Akron, IN 
The Boonies DGC Share
Uploaded By: Jukeshoe Hole #1 (Taken 11/2012)
3 / 180ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Hidden Gem

2-4    7/5/2014   7/5/2014
Review By: Radrza
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 20.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well thought out use of the land. I was really impressed with how well manicured the course was. Well defined fairways, excellent mix of wooded and semi-open holes. Love that there are 2 tee locations for every hole. Truly creates 2 different courses. Nice new baskets, super friendly owner. Rick is super cool and really friendly.
Cons: Dirt tee pads. Not a really big deal at all, but there were a couple holes that could benefit from something a little more stable.
Other Thoughts: My buddy and I felt so fortunate that we found this course. It's absolutely beautiful and cheap to play. I really hope more and more people discover this course because Rick just added one of the better courses I've played in Indiana and it needs to be experienced by all. Every golfer we encountered on the course was super friendly. Great owners tend to have great patrons. We will be back!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hidden Gem

1    5/24/2014   5/24/2014
Review By: ajbova
Played: 72  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Intermediate level course that would be difficult for beginners.

Baskets - 18 DGA baskets that are very new and look great. On back of baskets, there are the par labels for each tee.

Tees - 2 natural tees per hole (red and blue). The lines are different for each hole. Some holes red is longer, others blue.

Signs - Tees are marked with giant rocks. Red tees use red paint blue uses blue paint. Each rock lists hole number, distance, and par. Rocks throughout the course point you in the direction of the next tee. Course map available at pro shop.

Variety - Has wide open holes, wooded holes, short holes, long holes, uphill shots, downhill shots, water hazards (several), tight fairways, blind shots due to elevation, and holes on the side of a hill. Very challenging course.

Water hazards - Several holes border marshes, a few border a small lake.

Easy to navigate.

Pro shop with plenty of discs and maps. Workers and home owners are very friendly and helpful.

Trash cans, recycle cans, and table at every tee pad.

Playground and swings on site (if you bring kids).

Very peaceful and scenic. Designer did amazing use of land. Very spread out.
Cons: Some holes red tees are harder and some holes blue is harder.

Walk from hole 18 to parking lot which spans the distance of holes 16, 17, and 18. Also had to backtrack entire fairway of hole 6 to get to 7.

Easy to lose disc in water (not necessarily con, but more of challenge factor).

Course needs signs at the tees due to the blind shots. The rocks are very helpful and point towards the basket.

Poison ivy throughout course.

Natural tees aren't level but didn't effect me.
Other Thoughts: This is one heck of a course. It's very scenic and peaceful. I played with my girlfriend (beginner) and she had a tough time here. We saw a snake and a few deers which was an added bonus.

Concrete tees and signs would take this course to the next level, maybe even to championship level.

On back of baskets, there were pars written in three colors; red, blue, black. Maybe a third set of tees in the future?

Either way, I absolutely loved this course. It was worth the $4. I will definitely try to play it again. I wish it was closer. I'm not often challenged like this. I would recommend it to any intermediate or advanced player.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/23/2013   3/29/2014
Review By: Chris Bickle
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's a private course owned by a great guy that pours alot of work into it. Brand new DGA baskets. nice little pro shop with drinks and adequate discs and apparel to buy.
Cons: a bit long for us back hand wusses. water plays a part at times
Other Thoughts: great pace to meet with buds, flip for teams and enjoy a great course. really some great holes! no doubt in my mind this course will become a favorite for many.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Off The Beaten Path

1    10/28/2012   10/28/2012
Review By: supernaut
Played: 91  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A challenging course with lots of trees to wind through, some hills, and nice scenery. Brand new Mach baskets, directional arrows to next tees, realistic windows, and a small pro shop with course maps attached to the door. (Sign said shop was closed till spring) Trash cans at every hole and park benches to sit on throughout the course. Holes range from 150 to 500 feet with multiple lines on most.
Cons: No concrete pads is probably the only major con. When throwing on holes that are 400+ feet good footing is essential. Maybe there are plans for them in the future. Long walk from 15 to 16. Holes 16-18 play along the driveway that takes you onto the property so you have to backtrack after 18 to get to your car. However they are fun tunnel shots with lots of trees to wind through. Hole 18's basket is near the entrance of the property.
Other Thoughts: This course was very fun and challenging to play. The sign at the entrance was very helpful because it's literally on a dirt road in the middle of nowhere. Some of the holes you can't see from the tee so you may want to find the basket before you shoot. (Hole 4's pin was confusing to find) This course will challenge players of all skill levels and is worth the drive if you have the time. I would definitely play it again sometime!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  "boonies"

5+    8/20/2012   8/27/2012
Review By: CraigM
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Awesome course! Nice use of terrain and landscape. A little rough but just ads to the challenge. Pro-shop to get any necessities or concessions
Cons: A little "hairy" at first but getting better and better each time I play.
Other Thoughts: new course.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  the boonies

5+    8/17/2012   8/23/2012
Review By: kisersorsay
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Challenging course with a good mix of long and short holes. Mostly wooded with a premium placed on accurate drives. Many elevation changes for a mostly flat area. There's a nice playground for kids on the back nine.
Cons: New course so it's still getting broken in...the rough is rough, but will get better with more play.
Other Thoughts: I like it better every time i play it.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.