Chapin, SC 
Crooked Creek Park - Original 18 Share
Uploaded By: S.Cann Hole #14 (Taken 1/2011)
3 / 219ft.   3 / 283ft.   3 / 138ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Short Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Solid Disc Golf Course

1    8/21/2016   8/26/2016
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 69  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 6 Years
Pros: 18 hole primarily wooded course in a really nice multi-purpose township park. Multiple adequately-sized tee pads at each hole and secondary basket placements on most. There are large tee signs, benches, trash cans and bag poles present. "Next tee" signs assist with navigation which is otherwise pretty easy to follow. There are some good holes here, especially in the middle of the course: hole 7 features a short downhill shot to an island, hole 8 is an uphill straight shot that demands placement for the 90 degree right turn to the basket fairway, and holes 9 and 10 feature a unique layout in which both holes can be played in either direction depending on pin placement. Hole 15 features a short hyzer to a basket placed on an elevated mound in the short position and hole 2 is a really nice anhyzer shot to a basket across the creek. Very fair layout with defined fairways and manageable distances. The little elevation on the course is well-utilized.
Cons: For my tastes, there are too many RHFH shots needed off the tee. Older shallow baskets can lead to missed putts. Several of the signs should be updated to reflect accurate distances and basket placement. There is pedestrian traffic here, dog walkers and runners. Will not appeal to the big guns who like to grip and rip.
Other Thoughts: Crooked Creek Park in Chapin is named for the narrow, shallow creek which snakes throughout the course. Played here in a tournament on a recent trip from NJ to SC and was not disappointed. CCP offers a good, solid disc golf experience. There is challenge without ever feeling overwhelmed. There are fairway options on many holes and good overall variety. The OB throughout the course is neither unfair nor oppressive. And it is a nice park within a REALLY nice town. There are another 9 holes on the opposite end of the park called the "club holes" that feature more distance and more open looks that are rated separately from the main 18 hole layout.

To me, this course is a bit better than a 3.5 and probably not quite a 4.0. But the people down here and the care that's gone into the park bump it up a notch. I hope to be back!


Great city course

5+    8/21/2016   8/22/2016
Review By: hellbound
Played: 59  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -multiple pin placements on most of the holes.
- blue white and red tees on all the holes.
- fairways are ample and fair to multiple routes
-benches and trash cans at all the holes
- course flows smooth for the most part from hole to hole.
-shallow creek comes into play on a number of holes.
Cons: - transition to hole 12 can get you lost little but is easy to discover after a min or two.
- older style baskets with shallow basket on bttm. Not a big deal for me as it take me back to courses I learned on but to some it could be a turn off.
- Tee signs are little had to figure out what pin placement its in. Locks are used to tell you below the sign but are not updated. One of them even had all three pins marked as in.
- One alternate basket is a Salient basket. Just a heads up.
Other Thoughts: Crooked Creek is a local favorite and a well loved and played course. Hole one starts you off on a lefty backhand for a 200 ace run. Followed by a 300 foot down hill across the creek to a guarded pin placement. From there the course winds thru the wood to give you multiple lane choices and will test the best of an average disc golfer has. Backhands forehands and tommies may be needed to get yourself a great score.

Get done with your round and you can test yourself on the club nine that runs around the baseball field and other parts of the park. Or take on a different view with one of the other pads at the holes.

Crooked creek is around 20 min north of Columbia is well worth the extra drive time in the area. Look forward to many more rounds when ever I'm in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice fairly wooded course

5+    6/11/2016   6/21/2016
Review By: ojdash
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -fair fairways (not a ton of pull and pray shots, but actual lanes)
-solid concrete tees
-2.5 sets of tees (there are technically red, white and blue...white will double with blue or red much of the time though"pro 9" if you need more length and openness
- well manicured
- fair OB (walking path, creek and baseball field)
- good mix of short and longer holes
-many holes don't feel like birdie or die holes (you have to lay up to other lanes or fairways)
Cons: - signage is old and outdated on some of the holes
- park can have many walkers
- not many other disc golf parks in the area so this one can be busy (though most of the time it's been fine for me)
- restroom access not the easiest
Other Thoughts: This is a solid, fun, local course that is fairly technical and has a good mix of hole difficulties. Several holes are relatively simple...Thinking 1, 3 (in short position), 4, 10 (in right position), 12, and 15. They are shorter and semi more open lanes holes that you can throw a simple hyzer or slight anny. There are a few short holes that are very technical (hole 6 with a mando and 4' wide fairway comes to mind and 7...the downhill island!) and several longer holes. I really like the mix at this course...There are no "bombs" to be thrown really, even with the longer tees, but the "pro 9" in the same park has some you can air out. Definitely not the best course I've played but very enjoyable. My personal best is a 52 at the course, though I almost always shoot in the mid 50's ( I am an intermediate player). There are several tee signs that say par 5 that are obviously old and at most could be considered 4's....(Hence the the score 52 as opposed to -?). They have been putting up some new signs that are very helpful lately...and one all the holes gets new signage, it will be even better. Hole 9 and 10 can go 1 of two ways (they can switch fairways and pin positions!!) and it's one of the more unique setups I've seen in disc golf. My dad lives in Prosperity and we come back to this course again and again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

