Willow Street, PA 
Ship Rock DGC Share
Uploaded By: shiprockdiscgolf Hole #5
3 / 244ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Scenic, beautiful course

1    4/6/2014   4/7/2014
Review By: mikesuds
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Plenty of opportunities for both airing out a disc and tighter technical shots.

Beautiful landscape.

Excellent course design using natural obstacles and some man-made O.B. lines.

I really can't say enough just how beautiful I thought this course was. Can't wait to go back.
Cons: I really have a hard time thinking of any cons.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Par 64 Layout with Unique Holes

5+    11/29/2013   11/29/2013
Review By: vslaugh
Played: 44  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 18.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ship Rock succeeds in having holes that are fun, strategically interesting, and diverse. The layout features seven well-designed Par 4s and one Par 5 (at a ~950-975 rating?) and winds its way over an old farm and inside a big bend of Mill Creek. Cool and unique shots abound. Wrapping a big hyzer around the remains of a barn (Hole 5) and a tough 150' shot to the edge of a steep drop off with the pin below (Hole 11) stand out as highlights. I really enjoyed the spike hyzer approaches on Holes 7 and 16, and the drive/approach strategic decisions on Holes 1 and 4. A birdie means something on just about every hole, and the designers did a good job creating Par 3s that are both ace-able and bogey-able.
Cons: Holes 13-14 and 17-18 are weak compared to the rest, although Holes 13 and 14 should be able to be improved through pin placements or tree plantings. The course seems susceptible to mud and wind. The open holes didn't bother me too much as it's fun to let a drive rip, but I don't think I'd look forward to those holes on a very windy day.
Other Thoughts: The course is very well-designed, especially when you consider it's the work of a couple talented local high school/college students. They put in the hard work for good tees, signs, and baskets, but also used their imagination to create a couple holes that cannot be found anywhere else. Ship Rock is a great course to play in conjunction with Buchmiller Park and is a fantastic asset for the area. Great job!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Well Done Bomber

5+    9/2/2013   9/3/2013
Review By: bnbanbury
Played: 36  Reviewed: 15
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Long, mostly open course that stays interesting throughout.
-Intense elevation changes that the layout takes full advantage of
-OB is in play on almost every long hole which protects neighboring fairways and adds a technical element to the open holes
-New discatchers are some of the best baskets on which i've had the privilege of playing.
-Good signage and flypads
Cons: -Holes 13 and 14 stood out as being a little below the standard set by the rest of the course. 13 is a flat open 300' hole and 14 is a flat open tweener type hole that is too long for a par 3 but a fairly easy par 4. I think both could have greens carves into the rough to the right to bring them closer to the creek and make them more interesting and technical.
Other Thoughts: I wanted to talk about holes 15-17 specifically in my review because i have to admit that my expectations of these holes were colored by reviewers that had come before me. I thought they would be long boring throw-away holes and found that nothing could be further from the truth. 15 is a challenging uphill tee shot with OB on both sides to a big sweeping 2nd shot from hill top to hill top. 16 plays downhill to line of trees that runs across the fairway. A long drive still needs good placement in one of the gaps to give a good look at a 3. 17 is one of my favorite holes on the course. The OB on the right and rough on the left narrow as you proceed up the fairway. The more you try to bite off on the tee the more challenging your 1st shot is but a good tee shot makes a three very reachable.

I have really enjoyed my rounds here and try to make the 45 minute drive as often as possible. Some additional amenities like benches would improve things and i've heard that there will be additional trees planted which will be awesome. There aren't many courses like this on the east coast. I think it can be hard to build an open course that doesn't feel repetitive and chore-like but i think this is one that's done right.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course Mixes Things Up

2-4    8/18/2012   9/5/2012
Review By: bsheisey
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a great variety of open, long distance holes, and tight, technically challenging holes. The pads are well constructed and have tons of grip, and the baskets are brand new. The course uses the space really well, as it never crosses itself and it brings you right back to the parking area. The best part about the course is the uniqueness and creativity incorporated in the hole design. None of the holes are the same, and holes 3, 10, 11 and 12 come to mind as particularly fun designs.
Cons: Being a new course, it is still rough around the edges, and it isn't too difficult to lose track of a disc. The open holes have wide open fairways, but it is easy to lose your disc in the grass if you don't keep an eye on it. Holes 13, 15 and 16 have some particularly tall weeds that are easy to lose a disc in.
Other Thoughts: This course might not be the best course for beginners, as it involves a number of very long holes and tight fairways, but it can still be a great time with the right attitude. A great place to play, that will only improve as they continue to work on it. I would recommend using spotters for a number of holes with high rough next to it (especially 15 and 16).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Picturesque Lancaster County

2-4    8/25/2012   8/25/2012
Review By: jonmcd
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wow! Lancaster County needed a course like this. big distance while still technical. Lots of nice features (like stairs, platforms, trails, etc). Incredible setting. You have to "golf" here to get a good score. Hole 11 is unique. Good use of elevation. The Pequea Creek runs along the back side offering a water hazard.
Cons: Not a lot of shade, yet...I know there are trees being planted that will take care of that.
Other Thoughts: Probably a tough course for beginners, but not frustrating for them (like Quaker's Challenge, for example). This is playable for any skill level. Great challenge for the pros.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Ship Rock DGC

5+    8/18/2012   8/22/2012
Review By: travis.d
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course takes the game of disc golf to a new level, which challenges you to really get your birdies with longer and more accurate throws. The course flows very well from one hole to the next, so you can play this long course in roughly 2 hours. The tee signs are also very accurate and detailed.
Cons: Some fairways are tight, so watch out for discs. Trees will be going in soon, but at the moment some holes are fairly open.
Other Thoughts: The course has plans to put some trees in soon that are 35 feet tall, which will really help close up some long open fairways.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.