Hinsdale, IL 
Katherine Legge Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #14 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 260ft.   3 / 260ft.   3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 White Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Well thought out, needs teepads

2-4    8/30/2012   8/30/2012
Review By: DonCasper
Played: 45  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Great shot variety
-Plenty of elevation
-Small stream comes into play many times, yet you can retrieve disc from it easily
-Course layout well thought out, next hole is always marked
-18 holes, a definite plus in the Chicagoland location
-Doesn't cross any paths, and only skims some playing fields
Cons: Tee areas are already very muddy, concrete pads are definitely needed. My golf partner slipped a few times which really screwed up his shot, and after I had a poor shot I started moving over a bit, which of course is going to make more space muddy over time.

It shares a number of areas along the fence with a cross country course. While we were playing a meet started and we had to wait about 20 minutes for the meet to end in order to continue our round.

A number of children were playing in the creek while we were there and I nearly killed a child as it popped out from behind a tree after we lost track of her. They also ended up grabbing my buddies disc on a different hole.
Other Thoughts: If this course had concrete tee pads it probably would have warranted a 4.0. As it is now I'm giving it a 3.5. Apparently there are plans for concrete pads, but I'm reserving judgement until then.

There is a good potential for play to be interrupted by others using the parks.

Distances don't exist at the tee locations yet, but i didn't mark them down as they obviously are going to be putting them in soon, and it didn't affect play much.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Decent park course

1    8/25/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2013
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a nicely kept grassy park. There is some elevation change throughout the park, especially on the front 9. Several of the holes take advantage of the hills to add some challenge and variety. There are mature trees in play on the majority of the course. Most holes have multiple lines to the pin, offering different challenges depending on which way you go.

There are a couple longer holes mixed in to add some variety, with some shorter ace run chances as well. A few holes have the creek in play as OB around the green, it adds some risk without too much chance of lost discs. There are posts for tee signs, so I assume signage will be added in the near future, even without it the course is not terribly difficult to follow.
Cons: The holes get a little repetitive at times, with lots of holes in the 225-275' range that have a couple obstacles to avoid. A little more length variety and a little more care taken to use the trees in ways that defined different lines would go a long way. There isn't any rough and most holes don't have all that dense of trees, so you don't really get into much trouble if you miss your line.

The natural tees are ok, a few aren't quite flat but they're not terrible. That said, they are already showing signs of wear. The grass is dead or dying on all of them and they will quickly turn into mud pits with a good amount of traffic and a little rain.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this a very approachable course, the lengths are reasonable and there is little punishment for errant shots. More experienced players can have a nice relaxed round, this isn't a course that will test all your disc golf skills but there are a few fun shots.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice park!!

1    8/18/2012   8/18/2012
Review By: #19325
Played: 317  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 13.5 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is located in a very well kept public park. The neighborhood around it is super nice! The grass is lush and green. Large trees are scattered throughout and rolling hills come into play. A very small creek comes into play on a few holes. This is a great walk in the park. There is no place to lose a disc as there is absolutely no rough.

This is a very beginner friendly course.

There is a practice basket located just off the parking lot on the way to #1. It has bricks marking various distances.

There are nice tees posts installed with the #. Tee signs are coming soon. I had no problem navigating the course for the first time.

Brand new Discraft Chainstars. Red number stickers were added to the poles.

Small rolling hills come into play on quite a few holes.

There are several chances to grab a driver and let it rip.

Hole #8 is a tricky downhil shot with a creek baskstopping it.

Hole #9 is a great longer multi route hole. You have options to play both right and left.

There are several chances to throw rollers.

Hole #17 is a nice turnover shot with water coming into play short of the basket.
Cons: Right now the tee pads are natural. This course is getting a lot of play and the grass is starting to wear. Before long they are going to rut.

The tee posts to do have the hole information yet.

The course is rather open with scattered trees to miss.
Other Thoughts: I'm giving this review a 3.5 instead of a 3 since there are plans to install cement tee pads. Tee signs will be done soon.

This is my number 1 frustration in disc golf. I appreciate Hinsdale adding disc golf but there is no reason they should not have budgeted for cement tee pads right away. Everything in the park is top notch.

FYI. Dogs are only allowed in the park from 6 to 9am and 7 to 10pm. This is no joke! At 7pm hundreds of pedestrians and dogs hit the park. I'm not sure what it's like in the morning but if you are looking for less traffic at night play before 7pm.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and pretty solid course.

2-4    8/12/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: Disc Golf Greg
Played: 21  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good sized parking lot that is by the practice basket, and hole 1. And also loops you back after basket 18.
-Park itself is very nice, with rolling hills, and a fairly large number of mature oak trees.
-There are wood posts in the ground which in the near future the signs themselves will be added too. I like this variety of tee sign, as I've noticed these are not as often vandalized.
-18 hole course layout, which is nice considering they're hard to come by this close to Chicago
-Nice little creek that makes accuracy count on a few holes. At the same time Discs are easy to remove as the creek is not deep or very wide.
-Bridges that make crossing the creek nice and easy.
-A few places throughout the park have poop bags you can pick up for your pooch, in case you forget your own.
Cons: -No "real" teepads at the moment. I don't know if they're going to be adding them in the near future or not. Hopefully so because I'd imagine erosion would become a factor sometime during the next season.
-No benches to sit down and take a break at between holes.
-Could use a few more garbage cans, only saw one while playing.
-North of the creek that runs through the park is an off leash dog park. It can get pretty crowded and occasionally a dog/owner will be in the fairway. But for the most part not a problem.
Other Thoughts: Since the removal of Oak Brook's Central Park (Currently being redesigned) there hasn't been a fun/good course in the area. This course changes all that though, I have as much fun playing KLM Park as I did playing the old O.B. Central park layout.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in the area so far.

1    8/12/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: berserker333
Played: 25  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.5 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Actual use of elevation, both upwards and downwards, there is a small stream that runs through the course that appears to more for runoff than anything else, so you do not want to end up in there, it's kinda stinky and sludgy. There are small bridges conveniently located right where you need to cross, so you do not have to be leaping across.
Well layed out and easy to follow without signs all over. Good flow from one hole to the next without having to hunt around or walk across previous holes where other players may be throwing.
Portable bathrooms are close by, and more than just one, like at some courses.
Clean and well maintained, doesn't interfere with the other play areas as it is a multi-use park.
DOG FRIENDLY!!! Seriously, you would think that more courses would be dog friendly, but no, especially in this area, this is a really nice feature.
Cons: Short holes, the longest is #18, which is about 400 feet. Average hole length is about 250-300 feet. I don't know the footage exactly as the sign posts do not have the little inset maps attached yet, but to be fair, if they made them longer, it would be just for the sake of making it longer, it wouldn't make it a better hole / course.
The front 9 is great, uphill, downhill, nicely layed out with the mature trees on the 52 acre park, but the back nine kinda starts to drag. It's mostly wide open field shots with not much in your way.
Other Thoughts: This is my new favorite course near me and I will adopt it as my home course, that is until Oak Brook finishes up the Central Park remodel. But even so, I don't imagine there being as much elevation in play there as this course has. One nice feature that I have yet to see at any other course I have played, is the practice basket by the parking lot. It has 9 different spots marked out around the basket for playing a disc golf game of HORSE with your putter. Nice touch.
Natural grass tees with colored posts in the ground that have arrows pointing towards the basket. This, I believe, is a mistake to use in this course. It is a brand new course which is not even finished yet, and there are already signs of wear on the ground and the grass is getting tore up. They had better get some concrete in there by next season or it will be jacked by mid season next year.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.