Hinsdale, IL 
Katherine Legge Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: Cgkortz Hole #18 (Taken 6/2014)
4 / 360ft.   4 / 405ft.   3 / 480ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket to Tee

Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 allways a good time

5+    7/27/2013   7/27/2013
Review By: booradly
Played: 81  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -one of the best maintained parks i have ever seen
-good signs
-almost no chance of losing a disc
-a good challenge for beginners but still a lot of fun for advanced players
-the land in this park is used very well. the course has 3 holes that make good use of a hill that is in the course(3,7,8). the course also makes good use of large trees that are in the park.
- the park district here did an awesome job making bridges over the small creek that runs through the park with 2 wooden bridges and several places that have flag stones for you to step on to cross the creek along holes 4,5,6,
-this course has a ton of chances to ace with out having the course be too easy.
-has 3 or 4 holes that let you test your arm
Cons: - some shots can get a little repetitive
- the park gets a lot of use and a path runs next to several fairways
- the course is a little short
-can get very busy
-can really use some better pads several of the pads on the hills are starting to angle down the hill and the pad at hole one has 2 metal spikes sticking up out of the ground
Other Thoughts: -this is a very solid course and have never had a bad time playing it. i had only been playing for about a month the first time i played this course and it was nice that i could make it to a lot of the pins in 2/3 holes and now that i i actually know what i am doing i have a lot of fun just going for aces and trying to find hard lines to hit.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Best Chicago 18 in the area without making long road trip

2-4    7/1/2013   7/1/2013
Review By: Lefty12
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I am probably repeating a lot here so hopefully i added something:
-some of the best elevation changes for the area and the course makes great use of it by going up and down which makes for exciting drives
-course layout is done well - when I played for the first time all I had to do was scan the area for the next tee post for a couple seconds and I was set. And I don't feel like it overlaps
-landscape-fantastic old tall trees which is a huge pro compared to wading through weeds and annoying underbrush. Grass well manicured, they were mowing as I played today- overall very well kept park
-friendly players- which is a must in this course -the reason you will see in my cons. A nice guy asked if I was playing in the tournament coming up at 11 and when I said no he said- do you want to be? I said no thank you but thanks for the offer
-man made amenities- Porto potty strategically placed mid round at hole 10 - convenient -also nice garbage cans and they weren't overflowing- the park guys were emptying them when I was there- I really appreciate the effort by people to keep this place clean. And the old Tudor buildings are definitely a plus(no eyesore buildings here)
-great mix of sun and shade- didn't feel like I was being baked in the sun and didn't feel like I was closed in by trees.
-fun shots on almost every hole- up, down, around creek, through trees under trees over creek. I like the distance- but my drives aren't earth shattering. I have a decently long tomahawk and a lot of tees we placed so I could not drop one in from the tee pad with a tree overhead. I seem to have #17's number - maybe because its very lefty friendly

Cons: My cons revolve around TIMING
-obviously dirt Tpads aren't ideal when it's wet- but when the dirt is dry it's almost like a clay tennis court allows for shuffling and pivoting so when it's dry to me it's a pro but wet- it's just not playable, so time your round a couple days after rain and make sure sun has been in the forecast
-crowded with players- when I went on a sunny Saturday there were too many players- some fast some slow- luckily everyone seems nice and waved me on when I felt as if I was rushing them. But today I was behind a pair that was epically slow- I practiced putting to delay my next tee and try not to rush them but they were just really slow and I couldn't figure out why- I throw the extra 1 or even 3 discs even on drives and of course on putts that I missed but these guys were too slow and didn't wave me on so it warranted a hole skip. So long story short go early and there won't be a crowded course
-park goers in the way- for the most part people stick to the path which is not typically in play, but today there was a group of kids and one adult-And they were just playing in the creek even when the slow pair ahead of me yelled that they were throwing they didn't budge. So that hole skip behind the slow pair and the hole with the kids was a great decision. Again if you go early less/ no park goers
Other Thoughts: Best 18 hole course in the area for the Chicago crowd! Remember- TIMING -Go on a dry sunny day at 9 am and your round should be free of any significant cons. (Now that I say that it will probably be crowded at 9 am!) the other course that has more distance shots and is min 18 holes but not an as-beautiful park is Madison Meadows in Lombard. My two favorite 18 hole courses(MM has 19 though) in the vicinity of Chicago, Katherine legge edges it out with great trees elevation changes and trickier shots- and classic tudor architecture

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Solid course close to Chicago

5+    6/21/2013   6/21/2013
Review By: Badger Dan
Played: 65  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a beautiful old park with mature oak trees and a gentle stream running through the center of it, you couldn't ask for a much better spot for a close-to-the-city Chicago course. Located right off I-55, Katherine Legge is very accessible from LSD or 90/94. There is a gas station blocks away, on E 55th near 294 that sells discs and anything else you could need for a successful round.

