Hinsdale, IL
Katherine Legge Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #5 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 220ft.   3 / 220ft.   3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 White Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Most Aesthetically Pleasing Park in the Area

5+    3/30/2013   3/30/2013
Review By: luckyfoot15
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Elegant terrain. Good use of the park and natural obstacles. It's urban, so I would not call them rolling hills or anything like that. There are elevation changes in the city park, and the course uses them for a mix of up and down shots. There is a stream running through a few shots, but it's hardly an obstacle. I list these things as pros because overall it is a very nice park and a very nice course compared to the other options within a 10 mile radius (Lombard, Oakbrook, etc. are parks I probably will rarely see now that Hinsdale is open for play).
Cons: There are a few spots the holes go out of the way to create a challenge. It's a little silly at times, such as on the back of the park where a hole is pretty much put from point A to point B with a cluster of closely placed evergreen trees to throw through. It doesn't fit with the rest of the course. If you can throw a few advanced shots, you have mastered this course. Finally, the tee pads are bad. It's very sloppy if it rains even the slightest bit.
Other Thoughts: It's hard to find a course in the western suburbs that offers nice terrain and a variety of challenging holes. The course lies in a community where the average home price exceeds $1M and property taxes alone are more than most professional disc golfers make in a year. Why is this relevant? Well, you will find this park is very highly trafficked by dog walkers, school athletics, etc. Do not expect anyone to see disc golf and your next shot as the top priority in this park. Just be patient and wait for them to move, or play around them.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hello Spring!

5+    3/29/2013   3/29/2013
Review By: alexjensen
Played: 26  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is close to Chicago and located in a very nice dog park in a very rich suburg. The course offers a lot of different shots and about 4 pretty challenging holes to even a good disc golfer. The rest of the holes are fun, but fairly easy and short. This is a great course to take beginning disc golfers because there is almost zero chance of loosing a disc (though you may have to go fishing in the shallow creek that runs through the middle), and in addition the course is primarily under 300ft/ hole. Few trees, but the ones that are there are very old and established and provide decent challenge in the summer when the leaves have come in full. Hole 15 I believe is a very challenging shot through thick trees, but is the only hole of its kind on the course.
Cons: The course is pretty short, and pretty easy. For an experienced disc golfer you can drive just about every pin, and the trees don't offer too much of a challenge. Also the tee pads are natural so during the spring and after it rains they get pretty muddy. Though the dog park is nice, watch where you step because the invetible excriment is scattered throughout the course.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite course this close to Chicago. Living in the city if you want to disc in the western suburbs your best options this far away are either this course, or Madison Meadows in Lombard. This course offers more shot varieties, and greater elevation changes, however, because of the distance of the couse I find Madison Meadows more of a challenge. Also I have found that Katherine Legge gets quite crowded during the summer with kids and families that play fairly slow, so be prepared to wait.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

awsome

2-4    1/21/2013   1/21/2013
Review By: infinategem
Played: 31  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 2/11/2013
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: this course has requires all your discs. it has a large variety of lines needed to make it through the course. very hilly, throws go up and down, as well as a couple flat holes. good distance variety. laid out well and never makes you walk to far from hole to hole.+ a scenic park, this is one of my favorite courses. small creek running through ther middle, shallow enough to retrieve discs unless it storms
Cons: not many. i ran into alot of dogs loose and the local track team was using a fairway to do warmups... they didnt want to move
Other Thoughts: great course, i am having trouble in my reviews i think, lots of thumbs down. any advice to put forth more informitive reviews would be greatly appreciated

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.

KLM: Park Style Goodness

1    10/27/2012   11/3/2012
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 185  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 4.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - KLM's located in a spacious park in the 'burbs. Lovely trees, rolling hills, grassy fields, and a small creek comprise the course. Most holes have enough trees to force players to hit specific lines, but with the exception of #15, nothing gets too tight. The course is nicely balanced, with plenty of variety between hole styles. There's downhill shots over creeks (#17), tight hallway style wooded holes (#15), uphill bombs (#'s 2, 12, 18), and a downhill shot with a fast green and the creek behind the basket (#8).
- Outstanding use of both elevation and water. The best parts of the property were definitely utilized to their full potential. Nowhere is this more obvious than the holes with both water and elevation in play. The small creek creates a nice water hazard without really any risk of losing a disc.
- Distances are well-balanced. Red, white, and blue tees offer options for players of varying skill. From 180 ft. on #17 red to 515 ft. on #9 blue, noodle arms and big gun players alike will find plenty to challenge them.
- The course has adequate tee signs and good "next tee" signage.
- The course is pretty. Beautiful trees, well-manicured lawn, and a nice surrounding neighborhood all add to the attraction of this course. While definitely not the deep woods natural beauty I prefer, KLM is plenty easy on the eyes for a city/suburban course.
Cons: - Right now the tees are finely crushed gravel from the whites and natural at both red and blue tees. While not a major issue at the moment (due to the relative newness of the course), these will eventually become rutted messes. Anything less than concrete tees are always a minor drawback to a course in my eyes.
- I can see this course having crowding issues in the summer with the surrounding neighborhoods, the banquet/reception building(s?), and the dog-walkers.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, KLM is a very nice addition to this area of Chicagoland disc golf. Eighteen solid holes of fun if not necessarily outta-this-world-spectacular disc golf. Not a destination course but certainly a very solid option if you're in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A great 18 hole addition

