Fairview, OR 
Blue Lake Regional Park Share
Uploaded By: JMONEY Hole #7 (Taken 8/2012)
5 / 945ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
Monster Course

1    8/29/2012   8/30/2012
Review By: caravan2001
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 24.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging, Great Tee Pads, Nice Fairways, benches
Cons: This course is a disc eater. Major blackberries and thick brush if you don;t hit the fairways. Good signage but no directions to next tee box.
Other Thoughts: This is an amazing course. Played it today for the first time and love it. Super challenging, we were fully worked by the end. This is a course for big arms, I think 17 is nearly 1000'. Good mix of Par 4 and 5 holes. Teeboxes are sweet with good signs and benches, not enough trash cans but that is no big deal. Park is very scenic but mostly follows 84. Huge course that is very challening, NOT for novice players. You need to really try and keep the disc in the fairways and if not, you better have your eye on it. The rough is terrible, some of the worse blackberries I have encountered but I think this will really be reduced once the course gets played more. If you go out with a big party, be prepared to spend a long time on the course. Holes 7 and 8 were a little bit of a pain. 7 has an elevated basket but there is a pond right in front with a fence around it. On 8 you need to get over a fairly large gully. I did not and the slop in the gully is stanky. All in all, an excellent new course to the Portland area, I can't wait to go back. Go play it if you want a challenge.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Grape Soda

2-4    3/2/2013   8/29/2012
Review By: SmaptyII
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 3/5/2013
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You know how you look forward to Grape Soda? Until about 10 glasses in you start to feel a little woozy? That is a good description of this course.
- This course is brand new!
- Great looking park and the nature of this course is wonderful (especially at sunset).
- Is is definitely a challenge course for high level players.
- The signs and pads are brand new and look great.
- I really like the bridge they built.
- Also there are benches at every tee and the baskets are stellar!
-Good placement of the bathrooms and trashcans/ recycle bins.
Cons: Here is the woozy part. Since the park is new some of the holes are still being shaped or worked on. There were some that you just shook you head in wondering why I should throw in that direction because you would just end up loosing your disc (and I did). The group I was with and most we saw were spending time looking for discs. Not fun. The grass around the fairways is very tall and very easy to loose discs in. Also there are a lot of blackberry bushes!!!!!!!!! Ouch! Signage would be nice to know where the next pad was. Easy to wonder around and not find the next pad. The fairways are narrow and need accurate throws. Would not recommend for new players (or just moderate players). Also, there are water hazards not marked and due to an unhealthy algae bloom is it not recommended to go into the water. So say goodbye to your discs.
Other Thoughts: This is a work in progress. I really want to like this course but in its current state it was miserable. A few tips:
1) Knee high socks or pants. Otherwise your legs will be shredded quick!
2) Have a spotter....down field. Otherwise you spend most of your time looking for discs.
3) Bring lots of discs.
4) Week days are the best time to play. Weekends parking will be nightmare (parking is $5)
5) This is really accessible by bike. Marine drive to 223rd, or Halsey to 223rd, or Springwater to Fairview bike path to Halsey to 223rd.
6) Take a picture of the course (or print one out before hand). There are no signs pointing to the next tee box and it is easy to get lost.
7) Thanks to Stumptown and Next Adventure for planning this course. I see what you are trying to do. More work needs to be done on this course to make it playable. Time will tell if this is going to be a worthwhile Pro Course.

UPDATE:
This plays as a nice winter course. The tall grass has died so finding your disc is much easier if you throw into the out of bounds areas. Think about playing this course like an actual golf course. It is designed to be played in sections but does reward long arms. The brambles are still an issue but most have been trampled. Wear water proof shoes (lots of mud in places). Enjoyed plaything this a second time around.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Work in Progress

1    8/21/2012   8/27/2012
Review By: ereezy503
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Highest level of difficulty around
Near a park
Very clean
Very flat (stroller friendly)
Tee signs
Great Baskets
Cons: Eats Discs
The rough is really rough
Barbed wire on #17
Tee pads not poured
Other Thoughts: This course is still very new, and my review is applicable to the day I played it. Several of the tee pads were just dirt, with 2x4s staked around them for formwork. Hopefully nobody falls on the steel stakes.

The grass/blackberry bush rough is a disc eater and leg scraper. Do whatever you can to stay on the fairway or you will be searching for a good part of your round.

The difficulty was a plus for me, and I was having a good time until hole 17. This hole looks as though it had a bomb dropped on it. If you go right watch out for the barbed wire that is buried deep in the ground on one end. It wrapped around my leg and got me pretty good.

Once all the tees are poured and #17 gets groomed a little, this will be one of the nicest courses around. As it stands it's good but not great.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bring a machete

1    8/20/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: Booman
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Challenging course that requires long accurate throws

Lots of par 4s and 5s so lots of room to air em out

Nice baskets

Tee signs and bench at every hole

Large Tee pads

Nice fairways

Close to Portland
Cons: Some holes have water completely unmarked on the tee signs including #10 with a mud pond like 10 feet behind the basket.

The roughest rough I have ever seen in my life.

Some holes only defined by Brutal blackberries and tall grass that eat discs.

Sometimes confusing to navigate.
Other Thoughts: For the early part of the round we were enjoying ourselves but after a while it just became stupid with even a slightly errand shot punished by minutes of searching through the thickest most brutal rough ever. By the end of the round in a 5 person group we had lost 6 discs. With several others recovered only after a lot of time spent hacking through blackberries that were cutting all of our legs up. Basically it got to the point that the main thing defining the holes was blackberries and tall grass which is not only boring but if you get off the fairway by as little as 4 or 5 feet you could easily lose your disc. Spotters highly recommended on many of the holes. Every time we saw another group they were hacking around in the blackberries too. We got sick of it and left without playing the last 2 holes.

I have to say that the disc golfers that put in this course must have done a ton of work and I feel bad giving it a bad review but I have to be honest. Also because this course is so new it is probably as bad as it will ever be right now. The good news is that it can only get better as more and more people play here and hopefully tame the blackberries a bit. I however will not be playing here again any time too soon with so many more enjoyable courses in the area.

6 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Big Beautiful Blue Monster

1    8/15/2012   8/16/2012
Review By: morefadeplz
Played: 96  Reviewed: 1
8 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: True "golf" experience.
Requires every shot in the game.
Par requires TWO or THREE good shots rather than only one.
HUGE teepads.
Beautiful fairways which will only improve with time.
Pay to play will weed out less desirable elements.
Cons: Hole 12 goes against the general feel of the course, it is antithesis to the flow and feel of the rest of the course. I think it is a good hole, just felt peculiar considering all the rest of the holes. It felt like a throwback to the traditional idea of a disc golf hole where the rest of the course was more of a departure.
Hole 17 needs work, and to be played alot. Right now it is very rough, but Im sure in three months this will be remedied.
Other Thoughts: Blue lake is an amazing venue. It has the feel of a ball golf course. It requires a full drive from nearly every teepad, and much like ball golf good numbers will be determined by up-shots and putts. It is awesome to get away from the drive-putt-drive-putt rigors of most "par 54" disc golf courses. As disc technology evolves and players throw farther and farther courses like this are required to continue testing the abilities and limits of our sport. The winner of any tournament at Blue Lake will not be the best in the woods or the biggest arm, but rather the most well rounded competitor. I hope that out of towners who play this course will go back to their home courses and start looking for property to build a "Blue Lake" of their own.

8 of 13 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.