Topeka, KS 
Crestview Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #18 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 318ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee - OB cement left and ahead



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
My favorite in Topeka

2-4    8/5/2013   8/6/2013
Review By: bigreddog
Played: 57  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 2.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is a great variety of shot paths on this course, holes 1, 5, 11 require right to left, while 2, 4, and 13 require left to right with many more where the player has an option to throw multiple paths. 10/10 on variety of shot paths, 8/10 on decisionmaking required.

This course uses obstacles very well, every tree on the course could potentially come into play, giving all holes a challenge but not making any unfair. 10/10

Discs were very easy to find with no real chance to lose one except on hole 10 or if you get one stuck in a tree. 9/10

Baskets were in great condition, tees are concrete and good size, but some are a little cracked around the corners. 9/10

There is a great variety of distance on this course, with a few very aceable holes, while others have enough length to make them a tough par. 9/10

The course was mowed and there was a lot of shade and several benches throughout. No water or bathrooms along the course but it's available at the start in the Crestview pool. 8/10 on comfort

Consistently mowed and there are posts marking the tees but the only information they provide is the hole number. No trash cans along the way. 7/10 on maintenance

This course does a good job of providing all players with a challenge. Under normal conditions, it is a pretty good course for beginners as it is relatively forgiving and there is not too much length. It is also challenging enough to be fun for advanced players, and when it's in the gold setting especially. 7/10

Alternate hole positions are pretty good. They really change the feel of some holes, but others it just adds or subtracts 50ft without changing much else. 6/10
Cons: The biggest problem this course has is the lack of elevation. The elevation that is present is brought into play on a few of the holes, but they just didn't have very much to work with here. 2/10

Navigation on the holes is not very since the tees don't have a map. There are also several baskets close to other baskets or holes where two baskets can be seen from the tee. 3/10

Navigation between holes isn't great but the posts marking the tees can generally be seen from the previous basket. 5/10

There is some variety of openness on shots, especially hole 10 in the woods, or a few more wide open holes like 2 and 7, but overall most holes have several trees to create different lines with not much more or less. 5/10
Other Thoughts: This course is around average difficulty. I first saw this course at the Capital City Classic set up in the gold positions and decided it was owrth a drive, and I'm glad I did even though it wasn't still in gold.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

nice mix of shots

2-4    4/29/2013   5/3/2013
Review By: shaun103183
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: signage , multiple pins, most hole are open with trees mixed in moderately . 10 is a change of pace completly wooded with the creek on the right side. nice anny lines mixed with straight or hyzer shots,memorable holes for me were 1,3,and 10
Cons: couple pin placements are still a little confusing even with the signs, minimal elavation change, not much else
Other Thoughts: gold tee's make the course totally different maybe adds 2500ft?

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Home to Have

5+    6/27/2012   7/1/2012
Review By: DisCat13
Played: 110  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 15.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My home course, however, I will be very honest. Very scenic as far as Topeka goes. Many trees and large ones at that, add to the scenery and challenges on the course. Good mix of longer par 3s and shorter par 3s. NEW TEE SIGNS help out immensely if you don't know where you are going, as they show hole maps, as well as all of the multiple pin placements!
Cons: Even though there are lots of trees, there are many open holes where you can be extremely exposed to the sun. This is a con from June-Aug. for sure when it reaches 90-105 nearly everyday! Twilight course is in play a couple of weeks a year. If you come during this time (and are not familiar) you might as well play without trying to keep close tabs, as 6 baskets are removed to add to the Twilight course and it can be highly confusing if you haven't played it before. However, I believe this to be the most frequented course in Topeka and probably for any course within 50 miles. So, ask one of the friendly locals about the directions from one hole to the next during the Twilight course. Any other time of the year this course is very easy to navigate with the exception of #15 basket-#16 tee (see other thoughts).
Other Thoughts: Last 3 holes are across the parking lot, don't give in after 15!

During Twilight, it would be great to add those 6 additional holes, without taking the baskets away from the original course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice park

5+    1/10/2012   2/8/2012
Review By: Natedoog
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Multiple pin placements and multiple ways to shoot make this a fun course. Someone put trim the Canopies, I disagree, I think it adds some more challenge.
Cons: a couple baskets in bad shape, doesn't get switched up enough, creek water is nasty.
Other Thoughts: I learned on this course and traveling to other states and playing I've noticed it has helped me. Great place to go if you want to play more technical and controlled instead of just throwing bombs and hoping you don't hit something.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Go for it

2-4    12/27/2010   12/27/2010
Review By: kcplease
Played: 100  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety
Nice park
Feels very friendly
Good poeple
LSDiscs is not far away, so a good store is super close
Well mowed usually
Cons: Fairways in the fall can be an issue, those old oaks dump lots of leaves
Configuration can be confusing
disregard the numbers on the baskets, they mean nothing
Call the LSDIscs guys if you donow know where to go, they do. great people -785 220 1226
No tee signs, which would help greatly
Other Thoughts: Good course, tee signs would give them another half a point, because they are needed, since it rambles through the park. You will need help the first time. The course varies a lot, but if you are patient, it is worhth the wait.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 what a shame

