of a crapshoot with very small, undefined lanes thru the trees. A couple of very birdie-able holes could be criticized for being too easy (see #5, #10 and #13) but in my honest opinion, holes like this add to the variety and flow of a course. Think about ball golf with intermittent par 3s.
Other Thoughts: A lot of fun to be had here. An approachable course for beginners but challenging enough to be fun for the more experienced player. Convenient for Chicago residents and people in the burbs alike.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Worth the trip

5+    6/16/2013   6/16/2013
Review By: chrismilano
Played: 15  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have played this course multiple times and I will try to list all of the pros.

+The park is enormous and the designers did a fantastic job using the space allotted.

+There is an elevation change on every hole, with the exception of 4 or 5 (#4-6, 9, 12)

+Multiple tee off locations.

+The creek running through the middle of the course comes into play on many of the holes.

+A lot of the holes are super challenging, while others are very easy to birdie.

+Each hole has multiple routes to the pin. A golfer can throw BH or FH on most of the holes. However, there are a few that force a certain shot.

+An overall great course. It will challenge almost all skill levels.

+Baskets are all in good upright shape.

+The course is clean, almost no trash.

+Within 5 minutes of the highway. Super convenient.

Cons: -The tee pads are all natural, and can get super slippery after rain. This course would easily be a 4 for me if it had some concrete pads.

-It doubles as a dog park, so watch out where you step cause there is dog sh*t galore.

-I wish there were more trees at times. Some of the holes have a ton, while others are wide open.

-Bugs, but not as bad as some other courses.

-If its your first time on the course then navigation can be difficult. Follow a local.
Other Thoughts: Just a great course. If you are around the Chicagoland area, or just passing through, then it is definately worth checking out.

Plus, this place has a monthly tournament and weekly doubles league for those who enjoy the more competitive side of the sport.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Most Aesthetically Pleasing Park in the Area

5+    3/30/2013   3/30/2013
Review By: luckyfoot15
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Elegant terrain. Good use of the park and natural obstacles. It's urban, so I would not call them rolling hills or anything like that. There are elevation changes in the city park, and the course uses them for a mix of up and down shots. There is a stream running through a few shots, but it's hardly an obstacle. I list these things as pros because overall it is a very nice park and a very nice course compared to the other options within a 10 mile radius (Lombard, Oakbrook, etc. are parks I probably will rarely see now that Hinsdale is open for play).
Cons: There are a few spots the holes go out of the way to create a challenge. It's a little silly at times, such as on the back of the park where a hole is pretty much put from point A to point B with a cluster of closely placed evergreen trees to throw through. It doesn't fit with the rest of the course. If you can throw a few advanced shots, you have mastered this course. Finally, the tee pads are bad. It's very sloppy if it rains even the slightest bit.
Other Thoughts: It's hard to find a course in the western suburbs that offers nice terrain and a variety of challenging holes. The course lies in a community where the average home price exceeds $1M and property taxes alone are more than most professional disc golfers make in a year. Why is this relevant? Well, you will find this park is very highly trafficked by dog walkers, school athletics, etc. Do not expect anyone to see disc golf and your next shot as the top priority in this park. Just be patient and wait for them to move, or play around them.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice change of pace

5+    8/22/2012   8/31/2012
Review By: SneakyJedi
Played: 56  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/18/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ~ Hills! The moderate amount of elevation change on this course is a very refreshing change of pace from all other courses in the area.

~ The creek winding through the park comes into play on several holes and is also adds an aspect not present in other local courses.

~ While some of the back 9 can get open and samey, there is nice variety in the holes that keeps things interesting throughout
Cons: ~ Other park goers can get in the way on a number of holes. In the 4 times I have played the course I have encountered the following:
- teenage girls sitting in hammocks they had set up in the tree behind the second basket
- a number of small children who had escaped from their parents at some event in the lodge who then played across multiple fairways and in the creek in front of another teepad
- a girls cross country meet which delayed my round by 20 min

~ Concrete teepads are supposedly planned, but are not in yet. Footing is already sketchy and I slipped multiple times. Teepads will likely be very necessary after next summer

~ Hole maps/distances also not in yet, not a big deal but still missed
Other Thoughts: Edit (October 2013): Thus course has filled in nicely. After grumbling on wet days about the lack of concrete tee pads for a year, pads are finally in. Their inclusion really makes a noticeable improvement to the course. Not enough for me to bump up this course to a 4, but if there was a 3.75 I'd likely go with that. I always enjoy playing here.

This course, along with Madison Meadow and Oak Brook make a great trio of courses each with something different to offer. For weekends when I dont feel like making the extend drive south to play the Joliet area courses, these three course keep me more than satisfied.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Well thought out, needs teepads

2-4    8/30/2012   8/30/2012
Review By: DonCasper
Played: 45  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Great shot variety
-Plenty of elevation
-Small stream comes into play many times, yet you can retrieve disc from it easily
-Course layout well thought out, next hole is always marked
-18 holes, a definite plus in the Chicagoland location
-Doesn't cross any paths, and only skims some playing fields
Cons: Tee areas are already very muddy, concrete pads are definitely needed. My golf partner slipped a few times which really screwed up his shot, and after I had a poor shot I started moving over a bit, which of course is going to make more space muddy over time.

It shares a number of areas along the fence with a cross country course. While we were playing a meet started and we had to wait about 20 minutes for the meet to end in order to continue our round.

