Disc Golf Store
Chapin, SC 
Crooked Creek Park - Original 18 Share
Uploaded By: Citadelly Hole #7 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 112ft.   3 / 170ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    4/4/2014   4/4/2014
Review By: rwe366
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great Mix of holes.
I really liked holes 6,,7,8. You got a tomahawk then the island then a tough par 3 or relatively easy par 4. Miss your drive and you are looking at a 4.
-Great Signage
- Several Benches
- Nice Park with baseball fields tennis courts, rec center etc.
- Several ace opportunities.
Cons: - There is not a single hole where you can just bomb it. I usually don't throw anything faster than a TeeBird.
- People often are running and you need to watch before throwing especially if you go to the long fairway on number 8.
- Needs more trashcans
Other Thoughts: Great Course and defiantly will come again.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

More Crooked than Ever

2-4    2/6/2013   2/6/2013
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 238  Reviewed: 132  Exp: 11.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Crooked Creek is a very fun course with some memorable holes and some challenging ones as well. All of the holes have nice concrete pads, many with two tees, and signs with maps are posted on each hole as well. Baskets are all in good shape, and several have multiple positions. There are also trash cans occasionally along the way. I like the mix of shorter fun holes and longer, crooked fairways. Fairways are lightly wooded to open mostly. Lefts and rights are also blended fairly evenly, and moderate elevation change is incorporated on several holes nicely. Water is in play on several holes around the course. 1 and 4 are shortys, ace run possibilities. Six is very short and has THICK woods. The 7th is the island hole, short but very fun. 8, 13, and 17 are some nice, longer holes.
Cons: There is a network of walking trails that cross a few fairways, and it often brings a lot of pedestrians closer to the course than I would like. I can not think of any other serious problems here.
Other Thoughts: The Crooked Creek disc golf courses are in woods surrounding a nice community Recreation Center and around the edges of the ball parks. Other park users will likely be near the course, so be careful. Both the Original 18 and the Pro 9 are good courses, and worth the visit.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Super Little Course

1    6/11/2011   6/15/2011
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 45  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nicely designed with great tee pads (multiple ones at that!) and signage. Park has matured very well and it's easy to find shots that were thrown waaay of course. There is a creek that winds through that is dry during the summer, but can be deep and flowing during the winter
Cons: Lots of pedestrian traffic and kids not looking where they are running. Walk paths cross through the course creating issues with kids on bikes.

Other Thoughts: There are 8 alternates outside the main course. They aren't marked well (no tee pads just markers), but add a completely different element to the course. Most are pretty long giving your the chance to break out the drivers you can't use on the original 18.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Really fun wooded course

1    4/19/2011   5/13/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a nice wooded area with a creek running through and some nice elevation changes. Most holes play with some kind of elevation change, and many have dropoffs or slopes around the pin to add challenge to your short game. The creek is used really well as a hazard on several holes, with water around the pin or making you choose between the risky ace/deuce run and the safer layup.

The course plays pretty short from the shorter set of tees, the longer tees have a little more variety in length. There aren't any bomber holes, but there's enough different lengths to keep it interesting. The hole shapes are varied, and strike a nice balance for lefty or righty players. You won't throw the same shot many times here, there are lots of birdies available but only if you hit your lines through the woods. The concrete tees and baskets are in good shape, and there's decent signage showing hole layouts and distances.
Cons: The biggest con here is the added 8 holes. They feel totally different from the rest of the course, and don't feel at all finished. There is no signage and barely marked natural tees, making navigation difficult. They don't seem nearly as well maintained, there's one longer hole that wasn't mowed so it was possible to lose a disc on the fairway if you weren't watching carefully.

On the original holes, a walking path comes into play a few times, a little bit of a safety issue. The new 10 and 11 aren't quite finished, with stumps and roots still all over the fairways waiting to trip you. The course is a little on the short side, even from the long tees, it's a lot of fun but there aren't any legitimate par 4 shots.
Other Thoughts: This course is a pretty good beginner course, especially from the short tees. The length is reasonable, and the water is avoidable, there is some rough if you miss the fairways but not enough that a new player will be losing discs in it. More experienced players will have a great time going for birdies here, there are lots of fun and creative shots, but not a ton of real challenge beyond shaping shorter shots through the woods.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 so beautiful

1    8/4/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: CatFish
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Awesome signage, beautiful course, Multiple concrete tees, multiple pin locations. trash cans, well maintained. A few are through sparse trees, some are open, some are through trees with nice fairways. Challenging and easy holes.
Cons: Maybe a little over parred. A par 4 or two may need to be a 3. A par 5 needs to be a 3. Holes nine and ten have changed to new holes, and are not easy to find. However, there is a nice park HQ and they provide maps and explain everything.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait for 9 and 10 to be finished, course is about an hour and a half away and I will definitely be back. Gorgeous course, go play it. Beginner or advanced, you will enjoy it.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 best in the area

