Willow Street, PA 
Ship Rock DGC Share
Uploaded By: shiprockdiscgolf  
Look for the 'Next Tee' signs under the baskets to point towards the next tee pad.



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
meh

1    10/7/2013   4/7/2014
Review By: blazerico
Played: 169  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -dedicated to disc golf only, which is always nice
-quiet farmland
-nice teepads and signs
-porta john (also nice to have,but doesn't affect my ratings)
-easy to find your way around since it's pretty much wide open
Cons: -kinda boring. no offense to anyone involved, but there wasn't a single memorable/signature hole. I need some sort of "wow" factor to give a high rating.
Other Thoughts: It's a nice course, but i wouldn't go too far out of my way to play here

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Big Arms Delight

1    1/12/2013   1/14/2013
Review By: Airubus
Played: 35  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/3/2013
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This area is clearly designated for disc golfers only! You wont find any hikers, or sunbathers, or dog walkers, etc.. This place is a beautiful property with great elevation changes and a winding creek, with overlooking cliffs, well off any road. That said:

The views are great. keep your head up and look around on every hole. It's just beautiful.

The signage is great. Not only the tee signs with distances, but also the arrows under the baskets pointing to the next tee.

All the tee-pads are fly-tees, and were level with plenty of run-up, (save for hole 12).

With holes abundant in 600ft or more, this is a great course to practice throwing hard and getting that big D. If you've a big arm and can throw 350-400+ ft...you'll be ringing in birdies. If you're looking to practice a 700ft downhill dream, it's here. Likewise, a 700ft uphill monster? it's here.

(Update June 2013) Now with a garbage can at the bulletin board!
Cons: It's the little things that separate the good courses from the best courses. it's hard to ding courses for the little things, but little things add up to great things.

With the length of the course, i don't remember any benches to take a rest. I could see older/younger, or disabled persons wanting a break.

(Update June 2013 - With the grass high and fairways mowed, the out of bounds was obvious) In the winter-time, the grass is gone and the out-of-bounds ropes were invisible to my eyes until i literally tripped over one. it's a small gauge white string, and in some places, staked in the ground with tree branches. Thicker gauge yellow rope with low profile (1' x 1" lumber) stakes would be a welcome upgrade.

I don't know if it were my eyes or not, but some of the tee signs included trees that just weren't there which left me looking at the sign, then the fairway, back to the sign, back to the fairway...then confusion.

If you cant throw far (as in greater than 350') you'll look at a 700ft hole with little to no obstacles and become bored. there are many - many long holes with little to no obstacles that will leave you with the feeling, "i guess i'll just throw till i can putt"

Safety. Few holes will put you in harms way. Nothing really bad except for holes 4 and 10. Once you finish the previous holes, you will literally walk up the fairway to the next tee-pad. With such a large amount of land and countless 600+ft holes, i still find myself questioning why am walking 40ft up a fairway into someone's drive with so much land around me.

As of now, the parking was limited (for the stone parking) and the driveway was muddy (on this particular day). it's not a big deal, but i think you could fit 6-10 cars on the stone (i think) I don't think you could get stuck, but beware in muddy conditions if you're parking off the stone in a 2WD car.
Other Thoughts: This course is in serious need of short tees (like a Blue tee long position and a white tee short position and even a red tee - recreational position).

I think this course is a prime example of what a course could be if multiple tees AND multiple pins were utilized. That alone could generate countless and unpredictable layouts accessible to players of all skill levels. I can throw 300ft consistently. i would see a 700ft hole and think - "ok...another 4"

On some of the open field shots, i think a roped off "island" hole would add to the challenge, rather than "Drive. Drive. Putt. Repeat"

Little things disc golfers would LOVE to see: A mailbox stocked with scorecards, and drop box for lost/found discs. Buried/painted bricks on the fairways to gauge distance: Blue 300', White 200', and Red 100'. Likewise, how about a buried marker around the pins indicating 40' for a jump putt? One little amenity i just love, is a vertical 4" x 4" piece of lumber with pegs to hang your disc bag at the tee-pads.

If you're playing in the summer-time BRING WATER! There isn't much cover on the back 9 and if the sun is out and the heat is on...you'll be hurting.

This is a great addition to the local courses, and I'm VERY excited to see the direction the local club takes! kudos to a beautiful course, albeit long!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Tough for beginners

5+    12/15/2012   12/26/2012
Review By: hiker300
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Thanks to the designers for bringing another disc golf course to the Lancaster area. Course uses existing terrain well. Very nice signs at each tee box show you what to expect on each hole. Small wooden signs on the bottom of each basket point you directly to the next tee box and eliminate one of the most frustrating parts of playing an unfamiliar course.
Cons: Having taken up the game this year, this course is extremely difficult for a beginner, especially if you aren't able to throw the disc over 300 ft on a consistent basis. Hole 6 is 850 feet uphill and a dogleg right. It takes me five shots to get close to the basket, virtually taking birdie away. The course gets extremely muddy after a rain due to the creek in the lower part of the course,making play difficult, even dangerous at times. Many holes require two or more bomb shots to start and have no trees along the fairways to at least add more visual appeal to the holes and guide you to the basket. This results in several holes looking too similar to each other, though it is understandable for a newly established course. If trees are planted as I have heard they will be it will be a great help.
Other Thoughts: Be very careful when walking up to look over the cliff to the basket on hole 11. There are several small stumps in the ground from trees that were removed, leaving a trip hazard that could send you over the edge of the cliff. This also exists on other holes on the course. Overall this is a good course for an experienced player who can throw with distance. Buchmiller is a better course for a beginner, but playing here and returning to Buchmiller will make the shorter course seem much easier.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Central PA's Newest Course

2-4    8/18/2012   8/22/2012
Review By: crowdpleaser
Played: 21  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Brings a slightly more technical course to the area.

Great use of space.

Fairly balanced amount of open and wooded holes.
Cons: Too many extremely long fairways as of 8-18-12.

One Mando is not really specfied. Hole 7, I think.

Other Thoughts: As far as the long fairways go, I have heard that there are plans to bring in trees to add some directional obstacles to the 650+ foot fairways.

This really is a great course, it's delivering a whole new level of play to Lancaster disc golfers.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.