Chapin, SC 
Crooked Creek Park - Original 18 Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 184ft.   3 / 253ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Nice fairly wooded course

5+    6/11/2016   6/21/2016
Review By: ojdash
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -fair fairways (not a ton of pull and pray shots, but actual lanes)
-solid concrete tees
-2.5 sets of tees (there are technically red, white and blue...white will double with blue or red much of the time though"pro 9" if you need more length and openness
- well manicured
- fair OB (walking path, creek and baseball field)
- good mix of short and longer holes
-many holes don't feel like birdie or die holes (you have to lay up to other lanes or fairways)
Cons: - signage is old and outdated on some of the holes
- park can have many walkers
- not many other disc golf parks in the area so this one can be busy (though most of the time it's been fine for me)
- restroom access not the easiest
Other Thoughts: This is a solid, fun, local course that is fairly technical and has a good mix of hole difficulties. Several holes are relatively simple...Thinking 1, 3 (in short position), 4, 10 (in right position), 12, and 15. They are shorter and semi more open lanes holes that you can throw a simple hyzer or slight anny. There are a few short holes that are very technical (hole 6 with a mando and 4' wide fairway comes to mind and 7...the downhill island!) and several longer holes. I really like the mix at this course...There are no "bombs" to be thrown really, even with the longer tees, but the "pro 9" in the same park has some you can air out. Definitely not the best course I've played but very enjoyable. My personal best is a 52 at the course, though I almost always shoot in the mid 50's ( I am an intermediate player). There are several tee signs that say par 5 that are obviously old and at most could be considered 4's....(Hence the the score 52 as opposed to -?). They have been putting up some new signs that are very helpful lately...and one all the holes gets new signage, it will be even better. Hole 9 and 10 can go 1 of two ways (they can switch fairways and pin positions!!) and it's one of the more unique setups I've seen in disc golf. My dad lives in Prosperity and we come back to this course again and again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good Course

1    6/30/2014   7/8/2014
Review By: DGLobo999
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice layout with lots of options on holes and routes with alternate placements and tees. Good tees. Signage okay. Lots of risk/reward. Good variation in distance and shots required. Very enjoyable and mostly easy to navigate.
Cons: A bit wooly and overgrown in places when I played. The tee shot in #6 (I think) where you have to throw over the walking path seems very dangerous and hardly worth the risk of hitting a walker with a blind hyzer. Lost hole #12 completely - never did find the hole but went on to #13. Need some help there.
Other Thoughts: Very much worth stopping and playing. Kudos to the designers.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Well shaded and fun course

1    5/20/2014   5/26/2014
Review By: ricklev
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice birdie opportunities through the trees
-Nex-T signs are fairly easy to follow to get to the next tee
-It's a nice walk in the park, whether you play well or not
-Trees provide nice shade when it's hot, though this also invites bugs.
Cons: -Some garbage, though fortunately it appears they do a pretty good job of putting it in the trash
-Some construction going on near hole #11
Other Thoughts: People in this park were very friendly. There are a few interesting holes with a creek surrounding the basket area, though some parts of the creek did not have water. Hole #17 offers a really nice drive off the tee with a dogleg left at the end. The fairway shot into the basket on an island keeps it interesting. I really enjoyed #17 and played it a few times. Overall, I had a great time playing this course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/4/2014   4/4/2014
Review By: rwe366
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great Mix of holes.
I really liked holes 6,,7,8. You got a tomahawk then the island then a tough par 3 or relatively easy par 4. Miss your drive and you are looking at a 4.
-Great Signage
- Several Benches
- Nice Park with baseball fields tennis courts, rec center etc.
- Several ace opportunities.
Cons: - There is not a single hole where you can just bomb it. I usually don't throw anything faster than a TeeBird.
- People often are running and you need to watch before throwing especially if you go to the long fairway on number 8.
- Needs more trashcans
Other Thoughts: Great Course and defiantly will come again.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/7/2013   12/7/2013
Review By: smierzy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Well laid out park setting , mostly short technical holes - including an island green . Very much worth the drive - extra 9 is a must play .
Cons: Cannot remember anything negative about this course .
Other Thoughts: Very player friendly overall .