2-4    7/1/2009   7/18/2009
Review By: Unkles27
Played: 68  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of the terrain available. Stream is used well throughout the course, forming an island hole at point. If you do end up in the stream it should be rather easy to recover, even if the stream can be a bit nasty (I've seen much worse). Wide variety of holes, some that go straight, some turn left, some turn right. Just about every shot could be used successfully here. Elevation is also used successfully throughout the course, in both fast greens and uphill/downhill shots. The course is in the woods, but all of the fairways (possibly with the exception of #8) are fair and good shots will be rewarded. Signage is decent, I got a little mixed up and pars but always new where I was and where to go next. Multiple pin positions.
Cons: Construction on holes 10 and 11 has turned the pin for 10 into a giant mudpit and hole 11 is gone. This course can be very muddy after rains and it can be buggy, from mosquitoes to fire ants. It can get pretty crowded. It is out of the way, in a mostly rural town.
Other Thoughts: This is the best course in the Columbia area. If you are in Columbia and don't mind the 30 or so minute drive from downtown this is where I would play.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Crooked Creek isn't as crooked as you'd expect...

2-4    6/20/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: HolySchnell
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is quite nice and GREAT for summer days as most of the course is shaded. Many holes have some interaction with the course's namesake that make for more interesting holes without much serious risk of losing a disc if it goes in the water. The course is heavily wooded so beware of turning discs into tacos! Two holes play by baseball fields and several play near a walking path so beware of "innocent bystanders". There isn't too much in terms of extreme elevation change but just enough to keep things interesting. A huge variety of shots will be needed on this course though so bring everything you got!

All the baskets are in good condition as well as the concrete tee pads (most holes have two). The tee signs are great, they have all the information you will need plus most have an extra platform on them (donated by a local countertop company it seems) to set a drink/bag/whatever on while you throw. Distance between hole and next tee isn't bad and are pretty easy to find. Benches and trash cans are located throughout the course to help keep it clean and give you a place to relax. The facility at the entrance is air conditioned with clean restrooms and water fountains, as well as people at the front desk if you need any help. Plenty of parking right next to the start of the course and hole 18 will drop you off right near your car.
Cons: This course gets quite crowded on the weekends and during the afternoon high school rush during the school year. I would advise getting there in the morning to get your round going. In some areas of the course, the areas off of the somewhat narrow fairways can be rough if you have to go find a disk and because of some of the standing water (creek doesn't move much), the bugs can be bad. Also, the creek stinks like nothing else so be sure you really love that disc before taking a dive.
Other Thoughts: Hole number 7 is amazing. It is a straight, downhill shot onto and island. My favorite hole on the course which is followed by my least favorite, number 8 which is a long hard dogleg to the right.

There are an additional 8 holes available for this course that begin in the trees to the immediate right of when you pull in. There aren't any teepads (just concrete markers) and these holes are kept as well as the main course. Just go into the welcome center and ask for a map and the people will be glad to help you out! If you only have time for 9 or 18, I would recommend playing the main course even though this 8 is almost never crowded and serves as a good warm up as these are longer holes.

Have fun and keep on discin!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 A- = Almost As Good As It Gets

5+    8/13/2006   5/1/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 368  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.4 Years
4 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up (from the longs):
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- A-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- A
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- A
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B+
5) Bonus amount for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

4 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice Course

5+    7/26/2006   5/23/2008
Review By: nosajeel99
Played: 37  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/15/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide variety of holes: left, right, short, long, tight, open. Many holes you actually have to think about your shot as opposed to just winging the disc. The island hole was pretty neat, if not frustrating.

Great tee pads and tee signs.

There were a lot of risk/reward holes, like hole #2 (do I try to drive over the creek or take the safe route and the easy 3). Some of the "easier" holes actually end up separating first from second place in a tournament. While easy 3s, a 2 is not all completely common.
Cons: When I was there, the course was not real well marked, but it wasn't too difficult to find my way around.

A few of the holes are short, but as I mentioned earlier, just because they are short doesn't mean it is a given "2." These short holes separate the good from the great players.
Other Thoughts: I frequented this course over several years and towards the end of my life in SC the DG Club started to expand the course, adding alternate pin settings and alternate tees. It is a very nice course overall and will challenge you more than once. Definitely worth a stop.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Wooded Course

3/13/2008   3/13/2008
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 115  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 19.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Most holes carved out of woods, with a good variety of right and left turns and technical shots. Mulitple tee-pads, several holes have mulitple pin placements that change periodically. In addition to original 18, there are 8 longer, more challenging holes, but they're separated a bit from the rest and you need a guide to find them.
Cons: A short course---few places to really air it out.
Other Thoughts: Other reviewer must have confused this course with another---I've never seen bums or crack-heads, as course is in a half-rural, half-upscale-suburban area, with no access from neighborhoods. I've probably played there several hundred times over the past 10 years.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.