Willow Street, PA
Ship Rock DGC Share
Uploaded By: shiprockdiscgolf Hole #6
5 / 853ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Some Sensational Holes Followed By Some Not So Great!

1    7/15/2013   8/12/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: After reading previous reviewer Croow's review, I was tempted to just cut and paste his review in it's entirety. His is a extremely well written review and spot on with the information he's conveying.

Upon arriving at Ship Rock's sign on a busy county road and driving back a few hundred yards, I wasn't sure as to what kind of a course I was arriving at? A small private course? A large county park course? Turns out this is a county park set in the middle of farm country. It's a wonderful, large rolling area with hills, wooded parts, creeks, etc. And it seems to be disc golf exclusive!

The pads are great fly pads. Nice new Discatcher baskets and great signs with all the information including little arrows hanging underneath pointing you to the next hole.

The course starts out with a major "WOW' factor in my opinion. # 1 is either a downhill 870' (tee sign distance) or 704' (on-line map listed) Par 4 curving around a grove of trees. Bigger arms than me could throw over the trees and shortcut the hole. Recreational types still get to start their round with a big downhill and then possibly cut through the trees. Either way it was a really fun way to begin a round.

Then # 2 is about a 225' touch shot to a basket sitting just in front of a small creek. The tee area is very neatly carved into the side of the hillside. Another fun, great hole.

Then I really liked # 3. It was another hole carved into the hillside where a lot of work has gone into building and engineering this hole. Players are throwing uphill with danger on the right.

I don't think I've been so wowed by a course after the first three holes as I was after these the first three here.

Later # 11 absolutely makes my All-Time list of Unique, Clever Holes. From the tee it appears to be just another 230' hyser throw through the trees. But what makes this hole so unique is when you walk up to find the basket, the basket is hidden down an almost a straight vertical drop of a hill (maybe 50-60 feet). And just beyond the basket is the creek. So your simple little 230' annie now becomes a most interesting tee shot. Throw it hard enough and you could blindly get it down the hill to the basket. Or you could have a most interesting putt straight downhill. Too hard of a tee off and you could find yourself in the creek. Loved this hole!

Another clever, fun hole was the one where the old barn was removed and you're now throwing slightly uphill up over the old foundation works. It's a nice change of pace from the wooded and open holes on this course.

Those players with big arms will love this course.
Cons: As previously stated, the last six holes are overly long, sometimes boringly open, sometimes uphill and sometimes brutally hard. By the time I reached this point, I was spent after a long, hot day so I just walked the course with co-founder Travis and his friend. The course is built and designed for a player like Travis, who throws 400' straight drives and is young and strong.
Other Thoughts: I would love to see a set of Rec/Beginner tee pads built here at Ship Rock. I loved playing the front nine plus a couple more but the final six are probably too much for many recreational players to really enjoy. If you're an advanced/pro player, or a young strong rec player wanting to play some great well designed holes, you gotta come and experience Ship Rock DGC.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Two-thirds great

1    7/18/2013   7/18/2013
Review By: Crooow
Played: 142  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 27 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great tee pads (fly pads). Great new DISCatcher baskets. Really interesting holes (but see below). Area is dedicated to disc golf so no interference. Nice mix of hole lengths. Mostly open but some wooded holes as well. All the par 3 holes were fun and not ridiculous. Plenty of opportunities to air out your arm. Pretty easy to find your way around.
Cons: Lots of long wide open holes that get boring after a while unless you can accurately throw 450-500 feet (see below). No amenities. Directions here are accurate but the turn-in comes up unexpectedly on a heavily traveled road with fast moving cars.
Other Thoughts: As I played the opening 12 holes, I was thinking "4.5". When I played the last 6, I was thinking "3.5 or lower" so I settled on 4.0 as a compromise. I got par on all par 3s (actually birdied #5) but I don't have a big arm so I bogeyed most of the longer holes (with at least one double bogey).

It starts out great with a par 4 curve around a wooded area and the basket tucked here the hill side which wasn't that hard despite being listed as 704 feet. #2 is a short from the hillside through some woods to a basket on the other side on a clearing. #3 is a short one up a narrow path with a small landing area (big roll away possibility).

#4 is the first long open hole (par 4, 723 feet, gradual downhill) and was fun to air it out. #5 is a picturesque 244-footer around the remains of a stone building to an elevated basket. #6 is an 853-foot uphill par 5 which was fun for the first one of these.

#7 is a 696-foot par 4 slightly downhill with a mando and a tree line that you need to negotiate. #8 is a fun little 358-footer downgrade with the basket protected by a few trees.#9 is a 486-footer that follows a curving fairway that narrows to a basket in the woods up a small incline.

#10 is a fairly easy straightforward hole with a few trees to get your confidence back. #11 is the shortest hole (204 feet) but perilous as you have a sharp left turn with a cliff and the basket at the base of the cliff. If you overshoot, your disc goes into a large creek where you may lose it. For #12, you throw off a wooden deck through some light woods with the basket out in a clearing.

After this is where I got disappointed. #13 is a flat straight 298-footer in a wide open field. #14 is a flat straight 614 footer farther down that same wide open field. #15 is a 579-footer up a big hill but also wide open. #16 is a 640-footer down the same hill with one tree line to negotiate. Then #17 is a 538-footer up the same hill again (just farther down). Then you finish with #18 which is a 325-footer that starts up the hill and then levels out. It is also wide open and not bad except that the previous 5 holes had already bored me as just drudgery.