The course flows nicely from hole to hole and offers a wide variety of shots from a distance and direction standpoint. While there are no massive, 500+ ft holes, there also aren't any dinky 180 footers to out drive with your putter. The elevation change is nice although I wouldn't call it hilly. It seems there is a natural slope down to the stream that comes into play nicely on many holes. I especially enjoy the downhill shot on #8 with the drop to the stream behind the basket and down again at #17 crossing the stream one last time. Also really like going along the stream for a long winding shot on #4 and the bomb over the aqueduct into the trees on what is perhaps the signature hole, #9. While the trees are not dense or crowded anywhere, they do come into play on a number of holes adding difficulty and character. A good variety of pins to the left and right making for an interesting round for both backhand and forehand players (righty/lefty).

Baskets are in good condition. Nice practice pin with markers for measuring putt distance. The park is well groomed, no dense rough requiring an expedition for errant throws. The only real OB obstacles come on 14 and 15 with a fence that borders private property. The course is clean offering a number of obvious garbage bins and porta johns to encourage responsible park use. Never had an issue with dogs or their excrement. Owners seem to be attentive.
Cons: The obvious one here is the dirt tees. They are well defined and large enough but with some rain, they inevitably become slick or muddy. Katherine Legge is a multi use park where pedestrians could come into play on certain holes but it never seems to be a huge problem. Has yet to be really crowded when I've played and pedestrians are always courteous as long as they're not completely oblivious to the disc golf course. Those people deserve to get hit... While the terrain is well used, there could be clearer marked "pro" tees for those looking for more of a challenge. I have seen some blue markers but the park really does have enough space for dual (am/pro) concrete tees. That would put this course at a 4/5 for sure. The only hole that I really dislike is 15 because it is a little too much of a crapshoot with very small, undefined lanes thru the trees. A couple of very birdie-able holes could be criticized for being too easy (see #5, #10 and #13) but in my honest opinion, holes like this add to the variety and flow of a course. Think about ball golf with intermittent par 3s.
Other Thoughts: A lot of fun to be had here. An approachable course for beginners but challenging enough to be fun for the more experienced player. Convenient for Chicago residents and people in the burbs alike.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the trip

5+    6/16/2013   6/16/2013
Review By: chrismilano
Played: 15  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have played this course multiple times and I will try to list all of the pros.

+The park is enormous and the designers did a fantastic job using the space allotted.

+There is an elevation change on every hole, with the exception of 4 or 5 (#4-6, 9, 12)

+Multiple tee off locations.

+The creek running through the middle of the course comes into play on many of the holes.

+A lot of the holes are super challenging, while others are very easy to birdie.

+Each hole has multiple routes to the pin. A golfer can throw BH or FH on most of the holes. However, there are a few that force a certain shot.

+An overall great course. It will challenge almost all skill levels.

+Baskets are all in good upright shape.

+The course is clean, almost no trash.

+Within 5 minutes of the highway. Super convenient.

Cons: -The tee pads are all natural, and can get super slippery after rain. This course would easily be a 4 for me if it had some concrete pads.

-It doubles as a dog park, so watch out where you step cause there is dog sh*t galore.

-I wish there were more trees at times. Some of the holes have a ton, while others are wide open.

-Bugs, but not as bad as some other courses.

-If its your first time on the course then navigation can be difficult. Follow a local.
Other Thoughts: Just a great course. If you are around the Chicagoland area, or just passing through, then it is definately worth checking out.

