Willow Street, PA 
Ship Rock DGC Share
Uploaded By: shiprockdiscgolf Hole #13
3 / 298ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee Sign

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Big Arms Delight

1    1/12/2013   1/14/2013
Review By: Airubus
Played: 43  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/3/2013
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This area is clearly designated for disc golfers only! You wont find any hikers, or sunbathers, or dog walkers, etc.. This place is a beautiful property with great elevation changes and a winding creek, with overlooking cliffs, well off any road. That said:

The views are great. keep your head up and look around on every hole. It's just beautiful.

The signage is great. Not only the tee signs with distances, but also the arrows under the baskets pointing to the next tee.

All the tee-pads are fly-tees, and were level with plenty of run-up, (save for hole 12).

With holes abundant in 600ft or more, this is a great course to practice throwing hard and getting that big D. If you've a big arm and can throw 350-400+ ft...you'll be ringing in birdies. If you're looking to practice a 700ft downhill dream, it's here. Likewise, a 700ft uphill monster? it's here.

(Update June 2013) Now with a garbage can at the bulletin board!
Cons: It's the little things that separate the good courses from the best courses. it's hard to ding courses for the little things, but little things add up to great things.

With the length of the course, i don't remember any benches to take a rest. I could see older/younger, or disabled persons wanting a break.

(Update June 2013 - With the grass high and fairways mowed, the out of bounds was obvious) In the winter-time, the grass is gone and the out-of-bounds ropes were invisible to my eyes until i literally tripped over one. it's a small gauge white string, and in some places, staked in the ground with tree branches. Thicker gauge yellow rope with low profile (1' x 1" lumber) stakes would be a welcome upgrade.

I don't know if it were my eyes or not, but some of the tee signs included trees that just weren't there which left me looking at the sign, then the fairway, back to the sign, back to the fairway...then confusion.

If you cant throw far (as in greater than 350') you'll look at a 700ft hole with little to no obstacles and become bored. there are many - many long holes with little to no obstacles that will leave you with the feeling, "i guess i'll just throw till i can putt"

Safety. Few holes will put you in harms way. Nothing really bad except for holes 4 and 10. Once you finish the previous holes, you will literally walk up the fairway to the next tee-pad. With such a large amount of land and countless 600+ft holes, i still find myself questioning why am walking 40ft up a fairway into someone's drive with so much land around me.

As of now, the parking was limited (for the stone parking) and the driveway was muddy (on this particular day). it's not a big deal, but i think you could fit 6-10 cars on the stone (i think) I don't think you could get stuck, but beware in muddy conditions if you're parking off the stone in a 2WD car.
Other Thoughts: This course is in serious need of short tees (like a Blue tee long position and a white tee short position and even a red tee - recreational position).

I think this course is a prime example of what a course could be if multiple tees AND multiple pins were utilized. That alone could generate countless and unpredictable layouts accessible to players of all skill levels. I can throw 300ft consistently. i would see a 700ft hole and think - "ok...another 4"

On some of the open field shots, i think a roped off "island" hole would add to the challenge, rather than "Drive. Drive. Putt. Repeat"

Little things disc golfers would LOVE to see: A mailbox stocked with scorecards, and drop box for lost/found discs. Buried/painted bricks on the fairways to gauge distance: Blue 300', White 200', and Red 100'. Likewise, how about a buried marker around the pins indicating 40' for a jump putt? One little amenity i just love, is a vertical 4" x 4" piece of lumber with pegs to hang your disc bag at the tee-pads.

If you're playing in the summer-time BRING WATER! There isn't much cover on the back 9 and if the sun is out and the heat is on...you'll be hurting.

