Hinsdale, IL 
Katherine Legge Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #9 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 190ft.   3 / 385ft.   4 / 515ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Lots of fun

1    5/7/2014   5/7/2014
Review By: ScottC
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A great mix of technical shots, wide open/long shots, and short and ace-able, but really fun shots. I really enjoyed playing this course. There are a number of really great challenges that keep you thinking of the best flight path. Many of the long holes are in wide open fields which lend themselves to great long bombs. And every now and then you have a hole that you could ace, but you still have to have the chops to do it.
The park is beautiful. Very well kept, and the creek going through it is low and very neat. It adds a great non-threatening water hazard to the mix.
Cons: There are some holes that are right along the fence to private property. You definitely have to re-think the shots you want or you risk losing it somewhere you're really not going to get into.
Other Thoughts: A lot of fun overall. A really great course, well thought out and planned. Kudos to the designers.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    10/28/2013   10/28/2013
Review By: Bombsaway21
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Really nice course with a lot of hills and a creek running through the course. Well kept course.
Cons: Lacrosse fields around so it might be congested in the summer time with games going on.
Other Thoughts: One of the better courses around. I will definitely be telling all my friends about this course and I recommend you try it out.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun!

1    8/9/2013   8/9/2013
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 114  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I had a blast playing here! I think the pros are best listed as concisely as possible.

+ Awesome flow. I've never played here before or even looked at the map and the flow was excellent. There are no long walks between holes which is awesome. The design of this course really took advantage of the park's landscape e.i. elevation, trees, and creek.

+ Very clean. This park is located in a seemingly really rich area of Hinsdale and is very well taken care of. No trash, grass is mowed, etc... On top of that, the houses you'll pass on the drive here are jaw-dropping.

+ Excellent equipment. The baskets are great and the tee signs are easy to find and very informative. The only slight con is that the tees are dirt, which isn't a problem at all when the park is dry.
Cons: I don't think there were too many cons, in all honesty.

- From my understanding, this course can get outrageously full to the point of being unplayable. I played at 9:45 am after the dog party ended and before the other park goers were awake. When I was here, it was very empty.

- While there were some cool holes, there were no spectacular holes. The course really utilizes the land to make some good holes like 3, 8, 9, and 17.
Other Thoughts: I was up in the air between and 3.5 and 4 and I went to a 4 for these reasons.

My experience was awesome. It's directly off the highway and is one of my favorite courses in the Chicago area. If I get the chance, I'll definitely swing by again. Maybe my second time visiting here will be more humbling and I'll downgrade to a 3.5, but I'm sticking with 4.0 as it is now.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Best Chicago 18 in the area without making long road trip

2-4    7/1/2013   7/1/2013
Review By: Lefty12
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I am probably repeating a lot here so hopefully i added something:
-some of the best elevation changes for the area and the course makes great use of it by going up and down which makes for exciting drives
-course layout is done well - when I played for the first time all I had to do was scan the area for the next tee post for a couple seconds and I was set. And I don't feel like it overlaps
-landscape-fantastic old tall trees which is a huge pro compared to wading through weeds and annoying underbrush. Grass well manicured, they were mowing as I played today- overall very well kept park
-friendly players- which is a must in this course -the reason you will see in my cons. A nice guy asked if I was playing in the tournament coming up at 11 and when I said no he said- do you want to be? I said no thank you but thanks for the offer
-man made amenities- Porto potty strategically placed mid round at hole 10 - convenient -also nice garbage cans and they weren't overflowing- the park guys were emptying them when I was there- I really appreciate the effort by people to keep this place clean. And the old Tudor buildings are definitely a plus(no eyesore buildings here)
-great mix of sun and shade- didn't feel like I was being baked in the sun and didn't feel like I was closed in by trees.
-fun shots on almost every hole- up, down, around creek, through trees under trees over creek. I like the distance- but my drives aren't earth shattering. I have a decently long tomahawk and a lot of tees we placed so I could not drop one in from the tee pad with a tree overhead. I seem to have #17's number - maybe because its very lefty friendly

Cons: My cons revolve around TIMING
-obviously dirt Tpads aren't ideal when it's wet- but when the dirt is dry it's almost like a clay tennis court allows for shuffling and pivoting so when it's dry to me it's a pro but wet- it's just not playable, so time your round a couple days after rain and make sure sun has been in the forecast
-crowded with players- when I went on a sunny Saturday there were too many players- some fast some slow- luckily everyone seems nice and waved me on when I felt as if I was rushing them. But today I was behind a pair that was epically slow- I practiced putting to delay my next tee and try not to rush them but they were just really slow and I couldn't figure out why- I throw the extra 1 or even 3 discs even on drives and of course on putts that I missed but these guys were too slow and didn't wave me on so it warranted a hole skip. So long story short go early and there won't be a crowded course
-park goers in the way- for the most part people stick to the path which is not typically in play, but today there was a group of kids and one adult-And they were just playing in the creek even when the slow pair ahead of me yelled that they were throwing they didn't budge. So that hole skip behind the slow pair and the hole with the kids was a great decision. Again if you go early less/ no park goers
Other Thoughts: Best 18 hole course in the area for the Chicago crowd! Remember- TIMING -Go on a dry sunny day at 9 am and your round should be free of any significant cons. (Now that I say that it will probably be crowded at 9 am!) the other course that has more distance shots and is min 18 holes but not an as-beautiful park is Madison Meadows in Lombard. My two favorite 18 hole courses(MM has 19 though) in the vicinity of Chicago, Katherine legge edges it out with great trees elevation changes and trickier shots- and classic tudor architecture

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.