Lodi, CA 
Micke Grove Share
Uploaded By: Mavurick Hole #17 (Taken 2/2014)
3 / 250ft.   3 / 280ft.   3 / 295ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee Sign



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
L.T.

1    7/2/2014   7/2/2014
Review By: swatso
Played: 347  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 7/10/2014
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
5'x12' concrete teepads. Teesigns showing the three possible pin positions, and directions to next tee. Trash cans.

Practice basket. Bathrooms. Plenty of parking, with an option to start at number-7.
Cons:
Out-of-bounds drive paralleling many fairways/near some basket positions - while non disc-eating oob is a good thing, it being something cars use is a bad thing.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays in a zigzagging, clockwise manner in the (primarily) unused open space of a multi-purpose park. There are some random bits of minor elevation change, but the majority of the holes are quite flat. The Little Trees that are present on most holes generate the primary challenges, as they grow in many small, scattered groupings, with occasional mid-sized tree support. This combination is used to form a variety of shot-shape requirements (nothing extreme), often forcing the throw to have little altitude, other where up-n-over the trees is needed, and a few times where the player can decide which seems best - both shape-wise, and height-wise.

The landscape falls into three groupings - green/maintained (basket-12 through tee-17), the dry outer rim (2; 5-11), and the semi-arid remainder. Depending upon pin position, and experience of player, water could potentially come into play the last three holes, but likely won't. A few of the outer rim holes appear to have a concrete-but-unsigned alternate tee.

While I liked the short, left-turning, ace run, elevated tee to (slight) runaway green #12, my favourite hole was number-17. Again from an elevated tee, the basket sits amid a collection the trees, so throwing over them then diving/fading onto the basket seems the best tactic. Beware, however, the water (far) to the left, but also the trees holding your disc hostage - while not large, their foliage is thick - took me a solid 10-minutes to find which one was holding my disc hostage. Fortunately, it was small enough that I could shake the disc loose, as my tree-climbing skills are sorely lacking :-).

A good course offering both opportunities and challenges, worth a visit if in the area,

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good for beginners

1    5/28/2014   5/30/2014
Review By: shaned77
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good beginner course
Restrooms
Scenic
Cons: Most of course is dirt
No shade trees
Other Thoughts: This was my first course played. I didn't feel overwhelmed here and I didn't lose a disc. Most of the course was dirt which made it really hot and my discs got dinged up.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

I feel this place is underrated.

5+    11/21/2013   3/13/2014
Review By: Numbnuts
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Nice location
*Good difficulty curve
*Nice variability of terrain
*Restrooms nearby most of the time
*Clean course
*Multiple pin positions
*Wont be stepping on other players due to layout
Cons: *A bit flat on the front half
*Park closes at sundown
*Kinda pricy at $6 a carload to play
*Tall fence nearby on a few holes
Other Thoughts: This is the newest course I have played, and having Stockton as my previous closest course, I was elated to learn of this place. I enjoy it much more. The pins are varied, and there is a road in the park area you will have to mind the traffic at times, which is OB. There are a fair number of Dog Legs, all reasonable. The pins are all pretty good distance, 250-450ft mostly upping the difficulty in the few cases where the shot is pretty straightforward. Some blind shots and elevation changes up the ante. I have not experienced the mud issue I've read about here. On the back nine, there is a dirt area, then goes to grass, to me this terrain variability greatly enhances the experience. The established trees and natural obstacles all make for an enjoyable course. Recommended.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Micke Grove - fun times

1    3/2/2014   3/2/2014
Review By: Fntsygamr
Played: 27  Reviewed: 23
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Easy layout, good course for beginners (hole 1-15), nice people at the front gate. Lost discs on display at gate, if returned. Parking was good and short walk to #1 tee. Great place to picnic and play. Will be shady when trees are full.
Cons: WIND, WIND, WIND
Water pins on 16,17,18 are not good for those beginners who can't control their shots. Needs benches for a quick rest. No garbage cans!! Needs more for garbage.
Other Thoughts: Will be back during better weather conditions. First time I've EVER left a course without my discs. Lost a putter and a driver...both in the pond.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun 18 hole course

5+    12/22/2013   12/23/2013
Review By: Mavurick
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Played the 18 holes twice today. The course is in great shape.

Can't get over how huge the Tee Pads are. They are plenty long and wide. They are the best I have ever played on (what you would expect from a newer course).

The signs are perfect: good map of where the hole placements are regarding the trees, color coded holes, and hole placement marked with its distance. The cap on top of the sign post marks the location of where the basket is placed. Best system I have seen to date.

Hole 18 was in it water hazard position which I dig. All holes have 3 basket placements.

I enjoy how some of the holes are on pure grass like a real golf course. You won't be able to skip your discs up to the baskets like dirt. It makes them a different challenge.
Cons: All the holes were in RED placements (shortest). Most, if not, all holes were under 300'. I am wondering if they had a junior or female tournament recently. I would have liked at least a mix of short and long holes (which they usually have).

Hole #2, #5, and #6 are almost identical to each other.

Occasionally have to wait for cars, bicycles, or people to pass by on the roads or walking paths. But the wait is not long.

You do have to pay $5 - weekdays, $6 - weekends, $10 - special holidays. But it's well worth the price.
Other Thoughts: Some complain about when the baskets are in the water hazard positions. Well good news, there is a local that tries to pull out all the discs from the pond every few months or so. He will call you if you have your number on the disc. He was there today. He had already rescued 7 discs. If you don't want to chance it, get the floating Wahoo (throws = to a Valkyrie or Champion Tern) for hole #16, #17, or #18. It throws well for those 3 placements. But please do one or the other vs complaining so they will continue to periodically use the water hazard placements for added risk/fun. Hardly any other DGC's in the region have water we get to throw around.