1    7/3/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 96  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: its a disc golf course, it has baskets,
Cons: i hate being too negative here, but this course had too many flaws. a few of the baskets were in poor shape maybe vandalized. someone needs to limb up some of the lower hanging limbs on the trees, the shots were mostly wide open but you had to keep your shots at about a five foot height to reach the pin or you woill get knocked down by a limb. hole#10 was a pointless hole, just throw it in the woods with no real route at all. the park was in poor shape in general, tall grass cracked pads,...etc
Other Thoughts: this course could easily improve with a little TLC, trim up the canopy of the trees,put some tee signs up, mow the grass, cut a route to #10 pin. this was the first course i played in topeka , i was a little let down and would suggest if you are in the area to skip this one and go to shawnee lake.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Ho Hum, Ho Hum, Not That Much Fun

1    4/27/2010   5/11/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has wide-open holes, a few trees, mostly flat grounds, and makes fair use of the park grounds. These are simple holes use the occasional tree as an obstacle. Some of the baskets here are in a protected position. There are multiple pins on this course to keep the look of the holes refreshing. This park is well maintained and they were mowing the day I played here as well. There is a welcome sign for disc golfers.
Cons: The cement tee pads seemed to be hand poured and are in rough shape. There are little hole markers at the tee pads and many of those are missing or not legible. Navigation is a bit messy. This place needs trashcans and can get a bit busy with walkers. After completing the first 15 you will need to head toward the park entrance by the road and 16-18 are located in the grass sections in front of the main building and tennis courts.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here was just OK. There really isn't much to get excited about at this course. Once you get past the navigation issues, this can be a decent place to learn how to play for beginners. If you are in the area I suppose this is an OK to play, but I would not make road trip for it. Don't get me wrong, I am happy to see this community getting involved in the sport; I just didn't find this course that much fun.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Not impressed with this course

1    10/18/2009   10/19/2009
Review By: ROCKHAWK1
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Beautiful park. Easy to get to from I-470.
Good obstacles, come open spots for distance, nice technicals.
Cons: Pin markers old and falling apart. Atleast 5 pin placements are missing in the middle of the park (Holes 8, 11, 12, 13, 14)
Other Thoughts: We would never play this course again, or atleast until they replace the placements.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Thirty years old and still going strong

5+    4/21/2010   7/21/2009
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 317  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/27/2010
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Set in a well manicured park in SW Topeka along the Shunganunga Creek which comes into play on two holes. Friendly for rec players as it is relatively short. Plays tougher in the summer when the foliage on the trees. Sort of set down in a low area with a tall strand of trees to the south so there is some wind protection here. Multiple pins can give you different challenges for your upshots (although they generally won't affect your tee strategy).
Cons: Mostly open and flat as a pancake and sometimes gets a bit spongy after a big rain as it doesn't drain well. Big arms may find it a bit underwhelming and will just go over what they can't get around. Some of the teepads are cracked, and hole markers are deteriorating or missing. Kind of a flow issue between 15 and 16 if you don't know where you're going (head up by the parking lot entrance to find 16's teebox). Ped/bike trail in park is often busy and people on bikes can dart into your line of fire easily. There is a kiosk for the local club, but there was no map of the course there, and while its not a hard course to find your way around, one would be helpful here.
Other Thoughts: Installed thirty years ago, Crestview is starting to show its age, but for the majority of players this will be a fine venue to enjoy a round or work on their skills. The trail going through the park can get very busy on a nice day. The shot from the primary tee to the wooded pin position is cool, but if you're waiting on too many pedestrians, I'd advise using the alt tee on Hole 10 which you need to walk back by the trees on the other side of the trail from the main tee to find. A recommended time to play a "souped up" version of Crestview would be during one of the tournaments ran by the local club here, when the course is expanded to its "gold" layout, which the Front 15 is reconfigured into 10 holes and 8 new holes are used further east in the park. A decent stop if you're in Topeka, but nothing spectacular.

UPDATE (4/27/2010): After playing Crestview last week, I am deciding to lower the rating from 3 to 2.5. Course seems to further deteriorating, and baskets being moved from the gold layout back to the regular layout aren't being put back in the same hole they came from, leading to confusion on holes 10 through 14. This is a problem that a new map of the course, both available online for printing and at the course kiosk and new tee sign markers or signs could alleviate.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

5+    6/18/2009   6/19/2009
Review By: rlangton
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 5/11/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Crestview is a nice course nestled back in a fairly wooded park with very large, mature trees. The 18 holes offer a variety of shots and distances. The pins are moved pretty regularly so you never know what you'll get. Concrete tees are nice and long, baskets are nice.

The park is well maintained and mowed. The large trees provide a lot of shade and protection from the wind. This is my favorite park to take my kids to on a hot day.
Cons: Minimal elevation shots due to being a fairly flat course (not a bad thing if you're wanting to save your legs). Course layout can be fairly confusing if you've never played there before. Holes cross back on eachother. Recommend playing with a local if you can first time through. Some layouts are more confusing than others. The last few holes cross roads that sometimes cars like to park on.
Other Thoughts: An alternate location for hole #10 is back in the trees. Head towards the busy road and the stream from hole #6 tee (hole #9 basket area).

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.