Chapin, SC 
Crooked Creek Park - Original 18 Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 163ft.   3 / 218ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    10/7/2013   12/7/2013
Review By: smierzy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Well laid out park setting , mostly short technical holes - including an island green . Very much worth the drive - extra 9 is a must play .
Cons: Cannot remember anything negative about this course .
Other Thoughts: Very player friendly overall .

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

mcawesomeville

1    7/26/2013   7/26/2013
Review By: bbobsuek
Played: 85  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 22.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful rolling property
Large concrete tee pads...long and short
Nice signs at long tee-box
Short jog off i26 for the travelling player
Fair fairways some with right left options

Crooked Creek is almost perfect. A tactical stroll through the woods requiring accurate shot lines with left and right equally balanced. Nicely designed fairways with risk reward landing zones and protected pins. Not to incredibly long with short tees for newer or just having more fun runs. Plenty of elevation with a few more open holes. Fun factor is high.
Park is very clean and a great use of space.
Cons: Not always obvious where next hole is. $50 worth of signs or the old directional arrow every time would be nice.
Other Thoughts: If you love dgolf do not pass the opportunity to play this Duvall Masterpiece. I could go into dissertations on this hole or that but you need to see for yourself.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 THE Crooked Creek

5+    4/10/2011   4/12/2011
Review By: discninja
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: well-kept, and is kind of short but not that short at all. its not too long, but its kind of long. and if you want more, there is alt. holes along with it! and it also has multiple pin placements and multiple pads!
Cons: maybe just the people running about is kind of annoying...... be sure to watch out for them.
Other Thoughts: number 6 and number 7 are two of my favorites. however, I HATE number eight! and somtimes, it is best to drive with a putter or somthing that floats really well on number seven in order to make the island. I almost Aced that hole with the Blofly. and on number two be careful of the road to the left.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome!!!

1    6/29/2010   6/29/2010
Review By: boxmark25
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I played this course with my wife and two boys and we had a blast. The course was awesome and the area was beautiful.

The area around the tees was great. The signage was good and garbage cans at almost every tee box.

The multipurpose building was excellent and the workers were very helpful. The map on the back of the score cards was a great help.

The pro tees offered more variety in the course and there was also alternate pin placement.
Other Thoughts: Had a great time flinging the disc at this course. I believe it is a must play.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 "WInding Creek!"

1    1/15/2010   1/16/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 736  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Large dual concrete tees. This is especially important on all of the sloped holes. If they were natural or mulch or anything they would certainly not be level and smooth so the concrete is appreciated.
2) Awesome property with the "Crooked Creek" winding all through the property and in all sorts of directions. I would have called it "Winding Creek" instead.
3) Nice tee signs with all the important information. Hole #, par, and distance. They also have a diagram with multiple baskets indicated including all distances from all tees to all baskets.
4) The elevation changes on this course make it an incredible mix of challenge and terrain. Not only do you have the creek in play on multiple holes, but you also have hills, drop-offs, sidehills, and other difficult terrain to navigate.
5) Navigation is pretty easy through this winding course. It runs back and forth and then works its way back to the middle of the course to finish up. Just always keep your eyes peeled for the next tees and future baskets as you go through this course. The tee areas are very recognizable because they all have the tee signs, posts, benches and bag racks. This should help you to find the next hole and future holes on occasion.
6) Dual tees would make this course play very differently from each set of tees. There are many holes that would play very differently from the shorts than they do the longs allowing for 2 very different rounds. Sure the short tees make the course shorter and easier, but the shots you have to execute between the long and short holes can be very different.
7) There is a tremendous amount of variety in shot-shaping. You have to have your entire arsenal of turning shots and also high and low shots to take advantage of the drop-offs.
8) This course has some of the best variety in challenge and hole type that I have ever played. It has the winding creek, it has some real risk/reward holes, it has some uphillers and some downhillers, some on the sideslopes and some on flat ground. There isn't much variety in foliage density because the course mostly plays in the dense woods except hole #9.
9) Course design was very creative and took full advantage of the best locations on this course. The risk/reward was incredible on a few of the holes.
10) Signature Hole: I cannot decide there are a few. Island Hole on #7 with a 20' circle. Awesome hole, awesome risk, and awesome reward to shoot for the green. The baskets tucked around the winding creek are also pretty awesome creating some interesting shots.
11) Nice use of distance on certain holes to allow you to have different shots into different greens. I like to vary the discs I throw off the tee and to decide when driver really isn't the disc I need to throw.
12) Next tee signs are consistant and helpful in getting you to the next hole.
Cons: 1) Definitely not beginner friendly because of the filthy combination of elevation change, tight wooded holes, and water. What more can an advanced or pro player ask for. Even though there are short tees, the holes are only made easier by less distance. They are still extremely challenging even from the shorts.
2) Navigation got a little confusing in a few spots. Obviously there was no sign on #10 or 11 telling first timers that the holes are closed. I spent a few minutes looking for a basket and I knew Hole #11 was in the same area. And couldn't see either so I just went to Hole #12.
3) The heavy clay soils are wet and slick. They are leaf covered which is better than being bare but even the leaves can leave you with a sense of sure footing and it still might not even be there.
4) Walk path comes into play on a few occasions. I hate it when this happens but I also understand the multi use theory for parks. Sometimes activities interact.
5) Maintenance could be increased in a few areas specifically in regards to mulch being placed in areas that are bare and/or slick. There also are a few areas off the fairways that have piles of branches and brush.
Other Thoughts: I had a great time at this course so I am thrilled my GPS decided to begin working again when I was out in the area. This course truly had a ton of variety something I never get sick of. It had enough and good amenities including baskets, tee boxes, maintenance of fairway area, plus it had plenty to challenge you with tight woods, water shots, elevation changes. Not sure what else could be added to make it a better course, but I simply loved this course from beginning to end. I would play this course everyday if I lived in the area. it simply is that much fun. Some people may not agree with me but I just think this course (assuming #10 AND #11 are in) is one of the best courses I have played. It has all the amenities, it challenges from beginning to end, it has a variety in elevation, water, trees etc etc etc. It simply has everything. Most courses have 4 ou of 5 things this one has it all so I have to rate it accordingly. It is on the low end of the 4.5 disc rating in my opinion and would be a perfect 4.25 in my opinion, but I do not feel I can give this course a 4. Too many other courses I have given fours just dont live up to the whole package this course possesses.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 My new favorite

