Chapin, SC
Crooked Creek Park - Original 18 Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #12 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 189ft.   4 / 287ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Approach



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 so beautiful

1    8/4/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: CatFish
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Awesome signage, beautiful course, Multiple concrete tees, multiple pin locations. trash cans, well maintained. A few are through sparse trees, some are open, some are through trees with nice fairways. Challenging and easy holes.
Cons: Maybe a little over parred. A par 4 or two may need to be a 3. A par 5 needs to be a 3. Holes nine and ten have changed to new holes, and are not easy to find. However, there is a nice park HQ and they provide maps and explain everything.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait for 9 and 10 to be finished, course is about an hour and a half away and I will definitely be back. Gorgeous course, go play it. Beginner or advanced, you will enjoy it.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Woods and Creeks

2-4    8/7/2010   8/7/2010
Review By: maynes35
Played: 25  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a very well maintained course. Almost every hole has a bench, trashcan, and multiple bag hooks. Great concrete tee pads, with 2 (or 3 on some) tee locations. There are plenty of twists and turns, both right and left throughout the course. You can get a map and scorecard from the building (gym?) by the parking lot. Each hole has a nice hole layout sign on at the back tee pad. Awesome island hole #7 (although it ate my wife's Cyclone). Cool raised basket on 15 or 16, with steps up. Lots of tight bending shots will have to be made to score low.
Cons: My biggest issue was the lack of length out there. It plays pretty short throughout, with only a handful of long shots. It is a little confusing where the new holes were added between 8 and 9 (but I actually thought they were nice holes for just being placed in there). After #8 walk straight up toward the woodchips, that's where we teed off, for new (temp) #9. You can find yourself having a tree filled day out there. I shot great in the first round, but the second round I hit trees on at least half the holes (but that's on me more than the course I guess). If your a beginner you'll like the shortness but bang a bunch of trees I'd say.
Other Thoughts: If you are going after an ace or birdie on #7 either play a floater or have a spotter. It isn't clear, rocky creek water surrounding it. When we played it was thick muddy water and I had trouble finding one of my wife's discs that I watch land next to me in the water. Awesome hole but can be dangerous. A local player said he bought a floater disc specifically for that one tee shot! Overall I really liked the course and will play it again. It still comes in behind Earlewood for me of the "Midland" courses.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome!!!

1    6/29/2010   6/29/2010
Review By: boxmark25
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I played this course with my wife and two boys and we had a blast. The course was awesome and the area was beautiful.

The area around the tees was great. The signage was good and garbage cans at almost every tee box.

The multipurpose building was excellent and the workers were very helpful. The map on the back of the score cards was a great help.

The pro tees offered more variety in the course and there was also alternate pin placement.
Other Thoughts: Had a great time flinging the disc at this course. I believe it is a must play.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

2-4    5/9/2010   5/9/2010
Review By: Joe_Maumy
Played: 35  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great well laid out course through heavy woods. Not enough wood to where your knocking on trees every hole but enough to keep you on your toes. Concrete tee pads and good markings to all the holes. Good vibe and a super clean park.You can get course maps in the rec center, they are open late and weekends, just go inside and ask at the counter (free).
Cons: 10 and 11 are currently out of play as best I can tell. I did find the 10 and 11 baskets on some other holes but I can only assume they are just for secondary pin placements
Other Thoughts: This is a great course and I am glad I got to play it. I am in the area for a few more days and hope to hit it again one evening. If your anywhere near the area this is worth the visit.Hole 2 runs right next to the main street so keep that in mind when letting it rip. Hole 7 is an island hole and a possible ace...or a swimmer. Totally fun.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Crooked, and sometimes treacherous creek

2-4    2/7/2010   2/7/2010
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 174  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 21.9 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a well designed course in a pleasant setting of classic SC pine with that crooked little creek flowing through about a half dozen of the holes. It plays short, for the most part (the pars are rather antiquated for today's throwers), but has a great variety of challenges to keep all players honest.

It has some nice amenities- the tee signs are outstanding as are the LARGE concrete tee pads, and bag hangers, and "next tee signs".

My favorite holes are #2 (a 300' + dog right that has the creek just before the green - do I layup or risk the creek on the ace run?), hole # 7 is an island green surrounded by creek that is short (150' or so downhill) but that creek will gobble your disc when the winter rainfalls make it 2' deep or more!). Finally # 8 is a long dog right which has 2 alleys after the drive- hope that you go long or short and avoid the island in the middle- great example of placement!

Cons: Hole #6 seemed a little contrived - a sharp "pitch" right and a putt. Holes # 10 & 11 have been re- directed and placed on other fairways (which are not marked on the kiosk). It would be helpful to be made aware of this before you walk all over looking for the missing holes!



Other Thoughts: My rounds included only 1-18. I did not play the additional 8 which I'd heard were very wet ( and do not yet have tee pads.)

As I mentioned, the pars (4's and 5's) are antiquated. I found only two of the holes to be reasonable par 4's - #8 and temp #10. But what the heck - you gotta just play your own game, right?

