Topeka, KS
Crestview Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #9 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 325ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
My favorite in Topeka

2-4    8/5/2013   8/6/2013
Review By: bigreddog
Played: 46  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 2.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a great variety of shot paths on this course, holes 1, 5, 11 require right to left, while 2, 4, and 13 require left to right with many more where the player has an option to throw multiple paths. 10/10 on variety of shot paths, 8/10 on decisionmaking required.

This course uses obstacles very well, every tree on the course could potentially come into play, giving all holes a challenge but not making any unfair. 10/10

Discs were very easy to find with no real chance to lose one except on hole 10 or if you get one stuck in a tree. 9/10

Baskets were in great condition, tees are concrete and good size, but some are a little cracked around the corners. 9/10

There is a great variety of distance on this course, with a few very aceable holes, while others have enough length to make them a tough par. 9/10

The course was mowed and there was a lot of shade and several benches throughout. No water or bathrooms along the course but it's available at the start in the Crestview pool. 8/10 on comfort

Consistently mowed and there are posts marking the tees but the only information they provide is the hole number. No trash cans along the way. 7/10 on maintenance

This course does a good job of providing all players with a challenge. Under normal conditions, it is a pretty good course for beginners as it is relatively forgiving and there is not too much length. It is also challenging enough to be fun for advanced players, and when it's in the gold setting especially. 7/10

Alternate hole positions are pretty good. They really change the feel of some holes, but others it just adds or subtracts 50ft without changing much else. 6/10
Cons: The biggest problem this course has is the lack of elevation. The elevation that is present is brought into play on a few of the holes, but they just didn't have very much to work with here. 2/10

Navigation on the holes is not very since the tees don't have a map. There are also several baskets close to other baskets or holes where two baskets can be seen from the tee. 3/10

Navigation between holes isn't great but the posts marking the tees can generally be seen from the previous basket. 5/10

There is some variety of openness on shots, especially hole 10 in the woods, or a few more wide open holes like 2 and 7, but overall most holes have several trees to create different lines with not much more or less. 5/10
Other Thoughts: This course is around average difficulty. I first saw this course at the Capital City Classic set up in the gold positions and decided it was owrth a drive, and I'm glad I did even though it wasn't still in gold.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

nice mix of shots

2-4    4/29/2013   5/3/2013
Review By: shaun103183
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: signage , multiple pins, most hole are open with trees mixed in moderately . 10 is a change of pace completly wooded with the creek on the right side. nice anny lines mixed with straight or hyzer shots,memorable holes for me were 1,3,and 10
Cons: couple pin placements are still a little confusing even with the signs, minimal elavation change, not much else
Other Thoughts: gold tee's make the course totally different maybe adds 2500ft?

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good Home to Have

5+    6/27/2012   7/1/2012
Review By: DisCat13
Played: 110  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 15.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My home course, however, I will be very honest. Very scenic as far as Topeka goes. Many trees and large ones at that, add to the scenery and challenges on the course. Good mix of longer par 3s and shorter par 3s. NEW TEE SIGNS help out immensely if you don't know where you are going, as they show hole maps, as well as all of the multiple pin placements!
Cons: Even though there are lots of trees, there are many open holes where you can be extremely exposed to the sun. This is a con from June-Aug. for sure when it reaches 90-105 nearly everyday! Twilight course is in play a couple of weeks a year. If you come during this time (and are not familiar) you might as well play without trying to keep close tabs, as 6 baskets are removed to add to the Twilight course and it can be highly confusing if you haven't played it before. However, I believe this to be the most frequented course in Topeka and probably for any course within 50 miles. So, ask one of the friendly locals about the directions from one hole to the next during the Twilight course. Any other time of the year this course is very easy to navigate with the exception of #15 basket-#16 tee (see other thoughts).
Other Thoughts: Last 3 holes are across the parking lot, don't give in after 15!

During Twilight, it would be great to add those 6 additional holes, without taking the baskets away from the original course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice park

5+    1/10/2012   2/8/2012
Review By: Natedoog
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Multiple pin placements and multiple ways to shoot make this a fun course. Someone put trim the Canopies, I disagree, I think it adds some more challenge.
Cons: a couple baskets in bad shape, doesn't get switched up enough, creek water is nasty.
Other Thoughts: I learned on this course and traveling to other states and playing I've noticed it has helped me. Great place to go if you want to play more technical and controlled instead of just throwing bombs and hoping you don't hit something.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

5+    6/18/2009   6/19/2009
Review By: rlangton
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 5/11/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Crestview is a nice course nestled back in a fairly wooded park with very large, mature trees. The 18 holes offer a variety of shots and distances. The pins are moved pretty regularly so you never know what you'll get. Concrete tees are nice and long, baskets are nice.

The park is well maintained and mowed. The large trees provide a lot of shade and protection from the wind. This is my favorite park to take my kids to on a hot day.
Cons: Minimal elevation shots due to being a fairly flat course (not a bad thing if you're wanting to save your legs). Course layout can be fairly confusing if you've never played there before. Holes cross back on eachother. Recommend playing with a local if you can first time through. Some layouts are more confusing than others. The last few holes cross roads that sometimes cars like to park on.
Other Thoughts: An alternate location for hole #10 is back in the trees. Head towards the busy road and the stream from hole #6 tee (hole #9 basket area).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Crestview - diamond in the rough

4/5/2008   4/5/2008
Review By: jace
Played: 38  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is nice course tucked into a pretty compact area. Has bathrooms at the parking area.

Hole number 1 starts right off with a significant tree challenge. we played with pin located short which was barely visible from the tee due to trees.

This course has lots of mature trees, and pins are placed to encourage the low shots (which is not necessarily good for those of us who still have a tendency to let one ride high) but makes accuracy a must.

A couple of open holes which allowed us to air it out without worry. Most of the time we found ourselves with a unique approach to a pin from behind a tree, up a short hill, or in a couple cases throwing without sight of the pin from the tee.

This was a really fun course. i took my son and two girls on a campout to Lake Shawnee specifically to play this course and Lake Shawnee. we quit after three holes on the Lake course - way to windy & all i saw was large open expanses that didn;t look like much fun to continue. If you're in the area, this is a great course to play! Hardly anyone there on a beautiful Saturday morning.
Cons: Tough with the wind, but that's probably more me than anything else.
Other Thoughts: probably would not play again since it is an hour from home and i have many equal and better options, but worth the trip with the kids!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.