Akron, IN 
The Boonies DGC Share
Uploaded By: Jukeshoe Hole #3 (Taken 11/2012)
5 / 415ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Hidden Gem

2-4    7/5/2014   7/5/2014
Review By: Radrza
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 20.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well thought out use of the land. I was really impressed with how well manicured the course was. Well defined fairways, excellent mix of wooded and semi-open holes. Love that there are 2 tee locations for every hole. Truly creates 2 different courses. Nice new baskets, super friendly owner. Rick is super cool and really friendly.
Cons: Dirt tee pads. Not a really big deal at all, but there were a couple holes that could benefit from something a little more stable.
Other Thoughts: My buddy and I felt so fortunate that we found this course. It's absolutely beautiful and cheap to play. I really hope more and more people discover this course because Rick just added one of the better courses I've played in Indiana and it needs to be experienced by all. Every golfer we encountered on the course was super friendly. Great owners tend to have great patrons. We will be back!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Hidden Gem

1    5/24/2014   5/24/2014
Review By: ajbova
Played: 74  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 8.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Intermediate level course that would be difficult for beginners.

Baskets - 18 DGA baskets that are very new and look great. On back of baskets, there are the par labels for each tee.

Tees - 2 natural tees per hole (red and blue). The lines are different for each hole. Some holes red is longer, others blue.

Signs - Tees are marked with giant rocks. Red tees use red paint blue uses blue paint. Each rock lists hole number, distance, and par. Rocks throughout the course point you in the direction of the next tee. Course map available at pro shop.

Variety - Has wide open holes, wooded holes, short holes, long holes, uphill shots, downhill shots, water hazards (several), tight fairways, blind shots due to elevation, and holes on the side of a hill. Very challenging course.

Water hazards - Several holes border marshes, a few border a small lake.

Easy to navigate.

Pro shop with plenty of discs and maps. Workers and home owners are very friendly and helpful.

Trash cans, recycle cans, and table at every tee pad.

Playground and swings on site (if you bring kids).

Very peaceful and scenic. Designer did amazing use of land. Very spread out.
Cons: Some holes red tees are harder and some holes blue is harder.

Walk from hole 18 to parking lot which spans the distance of holes 16, 17, and 18. Also had to backtrack entire fairway of hole 6 to get to 7.

Easy to lose disc in water (not necessarily con, but more of challenge factor).

Course needs signs at the tees due to the blind shots. The rocks are very helpful and point towards the basket.

Poison ivy throughout course.

Natural tees aren't level but didn't effect me.
Other Thoughts: This is one heck of a course. It's very scenic and peaceful. I played with my girlfriend (beginner) and she had a tough time here. We saw a snake and a few deers which was an added bonus.

Concrete tees and signs would take this course to the next level, maybe even to championship level.

On back of baskets, there were pars written in three colors; red, blue, black. Maybe a third set of tees in the future?

Either way, I absolutely loved this course. It was worth the $4. I will definitely try to play it again. I wish it was closer. I'm not often challenged like this. I would recommend it to any intermediate or advanced player.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/23/2013   3/29/2014
Review By: Chris Bickle
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's a private course owned by a great guy that pours alot of work into it. Brand new DGA baskets. nice little pro shop with drinks and adequate discs and apparel to buy.
Cons: a bit long for us back hand wusses. water plays a part at times
Other Thoughts: great pace to meet with buds, flip for teams and enjoy a great course. really some great holes! no doubt in my mind this course will become a favorite for many.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Stumbled on to this one

1    7/23/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: Pat.C
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very nice moderately difficult course. If your rating is 900 you should expect to be a few under par here. If you are 960 player you will have an opportunity to score very well but will still need to make some shots. There is a good variety of turns, hills and use of trees. I found it fun to play.
Cons: Young big arms will not be able to air it out. None of the holes are open grip it and rip it.
Other Thoughts: The course was pretty well marked with rocks next to the tee pads with distances. There were also some rocks with red arrows directing you to the next tee. There is a small club house (was closed when I was there) that I believe may have discs for sale. There is a course map available in a bin at the clubhouse that helps direct you around the course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Fun Course That All Skill Levels Can Enjoy

2-4    12/19/2012   12/19/2012
Review By: Central Scrutinizer
Played: 109  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 25.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Most holes take advantage of moderately swooping elevation and at least some well-placed mature trees if not a little more...a third of the course has a medium amount of obstacles for a decent challenge. Some nice windows with multiple choices from the tee too. Some basket placements taking advantage of elevation for more interesting upshots as well. The holes were purposeful and fun to play, plus visually appealing.