Overall it is one of the better courses in Northern California. Can't wait to go back.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

No Micke Mouse course!

1    7/11/2013   7/12/2013
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I love how many trees there are to contend with here! Frustrating at times, but that just makes the good shots feel that much better. Only one other person on the course, and he was super friendly. This course is as cute as the Pudu Pudus at the Zoo onsite.
Cons: Flat, and not too long.
Other Thoughts: I came to Micke Grove about 3 years ago with my family to visit the parks and zoo, and thought back then it would be a great grounds for disc golf. Well, my wish came true, and designers didn't disappoint! I thought it would be easy, but turned out to be quite technical, yet leisurely. Very enjoyable.
==================
Uniqueness: A- (similar to nearby Oak Grove, but shorter & with more trees)
Difficulty: A- (trees, OB, more trees, flat)
Fun Factor: A (surprisingly challenging, rewarding birdies)
Aesthetics: A- (clean, some grassy areas, good layout for limited space)
---------------------
Overall: A-

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

lodi

2-4    3/1/2013   4/22/2013
Review By: Don DiscHulk
Played: 137  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 24.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Big teepads, and many pin positions. Love the teesign setup, where the cap color tells you the location of the pin. medium distances, nice use of elevations, obstacles, and the lake
Cons: Most the course is dirt, but near the front of the park it gets on manacured grass. Hole 3's teepad is u shaped, not level at all. get a map at the paybooth when you pay for parking, as this can be confusing for players who rarely play this course
Other Thoughts: nice course out in the middle of nowhere, definintly will play again when i'm in the area

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Best course in the area

5+    2/20/2013   2/20/2013
Review By: noodraider
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Brand new baskets.
Hole 18 ends at Tee 1.
Practice Tee.
Friendly locals.
Baskets change location every week or so.
Nice scenery.
Easy to navigate.
Most of the trees are skinny or small.
PVC pipe availible for fetching discs.
Well groomed course.
Cons: Long distance from Basket 6 to Tee 7.
Hole 12 is sometimes in real whack position way off to the right.
A couple of the front holes are boring.
Other Thoughts: If you park on the North Side of the outer fence you don't need to pay and can start on Hole 14, ending right where you started on Hole 13 for a fun 18. BE CAREFUL! THERE IS NO PARKING ON THE EAST SIDE OF THE OUTER FENCE.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun New 18 Done Well

1    12/8/2012   12/8/2012
Review By: Hazer
Played: 141  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cement tees and 3 pin placements on 16 of the 18 holes (hole 1 has 1 pin and another hole has 2 pins). Very well made signs showing hole layout, pin placements with distances, and out-of-bounds areas. The sign poles have different colored caps indicating the current pin location (each pin on the signs is in a different color). 1/3-1/2 of the baskets are moved weekly to alternate pin placements. Lots of trees to shoot around. There is a large, deep pond that is in play on 3 holes, especially on hole 18. Well maintained beautiful park with facilities on site. Moderately challenging with some decent distance and technical shots.
Cons: Pay to play ($5 per car on weekdays, $6 on weekends). This doesn't downgrade the quality of the course for me but it is still a negative aspect in my book. The course has many trees but it still feels very open. There is only a little elevation change throughout the course. Some holes play close to the road, so a really bad shot could mean you have to hike all the way around the park fence to retrieve your disc. Depending on the pin placement some baskets can be close to other tees.
Other Thoughts: I was actually very impressed by this course. After reading the reviews I didn't know what to expect but the developers did a great job with the space available. The course layout is easy to navigate and hole 18 ends where hole 1 begins, right next to the parking lot. The layout isn't extremely challenging but isn't extremely easy either. I like that the park road and beyond is marked as out-of-bounds areas as it adds some difficulty to the course. As for hitting cars or buildings; it would take a really bad, and long shot to hit the booth at the park entrance. Car traffic is minimal so a little patience and courtesy to let a car pass before throwing can eliminate any danger of hitting a car. Overall I enjoyed playing the course very much and will return soon and often. Thank you Mike for the guided round :-)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nice, but in progress.

1    11/3/2012   11/24/2012
Review By: Speedly
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Park is pretty and well-kept.
- Brand new course, so teesigns are not vandalized and baskets are in excellent condition.
- Lots of different shots need to be used here.
- Not far from Sacramento.
- Most of the holes show nice design and challenge without becoming stupidly hard.
- Teesigns are present with well-made maps.
Cons: - Some holes bring roads, the front building, or fences into play.
- Trees are super-grabby.
- Some holes seem to be placed in arbitrary areas without a lot of thought to design.
- No marker to show which pin position is currently in use on teesigns.
- Pay to play isn't my favorite, because you risk paying to play a course that you'll hate (although you chance finding a course that you find to be awesome, too!).
Other Thoughts: This park is super pretty. The fountain, the zoo, the lake, the bridge, the well-kept grass and the challenge scream for you to play here.

The only really bad part about this place is the fact that a fair number of the holes here, especially with certain pin positions, can have you playing over roads or near a high fence. Hitting cars is an obvious danger, but if you manage to pull one over the fence, you have quite the trek ahead of you - the only way out is the front gate, where you would have to go all the way around to your disc, and all the way back.

One of the holes, when thrown RHBH (or RHFH if it skips), goes directly at the cars coming into the park, risking damage to the booth and cars.

Overall, it does need some polishing, but I think that they made pretty good use of the land. It seems like it used to be an orchard, so there are lines of trees that are fun to throw through. I also like that there are multiple pin positions on each hole, so you don't get bored with the same old thing.

The potential is high for this course to be amazing, and I might go back.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.