Chapin, SC 
Crooked Creek Park - Original 18 Share
Uploaded By: Citadelly Hole #7 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 112ft.   3 / 170ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 

2-4    3/15/2012   3/23/2012
Review By: tiger5
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall a pretty challenging wooded course. I really like the design of the course, it forces you to shape shots and really be able to control your mid-ranges. A couple tight fairways and short par 3's.
Tee pads have bag holders and several of them have benches as well. The layout is a great use of terrain with a good mix up uphill, downhill and slanted hill shots. I would call this a right-hand friendly course, not a lot of dog-leg rights maybe only one on the entire course.
Very enjoyable course to play, worth checking out if your on I-26.
Cons: Signage and next tee markers would help a lot! First time playing I couldn't find several of the tee pads, ending up walking all the way back to the map at the first tee to take a pic of it with my phone.
Either hole 15 or 16 you have to walk back up the fairway of the previous hole in order to get to the next tee pad.
It's easy to get turned around if you've never played there before.
*There are a lot of people who use the walking trails around the course FYI, cause you can't see them on hole 5 from the tee pad. Even had a guy walk right up the fairway on one of the holes and didn't even know it, looking at us like we were crazy....
Other Thoughts: This course has potential for sure, I think if the signage was a little better it could easily be a 4+ in my opinion. The course is challenging, I threw a lot of mid-range, a little driver nothing crazy.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Super Little Course

1    6/11/2011   6/15/2011
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 70  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nicely designed with great tee pads (multiple ones at that!) and signage. Park has matured very well and it's easy to find shots that were thrown waaay of course. There is a creek that winds through that is dry during the summer, but can be deep and flowing during the winter
Cons: Lots of pedestrian traffic and kids not looking where they are running. Walk paths cross through the course creating issues with kids on bikes.

Other Thoughts: There are 8 alternates outside the main course. They aren't marked well (no tee pads just markers), but add a completely different element to the course. Most are pretty long giving your the chance to break out the drivers you can't use on the original 18.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Really fun wooded course

1    4/19/2011   5/13/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a nice wooded area with a creek running through and some nice elevation changes. Most holes play with some kind of elevation change, and many have dropoffs or slopes around the pin to add challenge to your short game. The creek is used really well as a hazard on several holes, with water around the pin or making you choose between the risky ace/deuce run and the safer layup.

The course plays pretty short from the shorter set of tees, the longer tees have a little more variety in length. There aren't any bomber holes, but there's enough different lengths to keep it interesting. The hole shapes are varied, and strike a nice balance for lefty or righty players. You won't throw the same shot many times here, there are lots of birdies available but only if you hit your lines through the woods. The concrete tees and baskets are in good shape, and there's decent signage showing hole layouts and distances.
Cons: The biggest con here is the added 8 holes. They feel totally different from the rest of the course, and don't feel at all finished. There is no signage and barely marked natural tees, making navigation difficult. They don't seem nearly as well maintained, there's one longer hole that wasn't mowed so it was possible to lose a disc on the fairway if you weren't watching carefully.

On the original holes, a walking path comes into play a few times, a little bit of a safety issue. The new 10 and 11 aren't quite finished, with stumps and roots still all over the fairways waiting to trip you. The course is a little on the short side, even from the long tees, it's a lot of fun but there aren't any legitimate par 4 shots.
Other Thoughts: This course is a pretty good beginner course, especially from the short tees. The length is reasonable, and the water is avoidable, there is some rough if you miss the fairways but not enough that a new player will be losing discs in it. More experienced players will have a great time going for birdies here, there are lots of fun and creative shots, but not a ton of real challenge beyond shaping shorter shots through the woods.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great as an 18-hole course

1    3/20/2011   4/16/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 260  Reviewed: 250  Exp: 20 Years
This review was updated on 6/29/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: [This review is primarily about the original 18 holes.]- Crooked Creek is a well-designed, mature, and nicely maintained public course. The course has excellent baskets, terrific tee signs, and 2 sets of concrete tees. It uses the natural features of the land very well, playing up, down, and level as well as left, straight, and right. The course did not feel long, but there is a good variety of hole lengths- with distances of 4 in the 100's, 5 in the 200's, 7 in the 300's and 2 in the 400's from the long tees.