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 "WInding Creek!"

1    1/15/2010   1/16/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 682  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Large dual concrete tees. This is especially important on all of the sloped holes. If they were natural or mulch or anything they would certainly not be level and smooth so the concrete is appreciated.
2) Awesome property with the "Crooked Creek" winding all through the property and in all sorts of directions. I would have called it "Winding Creek" instead.
3) Nice tee signs with all the important information. Hole #, par, and distance. They also have a diagram with multiple baskets indicated including all distances from all tees to all baskets.
4) The elevation changes on this course make it an incredible mix of challenge and terrain. Not only do you have the creek in play on multiple holes, but you also have hills, drop-offs, sidehills, and other difficult terrain to navigate.
5) Navigation is pretty easy through this winding course. It runs back and forth and then works its way back to the middle of the course to finish up. Just always keep your eyes peeled for the next tees and future baskets as you go through this course. The tee areas are very recognizable because they all have the tee signs, posts, benches and bag racks. This should help you to find the next hole and future holes on occasion.
6) Dual tees would make this course play very differently from each set of tees. There are many holes that would play very differently from the shorts than they do the longs allowing for 2 very different rounds. Sure the short tees make the course shorter and easier, but the shots you have to execute between the long and short holes can be very different.
7) There is a tremendous amount of variety in shot-shaping. You have to have your entire arsenal of turning shots and also high and low shots to take advantage of the drop-offs.
8) This course has some of the best variety in challenge and hole type that I have ever played. It has the winding creek, it has some real risk/reward holes, it has some uphillers and some downhillers, some on the sideslopes and some on flat ground. There isn't much variety in foliage density because the course mostly plays in the dense woods except hole #9.
9) Course design was very creative and took full advantage of the best locations on this course. The risk/reward was incredible on a few of the holes.
10) Signature Hole: I cannot decide there are a few. Island Hole on #7 with a 20' circle. Awesome hole, awesome risk, and awesome reward to shoot for the green. The baskets tucked around the winding creek are also pretty awesome creating some interesting shots.
11) Nice use of distance on certain holes to allow you to have different shots into different greens. I like to vary the discs I throw off the tee and to decide when driver really isn't the disc I need to throw.
12) Next tee signs are consistant and helpful in getting you to the next hole.
Cons: 1) Definitely not beginner friendly because of the filthy combination of elevation change, tight wooded holes, and water. What more can an advanced or pro player ask for. Even though there are short tees, the holes are only made easier by less distance. They are still extremely challenging even from the shorts.
2) Navigation got a little confusing in a few spots. Obviously there was no sign on #10 or 11 telling first timers that the holes are closed. I spent a few minutes looking for a basket and I knew Hole #11 was in the same area. And couldn't see either so I just went to Hole #12.
3) The heavy clay soils are wet and slick. They are leaf covered which is better than being bare but even the leaves can leave you with a sense of sure footing and it still might not even be there.
4) Walk path comes into play on a few occasions. I hate it when this happens but I also understand the multi use theory for parks. Sometimes activities interact.
5) Maintenance could be increased in a few areas specifically in regards to mulch being placed in areas that are bare and/or slick. There also are a few areas off the fairways that have piles of branches and brush.
Other Thoughts: I had a great time at this course so I am thrilled my GPS decided to begin working again when I was out in the area. This course truly had a ton of variety something I never get sick of. It had enough and good amenities including baskets, tee boxes, maintenance of fairway area, plus it had plenty to challenge you with tight woods, water shots, elevation changes. Not sure what else could be added to make it a better course, but I simply loved this course from beginning to end. I would play this course everyday if I lived in the area. it simply is that much fun. Some people may not agree with me but I just think this course (assuming #10 AND #11 are in) is one of the best courses I have played. It has all the amenities, it challenges from beginning to end, it has a variety in elevation, water, trees etc etc etc. It simply has everything. Most courses have 4 ou of 5 things this one has it all so I have to rate it accordingly. It is on the low end of the 4.5 disc rating in my opinion and would be a perfect 4.25 in my opinion, but I do not feel I can give this course a 4. Too many other courses I have given fours just dont live up to the whole package this course possesses.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 My new favorite

1    10/20/2009   10/20/2009
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 63  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/20/2010
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Big variety of shots, most are of the wooded variety but there are some killer doglegs in there.
Beautiful park, some decent elevation changes, nice creek in play on many holes.
Absolutely enormous tee pads.
Great signs, good navigation for the most part (next tee signs on most holes).
Benches and bag holders on most tees...this place has all the amenities.
Absolutely pristine grounds.
Unique holes like 7 and 15 along with several interesting blind holes give this course so much character that you could shoot 30 over and still have a smile.
Cons: Many walking paths in play, most of the time they are obvious and you just have to pay attention.
Hole 2 has a slight possibility of a disc going into traffic...I threw LHBH to mitigate any chance of that happening.
Other Thoughts: I could not stop talking to myself about this course as I played it. It really reminded me of Redan back in Atlanta but with a bit more challenge and even character. I cannot say enough about this course, I found it to be absolutely wonderful.

