Springfield, MN 
The Links of Springfield Share
Uploaded By: DerekTonn Hole #6 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 222ft.   3 / 252ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Am Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Thanks Derek

1    5/16/2014   5/16/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 348  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Dual tees
+Great signage. This is much needed as it would be hard to find the next tee a few times. The signs tell you all you need to know.
+Nice baskets- Innova. In great shape.
+Water hazards that are very, very fair and add a bit of fun to this course. Some of the baskets could even be closer to the river in order to add challenge. Hole 17 was a fun shot from a small peninsula to a basket near the pond.
+Decent variety here. There are some open holes, some wooded, some a little more wooded. There are many shorter holes and some longer ones. Nothing really long.
+Great use of not so great land. Derek combined many narrow pieces of land into a solid course.
+You really shouldn't lose a disc here. The river isn't that close and the woods are not too thick. The river is also pretty clear and shallow. Retrieval is possible.
+Good for all levels of players- despite what previous reviews said, it isn't really very hard. The holes near the river aren't that hard and the woods aren't that tight. The tighter holes are also very short.
+Cool sign with distances to other courses.
+Lots of ace runs here.
Cons: -The flow is pretty bad. This is entirely to do with the land that they had to work with. They piecemeal-ed small pieces of land together to make an 18 hole course. Look at the tee sign to remember where it says to go next. Lots of walking involved in this layout.
-Tees are natural. Some were pretty muddy and wet.
-The course is on the shorter side overall.
-Some filler holes later in the round. 14 and 16 were pretty open and not fun.
-If this course gets significant use, erosion will be an issue.
Other Thoughts: +This course is much better than the layout that it replaced. Well done.
+This course is the best in the area. I would also recommend Upper Plum Creek to the west of Springfield on Highway 14. This course is worth a stop for sure.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

splish splash my discs were taking a bath

1    5/15/2013   5/24/2013
Review By: edricMN
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great Discatcher Baskets
Very nicely designed signs
18 holes - very few in SW Minnesota
Two tees on most holes.
Many mature trees
Very challenging course many different style shots.
Love the sign between holes #1 and #2 it has distances to other well know courses.
Cons: Tee pads are natural, they do have a railroad tie at each location.
If you are a newbie this isn't the course for you.
If it is your first time without a map you will be extremely frustrated because distance to next hole can be far away in many cases with no signs giving directions.
There maybe some issues with others by the pond on 16 and others in this area.
Other Thoughts: I like it because it is different from other courses because all of the water hazards and many trees to deal with.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Tough to Play for Amateur

1    9/29/2012   10/2/2012
Review By: 2and31guy
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 18 Holes in Southwestern MN
Signage is really nice and pretty easy to follow
Baskets are clearly marked and will catch the discs.
Cons: A good amount of the front nine is literally right next to river, with a straight drop off bank.
Hopefully it will never happen, but if spring floods come, first 9 will lose a few holes.
A good throw might be 20 yards at this course for the majority of the holes. Anyone wanting to let loose with your discs will not like this course.
Other Thoughts: I want to first commend the City and Volunteers who have spent many hours and funds to put a 18 hole course in Springfield, MN. I wish I could rate this course higher than I did. I was very excited to play the newly designed course, but after the 2nd hole, I wish I would have went somewhere else. Holes 3 through 10 are dangerously close to river and unless you are a pro that never hits trees and knows exactly where your discs are headed, you will lose discs in the river. A simple bounce off the tree or a disc landing and rolling will be deposited into the Cottonwood river and hardly any way to retrive it.
I am imagining that this course is really made for the Pro and maybe it will bring them in. To grow the sport of Discgolf in SW Minnesota, I don't think the amatuer will want to play this more than once.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One of the 2-3 best courses in SW Minnesota

2-4    8/26/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: DerekTonn
Played: 345  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 37.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Excellent use of available land. Lots of small changes in elevation, weaving through countless mature trees, with the River and/or Pond always lurking nearby if you get careless/greedy.
- Will have new signage on all 30 Pro/Am tees before 9/15/12, along with 3-4 "mando" signs for holes which require them.
- Multiple basket positions on Holes 1 and 12 for now, with multiple basket positions on Holes 10 and 18 planned in the future.
- Rewards accuracy off the tee and with your putter to post a great score (very few chances at a "lucky" 2/3).
- 12-15 parking stalls within 50 feet of the first tees.
- A great deal of effort has been made to beautify the land via removing weeds/debris, putting down wood chips on numerous holes, flower beds, etc.
- Porta-potty by Holes 15-16.
Cons: - Short course. Only 1-2 shots off the Am/Rec tee and 2-3 shots off the Pro/Tourney tee to let 'er rip with a driver.
- Natural tees. Concrete tees are planned in the future (as budget allows), but current tees leave something to be desired.
- No close access to drinking water on the course during one's round.
Other Thoughts: I've played over 60 courses around the area, and the only courses that I can think of which are similar to this one are Hibbing (18) and Grand Rapids (18). The Cedar Creek East/West complex is still the #1 place in SW Minnesota to play disc golf, IMHO. But other than maybe Adrian, MN and Land of Memories in Mankato, there might not be a better, more unique place to play DG between the W/SW suburbs of MSP (Norwood Young America area) and Sioux Falls, SD.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.