Plus, this place has a monthly tournament and weekly doubles league for those who enjoy the more competitive side of the sport.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Concrete pads Boost this course. level ground finally. craters are no good

5+    10/6/2013   4/27/2013
Review By: Moorejp9
Played: 39  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/10/2013
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: wow and i mean wow. Just taking a different way to work i look to my right and i see a golf couse. I think for a second that cant be a golf course becuase there are no greens or flags. After i drive a little more i see the basket to hole 16 and think to myself WHATT! I have been visiting courses near me like Summit, and Doogan park and havent recently checked DGCR in a while so i didnt notice this beautiful course in a beautiful town. First off this course have a good range of short holes to long holes.
I really like the new placment of some of the new concrete tee pads. It creates a better shot.
Hole 9 is great becuase of the waterway and a open v creek to play as a obstructure. and a much need RH anhyzer shot/LH hyzer.
Hole 2 is a great uphill 330 shot. i love the lenght.
Hole 15 is now a whole different look with the tee pad moved up about 20 ft. it takes away the big shot on the outside of the trees, but it also creates more of a tunnel to get through the "forest" for a better chance for a dues.
Hole 14 is a great hole to put on the course becuase it makes you take out a differnt disc. i mean where you actually have to anhyzer (for a righty). i created a better sense of excitment.
Hole 4 you cant place and better. an along the creek shot where if you end up to much right you looking at a solid 4 because of the tall tress around the hole. but fall a little short to the left and your looking pretty to save par.
Hole 8 is a slighty downhill shot. It is much better since they moved the tee pad further back and it creates more of a hidden shot (cant see much of the basket) and it also prevents many players from rippin' it way beyond the creek . I have seen plenty of aces on the hole.
Hole 13 My favorite hole on the course. wide open, easy to settle for a 2. it plays great for the whole range of players. just a little deep for beginners 290
Hole 1 , again hole 1. a great hole to start off this course, plays short. but for some odd reason i always see average player par it.
Hole 18 could be a ball golf par 3. player great where the trees are and actually has a fairway. for average player you might need a great drive and a good approach to pick up a par here but intermediate player and probably stick it in 3. a tough hole to birdie.
Course plays great.
Many benches and trash cans around.
park is VERY clean.
directions are really good.
You probably will not get lost. directions are good.
Cons: EXCUSE ME & FOR. the words your going to say 100 times if you trying to catch a round in before it gets dark. Seriosulsy people have no idea that they are chilling with there dog in a dangerous disc golf course where a disc and Extremely hurt a person. BEWARE OF DOGS IN THE EVENING. if you dont like dogs you better get out here early.
A couple more porta-poties would be great, especially around hole 12,13.
Some holes are really short, i would love a little more distance.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

2-4    4/4/2013   4/11/2013
Review By: River_love
Played: 34  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course had a great atmosphere, very clean nice park. Most of the holes were fairly open, but there are nice big trees to break things up a little. The average distances were in the 260-350ft range which is a pretty comfortable length for almost anyone. A few holes play around a small creek, so that comes into play on a few approaches. The course actually uses some elevation change well too.
Cons: I played on a weekday in the spring, so it wasn't terribly busy... but I get the feeling that in the summer all of the park traffic/activities could make this course a long, frustrating 18 holes. It skirts past a soccer field on one hole, and weaves around a walking path. But there is an unpaved jogging circuit that actually goes right through several of the fairways! I had to stop my drive mid step because people went running down the full length of my fairway! Also there is no real need for shaping any shots here, just avoiding the occasional obstacle. To be fair, the course is laid out pretty well all things considered. Some sloppy tees too.
Other Thoughts: This course is in an interesting area for a disc golf course, Hinsdale seems like a very upscale neighborhood. This is certainly not a bad thing, as there are a few cool old buildings situated on the park, it was just unexpected.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Some real fat squirrels