2-4    8/18/2012   9/18/2012
Review By: 4_Of_Spades
Played: 32  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 5.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very big park that has room for all sorts of activities including soccer, lacrosse, cross country, walking/jogging path, and a pavilion for big parties and barbeques.

There are some nice holes with good elevation that are worth coming back to play.

Baskets were fine with nice practice basket.

Holes seemed balanced between RHBH and RHFH.

Big parking lot and located in a very nice area.
Cons: On most holes I was able to drive and putt throwing between 300'-350' which makes the course a bit bland but wasn't that big of an issue as I always have fun playing and practicing my shots.

As in other reviews, there is a lack of good tee pads. They were still playable as they were dry and not too worn in yet but still not the best this course can do.

Also lack of signs as the course is new, but navigation was not troublesome and after the first time it won't be a problem.

Other park doers can get in the way, I had to wait on hole 3 which is the closest to the large pavilion gathering area for small kids and a family to walk across the fairway without them seeming to notice they were on the course. Also had to wait for a dog walker taking his time to walk across hole 4 while on his cell phone. Not that big of a deal, just a nuisance to me.

Dogs are also allowed on the course early in the morning and around dusk. Also a cross country line runs around the course which can impact many holes so try to go some time in the late morning to early afternoon on all days of the week.
Other Thoughts: It was nice to see this course pop up near me and I will be going back to play many more times. My rating will go up when tee pads and signs are put in this course and if my run ins with others stays at a minimum. This is a good course in the area and it is worth a play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Nice change of pace

5+    8/22/2012   8/31/2012
Review By: SneakyJedi
Played: 52  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/18/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ~ Hills! The moderate amount of elevation change on this course is a very refreshing change of pace from all other courses in the area.

~ The creek winding through the park comes into play on several holes and is also adds an aspect not present in other local courses.

~ While some of the back 9 can get open and samey, there is nice variety in the holes that keeps things interesting throughout
Cons: ~ Other park goers can get in the way on a number of holes. In the 4 times I have played the course I have encountered the following:
- teenage girls sitting in hammocks they had set up in the tree behind the second basket
- a number of small children who had escaped from their parents at some event in the lodge who then played across multiple fairways and in the creek in front of another teepad
- a girls cross country meet which delayed my round by 20 min

~ Concrete teepads are supposedly planned, but are not in yet. Footing is already sketchy and I slipped multiple times. Teepads will likely be very necessary after next summer

~ Hole maps/distances also not in yet, not a big deal but still missed
Other Thoughts: Edit (October 2013): Thus course has filled in nicely. After grumbling on wet days about the lack of concrete tee pads for a year, pads are finally in. Their inclusion really makes a noticeable improvement to the course. Not enough for me to bump up this course to a 4, but if there was a 3.75 I'd likely go with that. I always enjoy playing here.

This course, along with Madison Meadow and Oak Brook make a great trio of courses each with something different to offer. For weekends when I dont feel like making the extend drive south to play the Joliet area courses, these three course keep me more than satisfied.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Well thought out, needs teepads

2-4    8/30/2012   8/30/2012
Review By: DonCasper
Played: 45  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Great shot variety
-Plenty of elevation
-Small stream comes into play many times, yet you can retrieve disc from it easily
-Course layout well thought out, next hole is always marked
-18 holes, a definite plus in the Chicagoland location
-Doesn't cross any paths, and only skims some playing fields
Cons: Tee areas are already very muddy, concrete pads are definitely needed. My golf partner slipped a few times which really screwed up his shot, and after I had a poor shot I started moving over a bit, which of course is going to make more space muddy over time.

It shares a number of areas along the fence with a cross country course. While we were playing a meet started and we had to wait about 20 minutes for the meet to end in order to continue our round.

A number of children were playing in the creek while we were there and I nearly killed a child as it popped out from behind a tree after we lost track of her. They also ended up grabbing my buddies disc on a different hole.
Other Thoughts: If this course had concrete tee pads it probably would have warranted a 4.0. As it is now I'm giving it a 3.5. Apparently there are plans for concrete pads, but I'm reserving judgement until then.