I would describe it as being in the woods, but the fairways are clear and spacious usually requiring you to navigate around only a few isolated trees. The creek that winds through much of the course not only adds to the beauty of the setting, but does come into play several times. (It is not too difficult to avoid and was shallow and clear when I played and if I had thrown a disc in it I would have been able to retrieve it.) The best 2 holes use the creek effectively- #2 plays downhill and makes you decide layup or go for the basket on the other side and #7 plays to an "island" green.

The course and park are both well-maintained. Everything is here that you need- ample parking, nice restrooms in the rec center, a picnic pavilion by holes 1 and 2, and a kiosk with a course map.
Cons: The walking trail crosses a couple of fairways, sometimes right in front of the tee. This is an obvious hazard, and if the trail is super busy you may just have to make your own tee on the other side or might never have an opening to safely throw. The redesign of 9 and 10 is complete and playable, but navigation was confusing finding these holes, and then the hole numbers did not match up for awhile. (the map on this site is the old configuration and does not really help.)

Major con- the additional 8 holes. They are completely separate from the rest of the holes. Tees are natural marked only by ground markers that are hard to find. The holes play way too close to things like roads and ball fields. These holes are forced into an area that does not work for disc golf. Why not 9? Well it looks like hole 1 is proposed to run through a narrow stretch of pricy landscaped land between a road and tennis courts- probably never going to be approved. Navigation is hard and I only played 3 of the holes, and then we could not find the rest. In my opinion these 8 need to be removed (or at least separated into a different course- Original/New or North/South), because I feel they actually detract from the original course and is almost deceiving to say Crooked Creek has more than 18 holes. But this should be decided by the locals that know it best. *[Update- looks like the 18 and 9 are now listed as separate courses on DGCR.]
Other Thoughts: Despite what the signs may say, most of the holes will be considered par 3 by today's standards and there are several birdie and ace opportunities, but I could justify a few of the holes as par 4's that require a couple of well-placed shots before you can approach the basket. The course appears to be popular/crowded with adults and kids, evidence that it is a good course enjoyed by all.

As far as my rating goes, I was a little shocked at some of the 4.5's of other reviewers- this course is very nice and solid from 1-18, but it is not epic nor is it a national disc golf destination, and it is not anything like the courses I personally have given 4.5's to. (Maybe I missed out on something special on the extra holes I could not find, but if you can't find them, it doesn't matter if they are good or not!) That being said, it is still worthy of a stop if you are close to or traveling between Augusta and Rock Hill, but it is is not the reason why I traveled to the Augusta area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 THE Crooked Creek

5+    4/10/2011   4/12/2011
Review By: discninja
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: well-kept, and is kind of short but not that short at all. its not too long, but its kind of long. and if you want more, there is alt. holes along with it! and it also has multiple pin placements and multiple pads!
Cons: maybe just the people running about is kind of annoying...... be sure to watch out for them.
Other Thoughts: number 6 and number 7 are two of my favorites. however, I HATE number eight! and somtimes, it is best to drive with a putter or somthing that floats really well on number seven in order to make the island. I almost Aced that hole with the Blofly. and on number two be careful of the road to the left.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 so beautiful

1    8/4/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: CatFish
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Awesome signage, beautiful course, Multiple concrete tees, multiple pin locations. trash cans, well maintained. A few are through sparse trees, some are open, some are through trees with nice fairways. Challenging and easy holes.
Cons: Maybe a little over parred. A par 4 or two may need to be a 3. A par 5 needs to be a 3. Holes nine and ten have changed to new holes, and are not easy to find. However, there is a nice park HQ and they provide maps and explain everything.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait for 9 and 10 to be finished, course is about an hour and a half away and I will definitely be back. Gorgeous course, go play it. Beginner or advanced, you will enjoy it.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Woods and Creeks