This is a great addition to the local courses, and I'm VERY excited to see the direction the local club takes! kudos to a beautiful course, albeit long!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Better than expected

1    1/5/2013   1/7/2013
Review By: Radarx
Played: 51  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent use of property and a well layed out course with several signature holes. The course played much longer than I expected but several of those longer holes play downhill for some spectacular drives. Mostly open course with about 4 very unique wood holes. Most of the longer open holes have some sort of elevation involved that gives the course its "fun factor" to play and keeps the holes from becoming to similar. Course flow worked out really well bringing you in and out of the woods throughout the course.

A lot of work seems to have gone into the course featuring new signs & tees, platform tee, rope rails, elevated tees in the hill side and good clearing of the wooded holes & paths to next hole. I thought it looked like a well established course even though it's new.

It's a great addition to the Lancaster area courses and a real change of pace by adding this style of course.

Signature holes in my opinion 5, 15 & 16. Most unique hole I ever played - 11

Cons: Hole 4/6/7 - the fairways need a little more work to determine OB. There is a rope fence but it's still a little difficult to determine and see if playing for the first time. Perhaps a low solid construction fence or hang something from the rope. Hole 6 in my opinion should have a mando to keep you from throwing over 7 fairway. I totally missed 7's mando.

I played on a mostly frozen ground but really concerned this course could become very muddy at times on the lower holes.

Needs directional arrow top of hill on 3 pointing to 4 tee.

Hole 9 should have a mando to keep you from throwing into 13 fairway. Needs directional arrow on 9 basket pointing at 10 tee otherwise everyone without map will walk to 13 tee first.

No rec or beginner tees on the longer holes.
Other Thoughts: If you are looking for a longer course which seems to be trending these days, this is the course for you. If you are a beginner you will struggle with length but this course offers an excellent chance to work on longer drives with less concern of lost of disc.

With Buchmiller only 10 min away it makes a great combo day but this course is worth the travel by itself.

Need a couple of long poles (conduit) or branches on holes 2 & 11 to get your disc out of the water.

Would be nice to have a port-a-pot., picnic table & loss disc return area.

Real interested to see what this course is like in the summer. Course is just missing enough minor things to keep me from rating this a 4 but the course is well on its way.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Tough for beginners

5+    12/15/2012   12/26/2012
Review By: hiker300
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Thanks to the designers for bringing another disc golf course to the Lancaster area. Course uses existing terrain well. Very nice signs at each tee box show you what to expect on each hole. Small wooden signs on the bottom of each basket point you directly to the next tee box and eliminate one of the most frustrating parts of playing an unfamiliar course.
Cons: Having taken up the game this year, this course is extremely difficult for a beginner, especially if you aren't able to throw the disc over 300 ft on a consistent basis. Hole 6 is 850 feet uphill and a dogleg right. It takes me five shots to get close to the basket, virtually taking birdie away. The course gets extremely muddy after a rain due to the creek in the lower part of the course,making play difficult, even dangerous at times. Many holes require two or more bomb shots to start and have no trees along the fairways to at least add more visual appeal to the holes and guide you to the basket. This results in several holes looking too similar to each other, though it is understandable for a newly established course. If trees are planted as I have heard they will be it will be a great help.
Other Thoughts: Be very careful when walking up to look over the cliff to the basket on hole 11. There are several small stumps in the ground from trees that were removed, leaving a trip hazard that could send you over the edge of the cliff. This also exists on other holes on the course. Overall this is a good course for an experienced player who can throw with distance. Buchmiller is a better course for a beginner, but playing here and returning to Buchmiller will make the shorter course seem much easier.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Enola Gay

2-4    11/12/2012   12/2/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 446  Reviewed: 358  Exp: 8.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Nice tee locations, with quality signs, 4'x10' flat, rubber teepads, surrounded by mulch.

New baskets, including a practice basket. Plenty of space to warm-up.
Don't know how often the neighbouring creek floods, but it had recently done so prior to our playing, rending teepads 9, 14, and 17 unusable, and the greens/fairways of 2, 13, 14, and 16 quite mucky.