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 mcawesomeville

1    7/26/2013   7/26/2013
Review By: bbobsuek
Played: 87  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 23.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful rolling property
Large concrete tee pads...long and short
Nice signs at long tee-box
Short jog off i26 for the travelling player
Fair fairways some with right left options

Crooked Creek is almost perfect. A tactical stroll through the woods requiring accurate shot lines with left and right equally balanced. Nicely designed fairways with risk reward landing zones and protected pins. Not to incredibly long with short tees for newer or just having more fun runs. Plenty of elevation with a few more open holes. Fun factor is high.
Park is very clean and a great use of space.
Cons: Not always obvious where next hole is. $50 worth of signs or the old directional arrow every time would be nice.
Other Thoughts: If you love dgolf do not pass the opportunity to play this Duvall Masterpiece. I could go into dissertations on this hole or that but you need to see for yourself.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 More Crooked than Ever

2-4    2/6/2013   2/6/2013
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 262  Reviewed: 158  Exp: 13.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Crooked Creek is a very fun course with some memorable holes and some challenging ones as well. All of the holes have nice concrete pads, many with two tees, and signs with maps are posted on each hole as well. Baskets are all in good shape, and several have multiple positions. There are also trash cans occasionally along the way. I like the mix of shorter fun holes and longer, crooked fairways. Fairways are lightly wooded to open mostly. Lefts and rights are also blended fairly evenly, and moderate elevation change is incorporated on several holes nicely. Water is in play on several holes around the course. 1 and 4 are shortys, ace run possibilities. Six is very short and has THICK woods. The 7th is the island hole, short but very fun. 8, 13, and 17 are some nice, longer holes.
Cons: There is a network of walking trails that cross a few fairways, and it often brings a lot of pedestrians closer to the course than I would like. I can not think of any other serious problems here.
Other Thoughts: The Crooked Creek disc golf courses are in woods surrounding a nice community Recreation Center and around the edges of the ball parks. Other park users will likely be near the course, so be careful. Both the Original 18 and the Pro 9 are good courses, and worth the visit.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/29/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: medic5888
Played: 18  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very well maintained course on though the woods of of a rec park.
Some challenging holes.
Multiple tee pads and pin placement
Cons: Some pin placement is just ridiculous and stupid doesnt make the course more challenging or fun... to me it seems they tried to extend the holes by cutting into the woods on totally different directions to where the course no longer flows.. I know some people will say yes its more challenging and who cares how a holes fairway flows, you can make a hole tougher without making it just a ridiculous shot.
Other Thoughts: My opinion this used to be a great course till they started messing with it. When the "challenging" pin locations were put into place I think it ruined it. I'm sure people will be very angry when they read this, keep in mind its just my opinion.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/15/2012   3/23/2012
Review By: tiger5
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall a pretty challenging wooded course. I really like the design of the course, it forces you to shape shots and really be able to control your mid-ranges. A couple tight fairways and short par 3's.
Tee pads have bag holders and several of them have benches as well. The layout is a great use of terrain with a good mix up uphill, downhill and slanted hill shots. I would call this a right-hand friendly course, not a lot of dog-leg rights maybe only one on the entire course.
Very enjoyable course to play, worth checking out if your on I-26.
Cons: Signage and next tee markers would help a lot! First time playing I couldn't find several of the tee pads, ending up walking all the way back to the map at the first tee to take a pic of it with my phone.
Either hole 15 or 16 you have to walk back up the fairway of the previous hole in order to get to the next tee pad.
It's easy to get turned around if you've never played there before.
*There are a lot of people who use the walking trails around the course FYI, cause you can't see them on hole 5 from the tee pad. Even had a guy walk right up the fairway on one of the holes and didn't even know it, looking at us like we were crazy....
Other Thoughts: This course has potential for sure, I think if the signage was a little better it could easily be a 4+ in my opinion. The course is challenging, I threw a lot of mid-range, a little driver nothing crazy.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Super Little Course

1    6/11/2011   6/15/2011
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 70  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nicely designed with great tee pads (multiple ones at that!) and signage. Park has matured very well and it's easy to find shots that were thrown waaay of course. There is a creek that winds through that is dry during the summer, but can be deep and flowing during the winter
Cons: Lots of pedestrian traffic and kids not looking where they are running. Walk paths cross through the course creating issues with kids on bikes.

Other Thoughts: There are 8 alternates outside the main course. They aren't marked well (no tee pads just markers), but add a completely different element to the course. Most are pretty long giving your the chance to break out the drivers you can't use on the original 18.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.