1    6/30/2014   7/8/2014
Review By: DGLobo999
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice layout with lots of options on holes and routes with alternate placements and tees. Good tees. Signage okay. Lots of risk/reward. Good variation in distance and shots required. Very enjoyable and mostly easy to navigate.
Cons: A bit wooly and overgrown in places when I played. The tee shot in #6 (I think) where you have to throw over the walking path seems very dangerous and hardly worth the risk of hitting a walker with a blind hyzer. Lost hole #12 completely - never did find the hole but went on to #13. Need some help there.
Other Thoughts: Very much worth stopping and playing. Kudos to the designers.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Well shaded and fun course

1    5/20/2014   5/26/2014
Review By: ricklev
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice birdie opportunities through the trees
-Nex-T signs are fairly easy to follow to get to the next tee
-It's a nice walk in the park, whether you play well or not
-Trees provide nice shade when it's hot, though this also invites bugs.
Cons: -Some garbage, though fortunately it appears they do a pretty good job of putting it in the trash
-Some construction going on near hole #11
Other Thoughts: People in this park were very friendly. There are a few interesting holes with a creek surrounding the basket area, though some parts of the creek did not have water. Hole #17 offers a really nice drive off the tee with a dogleg left at the end. The fairway shot into the basket on an island keeps it interesting. I really enjoyed #17 and played it a few times. Overall, I had a great time playing this course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/4/2014   4/4/2014
Review By: rwe366
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great Mix of holes.
I really liked holes 6,,7,8. You got a tomahawk then the island then a tough par 3 or relatively easy par 4. Miss your drive and you are looking at a 4.
-Great Signage
- Several Benches
- Nice Park with baseball fields tennis courts, rec center etc.
- Several ace opportunities.
Cons: - There is not a single hole where you can just bomb it. I usually don't throw anything faster than a TeeBird.
- People often are running and you need to watch before throwing especially if you go to the long fairway on number 8.
- Needs more trashcans
Other Thoughts: Great Course and defiantly will come again.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/7/2013   12/7/2013
Review By: smierzy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Well laid out park setting , mostly short technical holes - including an island green . Very much worth the drive - extra 9 is a must play .
Cons: Cannot remember anything negative about this course .
Other Thoughts: Very player friendly overall .

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 mcawesomeville

1    7/26/2013   7/26/2013
Review By: bbobsuek
Played: 87  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 24.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful rolling property
Large concrete tee pads...long and short
Nice signs at long tee-box
Short jog off i26 for the travelling player
Fair fairways some with right left options

Crooked Creek is almost perfect. A tactical stroll through the woods requiring accurate shot lines with left and right equally balanced. Nicely designed fairways with risk reward landing zones and protected pins. Not to incredibly long with short tees for newer or just having more fun runs. Plenty of elevation with a few more open holes. Fun factor is high.
Park is very clean and a great use of space.
Cons: Not always obvious where next hole is. $50 worth of signs or the old directional arrow every time would be nice.
Other Thoughts: If you love dgolf do not pass the opportunity to play this Duvall Masterpiece. I could go into dissertations on this hole or that but you need to see for yourself.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 More Crooked than Ever

2-4    2/6/2013   2/6/2013
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 277  Reviewed: 173  Exp: 13.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Crooked Creek is a very fun course with some memorable holes and some challenging ones as well. All of the holes have nice concrete pads, many with two tees, and signs with maps are posted on each hole as well. Baskets are all in good shape, and several have multiple positions. There are also trash cans occasionally along the way. I like the mix of shorter fun holes and longer, crooked fairways. Fairways are lightly wooded to open mostly. Lefts and rights are also blended fairly evenly, and moderate elevation change is incorporated on several holes nicely. Water is in play on several holes around the course. 1 and 4 are shortys, ace run possibilities. Six is very short and has THICK woods. The 7th is the island hole, short but very fun. 8, 13, and 17 are some nice, longer holes.
Cons: There is a network of walking trails that cross a few fairways, and it often brings a lot of pedestrians closer to the course than I would like. I can not think of any other serious problems here.
Other Thoughts: The Crooked Creek disc golf courses are in woods surrounding a nice community Recreation Center and around the edges of the ball parks. Other park users will likely be near the course, so be careful. Both the Original 18 and the Pro 9 are good courses, and worth the visit.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/29/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: medic5888
Played: 18  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very well maintained course on though the woods of of a rec park.
Some challenging holes.
Multiple tee pads and pin placement
Cons: Some pin placement is just ridiculous and stupid doesnt make the course more challenging or fun... to me it seems they tried to extend the holes by cutting into the woods on totally different directions to where the course no longer flows.. I know some people will say yes its more challenging and who cares how a holes fairway flows, you can make a hole tougher without making it just a ridiculous shot.
Other Thoughts: My opinion this used to be a great course till they started messing with it. When the "challenging" pin locations were put into place I think it ruined it. I'm sure people will be very angry when they read this, keep in mind its just my opinion.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.