As others have mentioned, the out-of-bounds is inconsistent, and not always well-marked. Probably best to play all parallel airways as ob, and as the course matures, hopefully there will be a narrow strip of high grass to define the lines.

Considering about half the holes are bombers, the 10' long teepad felt a bit short.

Single-tee/basket position.
Other Thoughts:
The course is set on former farmland, bordered by a wide creek along 2/3rds, and fields the other 1/3rd. While the land closest to the creek, which holds a portion of the course, is quite flat, the remaining land, containing the bulk of the course, irregularly slopes down towards it. A rim of woods and an abandoned barn provide obstacles, preventing the course from being just a pure grip-n-rip.

That said, approximately half the holes are 500'+, with the length, relatively-distant ob, and, at times, some squeeze-points near the basket providing the challenge. Another ~quarter of holes are similar in openness to these, but at 325'+/- 25', are reachable from the tee by a larger audience. The remaining ~quarter of holes aren't about distance (~225', +/-), but about touch, with trees to avoid and/or specific lines to hit to have the birdy chance.

Navigation: The dirt, single-track path leading to the parking lot is roughly opposite three blue silos. With the map, navigating the course is fairly simple, as long as you remember to back track on #4 (tee to left ~200' after exiting woods, basket ~500' to the right), and #10 (from basket-9, find path through cluster of small trees along right-side of narrowing fairway-9).

Favourite holes: #5 (Touch), requires you to avoid the barn, along with some branches on the left, to find the basket in an elevated position, just off the corner. #16 (Bomb). Steadily downslope at the start, even a good drive will make you think about how to avoid the tall row of trees between you and the wide-open basket, sitting far away on the other side of them.

Bombers should enjoy this course. Technicians will only be able to scratch that particular itch a couple of times. The course is about a 2.74 for me, and I will certainly consider playing it again when passing through the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Ship Rock

2-4    12/1/2012   12/2/2012
Review By: Thenshaw
Played: 67  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New Course. New Tees. Well thought out holes. Good Use of Elevation. Excellent signage and navigation. Right off main highway and easy to find. Nice scenery. Great flow and some nice risk/reward with the rough and water coming into play at times. Extremely fun and definitely challenging course.
Cons: Ob's are a little unclear sometimes especially on some of the long open holes. No noticeable restroom facilities or trash cans. (picky, i know, but not a whole lot to place as cons)
Other Thoughts: This is my second run through this new park. I played here in early September and the rough was still pretty unforgiving and the view was totally different due to the cornfields and other foilage being plentiful. As i have mentioned before, I have no real arm and do not drive far at all. However, this was not an issue despite some long holes. I loved the layout and brought a friend who had not played here yet, and he was very impressed with the fun factor of the holes from the get go. Most holes are fairly open but they all add some challenge with obstacles and the ob's. The wooded holes are especially fun and seem placed perfectly to add to the flow. holes 1, 3, 5, 11 and 12 were definitely my personal favorites and each had special touches that made them unique. The first time I played here was early in the morning and the dew made for an extremely wet day due to the open fairways. Today, even though Hurricane Sandy was over a month ago, the holes in the back of the course closer to the creek were just crazy muddy. It made it extremely difficult to walk let alone to tee off, but at the same time does not seem like it will be a regular issue. Overall this course is quickly becoming one of my favorites. It is a good almost two hour drive for me to get to, but it is definitely worth it especially with other courses not too far. It is challenging and could be frustrating for some beginners due to the long holes, but I enjoy a challenge and look forward to playing here again soon.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