A quiet, remote location. Tranquil and beautiful. You've gotta love these rural private courses!

Nice Mach V baskets. Dirt tees are still in decent shape, and I don't imagine this will get anywhere close to the traffic a course near a more populated area would get, so they'll probably hold out much longer than most would.

There is even some water in play in a few instances, but it's not the sort of thing that's evil or perilous at all.

A large yard shed acts as a small pro shop! A modest amount of Discs, shirts, and some snacks appear to be for sale (it was locked when I was there during the work day). There is even a picnic table with a deck umbrella there where you can hang out between rounds...and it appears some speakers are mounted so you can take in some tunes as well. Maps are available on the door.

Their outdoor wood-burning furnace apparatus sure smelled good when I was there...
Cons: Some tees were a tad slippery. I'll give that a pass for it being late December and there being no snow.

Holes #16-#18 are on a narrow strip of land only 1 hole wide that leads away from the course. You then have a 1,000 foot walk doubling straight back to the parking lot/pro shop/Hole #1. To be honest, I can't blame them since they needed all of their property to get all 18 holes in the ground and these are probably the three most challenging and interesting holes. I certainly need the exercise.

Same thing for Hole #6. It's one of the better holes, mostly wooded with a fantastic set of windows from which to choose on the tee. Due to the limit of the property and a swamp, though, you have to double all the way back to play Hole #7. Not really that big of a deal since it's about 230' or 250'.

I certainly wouldn't cut this much slack for that much extraneous walking on a public course. :-)

If you're a cashing pro player, you'll have no problem smoking this course. I'd venture to say you'd still have a good time, though. Think of it as Flip City Lite. (I'm a middle-aged former mediocre Am-1 player with not much power and I shot even for the two rounds).
Other Thoughts: It appears as though every inch of land was utilized to make 18 holes comfortably. I assume the fences define the property. There are some areas beyond a fence (near #9?) that looks sweet but it's probably not theirs. Same deal for the open field opposite the driveway where you do all of that walking after Hole #18. Probably not theirs either.

When they're not home (such was the case for me), there is a jar at the pro shop for you to deposit $4...and what appears to be an internet-type camera aimed at it from through the window. Clever! I hope they rake in the cash...

Little Bighorn isn't too far away and is also worth a visit since you're out here anyway, and I hear that the Peru courses are good too if you're venturing in the opposite direction. I found it helpful to pack a lunch since you're...out in the boonies and all.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Rural Excursion Well Worth the Trip