1    3/30/2013   3/30/2013
Review By: Noill Golf
Played: 118  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2013
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: You like squirrels? Come to KLM cause there are some fattie squirrels there. You can tell these guys are used to people as they let me get within a few feet of them as I walked on by. ;)
The park is well manicured and has a small creek meandering through the front 9 holes and then again on hole 18. Pockets of old growth trees here and there are in play on several holes forcing you to choose a lane...a big plus at an otherwise wide open course. Gentle elevation shifts add to the enjoyment of the game and help to add to the beauty of this public park.
Multiple tee positions on many holes with the tee sign at the white (or middle) position. Look in the ground for the tee markers if you want to tee from the red or blue positions if available on the hole.
Generally easy to navigate. I spotted blue tape on some of the pins to indicate the direction to the next tee...but really you can just look around and you'll see the next pad.
The design is really tight IMHO...I was impressed overall and would say that this is a beginner friendly course that appeals to the experienced player as well.
Cons: On fair weather days this park will explode with activity. This is a multi-use park and you will see people hangin' about doing one thing or another. While I was there, I spotted an ultimate game in full swing near holes 9 and 10. Families were playing disc golf (great for them but can slow down the flow a lot) and a couple of girls were hunting around for something at hole 17...they didn't seem to know that I was waiting for them to move on. Basically, if you want to hit this course either be prepared for the slowness or go on a bad weather day...honestly.
Teepads are natural and after rain or snow thaw these are going to be very muddy...on dry days, as the pads are pretty flat and level, I don't see this as an issue for me and I won't be dinging the rating based on that.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful buildings, a lovely little creek, old growth manicured trees, solid design that fits with the land, bridges, tee signs, multiple tee positions... I walked away knowing that I will return...
The only notable issues are muddy teepads (rain or snow thaw) and of course the slowness of play on fair weather days.
Note: "Legge" is pronounced just like "leg"... FYI

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Most Aesthetically Pleasing Park in the Area

5+    3/30/2013   3/30/2013
Review By: luckyfoot15
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Elegant terrain. Good use of the park and natural obstacles. It's urban, so I would not call them rolling hills or anything like that. There are elevation changes in the city park, and the course uses them for a mix of up and down shots. There is a stream running through a few shots, but it's hardly an obstacle. I list these things as pros because overall it is a very nice park and a very nice course compared to the other options within a 10 mile radius (Lombard, Oakbrook, etc. are parks I probably will rarely see now that Hinsdale is open for play).
Cons: There are a few spots the holes go out of the way to create a challenge. It's a little silly at times, such as on the back of the park where a hole is pretty much put from point A to point B with a cluster of closely placed evergreen trees to throw through. It doesn't fit with the rest of the course. If you can throw a few advanced shots, you have mastered this course. Finally, the tee pads are bad. It's very sloppy if it rains even the slightest bit.
Other Thoughts: It's hard to find a course in the western suburbs that offers nice terrain and a variety of challenging holes. The course lies in a community where the average home price exceeds $1M and property taxes alone are more than most professional disc golfers make in a year. Why is this relevant? Well, you will find this park is very highly trafficked by dog walkers, school athletics, etc. Do not expect anyone to see disc golf and your next shot as the top priority in this park. Just be patient and wait for them to move, or play around them.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hello Spring!

5+    3/29/2013   3/29/2013
Review By: alexjensen
Played: 42  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is close to Chicago and located in a very nice dog park in a very rich suburg. The course offers a lot of different shots and about 4 pretty challenging holes to even a good disc golfer. The rest of the holes are fun, but fairly easy and short. This is a great course to take beginning disc golfers because there is almost zero chance of loosing a disc (though you may have to go fishing in the shallow creek that runs through the middle), and in addition the course is primarily under 300ft/ hole. Few trees, but the ones that are there are very old and established and provide decent challenge in the summer when the leaves have come in full. Hole 15 I believe is a very challenging shot through thick trees, but is the only hole of its kind on the course.
Cons: The course is pretty short, and pretty easy. For an experienced disc golfer you can drive just about every pin, and the trees don't offer too much of a challenge. Also the tee pads are natural so during the spring and after it rains they get pretty muddy. Though the dog park is nice, watch where you step because the invetible excriment is scattered throughout the course.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite course this close to Chicago. Living in the city if you want to disc in the western suburbs your best options this far away are either this course, or Madison Meadows in Lombard. This course offers more shot varieties, and greater elevation changes, however, because of the distance of the couse I find Madison Meadows more of a challenge. Also I have found that Katherine Legge gets quite crowded during the summer with kids and families that play fairly slow, so be prepared to wait.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


2-4    1/21/2013   1/21/2013
Review By: infinategem
Played: 31  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/11/2013
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: this course has requires all your discs. it has a large variety of lines needed to make it through the course. very hilly, throws go up and down, as well as a couple flat holes. good distance variety. laid out well and never makes you walk to far from hole to hole.+ a scenic park, this is one of my favorite courses. small creek running through ther middle, shallow enough to retrieve discs unless it storms
Cons: not many. i ran into alot of dogs loose and the local track team was using a fairway to do warmups... they didnt want to move
Other Thoughts: great course, i am having trouble in my reviews i think, lots of thumbs down. any advice to put forth more informitive reviews would be greatly appreciated

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.