A number of children were playing in the creek while we were there and I nearly killed a child as it popped out from behind a tree after we lost track of her. They also ended up grabbing my buddies disc on a different hole.
Other Thoughts: If this course had concrete tee pads it probably would have warranted a 4.0. As it is now I'm giving it a 3.5. Apparently there are plans for concrete pads, but I'm reserving judgement until then.

There is a good potential for play to be interrupted by others using the parks.

Distances don't exist at the tee locations yet, but i didn't mark them down as they obviously are going to be putting them in soon, and it didn't affect play much.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very nice park!!

1    8/18/2012   8/18/2012
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.2 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is located in a very well kept public park. The neighborhood around it is super nice! The grass is lush and green. Large trees are scattered throughout and rolling hills come into play. A very small creek comes into play on a few holes. This is a great walk in the park. There is no place to lose a disc as there is absolutely no rough.

This is a very beginner friendly course.

There is a practice basket located just off the parking lot on the way to #1. It has bricks marking various distances.

There are nice tees posts installed with the #. Tee signs are coming soon. I had no problem navigating the course for the first time.

Brand new Discraft Chainstars. Red number stickers were added to the poles.

Small rolling hills come into play on quite a few holes.

There are several chances to grab a driver and let it rip.

Hole #8 is a tricky downhil shot with a creek baskstopping it.

Hole #9 is a great longer multi route hole. You have options to play both right and left.

There are several chances to throw rollers.

Hole #17 is a nice turnover shot with water coming into play short of the basket.
Cons: Right now the tee pads are natural. This course is getting a lot of play and the grass is starting to wear. Before long they are going to rut.

The tee posts to do have the hole information yet.

The course is rather open with scattered trees to miss.
Other Thoughts: I'm giving this review a 3.5 instead of a 3 since there are plans to install cement tee pads. Tee signs will be done soon.

This is my number 1 frustration in disc golf. I appreciate Hinsdale adding disc golf but there is no reason they should not have budgeted for cement tee pads right away. Everything in the park is top notch.

FYI. Dogs are only allowed in the park from 6 to 9am and 7 to 10pm. This is no joke! At 7pm hundreds of pedestrians and dogs hit the park. I'm not sure what it's like in the morning but if you are looking for less traffic at night play before 7pm.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Fun and pretty solid course.

2-4    8/12/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: Disc Golf Greg
Played: 21  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good sized parking lot that is by the practice basket, and hole 1. And also loops you back after basket 18.
-Park itself is very nice, with rolling hills, and a fairly large number of mature oak trees.
-There are wood posts in the ground which in the near future the signs themselves will be added too. I like this variety of tee sign, as I've noticed these are not as often vandalized.
-18 hole course layout, which is nice considering they're hard to come by this close to Chicago
-Nice little creek that makes accuracy count on a few holes. At the same time Discs are easy to remove as the creek is not deep or very wide.
-Bridges that make crossing the creek nice and easy.
-A few places throughout the park have poop bags you can pick up for your pooch, in case you forget your own.
Cons: -No "real" teepads at the moment. I don't know if they're going to be adding them in the near future or not. Hopefully so because I'd imagine erosion would become a factor sometime during the next season.
-No benches to sit down and take a break at between holes.
-Could use a few more garbage cans, only saw one while playing.
-North of the creek that runs through the park is an off leash dog park. It can get pretty crowded and occasionally a dog/owner will be in the fairway. But for the most part not a problem.
Other Thoughts: Since the removal of Oak Brook's Central Park (Currently being redesigned) there hasn't been a fun/good course in the area. This course changes all that though, I have as much fun playing KLM Park as I did playing the old O.B. Central park layout.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Best course in the area so far.

1    8/12/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: berserker333
Played: 25  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.2 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Actual use of elevation, both upwards and downwards, there is a small stream that runs through the course that appears to more for runoff than anything else, so you do not want to end up in there, it's kinda stinky and sludgy. There are small bridges conveniently located right where you need to cross, so you do not have to be leaping across.
Well layed out and easy to follow without signs all over. Good flow from one hole to the next without having to hunt around or walk across previous holes where other players may be throwing.
Portable bathrooms are close by, and more than just one, like at some courses.
Clean and well maintained, doesn't interfere with the other play areas as it is a multi-use park.
DOG FRIENDLY!!! Seriously, you would think that more courses would be dog friendly, but no, especially in this area, this is a really nice feature.
Cons: Short holes, the longest is #18, which is about 400 feet. Average hole length is about 250-300 feet. I don't know the footage exactly as the sign posts do not have the little inset maps attached yet, but to be fair, if they made them longer, it would be just for the sake of making it longer, it wouldn't make it a better hole / course.
The front 9 is great, uphill, downhill, nicely layed out with the mature trees on the 52 acre park, but the back nine kinda starts to drag. It's mostly wide open field shots with not much in your way.
Other Thoughts: This is my new favorite course near me and I will adopt it as my home course, that is until Oak Brook finishes up the Central Park remodel. But even so, I don't imagine there being as much elevation in play there as this course has. One nice feature that I have yet to see at any other course I have played, is the practice basket by the parking lot. It has 9 different spots marked out around the basket for playing a disc golf game of HORSE with your putter. Nice touch.
Natural grass tees with colored posts in the ground that have arrows pointing towards the basket. This, I believe, is a mistake to use in this course. It is a brand new course which is not even finished yet, and there are already signs of wear on the ground and the grass is getting tore up. They had better get some concrete in there by next season or it will be jacked by mid season next year.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.