2-4    8/7/2010   8/7/2010
Review By: maynes35
Played: 25  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.7 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a very well maintained course. Almost every hole has a bench, trashcan, and multiple bag hooks. Great concrete tee pads, with 2 (or 3 on some) tee locations. There are plenty of twists and turns, both right and left throughout the course. You can get a map and scorecard from the building (gym?) by the parking lot. Each hole has a nice hole layout sign on at the back tee pad. Awesome island hole #7 (although it ate my wife's Cyclone). Cool raised basket on 15 or 16, with steps up. Lots of tight bending shots will have to be made to score low.
Cons: My biggest issue was the lack of length out there. It plays pretty short throughout, with only a handful of long shots. It is a little confusing where the new holes were added between 8 and 9 (but I actually thought they were nice holes for just being placed in there). After #8 walk straight up toward the woodchips, that's where we teed off, for new (temp) #9. You can find yourself having a tree filled day out there. I shot great in the first round, but the second round I hit trees on at least half the holes (but that's on me more than the course I guess). If your a beginner you'll like the shortness but bang a bunch of trees I'd say.
Other Thoughts: If you are going after an ace or birdie on #7 either play a floater or have a spotter. It isn't clear, rocky creek water surrounding it. When we played it was thick muddy water and I had trouble finding one of my wife's discs that I watch land next to me in the water. Awesome hole but can be dangerous. A local player said he bought a floater disc specifically for that one tee shot! Overall I really liked the course and will play it again. It still comes in behind Earlewood for me of the "Midland" courses.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome!!!

1    6/29/2010   6/29/2010
Review By: boxmark25
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I played this course with my wife and two boys and we had a blast. The course was awesome and the area was beautiful.

The area around the tees was great. The signage was good and garbage cans at almost every tee box.

The multipurpose building was excellent and the workers were very helpful. The map on the back of the score cards was a great help.

The pro tees offered more variety in the course and there was also alternate pin placement.
Other Thoughts: Had a great time flinging the disc at this course. I believe it is a must play.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

2-4    5/9/2010   5/9/2010
Review By: Joe_Maumy
Played: 36  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great well laid out course through heavy woods. Not enough wood to where your knocking on trees every hole but enough to keep you on your toes. Concrete tee pads and good markings to all the holes. Good vibe and a super clean park.You can get course maps in the rec center, they are open late and weekends, just go inside and ask at the counter (free).
Cons: 10 and 11 are currently out of play as best I can tell. I did find the 10 and 11 baskets on some other holes but I can only assume they are just for secondary pin placements
Other Thoughts: This is a great course and I am glad I got to play it. I am in the area for a few more days and hope to hit it again one evening. If your anywhere near the area this is worth the visit.Hole 2 runs right next to the main street so keep that in mind when letting it rip. Hole 7 is an island hole and a possible ace...or a swimmer. Totally fun.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Crooked, and sometimes treacherous creek

2-4    2/7/2010   2/7/2010
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 192  Reviewed: 125  Exp: 24.3 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a well designed course in a pleasant setting of classic SC pine with that crooked little creek flowing through about a half dozen of the holes. It plays short, for the most part (the pars are rather antiquated for today's throwers), but has a great variety of challenges to keep all players honest.

It has some nice amenities- the tee signs are outstanding as are the LARGE concrete tee pads, and bag hangers, and "next tee signs".

My favorite holes are #2 (a 300' + dog right that has the creek just before the green - do I layup or risk the creek on the ace run?), hole # 7 is an island green surrounded by creek that is short (150' or so downhill) but that creek will gobble your disc when the winter rainfalls make it 2' deep or more!). Finally # 8 is a long dog right which has 2 alleys after the drive- hope that you go long or short and avoid the island in the middle- great example of placement!

Cons: Hole #6 seemed a little contrived - a sharp "pitch" right and a putt. Holes # 10 & 11 have been re- directed and placed on other fairways (which are not marked on the kiosk). It would be helpful to be made aware of this before you walk all over looking for the missing holes!



Other Thoughts: My rounds included only 1-18. I did not play the additional 8 which I'd heard were very wet ( and do not yet have tee pads.)

As I mentioned, the pars (4's and 5's) are antiquated. I found only two of the holes to be reasonable par 4's - #8 and temp #10. But what the heck - you gotta just play your own game, right?

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.