It seems such a shame that the course ends on such a boring but still difficult set of holes. If/when I return I will probably just play 1-13, then 5-13, and then 5-6 back to my car.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Addition to the Lancaster Circuit

1    4/9/2013   4/10/2013
Review By: Caelstrom
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - This course was very easy to follow. The signage was simple and never left you guessing. The progression of the holes felt very natural. Somebody obviously put a lot of thought into the design/layout of this course.

- Holes 3, 10, and 11 added some great variety to the course with tight shots and several obstructions.

- Lots of fun elevation changes and some interesting mandos.
Cons: - As of 4/9/13 a large pile of debris in the middle of hole 5 (looks like they tore down an old barn) made this hole a little dangerous.

- This may seem a little petty, but a bench or two (and maybe a few trash cans along the way) would be great amenities for this course. Right now there's no place to sit and rest (save for on the ground), and you will notice the occasional litter (which hopefully would be solved by the addition of trash cans).
Other Thoughts: - Don't overshoot the baskets for holes 2 and 16 unless you want to go swimming for your disc. These baskets are backed-up by a large creek.

- This course is very open (not much shade) so bring sunscreen and be prepared to fight the wind on holes 1, 4, 6, 7, 8, 15, 16, 17, and 18.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ship Rock

2-4    12/1/2012   12/2/2012
Review By: Thenshaw
Played: 43  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New Course. New Tees. Well thought out holes. Good Use of Elevation. Excellent signage and navigation. Right off main highway and easy to find. Nice scenery. Great flow and some nice risk/reward with the rough and water coming into play at times. Extremely fun and definitely challenging course.
Cons: Ob's are a little unclear sometimes especially on some of the long open holes. No noticeable restroom facilities or trash cans. (picky, i know, but not a whole lot to place as cons)
Other Thoughts: This is my second run through this new park. I played here in early September and the rough was still pretty unforgiving and the view was totally different due to the cornfields and other foilage being plentiful. As i have mentioned before, I have no real arm and do not drive far at all. However, this was not an issue despite some long holes. I loved the layout and brought a friend who had not played here yet, and he was very impressed with the fun factor of the holes from the get go. Most holes are fairly open but they all add some challenge with obstacles and the ob's. The wooded holes are especially fun and seem placed perfectly to add to the flow. holes 1, 3, 5, 11 and 12 were definitely my personal favorites and each had special touches that made them unique. The first time I played here was early in the morning and the dew made for an extremely wet day due to the open fairways. Today, even though Hurricane Sandy was over a month ago, the holes in the back of the course closer to the creek were just crazy muddy. It made it extremely difficult to walk let alone to tee off, but at the same time does not seem like it will be a regular issue. Overall this course is quickly becoming one of my favorites. It is a good almost two hour drive for me to get to, but it is definitely worth it especially with other courses not too far. It is challenging and could be frustrating for some beginners due to the long holes, but I enjoy a challenge and look forward to playing here again soon.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Solid

1    9/13/2012   9/13/2012
Review By: Shamis
Played: 35  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery.
Nice layout.
Good mix of distance holes and precision holes.
Wonderful Signs.
Very Nice new rubber tees.
Cons: high grass in many places. Long pants recommended.
Other Thoughts: Once this gets broken in a bit, and perhaps once they plant a few more trees this course could be a 5/5.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A good play

1    9/5/2012   9/7/2012
Review By: chariotherr
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 3/30/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great new course for the area.

-Great tee pads and marking, not difficult no navigate at all.
-Good use of elevation and reasonable fairways, challenging, but not obnoxiously tight.
-Some really creative holes. One plays around an over grown barn, one drops off a 20 foot cliff (with the basket right at the bottom). It provides for some very fun holes.
-Just because my "pros" list is shorter than my "cons" list, don't be fooled. It's a good course.
Cons: -New and still rough, not in hole design, but in upkeep. Lots of grass, so unless someone is spending a lot of time keeping it up, it'll likely get fairly over grown.
-A lot of open field rolling terrain, which while sometimes very fun, also gives you practically no reference points to find your disc. As soon as it flies over a slight hill and its landing point is out of view, it'll likely take you a good amount of time to find your disc, even if it's not hidden. I spent a frustratingly large amount of time looking for discs in the wide open. The grass wasn't all that long, but long enough to hide the disc unless you were within 10 or 15 feet.
-Spotters are useful for many holes. Playing solo would be doable, but far from preferable. There's a few blind corner/obstructed view shots
Other Thoughts: -Make sure you know exactly where you're going. The driveway is very well hidden in the corn fields and marked with a sign that doesn't currently stick out very well.
-If you're from the area, this course is a definite play. If you're just passing through, Buchmiller park offers a shorter, but more well done course. You pick.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 You should try it

1    8/29/2012   8/30/2012
Review By: jyd2001
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 19.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a great new addition to the area. The course has some long holes (600-800 footers) that might not appeal to all but they make good use of the terrain and avoid being repetitve. There is also a good variety with some shorter wooded and some water. It has great signage for a new course.
Cons: It suffers from the normal challenges of courses with lots of open grass. Bring a friend or use a spotter if it hasn't been mowed in a while.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course even with the distance. It could be rough on players throwing 250 or less but it is a fun challenging course that deserves some play. props to course designer and the crew that put it in.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.