There is a good potential for play to be interrupted by others using the parks.

Distances don't exist at the tee locations yet, but i didn't mark them down as they obviously are going to be putting them in soon, and it didn't affect play much.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Decent park course

1    8/25/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2013
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a nicely kept grassy park. There is some elevation change throughout the park, especially on the front 9. Several of the holes take advantage of the hills to add some challenge and variety. There are mature trees in play on the majority of the course. Most holes have multiple lines to the pin, offering different challenges depending on which way you go.

There are a couple longer holes mixed in to add some variety, with some shorter ace run chances as well. A few holes have the creek in play as OB around the green, it adds some risk without too much chance of lost discs. There are posts for tee signs, so I assume signage will be added in the near future, even without it the course is not terribly difficult to follow.
Cons: The holes get a little repetitive at times, with lots of holes in the 225-275' range that have a couple obstacles to avoid. A little more length variety and a little more care taken to use the trees in ways that defined different lines would go a long way. There isn't any rough and most holes don't have all that dense of trees, so you don't really get into much trouble if you miss your line.

The natural tees are ok, a few aren't quite flat but they're not terrible. That said, they are already showing signs of wear. The grass is dead or dying on all of them and they will quickly turn into mud pits with a good amount of traffic and a little rain.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this a very approachable course, the lengths are reasonable and there is little punishment for errant shots. More experienced players can have a nice relaxed round, this isn't a course that will test all your disc golf skills but there are a few fun shots.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Very nice park!!

1    8/18/2012   8/18/2012
Review By: #19325
Played: 312  Reviewed: 166  Exp: 12.9 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is located in a very well kept public park. The neighborhood around it is super nice! The grass is lush and green. Large trees are scattered throughout and rolling hills come into play. A very small creek comes into play on a few holes. This is a great walk in the park. There is no place to lose a disc as there is absolutely no rough.

This is a very beginner friendly course.

There is a practice basket located just off the parking lot on the way to #1. It has bricks marking various distances.

There are nice tees posts installed with the #. Tee signs are coming soon. I had no problem navigating the course for the first time.

Brand new Discraft Chainstars. Red number stickers were added to the poles.

Small rolling hills come into play on quite a few holes.

There are several chances to grab a driver and let it rip.

Hole #8 is a tricky downhil shot with a creek baskstopping it.

Hole #9 is a great longer multi route hole. You have options to play both right and left.

There are several chances to throw rollers.

Hole #17 is a nice turnover shot with water coming into play short of the basket.
Cons: Right now the tee pads are natural. This course is getting a lot of play and the grass is starting to wear. Before long they are going to rut.

The tee posts to do have the hole information yet.

The course is rather open with scattered trees to miss.
Other Thoughts: I'm giving this review a 3.5 instead of a 3 since there are plans to install cement tee pads. Tee signs will be done soon.

This is my number 1 frustration in disc golf. I appreciate Hinsdale adding disc golf but there is no reason they should not have budgeted for cement tee pads right away. Everything in the park is top notch.

FYI. Dogs are only allowed in the park from 6 to 9am and 7 to 10pm. This is no joke! At 7pm hundreds of pedestrians and dogs hit the park. I'm not sure what it's like in the morning but if you are looking for less traffic at night play before 7pm.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Fun and pretty solid course.

2-4    8/12/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: Disc Golf Greg
Played: 21  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good sized parking lot that is by the practice basket, and hole 1. And also loops you back after basket 18.
-Park itself is very nice, with rolling hills, and a fairly large number of mature oak trees.
-There are wood posts in the ground which in the near future the signs themselves will be added too. I like this variety of tee sign, as I've noticed these are not as often vandalized.
-18 hole course layout, which is nice considering they're hard to come by this close to Chicago
-Nice little creek that makes accuracy count on a few holes. At the same time Discs are easy to remove as the creek is not deep or very wide.
-Bridges that make crossing the creek nice and easy.
-A few places throughout the park have poop bags you can pick up for your pooch, in case you forget your own.
Cons: -No "real" teepads at the moment. I don't know if they're going to be adding them in the near future or not. Hopefully so because I'd imagine erosion would become a factor sometime during the next season.
-No benches to sit down and take a break at between holes.
-Could use a few more garbage cans, only saw one while playing.
-North of the creek that runs through the park is an off leash dog park. It can get pretty crowded and occasionally a dog/owner will be in the fairway. But for the most part not a problem.
Other Thoughts: Since the removal of Oak Brook's Central Park (Currently being redesigned) there hasn't been a fun/good course in the area. This course changes all that though, I have as much fun playing KLM Park as I did playing the old O.B. Central park layout.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.