Chapin, SC
Crooked Creek Park - Original 18 Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #11 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 151ft.   4 / 213ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Approach



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3

1    4/4/2014   4/4/2014
Review By: rwe366
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great Mix of holes.
I really liked holes 6,,7,8. You got a tomahawk then the island then a tough par 3 or relatively easy par 4. Miss your drive and you are looking at a 4.
-Great Signage
- Several Benches
- Nice Park with baseball fields tennis courts, rec center etc.
- Several ace opportunities.
Cons: - There is not a single hole where you can just bomb it. I usually don't throw anything faster than a TeeBird.
- People often are running and you need to watch before throwing especially if you go to the long fairway on number 8.
- Needs more trashcans
Other Thoughts: Great Course and defiantly will come again.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


2-4    10/7/2013   12/7/2013
Review By: smierzy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Well laid out park setting , mostly short technical holes - including an island green . Very much worth the drive - extra 9 is a must play .
Cons: Cannot remember anything negative about this course .
Other Thoughts: Very player friendly overall .

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

mcawesomeville

1    7/26/2013   7/26/2013
Review By: bbobsuek
Played: 77  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 21.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful rolling property
Large concrete tee pads...long and short
Nice signs at long tee-box
Short jog off i26 for the travelling player
Fair fairways some with right left options

Crooked Creek is almost perfect. A tactical stroll through the woods requiring accurate shot lines with left and right equally balanced. Nicely designed fairways with risk reward landing zones and protected pins. Not to incredibly long with short tees for newer or just having more fun runs. Plenty of elevation with a few more open holes. Fun factor is high.
Park is very clean and a great use of space.
Cons: Not always obvious where next hole is. $50 worth of signs or the old directional arrow every time would be nice.
Other Thoughts: If you love dgolf do not pass the opportunity to play this Duvall Masterpiece. I could go into dissertations on this hole or that but you need to see for yourself.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

More Crooked than Ever

2-4    2/6/2013   2/6/2013
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 193  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 10.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Crooked Creek is a very fun course with some memorable holes and some challenging ones as well. All of the holes have nice concrete pads, many with two tees, and signs with maps are posted on each hole as well. Baskets are all in good shape, and several have multiple positions. There are also trash cans occasionally along the way. I like the mix of shorter fun holes and longer, crooked fairways. Fairways are lightly wooded to open mostly. Lefts and rights are also blended fairly evenly, and moderate elevation change is incorporated on several holes nicely. Water is in play on several holes around the course. 1 and 4 are shortys, ace run possibilities. Six is very short and has THICK woods. The 7th is the island hole, short but very fun. 8, 13, and 17 are some nice, longer holes.
Cons: There is a network of walking trails that cross a few fairways, and it often brings a lot of pedestrians closer to the course than I would like. I can not think of any other serious problems here.
Other Thoughts: The Crooked Creek disc golf courses are in woods surrounding a nice community Recreation Center and around the edges of the ball parks. Other park users will likely be near the course, so be careful. Both the Original 18 and the Pro 9 are good courses, and worth the visit.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    5/29/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: medic5888
Played: 18  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very well maintained course on though the woods of of a rec park.
Some challenging holes.
Multiple tee pads and pin placement
Cons: Some pin placement is just ridiculous and stupid doesnt make the course more challenging or fun... to me it seems they tried to extend the holes by cutting into the woods on totally different directions to where the course no longer flows.. I know some people will say yes its more challenging and who cares how a holes fairway flows, you can make a hole tougher without making it just a ridiculous shot.
Other Thoughts: My opinion this used to be a great course till they started messing with it. When the "challenging" pin locations were put into place I think it ruined it. I'm sure people will be very angry when they read this, keep in mind its just my opinion.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/15/2012   3/23/2012
Review By: tiger5
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 3.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall a pretty challenging wooded course. I really like the design of the course, it forces you to shape shots and really be able to control your mid-ranges. A couple tight fairways and short par 3's.
Tee pads have bag holders and several of them have benches as well. The layout is a great use of terrain with a good mix up uphill, downhill and slanted hill shots. I would call this a right-hand friendly course, not a lot of dog-leg rights maybe only one on the entire course.
Very enjoyable course to play, worth checking out if your on I-26.
Cons: Signage and next tee markers would help a lot! First time playing I couldn't find several of the tee pads, ending up walking all the way back to the map at the first tee to take a pic of it with my phone.
Either hole 15 or 16 you have to walk back up the fairway of the previous hole in order to get to the next tee pad.
It's easy to get turned around if you've never played there before.
*There are a lot of people who use the walking trails around the course FYI, cause you can't see them on hole 5 from the tee pad. Even had a guy walk right up the fairway on one of the holes and didn't even know it, looking at us like we were crazy....
Other Thoughts: This course has potential for sure, I think if the signage was a little better it could easily be a 4+ in my opinion. The course is challenging, I threw a lot of mid-range, a little driver nothing crazy.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Super Little Course

1    6/11/2011   6/15/2011
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 4.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nicely designed with great tee pads (multiple ones at that!) and signage. Park has matured very well and it's easy to find shots that were thrown waaay of course. There is a creek that winds through that is dry during the summer, but can be deep and flowing during the winter
Cons: Lots of pedestrian traffic and kids not looking where they are running. Walk paths cross through the course creating issues with kids on bikes.