1    10/20/2009   10/20/2009
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/20/2010
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Big variety of shots, most are of the wooded variety but there are some killer doglegs in there.
Beautiful park, some decent elevation changes, nice creek in play on many holes.
Absolutely enormous tee pads.
Great signs, good navigation for the most part (next tee signs on most holes).
Benches and bag holders on most tees...this place has all the amenities.
Absolutely pristine grounds.
Unique holes like 7 and 15 along with several interesting blind holes give this course so much character that you could shoot 30 over and still have a smile.
Cons: Many walking paths in play, most of the time they are obvious and you just have to pay attention.
Hole 2 has a slight possibility of a disc going into traffic...I threw LHBH to mitigate any chance of that happening.
Other Thoughts: I could not stop talking to myself about this course as I played it. It really reminded me of Redan back in Atlanta but with a bit more challenge and even character. I cannot say enough about this course, I found it to be absolutely wonderful.

The sign par is obviously from days of yore but it will make you feel good when you finish below par...especially if you are like me and never manage to do so!!

Let's put it this way, this course is over 200 miles from me and I am going to figure out an excuse to come play again in the near future...its that fun.

Update:

A new hole 9,10 have been created with the old hole 9 being the new 11. Hole 9, 10 are a bit of an anomoly in that they are completely cleared fairways, but pretty good holes nonetheless...and they smell awesome with all the woodchips on the ground (ahh, that new hole smell...hahaha). Signage is rough because of this but I have no doubt it will be fixed at some point.

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Lovely Course Where Challenges Abound!

1    7/17/2009   7/19/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a wonderfully designed , constructed and maintained course. Crooked Creek provides much of the personality for this course as it meanders throughout and has gouged out some steep and interesting banks. This is the only course that I have played where everything matches. The benches, tee signs, garbage cans and even the bag holders are all made from the same matching type wood. Very cool indeed! The course is mostly fairly easy to navigate. There are red "next tees" signs in the trees to help. Although most of the baskets placements are in good spots two really stand out in my mind. A couple of reviewers have already mentioned # 7, the island basket surrounded by the creek. It's just a short 180 ft. downhill ace run but the creek can be trouble. # 14 is an elevated basket after about a 200 ft. tee off but what I like about it is that it's a "Fair" elevated basket. It actually has a little landing area. There are a couple of very tight doglegs. It's natural beauty.
Cons: #'s 10 and 11 are temporarily closed due to some drainage/enviromental work being done. It's a little short for the big arms.
Other Thoughts: I've put this on my favorites list. I want to take it back to Washington with me. This course is worth driving a distance to play. Especially when you couple it with some of the other great courses in the area.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Really Nice!

2-4    6/6/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: Shooter McGavin
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great Layout with a good mix of shot types needed and short walks between holes
-Really well marked, tee pads have maps of every hole with distances/pars
-Really well maintained, very clean.
-Some really good risk-reward situations to test your skills if you are up to it.
-It was closed when I was there, but the sign said the office there had a selection of discs for sale as well as lost/found discs.
Cons: When I went last basket 11 (I think) was gone for construction. Hole 10 was in the middle of a construction site (i.e all dug up mud surrounding) which was horrible after recent rain. Wish it was closer to downtown Columbia (about 30 min drive)
Other Thoughts: This is a challenging course but is still fun for beginners. I would highly recommend this for anyone in the nearby area.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.