5+    11/23/2012   11/23/2012
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 194  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/24/2013
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - The Region, South Bend, and Peru all have solid discing communities, each with a good variety of courses. But connect those three points and the majority of the area contained within consists of the most rural, depressed, rust-belt contaminated communities imaginable. Boonies DGC, established 2012, provides a very solid option within this Disc Golf No Man's Land. Located a bit north of Peru on private land, this 18-hole course opens at 9am and closes at sunset.
- Great use of elevation. Rolling elevation is used throughout. A sort of small ridge divides the property in two, with holes situtated on, along, and across it as the course flows through the property. # 4's basket is placed on a sloped green with many mature tree trunks guarding the approach. The ground slants down to a lake behind # 9's basket. # 16 presents a straight forward ace run with one catch: the green and entire fairway slopes steeply to the right, where the marshy edge of the lake awaits. Each hole presents some wrinkle in elevation, and while nothing is incredible in scope, all is super solidly implemented throughout.
- Great mix of distances. Many holes are beginner friendly, or straight up ace runs. Birdies should come free and easy for most experienced or advanced players; however, several longer holes really help separate the lesser players from those with big arms. The different lengths are distributed evenly, and blend seemlessly together.
- Broad, grassy, well-defined fairways play through a variety of mature trees; a few tighter fairways (#'s 6, 10, 11, 12 and 17) force players to hit specific lines to pick up birdies. Punishment is very fair. Thick grass strips separating adjacent holes from each other might annoy those that dislike tall/thick grasses as a hazard; however, only terrible shots end up in the grass, and it's used sparingly.
- Water comes into play in a couple of spots. Several marshy areas were dry when I played, but look as though they are wet most the summer. # 9's green fades away to the lake that runs the length of one end of the property. #16's fairway and green rollaway hard to the right, with the lake/marshy area waiting.
- Dirt tee pads; yes, this is usually in the Cons section. You can probably chalk this up to the course being so new (not to mention a bit out of the way), but these are the best dirt pads I've played on. No ruts, well compacted, well marked (each with two large stones), and great footing. How well they stand up over time remains to be seen. I do not know if an upgrade in tees is in the works or not.
- Flavorful and effective signage. Stylized red stencils decorate large rocks at each tee and list the direction of the pin, distance, par, and hole number. Each hole sports clearly marked red arrows stenciled onto rocks. By following these, and from using the map provided on the proshop door, everyone should find navigation a snap.
Cons: - The flow is awkward in a couple of spots. # 6 plays down a wooded lane, and then backtracks the length of the fairway to # 7's tee. # 16 is a bit of a walk from # 15, but the most egregious walk can be found after finishing the course. #18 leaves you by the entrance, with a fairly lengthy walk back down the driveway to the parking area. On non-busy days, one could easily make up safari holes back down #'s 18, 17, and 16 to alleviate this minor inconvenience. Regardless, #'s 16 and 17 are certainly among the best holes on tap, and well worth the extra walk at the end.
- Dirt tees. Though I also listed this in the Pro section, without upgrades the tees will eventually become worn and detract from play.
Other Thoughts: - Approaching The Boonies via 31, the nearest semi-major highway, immediately drives home the namesake of the course: we're talking Indiana super rural. I passed a sort of farm machinery graveyard as the road turned into dirt/gravel. It looked like a sort of post-Apocalyptic Mad Max starter-kit parcel of land. Rick's property and the course are down the road a bit, thankfully.
- Much of the land feels almost like a public park, with green lawns and a wide variety of mature trees. The lake and children's playground equipment on #'s14 and 15 add to the park-like vibe.
- Pay to play. $4 during the summer, $2 during winter months, I believe were the prices listed at the club house. Be sure to put your cash in the jar if Rick isn't around!!!
- The listed pars are fairly forgiving. Beginners will find the pars to be fair, but advanced players should play everything as a par 3.
- Rick's obviously put a lot of thought and work into this course and it shows. Exciting and challenging holes will leave discers of all stripes desiring a return trip, regardless of the distance off the beaten track.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Off The Beaten Path

1    10/28/2012   10/28/2012
Review By: supernaut
Played: 91  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A challenging course with lots of trees to wind through, some hills, and nice scenery. Brand new Mach baskets, directional arrows to next tees, realistic windows, and a small pro shop with course maps attached to the door. (Sign said shop was closed till spring) Trash cans at every hole and park benches to sit on throughout the course. Holes range from 150 to 500 feet with multiple lines on most.
Cons: No concrete pads is probably the only major con. When throwing on holes that are 400+ feet good footing is essential. Maybe there are plans for them in the future. Long walk from 15 to 16. Holes 16-18 play along the driveway that takes you onto the property so you have to backtrack after 18 to get to your car. However they are fun tunnel shots with lots of trees to wind through. Hole 18's basket is near the entrance of the property.
Other Thoughts: This course was very fun and challenging to play. The sign at the entrance was very helpful because it's literally on a dirt road in the middle of nowhere. Some of the holes you can't see from the tee so you may want to find the basket before you shoot. (Hole 4's pin was confusing to find) This course will challenge players of all skill levels and is worth the drive if you have the time. I would definitely play it again sometime!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  "boonies"

5+    8/20/2012   8/27/2012
Review By: CraigM
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Awesome course! Nice use of terrain and landscape. A little rough but just ads to the challenge. Pro-shop to get any necessities or concessions
Cons: A little "hairy" at first but getting better and better each time I play.
Other Thoughts: new course.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  the boonies

5+    8/17/2012   8/23/2012
Review By: kisersorsay
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Challenging course with a good mix of long and short holes. Mostly wooded with a premium placed on accurate drives. Many elevation changes for a mostly flat area. There's a nice playground for kids on the back nine.
Cons: New course so it's still getting broken in...the rough is rough, but will get better with more play.
Other Thoughts: I like it better every time i play it.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.