Other Thoughts: There are 8 alternates outside the main course. They aren't marked well (no tee pads just markers), but add a completely different element to the course. Most are pretty long giving your the chance to break out the drivers you can't use on the original 18.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Really fun wooded course

1    4/19/2011   5/13/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a nice wooded area with a creek running through and some nice elevation changes. Most holes play with some kind of elevation change, and many have dropoffs or slopes around the pin to add challenge to your short game. The creek is used really well as a hazard on several holes, with water around the pin or making you choose between the risky ace/deuce run and the safer layup.

The course plays pretty short from the shorter set of tees, the longer tees have a little more variety in length. There aren't any bomber holes, but there's enough different lengths to keep it interesting. The hole shapes are varied, and strike a nice balance for lefty or righty players. You won't throw the same shot many times here, there are lots of birdies available but only if you hit your lines through the woods. The concrete tees and baskets are in good shape, and there's decent signage showing hole layouts and distances.
Cons: The biggest con here is the added 8 holes. They feel totally different from the rest of the course, and don't feel at all finished. There is no signage and barely marked natural tees, making navigation difficult. They don't seem nearly as well maintained, there's one longer hole that wasn't mowed so it was possible to lose a disc on the fairway if you weren't watching carefully.

On the original holes, a walking path comes into play a few times, a little bit of a safety issue. The new 10 and 11 aren't quite finished, with stumps and roots still all over the fairways waiting to trip you. The course is a little on the short side, even from the long tees, it's a lot of fun but there aren't any legitimate par 4 shots.
Other Thoughts: This course is a pretty good beginner course, especially from the short tees. The length is reasonable, and the water is avoidable, there is some rough if you miss the fairways but not enough that a new player will be losing discs in it. More experienced players will have a great time going for birdies here, there are lots of fun and creative shots, but not a ton of real challenge beyond shaping shorter shots through the woods.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great as an 18-hole course

1    3/20/2011   4/16/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 228  Reviewed: 224  Exp: 17.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/29/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: [This review is primarily about the original 18 holes.]- Crooked Creek is a well-designed, mature, and nicely maintained public course. The course has excellent baskets, terrific tee signs, and 2 sets of concrete tees. It uses the natural features of the land very well, playing up, down, and level as well as left, straight, and right. The course did not feel long, but there is a good variety of hole lengths- with distances of 4 in the 100's, 5 in the 200's, 7 in the 300's and 2 in the 400's from the long tees.

I would describe it as being in the woods, but the fairways are clear and spacious usually requiring you to navigate around only a few isolated trees. The creek that winds through much of the course not only adds to the beauty of the setting, but does come into play several times. (It is not too difficult to avoid and was shallow and clear when I played and if I had thrown a disc in it I would have been able to retrieve it.) The best 2 holes use the creek effectively- #2 plays downhill and makes you decide layup or go for the basket on the other side and #7 plays to an "island" green.

The course and park are both well-maintained. Everything is here that you need- ample parking, nice restrooms in the rec center, a picnic pavilion by holes 1 and 2, and a kiosk with a course map.
Cons: The walking trail crosses a couple of fairways, sometimes right in front of the tee. This is an obvious hazard, and if the trail is super busy you may just have to make your own tee on the other side or might never have an opening to safely throw. The redesign of 9 and 10 is complete and playable, but navigation was confusing finding these holes, and then the hole numbers did not match up for awhile. (the map on this site is the old configuration and does not really help.)

Major con- the additional 8 holes. They are completely separate from the rest of the holes. Tees are natural marked only by ground markers that are hard to find. The holes play way too close to things like roads and ball fields. These holes are forced into an area that does not work for disc golf. Why not 9? Well it looks like hole 1 is proposed to run through a narrow stretch of pricy landscaped land between a road and tennis courts- probably never going to be approved. Navigation is hard and I only played 3 of the holes, and then we could not find the rest. In my opinion these 8 need to be removed (or at least separated into a different course- Original/New or North/South), because I feel they actually detract from the original course and is almost deceiving to say Crooked Creek has more than 18 holes. But this should be decided by the locals that know it best. *[Update- looks like the 18 and 9 are now listed as separate courses on DGCR.]
Other Thoughts: Despite what the signs may say, most of the holes will be considered par 3 by today's standards and there are several birdie and ace opportunities, but I could justify a few of the holes as par 4's that require a couple of well-placed shots before you can approach the basket. The course appears to be popular/crowded with adults and kids, evidence that it is a good course enjoyed by all.

As far as my rating goes, I was a little shocked at some of the 4.5's of other reviewers- this course is very nice and solid from 1-18, but it is not epic nor is it a national disc golf destination, and it is not anything like the courses I personally have given 4.5's to. (Maybe I missed out on something special on the extra holes I could not find, but if you can't find them, it doesn't matter if they are good or not!) That being said, it is still worthy of a stop if you are close to or traveling between Augusta and Rock Hill, but it is is not the reason why I traveled to the Augusta area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 THE Crooked Creek

5+    4/10/2011   4/12/2011
Review By: discninja
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: well-kept, and is kind of short but not that short at all. its not too long, but its kind of long. and if you want more, there is alt. holes along with it! and it also has multiple pin placements and multiple pads!
Cons: maybe just the people running about is kind of annoying...... be sure to watch out for them.
Other Thoughts: number 6 and number 7 are two of my favorites. however, I HATE number eight! and somtimes, it is best to drive with a putter or somthing that floats really well on number seven in order to make the island. I almost Aced that hole with the Blofly. and on number two be careful of the road to the left.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.