my favorite course in the Lancaster area

5+    10/28/2012   10/28/2012
Review By: globetrotter
Played: 65  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2016
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -- Long, open holes with enough OB and obstacles to make them interesting.
-- Wooded tunnel shots.
-- A couple of really unique holes including a basket at the bottom of a 20 foot drop.
-- Some elevation change and a creek that comes into play.
Cons: -- Does not have shorter tees or baskets for beginning players.
-- If the grass hasn't been mowed it can be difficult to find discs, even in the fairway.
-- The lower half of the course by the creek retains a lot of water and will be muddy if it rains.
-- The upper half of the course doesn't provide a lot of cover from the sun.
-- There are a couple of mandos (holes 1 and 7) that are basically impossible to see from the tee.
Other Thoughts: Ship Rock has become my favorite course in the Lancaster area. I love long, open courses that require controlled power off the tee, and this is the only course in the immediate area that fits that description.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    9/13/2012   9/13/2012
Review By: Shamis
Played: 52  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery.
Nice layout.
Good mix of distance holes and precision holes.
Wonderful Signs.
Very Nice new rubber tees.
Cons: high grass in many places. Long pants recommended.
Other Thoughts: Once this gets broken in a bit, and perhaps once they plant a few more trees this course could be a 5/5.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A good play

1    9/5/2012   9/7/2012
Review By: chariotherr
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 3/30/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great new course for the area.

-Great tee pads and marking, not difficult no navigate at all.
-Good use of elevation and reasonable fairways, challenging, but not obnoxiously tight.
-Some really creative holes. One plays around an over grown barn, one drops off a 20 foot cliff (with the basket right at the bottom). It provides for some very fun holes.
-Just because my "pros" list is shorter than my "cons" list, don't be fooled. It's a good course.
Cons: -New and still rough, not in hole design, but in upkeep. Lots of grass, so unless someone is spending a lot of time keeping it up, it'll likely get fairly over grown.
-A lot of open field rolling terrain, which while sometimes very fun, also gives you practically no reference points to find your disc. As soon as it flies over a slight hill and its landing point is out of view, it'll likely take you a good amount of time to find your disc, even if it's not hidden. I spent a frustratingly large amount of time looking for discs in the wide open. The grass wasn't all that long, but long enough to hide the disc unless you were within 10 or 15 feet.
-Spotters are useful for many holes. Playing solo would be doable, but far from preferable. There's a few blind corner/obstructed view shots
Other Thoughts: -Make sure you know exactly where you're going. The driveway is very well hidden in the corn fields and marked with a sign that doesn't currently stick out very well.
-If you're from the area, this course is a definite play. If you're just passing through, Buchmiller park offers a shorter, but more well done course. You pick.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course Mixes Things Up

2-4    8/18/2012   9/5/2012
Review By: bsheisey
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a great variety of open, long distance holes, and tight, technically challenging holes. The pads are well constructed and have tons of grip, and the baskets are brand new. The course uses the space really well, as it never crosses itself and it brings you right back to the parking area. The best part about the course is the uniqueness and creativity incorporated in the hole design. None of the holes are the same, and holes 3, 10, 11 and 12 come to mind as particularly fun designs.
Cons: Being a new course, it is still rough around the edges, and it isn't too difficult to lose track of a disc. The open holes have wide open fairways, but it is easy to lose your disc in the grass if you don't keep an eye on it. Holes 13, 15 and 16 have some particularly tall weeds that are easy to lose a disc in.
Other Thoughts: This course might not be the best course for beginners, as it involves a number of very long holes and tight fairways, but it can still be a great time with the right attitude. A great place to play, that will only improve as they continue to work on it. I would recommend using spotters for a number of holes with high rough next to it (especially 15 and 16).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  You should try it

1    8/29/2012   8/30/2012
Review By: jyd2001
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 22.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a great new addition to the area. The course has some long holes (600-800 footers) that might not appeal to all but they make good use of the terrain and avoid being repetitve. There is also a good variety with some shorter wooded and some water. It has great signage for a new course.
Cons: It suffers from the normal challenges of courses with lots of open grass. Bring a friend or use a spotter if it hasn't been mowed in a while.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course even with the distance. It could be rough on players throwing 250 or less but it is a fun challenging course that deserves some play. props to course designer and the crew that put it in.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.