The sign par is obviously from days of yore but it will make you feel good when you finish below par...especially if you are like me and never manage to do so!!

Let's put it this way, this course is over 200 miles from me and I am going to figure out an excuse to come play again in the near future...its that fun.

Update:

A new hole 9,10 have been created with the old hole 9 being the new 11. Hole 9, 10 are a bit of an anomoly in that they are completely cleared fairways, but pretty good holes nonetheless...and they smell awesome with all the woodchips on the ground (ahh, that new hole smell...hahaha). Signage is rough because of this but I have no doubt it will be fixed at some point.

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Lovely Course Where Challenges Abound!

1    7/17/2009   7/19/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a wonderfully designed , constructed and maintained course. Crooked Creek provides much of the personality for this course as it meanders throughout and has gouged out some steep and interesting banks. This is the only course that I have played where everything matches. The benches, tee signs, garbage cans and even the bag holders are all made from the same matching type wood. Very cool indeed! The course is mostly fairly easy to navigate. There are red "next tees" signs in the trees to help. Although most of the baskets placements are in good spots two really stand out in my mind. A couple of reviewers have already mentioned # 7, the island basket surrounded by the creek. It's just a short 180 ft. downhill ace run but the creek can be trouble. # 14 is an elevated basket after about a 200 ft. tee off but what I like about it is that it's a "Fair" elevated basket. It actually has a little landing area. There are a couple of very tight doglegs. It's natural beauty.
Cons: #'s 10 and 11 are temporarily closed due to some drainage/enviromental work being done. It's a little short for the big arms.
Other Thoughts: I've put this on my favorites list. I want to take it back to Washington with me. This course is worth driving a distance to play. Especially when you couple it with some of the other great courses in the area.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 best in the area

2-4    7/1/2009   7/18/2009
Review By: Unkles27
Played: 66  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of the terrain available. Stream is used well throughout the course, forming an island hole at point. If you do end up in the stream it should be rather easy to recover, even if the stream can be a bit nasty (I've seen much worse). Wide variety of holes, some that go straight, some turn left, some turn right. Just about every shot could be used successfully here. Elevation is also used successfully throughout the course, in both fast greens and uphill/downhill shots. The course is in the woods, but all of the fairways (possibly with the exception of #8) are fair and good shots will be rewarded. Signage is decent, I got a little mixed up and pars but always new where I was and where to go next. Multiple pin positions.
Cons: Construction on holes 10 and 11 has turned the pin for 10 into a giant mudpit and hole 11 is gone. This course can be very muddy after rains and it can be buggy, from mosquitoes to fire ants. It can get pretty crowded. It is out of the way, in a mostly rural town.
Other Thoughts: This is the best course in the Columbia area. If you are in Columbia and don't mind the 30 or so minute drive from downtown this is where I would play.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Crooked Creek isn't as crooked as you'd expect...

2-4    6/20/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: HolySchnell
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is quite nice and GREAT for summer days as most of the course is shaded. Many holes have some interaction with the course's namesake that make for more interesting holes without much serious risk of losing a disc if it goes in the water. The course is heavily wooded so beware of turning discs into tacos! Two holes play by baseball fields and several play near a walking path so beware of "innocent bystanders". There isn't too much in terms of extreme elevation change but just enough to keep things interesting. A huge variety of shots will be needed on this course though so bring everything you got!

All the baskets are in good condition as well as the concrete tee pads (most holes have two). The tee signs are great, they have all the information you will need plus most have an extra platform on them (donated by a local countertop company it seems) to set a drink/bag/whatever on while you throw. Distance between hole and next tee isn't bad and are pretty easy to find. Benches and trash cans are located throughout the course to help keep it clean and give you a place to relax. The facility at the entrance is air conditioned with clean restrooms and water fountains, as well as people at the front desk if you need any help. Plenty of parking right next to the start of the course and hole 18 will drop you off right near your car.
Cons: This course gets quite crowded on the weekends and during the afternoon high school rush during the school year. I would advise getting there in the morning to get your round going. In some areas of the course, the areas off of the somewhat narrow fairways can be rough if you have to go find a disk and because of some of the standing water (creek doesn't move much), the bugs can be bad. Also, the creek stinks like nothing else so be sure you really love that disc before taking a dive.
Other Thoughts: Hole number 7 is amazing. It is a straight, downhill shot onto and island. My favorite hole on the course which is followed by my least favorite, number 8 which is a long hard dogleg to the right.

There are an additional 8 holes available for this course that begin in the trees to the immediate right of when you pull in. There aren't any teepads (just concrete markers) and these holes are kept as well as the main course. Just go into the welcome center and ask for a map and the people will be glad to help you out! If you only have time for 9 or 18, I would recommend playing the main course even though this 8 is almost never crowded and serves as a good warm up as these are longer holes.

Have fun and keep on discin!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.